Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Ferme Pedagogique De Prunay

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Seillac > Camping Ferme Pedagogique De Prunay Reviews

Camping Ferme Pedagogique De Prunay
Ferme De Prunay
Seillac
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41150
Tel: +33 6 98 99 09 86  or  +33 6 98 99 09 86
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 99
Open: 01 April Until 02 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stoneslive 4 reviews from this member

This small site is ideal for families with small children. We wanted a site with less activities which requires parents to be present so that we can relax a bit, and this site is perfect for that.

The site appears to be off the radar of Brits as the campers were mainly French and Dutch, with only a few Brits.

It's only 20 mins from Blois but you feel away from it all as the farm is surrounded my miles and miles if golden wheat fields.

Our eldest (10) was asking if we could return again next year after only 3 days!

Nice heated outdoor pool, superb food and a well-stocked bar. Most of the pitches are huge, all separated by hedges or trees. Star-gazers bring your telescope as the night sky is so clear with no light pollution. But above all, shhhh don't tell anyone else about this excellent site, let it be our little secret. 🤫
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gary Crawley 1 review from this member

We've just come back from Ferme De Prunay, it was our 4th visit to the site and won't be our last. We absolutely love it. We are a family of four with two sons (11 and 14 and a dog).

The kids spend most of their time in and out of the pool or at the play area. The bar area serves good food and wine and the pitches are the biggest we've camped on, it's like having your own back garden.

The toilets and showers are clean and there are some lovely long walks for the dog, down past the farm and into the woods. Plenty to keep younger ones occupied and it's very quiet and relaxing if you just want to chill out by your tent or caravan.

We'll definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wardley17 3 reviews from this member

On arrival at reception you are given a site map to choose your pitch and told where facilities are and where wifi available, plus how to order bread the day before and where to pick it up.

Also given Loire tourist map and cycle route map, lots more leaflets available at reception area. Pitches vary from shaded in trees to open pitches in the area where the hedges have not developed,

some pitches have electric plugs but they do not work, so you just pick another pitches electric as most seem to have 3 sockets, we were not offered extra cable, but they are available as next camper was given one.

Plenty of toilets and showers available and normally hot or just let them run a bit to warm up. Dishwashing area also has 2 fridges a freezer, gas cooker and a microwave. Kids playground seemed ok, it's in 2 areas.

Swimming pool next to bar, bar only open July and august. Nearest small town is Onzain with usual shops and a casino supermarket which is well stocked and open Sunday mornings and also does fuel.

Most of the popular chateaux are no more than 40 mins away. You are in the touraine wine region, lots of producers sell direct any sign that says ( cave ) will have wine to taste and sell, we found the mont pres chambord wine coop in Mont pres chambord had a good selection and a good reduction in price if you bought in 6s.

The cycle routes are all well signed and most of the circular routes are about 35 km with plenty of picnic areas or cafes to stop at.

Blois was the best place for local markets, but the campsite will tell you where and when they are on.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chr4 3 reviews from this member

We decided not to go too far south as we wanted to avoid the heat typical for the Med in the summer. However, that week Loire Valley experienced a heatwave with temperatures regularly hovering around 37C.

Fortunately we had a massive shaded pitch (over 300sqm) surrounded by mature trees and bushes to give us plenty of welcome shade and privacy (which this campsite takes to a new level). As it was beginning of July there were lots of pitches to choose from.

Facilities were new and spotless. The owners who seemed to be working day and night would always greet us with a smile and nothing was too much to ask.

Unfortunately water in the paddling pool was a bit cooler than in the main one which meant our kids dragged us there all the time even though they were a bit a too little for it.

There were a few old bikes available for free which we used a few times for short rides and enjoyed them very much.

Due to very high temperatures we did not do as much sightseeing as we planned but visited Amboise, Blois and a few local villages. However, what I liked the most was the ambience of the campsite late at night. It feels more remote than it actually is which means you get the back to nature 'fix' but still have the old town of Amboise, chateaux and vineyards only a short drive away.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littlemorag 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely week at Ferme de Prunay. We were there with 3 adults and a 3 and 6 year old.

Facilities: there are lots of new toilets and showers with the aforementioned family shower rooms which were very popular. The bar area was great with lovely staff and a decent menu. Everything was reasonably priced but I wouldn't say cheap.

The TV room and indoor wee play area was nice for super wee ones.

The pool was great and the opening hours were relaxed- we were often swimming till 830pm! Saying that- it was clean and tidy every day and the water was very clear, despite it obviously being peak season- it was hoaching everyday.

Bread can be ordered every day and it's always warm when you pick it up- the pain au chocolate were the best I've tasted in France so far!

The kids playgrounds are a bit oldskool but safe and pleasingly full of kids having a ball.

Pitch: we booked 2 pitches but seeing the size of them (huge) we decided to put both our tents in one. We had a pitch on the field side of the site which has been recently developed- water and electrics on the pitch but it was very exposed with no shade whatsoever. Be aware of this if you don't have an awning or some form of shade with you/ better still ask for a map of the site and ask to pick your pitch.

Owners: Marine- the lady who takes the bookings is an absolute star- I'm not sure if she sleeps! She is always busy and has a lovely smile for everyone. Everyone was incredibly helpful and happy to help with any enquiry- whether it was about the great quality hire bikes or washing machine tokens!

Overall: this is a site still growing and developing. Part of the site is established and nice and shady and part is still growing. There are many pitches with mounds of earth as borders and young trees and bushes- once they grow a bit, things will be fine. The site is very popular with Dutch and now British holidaymakers and I believe the site was at full capacity during our stay. Everything seemed to work well but the water pressure. Showers tended to be on the piddly side and often not very warm due to the amount of usage.

Also- it's a fair walk for a 3 year old to go to the bathroom in the morning from the outer pitches- but these were small niggles in an otherwise great week.

The area is Chateau-Central and we visited a few vin-Caves on a bike outing. We canoed down the Loire and best of all hired a canoe and paddled up and under Chenonceaux Chateau. Mostly we just chilled and used the pool, which was a bit cold to say the least- I'm not sure if it's heated in peak summer!

I would thoroughly recommend this site to families particularly of younger kids. There's LOADS of kids, which was fab for us.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

Second time to the site and we were not disappointing. Friendly welcome and again site was very quite so we had a great choice of pitches. Site has been extended on the side with open fields and there are numerous new water and EHU points around. Some of the pitches are separated by long mounds of earth about 1. 5m high, which had been covered in black plastic and trees/shrubs planted.

So if you can choose your pitch for the view and check the access on to it, as some pitchs you could not drive onto.

Being out in the countryside it was very quiet and dark at night. (Marvellous!)

Toilet/showers just great, lots of hot water, plenty of pressure and good quality finishes with plenty of space in the shower.

Supermarkets in Blois which is about a 15 minute drive away.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meps 7 reviews from this member

We had one of the tent pitches in the 'shady' areas of the campsite, although a bit too shady because weather was not that warm, it was a bit overgrown and a struggle to find hook up points which were a tangle of wires in another pitch. Generally for kids this site is great, it is in a very quiet location so at night really peaceful, they can wander to see the rabbits, chickens, goats, pigs etc. And its flat and perfect for cycling around. They have a pretty good little cafe/restaurant with basic but good value food and wine. Marianne was extremely helpful and obviously works really hard to keep everyone happy, she personally walked us to our pitch and always had a smile for everyone. There is a good playground for the little ones which is in view of a lot of tent pitches. The equipment for the older kids needed repairing and was taped up.

The pool is NOT heated which is probably a relief on very hot days but not to good if weather is cooler. Even my daughter did not want to stay in for long and I can't usually get her out of the pool! There are lots of showers and toilets and they have double/triple showers which are brill for getting all kids showered together with lots of room in one cubicle BUT - the

Water pressure was awful, down to a trickle and quite a lot of the time cold - so touch and go as to what you would get once undressed and ready to push the button! When they did work they were amazing though!

They run lots of free activities - bread making, walking the dogs (they call nature walks) tractor rides and feeding goats and sit on donkeys for photo. Unfortunately this is one of my other gripes, bearing in mind the farm animals are a big lure and hit for the kids, they were not very well looked after, the sheep needed shearing and was matted, one donkey which was very badly lame should have been (in my opinion) rested in a stable, the pony had overgrown hooves and the rabbits were extremely bony, kept in a pen with turkeys and chickens with no water bottle, just bowl of mucky water which made my daughter quite sad and concerned.

If you take your bikes, the 'la Loire a Velo' trail is not far away with excellent cycling along the Loire. You can pick it up from Chaumont-sur-Loire. Chateaux at Chaumont is also good, also trip to Blois and Amboise worth a day out.

General overview, great site, could do with a bit of attention, tidying up and TLC to the animals! If possible, wander the site before choosing your pitch to see what suits depending on weather and how close you want to be to playground etc.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 16 reviews from this member

We stayed here because it was part of the ACSI off season discount scheme and we were not disappointed. The pitches were large but the hedges were very overgrown restricting the area available to pitch, especially in the older, more shady part of the site. The toilet facilities were excellent with fantastic showers. The site is in a rural location and is very quiet - but bread is available even in low season. Our dog thoroughly enjoyed the walks round the fields which were accessible from the site.

Tip. There are pitches with open views on the eastern edge of the site. Electricity points can be quite difficult to locate - find a point that you can access when choosing your pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Misspea 2 reviews from this member

Our group was two families with four children aged 7 to 11 staying for a week. We shared a large flat pitch lined with hedges with fantastic views over fields on the edge of the site, complete with electric hook up. We ordered very welcome pizza from the bar on arrival which was delivered while we set up our tents. The kids loved the small pool, especially the special 'night swimming' session which they do once a week. They cycled all over the site, and made friends with the farm's goats, donkey, pigs and chickens who live in a field at the end of a short track. There is also a children's play area. We found plenty to do in the area. Lots of beautiful chateaux, the town on Amboise is nearby. The owners were very friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend this site, particularly to families.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linzbob 5 reviews from this member

We decided on this site after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed.

We stayed in our tent here for 7 nights

Upon arrival Marie gave us lots of leaflets and info about the area and a plan of the site then took us to our pitch and asked it if would be suitable for us.

Our pitch was in between the trees just near the playground so we could sit at the tent and still keep an eye on our five year old.

The play ground was great for our little boy with swings slide and roundabout he loved it.

The toilets and showers were clean and plentiful with several family showers with 2or3 showers in one cubicle.

There are a couple of washing up areas with fridges/freezers free to use and everything was kept clean

There is lots of things to keep the children amused with ride on a tractor trailer to go and feed the animals, or making bread or crafting something but our little one especially enjoyed fishing from the boat on the small lake and catching a fish. Fishing poles line and hooks are available from the bar.

The bar overlooks the swimming pool and serves drinks food and ice cream and is reasonably priced there is also a tv room and a table football.

This was a brilliant site on a working farm in the countryside an ideal place to relax

Will we return? We most surely will

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Seillac      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5870 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019