Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Birkelt

Campsite Search > Europe > Luxembourg > Larochette > Camping Birkelt Reviews

Camping Birkelt
1, Um Birkelt
Larochette
Luxembourg   (Browse area)

Tel: +352 87 90 40
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 426
Open: 31/03/2021 to 01/11/2021
           31/03/2022 to 01/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ryandlo 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in Luxembourg, great pitch nicely spaced and we had connected to water directly but didn't bring a long enough pipe for the waste.

Swimming pool is ok, its mainly in doors they don't really open it up and it's quite small for the size of the site so quite packed. For me it felt a bit sweaty but the kids liked it. Only one slide so not much to do.

The playground is good, trampolines are a hit with the Dutch and get are all great at it. Did I say the campsite is full of Dutch, met one English couple in 4 nights.

Toilets are good and showers too so no problem there. A short walk or run through the woods into town which has a couple of bars and restaurants but we didn't sample any.

Shop was good, well stocked and kids like the horse riding too.

We went to Luxembourg for the day because the weather wasn't that great but tbh I wouldn't bother, there's nothing to it but it only cost 4 euros on the train from mersh if you want to try it. Kids under 12 were free and it only took 15 mins.

A site I would recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ammdkids 26 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site having stayed in a Eurocamp Static. It was a lovely site. Good pool with 2 slides and an outdoor small one for the toddlers. There was lane swimming only from 9-10am which for me was the best time in the pool as it became very busy for the rest of the day. There was talk of a new pool for nest year which would relieve the pressure. It was roasting while we were there. The play areas were good and although we stayed in a static this year we normally camp so like to try out the camping facilities and found them to be very clean and plenty of them. The showers were lovely and warm. The animation team seemed good but the site was predominantly Dutch and the kids clubs were Dutch speaking so my children didn't go. We watched a good performance of footloose one night. The campsite is has a rule of silence after 11pm and other than one night when our neighbour's dogs were barking until about midnight this did happen.

The area is beautiful and you can easily walk to the pretty town of Larochette. We did it with a 1 year old!

I would return if I was in the area again. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Odefrt 3 reviews from this member

 Good location up on a hill ok for fit folk to walk into town by road or very nice route by footpath.

Facilities very good, heated floor in sanitary block, showers good, everywhere clean. Good swimming pool covered but can be opened in hot weather. Good well stocked shop & takeaway food.

Some pitches can get waterlogged while others are sloping, not good if you have a tent.

Negative: Restaurant is quite expensive & full of flies. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lbarkas 84 reviews from this member

 Disappointed that pitch was so muddy. Did not put up the awning because of this. Otherwise, pitch was of a good size and clearly defined with a hedge - deters others from crossing your territory! Site attractively landscaped.

Still represented good value using ACSI discount.

Toilet block a good size and cleaned regularly.

Had a pleasant day out at Vianden, taking the chair lift to the top. Also toured the castle.

Wifi not good at the pitch, so connected near the bar. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newoverseascamper 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 4 nights at Birkelt and it is a large campsite. The first pitch we were allocated sloped, the reception staff were very friendly and allowed us to change pitch, we chose a pitch near the children's playground and near the horse field, it felt safer for the children to play. We found early mornings especially Saturday and Sunday it got busy with Caravans leaving and we had to queue and waited a while to get out of the campsite grounds!

We only used shower block B, it was clean and looked newly decorated. We found the showers only dribbled water and was only luke warm, I couldn't find a control to make it warmer. The children's showers were great (almost power shower flow). Toilets were clean and provided toilet paper and gel to wipe the toilet seats.

The site also has a swimming pool which is heated and covered in poor weather. Also an outdoor toddler pool. There is a take away, restaurant which we found to be good value price wise (similar to the UK). The supermarket is well stocked and reasonably priced again similar prices to the UK. Childrens playgrounds are doted around the site and there is crazy golf. There is a children's club, but my children didn't visit it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MCS12 2 reviews from this member

 This site is great.

We stayed her for 3 nights. Showers and toilets are modern and clean. Pitches are all well maintained and of good size.

Loads for kids to do - table tennis, trampolines, playground, football, volleyball and really nice pool which can be either indoors or outdoors depending upon the weather.

Has free wifi too.

Site it a short walk though woodland to a lovely town where there is a really interesting castle and some nice bars.

Would definitely go back and would recommend it to anybody. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MRSELLIS 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 10 nights, and really enjoyed it.

Site is mostly geared towards families, but was still quiet. Very clean showers and toilets. The shop was well stocked, but for more choice there is a good supermarket in Larochette (next to the Esso garage). Lovely places of interest not too far away and a visit to Trier is a must.

Only downside was the 1st pitch we were allocated

Was not really big enough for a twin axle caravan

And awning(we only had a porch awning) also we had paid for a fully serviced pitch and we could not use the drain as it was higher than the caravan. After 4 nights we complained and we moved to a large corner pitch which was great.

Recommend that if you have booked a serviced pitch that you check the drain before siting your caravan also if you have a largish van and awning you really need a corner site.

Having said all that, it was a great holiday and recommended 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 33 reviews from this member

 Camping Birkelt is a 5-star site situated on a hill just south of and overlooking the small town of Larochette. There is a large parking area for new arrivals so no problems with leaving your unit to check-in.

Reception will give you a map of Birkelt, show you where your pitch is, and give you an electronic pass card for the barrier (deposit 10 euro). English is spoken by the reception staff.

Camping Birkelt consists of 400+ marked pitches, of which around 250 are for tourers. These are split between standard pitches and super pitches (which include a water tap and a drain).

All the pitches on site are a reasonable size and are easy to get on to. They are all laid to grass but many of them have large dirt patches where groundsheets have been left down for long periods. Being on a hill, most pitches slope slightly but nothing too much to worry about.

There is free wifi to all pitches which worked well most of the time although on occasion it did drop out. All the marked pitches are separated by trees or bushes.

When we were there Birkelt was also pitching units on unmarked areas around the edge of the site. These sloped more than the normal pitches and were not served by proper roads. These areas did get quite muddy in the rain so avoid getting pitched in these areas if you can.

The remaining pitches are used by two tour operators (Eurocamp and VacanSoleil) and by the site for their own units. Of these, I felt that Eurocamp and Birkelt had the nicer pitches.

There are three toilet blocks on site: a small one close to reception and two others further into the campsite. All the blocks are well maintained and clean but the best one is block 3 which is the more modern of the blocks. The toilets in all the blocks have a dispenser for cleaning the seats.

The showers are push button and have temperature control. There is also a family room in block 3. Some of the pitches are a long way from the toilets and Birkelt could really do with another block further into the site.

The campsite has a good bar/restaurant serving a wide range of food. We ate here one evening and it was excellent. There is also a good takeaway next door which is open for long hours each day. Evening entertainment is provided each evening in a large marquee situated opposite the restaurant. This is mainly in Dutch (I reckon around 90% of the campers while we were here were Dutch).

The campsite has a swimming pool which can be covered when the weather is inclement. It looks huge from the outside but the pool itself is only average sized. It gets very busy in high season (and its open to the public) but it is warm.

I think Birkelt could really do with a new larger pool area to cater for the size of the park. Just outside the pool there is a large field containing a paddling pool, trampolines, and other play equipment.

There are also other playgrounds dotted around the site including an area for skateboards. Birkelt also has two tennis courts at the far end.

There is a small supermarket on site selling bread, pastries, milk and other essentials. There is a supermarket just north of Larochette where you can also get fuel, but for a larger shop the best place we found was the Cactus supermarket just before you get to Mersch (turn left outside the site and its 10 minutes away).

The town of Larochette is only a 10 minute walk away but bear in mind Birkelt is high up on a hill and the climb back takes a little longer. There are plenty of walking opportunities in the area. Larochette has 5 marked rambling routes of which 3 pass by the campsite.

A lot of the other towns in the area also have their own marked routes and they are all very well signposted. You can get leaflets showing where these routes are from reception.

This is a good area if you like castles. We went to castles at Larochette, Vianden, Bourscheid and Beaufort and found them all interesting and good value.

There are also many picturesque villages close by – Clervaux, Esch-sur-Sure, Echternach – to name three. Luxembourg City is only 35 minutes away and is well worth a visit. We visited the Casemates there (underground tunnels which go beneath the city) which were very interesting.

Another place that shouldn’t be missed is Trier in Germany (45 minutes away) where there are plenty of Roman buildings to be seen.

There are many other attractions in Luxembourg but you really have to hunt them out. Luxembourg isn’t as touristy as other countries and it can be difficult to find out what there is and what is going on. I have never ever seen so many tourist information offices with so few leaflets before.

We managed to get a brochure showing all the attractions in English and mainly used this to plan our holiday.

Luxembourg is well worth a visit and Birkelt is an excellent place to stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 50 reviews from this member

 Superb area for touring about, stunning scenery and towns in both Luxembourg and Germany, especially Bernkastek-Kues.

The pitch I was on was quite small and probably impossible to access without a mover, had to do some serious pruning of the hedges to be able to get around the awning, and the drain for the super pitch was impossible to use as the water had to run uphill.

One big problem with the pitches is the habit of people putting down non-breathable ground sheets and putting their breathable ones on top to keep them clean.

The pitches were just a patch of mud, and with the rain we had not good.

There were red squirrels collecting their winter nuts which was a delight to see as in Britain they are a very rare sight.

Overall a good holiday and I would visit the country again but stay maybe on the Moselle, which is a brilliant drive along. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JohnB600 16 reviews from this member

 We only stayed at this site for one night on our way back from Italy and were very impressed. It is a large and well-organised site with loads of facilities, shops, bar, entertainment and a large swimming-pool. The toilets are excellent as are the washing facilities, including, the first I have seen on a site, a catering-size dishwasher! The pitches are good-sized, although on some you need an extra long mains hook-up lead as the the pylons are well spaced out. As I said, we were very impressed with this site and it is on our list for another, possibly longer stay. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Birkelt child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Birkelt have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Birkelt?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Birkelt dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Larochette      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Luxembourg

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement