Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clay Pit Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Swaffham > Clay Pit Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Clay Pit Farm Certificated Site
Chapel Road
Necton
Swaffham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE37 8JA
Tel: 01760 440322  or  07516 408321
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 11 Reviews
                10/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 369 reviews from this member

 A very nice site with excellent facilities for the good price of 15 per night.

Easy to find, look out for the big blue Co op garage sign as you come along the main road, turn into Necton and then immediately left to St Andrews Road.

This is single track but with plenty of passing places. About a mile along, turn right to the farm, past the barns and buildings and left to the site. No hardstanding, but it is flat and well drained.

Go to castle Acre Priory (EH) also the castle and the ford.

Swaffham is a nice town with Waitrose and Tesco.

We would certainly stay here again if in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patha6 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site and Tony and Christine are wonderful so helpful and every thing you need.

Will definitely be going back.

In fact we have booked to go back on the 25th of July for5 nights. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Chrisa 1 review from this member

 Fantastic little site, very friendly owners who couldn't be more helpful.

On our stay numbers were limited, so plenty of room.

Only comment is could do with hot water taps in the ablutions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Red Van 3 reviews from this member

 A perfect setting for a quiet night on our way to the Norfolk coast.

Lovely grass pitches with views over the fields. Clean and spacious facilities.

Friendly management.

Good directions but easy to miss from the lane. Watch for the Farm Shop sign. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amajane 1 review from this member

 I currently stayed here for two weeks what a wonderful little sight this is. Its very quite and peaceful apart from the odd moo from the residents cows and the buzzard and kites above very peaceful. Its hidden away from the working farm overlooking the field the grass is very soft my children ran barefoot all holiday. Christine and Tom are very friendly and welcoming any problems and they do what they can to help resolve it. They are 4 units two are toilets with a sink and cold tap. Ones a shower and toilet family/disabled. The other a sink+sideboard and a shower in. There no hot water only in the shower so if you want to wash up using the sink bring a kettle or fill it up using the shower no biggie. There is a home made book of local takeaways and leaflets for days out. The sight very central 10 minutes into Durham you have a Alid Lidi Tesco Morrsons and Asda in swaffham so take your pick. We will be returning next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kentish maiden 1 review from this member

 A very quiet relaxing site, with plenty of room to pitch your tent, carvan or motor home. All pitches have electric hook up if required.

The toilet and showers where lovely and clean, plenty of hot water.

Christine and Tony gave us such a warm welcome, nothing was to much trouble.

The farm shop is open to buy eggs and potatoes. The eggs were fantastic for breakfast, double yokes a real treat.

The 5 reviews that have already been left are so accurate about Clay Pit Farm. It's a gem, you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

We will certainly be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suealmond 1 review from this member

 This was the most quiet relaxing site the owners are delightful. Toilets and showers very clean as is the whole site this is a wonderful site, a true credit to the owners who have put a lot of thought into it. There is a quiet lane to walk dogs or just to go for a cycle ride etc. We have spent the weekend looking out over fields of golden wheat and watching the large barn owl swooping over the fields truly wonderful definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bignose+jo 12 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely CL site, set in a large grassed area at the back of a working farm. There are about ten pitches in a spacious, mown 'paddock', all with electric hook-up and lovely views over open fields. The site is flat and level. We needed to use rock pegs to pitch our pup-tents.

The toilets and washrooms are in one corner of the site along with a grey water disposal point and a chemical waste disposal area. The washrooms are clean and have electric showers with plenty of hot water. There were two showers and three toilets. Toilet paper and hand soap were provided.

The family that run the site are very friendly, welcoming and relaxed about departure times. There is a small farm shop on site. We didn't visit the local pub, but neighbours on site said it served good, value-for-money food. We ate out in Dereham, which had plenty of choice.

The scenery is lovely and the site is peaceful. Our neighbours saw deer in the evenings.

There is a small stretch of single lane road to get to the site, but there are plenty of passing places. Access to the site is easy as there are no tight turns.

This is a good base to explore Norfolk from and one that we will be using again. A lovely site that we liked a great deal! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Auntyange 5 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site twice now as we stayed earlier in the year (February) when we visited our brand new grandson.

Both times it has been great although I have to say we didn't use the showers in February as there is no heating in there (Brrr) but the facilities are great other than that, this site could put a lot of more expensive sites to shame.

The family that run this site are great, Christine (the farmers wife) took the time to explain the egg machine in the farm shop to our curious 9 year old and we bought some 'double yoker' eggs from the shop to take home.

Swaffham is a lovely little town to have a walk around with a nice market and we ate at a Russian Restaurant there called Rasputins which was brilliant, the food was superb. Old Hunstanton beach was lovely but we didn't rate the newer part it just wasn't our cup of tea. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stresseddad 3 reviews from this member

 I can't believe this peaceful rural CCC certificated site with its helpful owners has not received more reviews. Perhaps those in the know want to keep the secret to themselves?

I spent a couple of days here at the end of June 2012 in exceptionally wet weather together with several connoisseurs of rural escape. For flat Norfolk soil the land was absolutely level and pretty well drained with EHU's for those that wanted.

The paddock (and that is effectively what it is) is at the back of a working farm with a quiet and peaceful outlook over arable land which has probably remained unchanged for generations other than the Wind Farm on the distant SW horizon.

The site is ideally placed for (motor or bicycle) touring of north Norfolk but is well away from the usual honeytraps and an excellent place to retreat to for a quiet evening surrounded by English farming country (and other discerning campers). There is absolutely nothing here for families or children.

The family who run this site are charming and helpful, and their charges are fairly comparable to other CS's. They provide a chemical loo disposal point, a 'washing-up' sink and four (from memory) unheated sanitation cubicles each comprising loo, WC, washbasin & electric shower.

However, there is no hot water for the 'washing up' sink. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Clay Pit Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clay Pit Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Clay Pit Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swaffham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3524 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement