Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal De L Ile D Or

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Amboise > Camping Municipal De L Ile D Or > Reviews

Camping Municipal De L Ile D Or
4 Allee Des Mariniers
Amboise
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37400
Tel: +33 02 47 57 23 37
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 291
Open: 29/03/2024 to 08/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brievans 12 reviews from this member

 If you are visiting the part of the Loire then this site is perfect imo

It is large, set in an island across from the town and the chateau…. A ten minute walk

Good restaurant on site and many good ones in the town

Definitely going to visit again 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ciarri 32 reviews from this member

 It's difficult to add much more to the great reviews that this site has received already. We've been to Amboise before and always said we would come back to try this site, and finally, we have.

The location is fabulous, on an island, a short stroll into town, and what a beautiful town it is. The castle is so impressive, towering over the old streets. Leonardo Da Vinci's house is so interesting for all the family to visit and is a 10 minute walk.

Don't miss the ice creams in the shape of flowers at the gelato bar in the town.

The cycling routes along the Loire are and beyond are great, as is the wellness trail on the island.

The swimming pool is fantastic, its great to have a dedicated swimming lane.

We were located between 2 sanitary blocks, both of which looked brand new and were spotless. They were cleaned very frequently.

Bring your own toilet roll.

We paid €22 for 2 adults, a dog, with EHU, and free into the pool. You couldn't beat it for price and location, its not surprising that this is a very popular site. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 Handily sited for easy access to the small town of Amboise.

The campsite is situated on the island in the Loire opposite the town. From the south enter the bridge and turn right half way across, from the north. Turn left half way across. Easy access for all size units.

This is a large, two star, municipal site. Some 400 pitches. Pitches are very generously sized, some very shaded by trees, some partially, and some totally open. Generally motor homes seem to be allocated pitches nearest the entrance/exit. Then caravans. Then tents. Five long, straight, 'roads' carve through the whole site with pitches between, and some linking 'roads' at right angles.

Two modern ablution buildings with all the usual facilities. (no paper). Good cleaning rota, and no apparent conjestion. A third block is currently being built and should be ready for next season.

The Municipal pool adjoins and is free for campsite users.

WiFi is free (ticket required for every three days) with coded access. Two 'instruments' per plot.

The campsite office is efficiently run. English no problem if you have no french. Next door is a restaurant with decent fare and reasonably priced, though the breakfast at 7. 50 wasn't great (coffee not up to usual french standards). You can get much better by ambling across the bridge and into town.

Lunch, in town, at L'Horages is excellent value (2 course formula for 7. 50) and very good food and service.

The Spectacle at the Chateau (Saturdays and Wednesdays 10. 30 pm) is very good. If you go, book your tickets at the tourist office, not the chateau. They get an allocation of best position seats, so you have a central view. Tickets are 20 euros.

Good cycling on the Loire velocity routes in both directions and either banks, plus plenty more.

Boating. Kayak hires from Amboise, up or down river starting or collection points. With your own boat it is possible to return to the campsite from up-river embarkation, but reccy your exit point carefully as much of the bank running alongside the campsite is pretty steep.

The Leonardo 'home' (close Luce) is well worth a visit with dozens of working models of his inventions. Fascinating for kids as well as adults. 3 kms out of town.

For the rest. Well any Loire guide will point you at the myriad attractions of the area.

We were here during a heat wave. Over 50 in the sun and 41 in the shade. And managed to find decent shade on site, whenever required.

Quite a heavy turnover, with many visits being one/two or three days.

Cost. High season. 17 euros a night (2 people, caravan, tent, car, boat shelter) 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Cucola 1 review from this member

 A good site for visiting the chateau at Amboise, as short walk across the river gives direct access to the town.

I used the site as the adjacent aire was closed at the time. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Curlyk 10 reviews from this member

 Basic site in a beautiful location, set on an Island in the middle of the river it's a quaint site. Municipal pool adjoining the site is a bonus. 2 Washing & showering facilities to serve the whole site which are pretty new & nice. We loved the site & our children did too meeting lots of new friends whilst here. Another plus was the bike track and keep fit trail adjoining the site which we used. AMBOISE itself is a lovely town and it's Sunday market is amazingly huge and we'll definitely be coming back just for this. The hot air balloons taking off on mornings & evenings was spectacular. There's also canoeing nearby which we will do on our next visit x 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Henry888 5 reviews from this member

 I cannot add much to the David Kline review except that if you miss the right turn before the river (as we did ) you can cross the bridge and take the next right (D751) to follow the river on its south bank, turning right again when you see the main town bridge. This road is a little narrow in places but we would take it again as it gives another right turn into the campsite road.

We enjoyed our stay. Grass pitches are not our favourites in rainy weather but we had good Dutch neighbours and a peaceful stay. Toilet block at far end is modern and clean but with all the irritating quirks that modern designers keep getting wrong for caravanners. Only one washing machine & one dryer available in our block. Reception was pleasant and informative. We would come again.

Parking tip: Opposite the Tourist Information Office is chargeable off-road parking. Ignore this small street-side area and go up the adjacent slope towards the river where parking is free. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camp chaos 30 reviews from this member

 This was a friendly site, well located on an island a short walk over the bridge to Amboise.

We were initially pitched across from the furthest toilet block but it soon became clear that the small space between our pitch and the next was a handy shortcut to the loos! People would blatantly just walk past us as we sat reading. We soon got fed up and asked to be moved. The receptionist was happy to oblige and gave us a semi shady spot (it was v hot so shade was definitely needed) nowhere near a toilet block!

My only complaint was the lack of plug sockets in the toilet block. All we could see were shaver chargers. Hair drying had to be done using the hand dryers which was a bind. I wish I'd asked about this at reception as I may have been missing something, as it was I had to tolerate dodgy hair for a few days!

Amboise was a lovely town with lots of restaurants and shops. We particularly liked Cafe des Arts, a small restaurant at the top of the street by the chateau. Talking of the chateau, we had a enjoyable evening at the son et lumiere show, despite not really fully understanding the story.

We chose this site because of the proximity to Loire a velo routes and we certainly weren't disappointed. The tourist office in town gave us a stash of leaftets with various local routes to follow, either circular or linear and they were brill. It was hard going, sometimes, in the heat but really worthwhile. You got to see some gorgeous scenery and it was a good way to visit chateaux without driving. I would highly recommend Chaumont for the garden festival. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Leave A10 autoroute at junction 18 and take D31 towards Amboise. Just before river bridge turn right onto D952. As you enter Amboise watch out for D431 and at roundabout turn left over bridge. The campsite is on the island between the two bridges and is well signed. At sign turn left and follow signs to campsite. The initial approach is narrow so check nothing is coming in the opposite direction as they have priority. There is ample parking outside Reception.

This is a large Municipal campsite located on an island in the River Loire at Amboise. There are about 300 pitches all of which are on grass and most are of a generous size. The ground is a bit lumpy and you may need to level. We arrived after some serious rain but found the ground quite firm. If you want to use a satellite dish make this request when booking in as pitches are allocated just to make sure that you get a more open pitch. Electric points are convenient to most pitches. They are rated at 5 amps and use two pin continental connectors so you will need an adaptor. You may find reverse polarity but it is not universal. There are a series of water points running centrally through the campsite. There are three toilet blocks of various vintages. During are stay only the one at the far end of the campsite was open so a long walk from the furthest pitches. The quality is to a very good standard but the wash and shower facilities are unisex. Toilets are accessed from around the outside of the building and are seated but no paper provided. Chemical waste points are situated at each toilet block and a motorhome service point is at the central toilet block. WiFi is included with the campsite fee and is site wide. There is a bar/restaurant adjacent to reception. Some English spoken at reception depending on who is on duty.

The main attraction of this site is its easy access to Amboise and its impressive Chateau which is within walking distance. In the town there are many places to eat. For food shopping there is a small Carrefour City store. Next to the campsite is a large municipal park with various facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Juniemoon 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, really enjoyed our stay here. Good wifi (always helps). Excellent restaurant/bar just by the office (you need to book though as it gets very busy). Toilet/shower blocks are good, but not enough in high season. Very secure site, you need a number to get in and out of the site. Short walk into Amboise and the town and chateau. Would stay there again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paratech 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in June 2015 for 3 nights. Stopped at the Aire next door for about 1 hour, then realised that the pedestrian gate was broken(high tech codes and credit card stuff). The operaters when telephoned were not interested so we left and went to the site.

This site is excellent for visiting the Loire region, toilet blocks were exceptionaly clean and modern, shame that only 2 out of 3 were open.

Very level, had a problem in quessing where to park the corner of the motorhome on the pitch spot, wether we parked in the middle, kept the drivers corner on the pitch stone or the passenger corner on the pitch stone, very confused.

Be aware at this site that at sunset for about half an hour, there are huge great big flying insects that come out and attack the vehicles, if they are in the open, if the vehicles are under the trees then they seem to leave the vehicles alone, you cannot sit outside of your van for that half hour as these insects attack you. After the sun goes down all is well and you can then come out to play again(don't know what they are, and I didn't stay around to find out either).

Excellent value for money site, tripped the electric once, just switched the sockets then.

Very interesting town is Ambois, was the home of Leonardo Da Vinci for the last years of his life.

Has a superb market in the town on a Sunday, just goes on and on. Free Wi-Fi is available all over the site. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal De L Ile D Or child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal De L Ile D Or?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal De L Ile D Or dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Amboise      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47092 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement