Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shortlands Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Shortlands Farm
Druidston
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 3NE
Tel: 01437 781234
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lukesluck 1 review from this member

Stayed here with my son(13yo) for a full week during the half term May 2018. Kate and Luke run this wonderful gem of a campsite. Views out to St Brides bay are truly stunning; we have been camping a lot all over the UK, this site rates very highly, at only £8 per person per night (enough said here, especially when I investigated some sites in the Pembrokeshire area that regiment your pitch to a particular space are charging £35 a night for 2 people).

Nice friendly greeting on arrival. You can get on with pitching in your own chosen space, so that even when at full capacity you still have your own bit of Wales. Great for solo travellers/ couples/ families/ groups of friends.

Allows fires, your own pit or the owners give you a pit(on request), and sell 'good quality dry kept wood for burning' and kindling at a very fair price.

You are allowed to park your car next to your pitch. The field is good ground/soil for pitching on. The camping field is for tents and small camper vans only; so you are not overrun by large motor homes; which is something we particularly enjoyed. There is an area for up to approx 6 larger motor homes with electric hook ups, in a separate area/field, so again tent campers do not feel as they are in a small city of large motor homes(which I have experienced on other camping vacations around the UK), leaving unspoilt see views and panoramic views of the bay/sea for us down to earth campers.

Facilities are more than fine: Moaning about a shared toilet/shower block is pretty ridiculous. It is clean and fine. Fridge freezer is adequate. Some folks even left their mobiles phones charging on the 2 spare mains sockets in the facilities block; as the place is so trusting. I know us camper types like to get away from the world of Wiki & Tech, but having a charged I think is fair enough on the whole in 2018, so long as it doesn't control/consume your life :-) We were at the campsite at peak (May half-term) and NEVER had to wait for the toilet, if the 3 showers are all busy(around 9am-ish seemed the peak); no need to stand and wait and moan (chill you are on holiday), just go back in half an hour after breakfast or whatever else, & you will be fine. Never did we witness an evening where there wasn't a shower available. Lovely warm water and no extra cost for the showers. Good clean washing up facilities (with hot water). Recycle bins for your waste. Couple of water taps in the camping field.

Again even at capacity, the campsite was wonderfully quiet after dark. Even when plenty of groups were having their fires late on, (10:00pm+) the campers all clearly had a mutual respect for each other, bringing such a nice feeling of calm under the non light polluted stars. No silly list of 'rules' at this campsite, which I strongly believe is the reason for the mutual respect between campers.

The owners let you get on with it (unlike some sites, where owners are checking up on the campers, whilst pretending not to be doing so, you know the story. ) full trust also gains respect. If you need any info, they are open for approach/ local info/ guidance. Just knock on the door for a positive response. Not a whimper of road noise at all on the campsite(day or night).

extra charge for my additional gazebo (which I have had at some other previous campsites I have stayed at). I cannot add much more really other than. Clearly if you are reading this, then you are clearly looking for a base in Pembrokeshire. This was nice and central as such, so look no further. Oh. Did I forget to mention the coastal path/ bays/ coves/ beaches that are not overpopulated. Pop for a walk down the coast to Broad Haven and Little Haven or stroll up the coast to Newgate sands and in either direction see the beautiful coastline change as you continually are forced to admire it at every turn.

I can't recommend Shortlands highly enough & I've done a bit of camping. If I/We are ever looking to camp in Pembrokeshire area in future, it's a 'no brainer'. Thank you Kate & Luke.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MaffH 3 reviews from this member

What this campsite has going for it is its location. However, for a family of four it is expensive (£30 night) given that you get:

- no electric hookups

- one washing up sink which is not under cover

- no toilet paper provided

- no bins in cubicles for sanitary products

- a small freezer for ice blocks that is needed by all campers

- dogs running free (I had to clean dog faeces from toilet floor with bucket water

- another campsite that locates caravans nearest to facilities despite having their own facilities

- only 5 pitches for caravan club caravanners having hook ups

- full payment required up front regardless of inclement weather making it difficult for some families to go but they would lose all their money. Surely if the weather is bad or people have to cancel, why can't campsite owners be happy with a 20% deposit and allow other last minute bookings. It is unfair to charge for not using an empty grass plot in field in middle of nowhere if people decide to cancel. This is supposed to be a cheap alternative and isn't a hotel with all the overheads!

We felt that there were lots of things that were lacking for the price.

Not sure we will go back unless these issues are addressed or it is cheaper.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

Spent 3 weeks at Shortlands, great pitch with huge amount of room and to top it, a view out to sea. The sunsets, superb, lying in our front double watching the sun setting!

Excellent location for visiting al Pembrokeshire.

Druidston Hotel excellent, wonderful food. Only short walk or drive.

Yes, the last part of the lane is a little dumpy, please do not be put off. Shortlands is a great place. Very friendly, quiet, clean and lovely hot showers.

Thankyou

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ang F 1 review from this member

Excellent site. Kate and Luke are very helpful owners. Clean toilet & shower facilities: always plenty of hot water, even when the camping field is busy. Excellent value for money. The last leg of the access track is bumpy but we didn't encounter any problems. Superb for walkers and dogs as the site is located on the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. Druidston Beach is dog friendly and the Druidston Hotel had three real ales on offer. Well placed to visit St David's, the UK's smallest city and this beautiful area of Wales. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rainbow 747 3 reviews from this member

This site is a little gem. Very peaceful farm site with good size grass plots with electric. A very warm welcome from the owners, facilities excellent and very modern. Located close to the Pembrokeshire coast path and best of all, a great dog friendly pub in walking distance serving superb food. Access is a via long a farm track which was perfectly fine for our motorhome. Great value for money and hope to return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Familycampers1234 5 reviews from this member

Perfect farm camping- a field with beautiful views and great facilities within walking distance of a beach (or a short drive to many others) and a lovely pub. Good value for money.

Loved this site- can't wait to return. Wonderful views and plenty of space to pitch. It is a bit exposed and windy but that made it great for kite flying! Friendly helpful owners. Fantastic clean toilet/ shower block- the best we visited. Plenty of space for children and dogs to play.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chappers2341 11 reviews from this member

We are currently 5 days into a two week stay and the site is perfect for us. A field, decent showers, in a new block, with loads of hot water and a tap. There is probably space for maybe 20 tents with fantastic views over St Brides bay, but It could be quite exposed, we had winds at around 20 mph and it was a. Tad chilly from the North.

However we were greeted by a very friendly Kate, Luke and Theo the dog. They aren't always around but then there's not really anything you might need from them. There is a small information point and book exchange in the porch of the house and that's really your lot.

For £5 per person per night it's really hard to complain about anything. If I were to pick fault with anything the wash-up could be undercover, but that really is looking for something to complain about.

If you want facilities, kids play areas etc then this won't be for you.

As an aside the beach is a fifteen minute walk away, where you will pass the fine Druidstone Inn

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twinpikes 2 reviews from this member

Shortlands Farm feels as if its out in the Styx. The free digital “Open Street Map” (use Android app Osmand) has the farm marked. You need a very good map or accurate location on your SatNav. Its three miles North from Broadhaven which is the nearest village with car park, shop and sandy beach; great for kids. At Haverfordwest, seven miles away, you will find a Tesco Extra with petrol and free car parking. There is also a Liddell. The camp site does not have a children's play area but I noticed that young children from several tents and families were playing quite happily together quite soon after they had arrived. I felt the site was safe but there's not much for them to do if it rains.

The single road to the farm becomes a very rough cobbled track which ends in two fields. One has a licence by The Camping and Caravan Club for five vans, the other field is for tents. The tent field, a flat, well-drained, grassy meadow could accommodate approx 18 tents and cars. A dry-stone wall and hedge gives good shelter from the South and West winds blowing in off the sea but it is very exposed to the North and East. The site is on a cliff top field about half a mile inland. On a third of the days I was there the wind speed was up to 20 - a breeze stiff enough to make putting up a tent a struggle. At the cliff edge you can begin a steep descent (walk) down to Druidstone Haven. That's where you'll find the Druidstone Hotel of good food and fine ales fame. From the camp site there are magnificent views to the West out over St. Brides Bay. What sunsets I saw! And to the North, green fields rolling to the horizon. I stayed for two weeks beginning the second week in June when, for my first week, I was the only tent in the field. I conclude that booking a tent in the non-peak seasons isn't necessary. Silence and peace were mine except when broken every evening and dawn by blackbird serenades. Yes, cows in neighbouring pastures often went “moo”. Its what they do in the country!

A new toilet block has just been completed having three toilet and three shower cubicles. Hot water from spring-loaded taps which needed to be pressed repeatedly, was at the right temperature and instantly there, as much as you needed. I wished for more hooks from which I could hang clothes and towel, or a shelf on which to put my wash bag (a small complaint?) The rule was “bring your own toilet roll for none is supplied”. However, I thought that soap should be supplied at the hand basins servicing the toilets and so left a dispenser which lasted my time there. Inside the toilet block there was a small room for the hot water boiler in which was a fridge/ freezer for campers' use. There were no laundry facilities but I hand-washed clothes at the sink outside, also used for washing-up. Here again there was hot water at the right temperature in abundance.

This is a superb site to use as a base from which to explore any part of the South Wales and Pembroke Coastal Paths. The site is only ten minutes walk from the coastal road where the ”Puffin Hopper” will stop for you twice a day to drop you off at almost any point on the path from which you can start walking. It picks you up again later in the day at whatever point you've go to, just flag it down, but be sensitive about narrow lanes. You have to look up the times. Tables can be found at St. David's, perhaps the site owner has one. (Unfortunately English Freedom Passes are not accepted in Wales). But you don't need the bus for you are already on the path, well almost.

One night I could hear bangs and rumblings from the army's firing range located South of Milford Haven over towards Tenby, that's over twenty miles away! But it sounded little more than a “distant thunder storm”. It took me a while to work out what it was. I think it can be heard only If you are down wind. ) I think the vans had hook-ups but not the tents.

I found the owners welcoming and polite. They are busy farmers and not always on site. For me, a single camper with tent and car, I thought £5 per night with hot water included was terrific value for money. I shall certainly return.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pullup 15 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for a week with a touring caravan and electric hook up.

This could be a lovely site, the location is wonderful and has really good sea views, shame about facilities.

We were greeted on site by a note saying everyone was out but to pitch in the left field and they would call to collect our money later.

A key was left for us to use the shower/toilet.

The caravan club field and the tent field share a shower/toilet all in the same room (which you pay and extra 50p per person per night for). Which is really inconvienient if you need the toilet and someone has just gone into the shower. Also the shower/toilet room doesn't have a lock inside apart from the key, which if you don't turn in the lock someone else can knock out and get into the room. Somedays there was toilet paper and other days not.

When we arrived it was very wet but dried out towards the end of the week, there were a few comments from campers about the length of grass which the owners didn't seem bothered about cutting.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cheeseburger 1 review from this member

We visited this beautiful site in June this year. The views are amazing, it is such a peaceful place. It is a small camping field but there was enough room for each tent not to feel too hemmed in. The big hedge on one side gave good shelter against the wind when it was blustery. The toilet block is homely and kept clean, and I didn't ever have to wait to go.

Just down the lane is the most fantastic beach which the kids loved. On sunny days they were happy digging, running around and splashing in rock pools. And we were very happy stopping off for a pint and a cream tea on the way back up to Shortlands Farm at the Druidston Hotel - where you can eat or drink and admire the views out to sea some more!

The owners were very friendly and happy to give us some advice about the local area.

Highly recommended!

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3331 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019