Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Du Lac Kir

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > Dijon > Camping Du Lac Kir Reviews

Camping Du Lac Kir
3, Boulevard Du Chanoine Kir
Dijon
Burgundy   (Browse area)
21000
Tel: 0033 03 80 30 54 01
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 111
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacfrosty 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights.

Old, dated facilities - gave the impression of not being very clean but this might have been the cracks in the walls etc giving it that impression

Campsite felt a little 'unsafe'

Area quite nice. Walk into town in one direction and nice lake in the other direction.

Would I visit here again? If pushed to, but I wouldn't look forward to it! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wp1234 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night with the express purpose of visiting the historic city which I must say was well worth it.

The site is convenient being a 1 mile walk along the river to the city ( although it's a long mile when it's over 30 deg ).

When I approached the camp I went under a bridge that was marked 3. 0 mts high. I'm a tad over this at 3. 1 mts but managed to get in ok so suspect a good margin or error has been added.

The site is a municipal and probably the worst we have stayed in so far on this trip although it's really not that bad. The WCs etc are passable but it's a 'take your own bog paper ' affair.

The clientele on the site during my visit were a little ' Breaking Bad' typebut kept themselves to themselves.

Would stay again if I was visiting Dijion. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nazk 3 reviews from this member

 We are a couple of ages 50-52. During our visit we stayed there for one night. Site is nice and clean. But electrics are a bit far away and need a long cable. Toilets are relatively clean. We stayed at s picth close to the container toilets. Water is hot and enough. Reception was helpful.

Sanitaries are working properly.

The site is close by the city and you can go to the city by public transportation, bus.

Dijon is a wonderful city you can see different view from each part of the city, street. İt is really eoths to see. By the way during June or July it is very important to find a shadow place and the site offers plenty of them.

Since we stayed just for one night we did not have the chance to utilize other facilities of the site. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Able88 5 reviews from this member

 We turned up the night before they opened for the season so we stayed in the car park at basically a aire with hookup, near a road.

The site looked lovely by the river.

The site is a lovely 20 minute walk into the city along the river, or a cycle if you have a bike. Beautiful city.

Great meal in the Editor (or something similar) next to the Arch in the centre of Dijon.

Nice aire but these star ratings are not for the full site as we couldn't use it. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AndyC13 4 reviews from this member

 We had pre-booked to stay here for just one night. Website didn't make it look very nice, so we were a bit worried about our stay. Actually, it was surprisingly nice!

We got given a pitch, which was nice and big. We were down the far end, where the toilet/shower block was no longer in use. However, they had installed two lots of portacabin style showers/toilets. Don't be put off though. They were probably the best showers we had all holiday! Make sure you take your own loo roll to the toilet though ;)

There is only one area (in the middle) for cleaning clothes and dishes. Although it's not too far a walk.

The shop, well there isn't really one, although as with most campsites in France, you can pre-order bread/pastries for the morning.

The campsite is close to 2-3 supermarkets. One is apparently within walking distance, but we drove to a different one.

The electrics are new. Some of them had 'tripped' but we couldn't get access to the switch to turn them on again. Luckily, it wasn't busy so there were plenty of spare sockets. EHU points are few and far between, so make sure you have a long (20m+) EHU cable.

Value for money, this campsite is great. We paid about £15 a night for two adults, a dog and EHU. We would definitely stay here again. In fact, we did. Another two nights on our return route :)

There is lots of wildlife on the campsite too, including two wild (but tame) rabbits. They are very big, grey and ginger, and very cute. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Farside1 17 reviews from this member

 Oh dear! Where to begin?

As you enter there is a rudimentary but adequate aire for camping cars. As aires go it is expensive. However if you elect instead to pay extra to go through to the camping field for additional facilities, other than space, you may be disappointed. You will find a typical municipal site with adequate but narrow pitches. Some are hardstanding. Most are grassed. The electrics are new. The sanitaires are not but are kept clean. The shop when we visited was empty of any stock. There are no other facilities or services although there is a Spar 800 metres or so away.

Lac Kir itself is delightful and is 5 minutes walk away opposite the entrance. There is a brasserie there across the car park.

For minimal services prices were higher than in the south of France where sites have full facilities so felt disappointed and frankly, ripped-off.

One night stopover? Maybe but there are many better equally as convenient and offering considerably better value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ljchesh 1 review from this member

 Just visited this site, great stop over location in Dijon. Last entry into site it approximately 7pm after this time you cannot access the site with a caravan or tourer, although tent is fine. 20 min walk into town, although would recommend a taxi on way back - 12 euros as the walk is a little isolated at night. Clean showers and toilets and good sized pitches. Less than 20e per night. The reception also sells fresh bread and pastries in the morning. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bofs 70 reviews from this member

 A good, better than basic French campsite, in an excellent location with easy access to Dijon and 3 mins. Walk from a purposely created leisure space with a lake, supervised swimming/beach area, sailing base, cycle trails, footpaths, exercise trail, play areas, refreshments etc.

We booked in advance for 7 nights and paid a 10 euro deposit and 5 euro booking fee. Either book in advance or arrive early in high season - most nights the 'site full' sign was out. The site was used for a mixture of stopovers and longer stays by a range of nationalities (very few British) and there were also 2 French children's clubs on site and a few pitches used by workers Monday - Friday.

The pitches are mainly grass (though quite well-worn when we were there) with some hardstandings round the perimeter of the site, and the majority are very large, with hedges between and trees to provide shade. We were allocated a pitch on arrival but I would recommend you check it out before pitching, as with hindsight that's what we should have done - we found ourselves opposite one of the children's clubs which was not a major problem but enough to be an irritation!

There are 2 toilet/shower blocks with washing-up/laundry sinks which are adequate. They are cleaned regularly with a high pressure hose, which leaves everywhere quite wet and the floor area quickly becomes dirty again with people walking on it! We found the block at the side of the site to be better than the one at the end, which seemed to be scruffy and dingy and full of children when we first visited,so it put us off rather!

We finally tracked down the chemical disposal point which is at the motorhome service point at the entrance to the site, as are the bins - a bit of a trail when you're at the other end of the site but not a problem once you know where they are! The washing machine (token for 5 euros) and tumble-dryer (token for 4 euros) are by the entrance also.

The girl on Reception when we arrived was very welcoming, friendly and efficient but I found the man in Reception (the owner/manager?) in the mornings to be quite off-hand. We were also disappointed with the quality of the baguettes in the mornings, to the point where we stopped getting them - we decided that they were not getting them from a local bakery like most sites do, but using something like 'take and bake' baguettes - in our opinion a vastly inferior product.

There is a pleasant bar/snack bar (with TV) which serves eat-in or takeaway crÍpes, quiche, chips etc. Though we did not use it so cannot comment on the quality. Next to it is an open, gravel-covered space which is the designated play area, but through the day there are lots of empty pitches that could be used for games and as mentioned previously, the extensive leisure facilities at Lac Kir are just next door.

The site was generally quiet through the day (when the children's clubs were off site!)and at night - special credit to the Chigwell Scout Group who arrived in 2 large vans late one evening and set-up tents etc with the minimum of noise and fuss and then packed up and were away next morning without us hearing a thing!

The best thing about this site is its location, as mentioned previously. Dijon is an interesting town with a mix of really old and historic buildings, culture etc and a modern shopping area and stunning squares. It is really cycle friendly with numerous cycle trails in the town itself and round about, including along the river, between surrounding villages, around Lac Kir and along the Burgundy canal, and they are all well signposted and mostly flat! It is also a good base for the Burgundy wine trails with lots of the famous wine producing areas/villages within a short drive.

We would use the campsite again if in the area, but would choose our own pitch if possible, and at about 18 euros per night, including 10 amp electric, we felt it was reasonably priced. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Du Lac Kir child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Du Lac Kir?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Du Lac Kir dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dijon      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4324 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement