Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cloud Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Lynton > Cloud Farm Campsite Reviews

Cloud Farm Campsite
Oare
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6NU
Tel: 01598 741190
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kerrij 1 review from this member

 Lovely location in a very rural environment with great walks directly from the site.

Site beside the river just lovely in good weather. Friendly helpful staff.

Poor phone signal and no wifi will suit some and not others. Useful small shop. More electric hookups would be good. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jrtonks 8 reviews from this member

 Cloud Farm is a campsite clearly not owned and run by campers. It's location in the Doone Valley is stunning, but the site itself is spoiled by hundreds of non-native Leyland Cypress trees - the scourge of housing estates. The tea shop is a run down shed and overpriced. There are only three gents toilets and when I visited (bank holiday weekend) only one was in operation (door lock and light were broken on the other two). The showers are virtually communal with thin curtains between them. Overall a bit disappointing. The site could be so much better with a bit of thought and care. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Just James 3 reviews from this member

 This site is in a beautiful location but that is all it has going for it. Facilities were disgusting. Toilets were not checked on a daily basis and 2 of the 3 gents toilet doors did not lock. The advertised café did not open and there was no phone in the phone-box so what was the drill in an emergency as there was no mobile reception? The site also seems to be unsupervised as the owner is usually in Malmsmead looking after his other interests. On arrival there was no information available as to the services or location. Unisex showers were separated by plastic curtains so I would imagine many people would not be happy with them. We avoided them because of the state they were in.

One site never to return to. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trevorpriest 4 reviews from this member

 The site is in a beautiful setting with walks up into the Doone Valley right from the site. That's about all the good points. The toilet block is primitive to say the least and was not very clean. A utility block had a freezer, washing machine and what may have been a tumble dryer but all of these were ancient and neither well cared for or clean. The cafe was not open but after looking at it we would not have eaten there unless desperate. The chemical disposal point was up a muddy track and overgrown with 12 inches of grass. The owner was friendly enough but this was poor compensation.

We will not be returning.

Most of our camping is done in France where facilities are so much better and much cheaper. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bongowight 5 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved this place, the site is in a wonderful location set beside a lovely river running through the doone valley in exmoor. We had a great pitch right next to the river (they pretty much all are), over a little bridge and we were walking off into exmoor national park. The site has its own tea shop on site but also a pub come restaurant a five min walk away that served really good food and beer and was very reasonable. We had a fire both nights we were there and sat out by the fire listening to the river flowing and watching the stars, as it was my birthday while we were there we had a nice bottle of bubbly one night beside the fire and it was an absolutely perfect way to spend my birthday. Our dogs loved the site and the local walks and we could of stayed for a week and not got bored with the walking. The facilities were a little primitive as some have mentioned but for some reason I think had there been a big modern shower / toilet block it would of felt wrong given the surroundings. I guess it depends on what camping means to you but for us this was about as good as it gets I think ! The owner was about and was very friendly but I have to give particular praise to the couple working there (sorry didn't get your names), the lady runs the campsite shop and tea room and her partner cooks at the nearby pub, really lovely people and really inspired us to think about changing our lives for the better so thank you for all your encouragement and kind words.

We will definitely return to this area and to this site in partcular. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 It is difficult to give a totally subjective view of this site as the weather was really somewhat unpleasant, with persistent rain for much of the time, but I did get the chance to see some great potential and some pitfalls to this site.

Lets start on a positive note and the setting and location are wonderful. You really feel that you are right in the heart of the countryside, yes it is a bit tricky to get to, but the rewards outweigh this. The site itself is very picturesque with the river running alongside and the high hills all around. Whilst it is a relatively large site it is split into a few different areas and therefore, you feel you have your own little area.

There are also some fantastic walks directly from the site and others are available within a short drive and the local towns of Lynton/Lynmouth and Porlock are well worth a visit and have some nice pubs

The site was not very busy when we were there and this was the week just before the main school summer holidays, so I can’t see that it would ever be that busy just because it is so tucked away and not really in a big family holiday area and there are no playgrounds or anything.

The facilities do let the site down a bit, not so much due to their cleanliness, which is poor, or indeed the fact they are a bit dated, but there just were not that many and the cubicles were a bit tight and the one sink in the toilet was small and was used for everything.

I would return to this site as it is in an ideal setting and good location, but the facilities do need sorting out, both in terms of cleaning and the number available. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 40 reviews from this member

 Location is very, very nice in a small valley. Various places to pitch up and ground good for tent pegs. Stream runs through site. Sunday night in early June and only two other tents and about 6 vans in a separate field. Camp fires are allowed (£10 for two bags of logs + bag of kindling). Fine when camp site is empty but do get a bit twitchy about fires when a site is busy and I reckon at the height of the season, they are crammed in here. Small shop sells beer (£2. 50 for a standard can of lager etc).

I'm afraid the site is let down by the inadequate and poorly maintained facilities. Nowhere near enough for the size of the site when busy. One sink, two urinals and three WCs in the gents. I believe six showers in one unisex room with flimsy curtains; privacy not good. Showers very weak and mine didn't drain properly. All simply not good enough. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lewok666 2 reviews from this member

 Nice picturesque place to stay for a night or two. Wouldn't want to stay much longer than that as the facilities were not great and being in a valley we were eaten alive in the evening. We sadly camped here when there was a lot of rain and some campers required a mini digger to get their vehicles off the site! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dgw1963 18 reviews from this member

 Visited this site at the end of August.

The location is stunning, the children can play in the stream, there are great walks up the valley that start from the site.

When this site is quiet it is lovely, but for me it gets too busy at peak times and pitching down by the stream means that you can return from your walk to find a tent virtually on top of you.

The showers etc could do with upgrading and it would be nice to have more than just the one sink for us men to have a shave. But they were clean.

We took our tent, I would not fancy pulling a van to the site, but people obviously do.

On balance we had a lovely time, especially when most of the campers left on the Sunday. You will struggle to find a better view from your pitch if you are lucky enough to pitch by the river. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marksoph 2 reviews from this member

 Whatever you want from a site you can get it at Cloud Farm. Sitting at the bottom of the stunning Doone Valley near Lynton this lovely friendly family run site is a must if you want to persuade friends and family members that camping is the most relaxing bonding time you can have and for those who like to exert more energy than sitting around your own open camp fire there is horse riding, fishing and some amazing walks not to mention the great tea rooms and shop which cater for all your needs as well as tempting you with delicious home made cakes and cream teas ( my favourite) which is a meal in itself.

It can get busy but you will never feel closed in and the atmosphere is always friendly with the other campers.

If I had to find any negative points I would say that it would be nice to have a more modern shower block and some of the site is sloping and the access road can be a little difficult as it is long and narrow with hardly any passing space. This said it is still my favourite site of all time 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cloud Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cloud Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cloud Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement