Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Hillfoot Caravan Site And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Londonderry > Hillfoot Caravan Site And Camping Reviews

Hillfoot Caravan Site And Camping
119 Legavallon Road
Dungiven
Londonderry
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT47 4QN
Tel: 07886089942
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 41 Reviews
                10/10 from 41 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Basil S 21 reviews from this member

 Excellent site easy to find and very friendly welcome,

Quite central for visiting all the attractions as it is only a couple of miles from the A6 but is a quiet site with beautiful views.

You can only use the wifi if you go down to the "campers kitchen" but that is a pleasant experience in itself.

Would definitely stop here again! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: George-Jane 1 review from this member

 Yet another excellent 4 nights stay at Hillfoot, Mervyn the owner as always was very welcoming along with the well aged site dog Ben (18yo). The site is well looked after and constantly being maintained and kept on top of by Mervyn and the helping hands including our 10yo son who enjoyed helping out around the site.

Some great conversation with other campers from across the globe with people from Canada, Scotland and Germany all gathering outside our tent chatting into the late hours of the night.

Anyway, thanks again Mervyn and Hillfoot for a great stay.

See you next month.

George and Jane. And Jack. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 264 reviews from this member

 A very nice site but in a rather boring area we thought, should not have stayed 4 nights but never mind. We found Mervyn the owner a little over attentive when we first arrived, he was hanging around, trying to make "helpful" suggestions to OH which greatly annoyed him. Better than no welcome I suppose. I fled inside the caravan!

The site is easy to find and is signed from the road, so you can't go wrong. The facilities are dated but clean and the shower was good. Fine for 16 per night, a rarity anywhere in Ireland.

There is a Supervalu supermarket in Dungiven, on the corner of the same road as the caravan site, and a garage also with supplies out of the town going west. It looks as if they are building a bypass. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rabsnlinn 6 reviews from this member

 Wonderful location.

Very well maintained site. Good size pitches.

Very friendly and helpful owner.

Facilities could do with modernising.

But wouldn't put us off visiting here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Psstewart 4 reviews from this member

 What a find. Lovely campsite with all the facilities you could want, from a small independent. Nothing was too much trouble for owner Mervyn, who wasn't short of local info and general friendliness. Stunning views and lovely and peaceful. Great indoor spaces, to have a coffee and chill, on cooler/damp evenings. Usual facilities of showers, wash and dishwasher, two separate buildings to give flexibility and access to laundry (washer and dryer). Copious quantity of piping hot water too. Small wooden play area, should you have little ones in tow. A great 6 nights here and would recommend unreservedly. I'm sure we'll be back. Thanks Mervyn, from Pete n Gill. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debroy summers 1 review from this member

 One of the best sites I have stayed on. The views from the site are amazing. Mervin the owner of the site will do anything within reason to make your stay enjoyable and if you like organ music just ask. Just one thing the men's shower was not working when we were there but there are two ladies showers me and my wife went together so she could keep guard. Just one thing the ehu is 6/10 amp so check with Mervin. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Baddon 6 reviews from this member

 Great quiet out of the way site. Host was a very knowledgeable older gentleman who was good craic and able to give local information and guidance as to what we may like to try/see/do.

Great value quiet site to get away from it all.

Basic toilet facilities (clean and tidy but not all singing)

Good tent facilities as well from what I saw and was chatting to a regular tent camper who uses it regularly.

If your after some peace and quiet with a great walk to a fantastic view point on your door step and are not expecting Modern Heated toilet/shower blocks then give it a try- you wont be disappointed.

Not ideal for older kids. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mollybobs 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as a start to a three week journey around Northern Ireland and Ireland.

I can honestly say this was the warmest welcome we have had at any site! Mervyn is wonderful (I might be a little bit in love with him), very easy going, there for advice on where to go and what to do, but never 'in your face'. Pitches are great and I acquired an extra dog (Ben)for local walks, in fact, he commando crawled under our van to spend some time with my two labs:)

Don't know if we will be returning, but if we did, this would be our first port of call; friendly, great location for touring and a wonderful welcome! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reezpol 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed our stay on Hillfoot campsite very much. Mervyn Scott was a very friendly and perfect host and Ben, the dog stole our hearts. The facilities were out of the ordinary and very good, including a kitchen and a cozy 'social room' for birthday-party's or rainy days. The countryside (Sperrin !) is breathtaking and Belfast is also within reach. Hope to be back sometime ! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elaine Crawford 1 review from this member

 Went for first night to hillfoot it was such a lovely wee place, owner was such a lovely man and couldn't be more helpful! Its very well run, with indoor kitchen( handy in bad weather) living room & shower/toilets was spotless. We are a family of 6 and this place just ticked all the boxes! We will go back again! 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hillfoot Caravan Site And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hillfoot Caravan Site And Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hillfoot Caravan Site And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Londonderry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3939 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020