Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thorns Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Grantham > Thorns Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Thorns Farm Certificated Site
Thorns Lane
Barrowby
Grantham
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG32 1EQ
Tel: 01476 590923
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nick culy 1 review from this member

 We love this site.

Itís such easy access from the A1, all grass pitches with loads of space.

2 small ponds on the site with some nice sized Common and Mirror Carp amongst others. Ponds are like the site and well maintained.

Full 13amp electricity and standard amenities that you would expect. Fabulous site for the price.

Downsides, there are a few commuter trains but they are here and there and rarely notice them. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cdtetf 1 review from this member

 Easy to find. Althought we did not mee the owner she was very helpful with directions and easy to contact to book extra night.

Although site next to local railway track and the A1 we did not feel they spoilt the stay.

Site was clean and Basic facilities were provided and adequate.

There was a walk from the campsite for taking our dog first thing and we found 2 lovely walks along Grantham canal and Denton reservoir.

Would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Maryly 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with a gated entrance and set between two small lakes. There are fields of horses on one side of the site and a railway embankment on the other.

The passing of trains wasn't bothersome. The site is level and beautifully kept.

There is plenty of space with EHU, water and Elsan facilities all conveniently situated.

Checking in at the farmhouse was easy. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SJ1405 8 reviews from this member

 After coming back from a wet camping weekend in my dad's garden in Dorset, we needed to dry and clean the tent. But how?

This site is just down the road from us, so I called to see if they had space for us to set up to dry the tent. A lovely lady on the other end of the phone said yes, no problem, but we would have to sleep there, rather than leave the tent unoccupied over night, and she went on the explain how to get on site, and just to pop in to see her to pay her in the house at some point.

The field is flat, there was electric hook ups, taps and grey water drainage - there was a point to empty an elsan elsewhere. There were lakes, which we didn't use and it was empty, until 5ish when a motorhome turned up. We had decided in the morning to put the tent up and take it down after tea (glad we did as it rained over night).

Bad points

- no loo's or showers etc

- train line nearby

- A1 nearby

Good points

- lovely owner

- clean tidy site

- flat

- easy to find - with instructions

- loads of room - not marked out

- sheltered

- Grantham only 5 minutes away

As we have a tent, rather than a caravan or motorhome, we probably wouldn't stay - as we need a minimum of a loo. But I would recommend this site to you if you have your own facilities. We had a great day, despite doing a tent clean and repair. Our 13 year old twins looked after our 18 month old toddler - (keeping him away from the water) and ran him around to exhaustions, they were away from their laptops, and we all got on well with each other!

I have to give them 2 out of 10 for facilities only because there wasn't any, but we were not missold this site - so it has to have 10/10 over all. It's like ronseal - does exactly what it says on the tin xxx 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mags62 4 reviews from this member

 Nice site for £11 a night. Water, cdp and electric point all close to camping area. Easy access from the A1 and close to Grantham, Melton Mowbray and a lot of National Trust historic houses. The trains and the noise from the A1 are a nuisance at first but you do get used to them. My husband fished in the large lake and caught a reasonable mirror carp and a lot of smaller ones. Would benefit from toilets and shower but still good value for the money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevo1 19 reviews from this member

 Greeted at house by friendly Lady owner. Field is fairly level and well drained. Only fished the smaller lake, as the large lake has a dense cover of oxygenating weed in it, & would benefit from being thinned out (unfishable at present).

The very regular East Midlands trains, unfortunately let this site down for us personally, with trains running from approx 05. 30 till 2200hrs most days. Train track can only be some 50Mt's away approx.

Visited Buckminster Estates for some excellent Trout fishing & shopped at Downtown super store which has everything >>> (Downtown Superstore Shopping Centre just off the A1, Newark offers everything you need under one roof). 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickyboy63 3 reviews from this member

 Had a nice weekend at thorns farm.

Nice friendly people and a peaceful site. The fishing was very good in the small lake and I caught loads of fish over the weekend. The fish I caught were mostly Mirror carp with a few fair sized roach and rud. The site itself is a small well kept site with water/elsan point. At 11 pound a night with electric hook up the price is about right. The fishing at 5 pound a day is about right too. So for a nice quiet weekend with fishing can't wait to go again soon.

Small local two carriage trains pass right next to the site but they didn't bother us at all.

Grantham is worth a visit on Saturday mornings for its Market. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DAALPAHNE 5 reviews from this member

 A great little site that we have used more than once. Basic facilities of fresh water, waste disposal, and 16a hook up. Easy access north or south. Flat grass site in a wonderful location for Grantham and surrounding area, Belvior Castle, Belton House, Stamford, Rutland Water etc. Lovely walks through open farmland. Hosts are both welcoming and helpful. If you need the pub then you will have to drive to nearby village (Gonerby)or into town. Yes the small trains pass by, they are not a bother, smile, try waving and see who waves back. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chewie 30 reviews from this member

 Small, peaceful and beautiful. We have always opted for CC sites with full facilities before now; and this was our first 'certified location' style site. What a dream of a place; lovely animals in adjoining fields, lush surroundings and an excellent location for access to the A1. We chose it purely to be near to Grantham for a family wedding but we so wish we could have stayed longer, it was that nice a site. The owners were helpful and chatty, and the few facilities on offer were clan and tidy and just what we needed. The site only has a couple of hook up points so make sure your cable is long enough; and you'll need chocks and levelling ramps to set up nice and level. The ground drains well and it was a joy to put up an awning so quickly after years of struggling with CC hard standings and rock pegs. We will definitely be using this site again to visit our daughter for weekends and it has made us totally reconsider the way we caravan; and we might seek out small sites such as this in future and not be so reliant on the big Club sites. Well recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 369 reviews from this member

 A nice CS, usefully situated near the A1 (but road noise is minimal). You can only access the site from the northbound carriageway, so if travelling south, leave at the next junction at Grantham and take the A52 westward to rejoin the northbound A1. The site is just past the speed camera and has its own driveway. Call at the house, not the bungalow. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The site is through a gate on the left, plenty of room here. Keep going to the end of the field. There are 2 small fishing lakes, plenty of space. The only problem we encountered was that the ehu tripped, this was soon rectified by the owner.

Grantham is not the prettiest town, but has all that is needed, Sainsbury supermarket. The nearest fuel is just off the next junction going north, where there is a small shop.

We would use the site again, but it's probably best as an overnighter unless you fish. Good price at £8. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thorns Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorns Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Thorns Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grantham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


62730 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement