Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow ) Reviews

Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow )
Watermouth
Berrynarbor
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 9SJ
Tel: 01271 862282
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marshy 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely time staying at this campsite. The owners and staff were really friendly and helpful at all times.

I was really impressed with extra facilities such as washing machines and tumble dryers, a freezer to keep ice packs in, pool tables, ping pong tables, badminton net and play areas.

The pitches are well kept and fairly private. Such a great location as well with a choice of beaches within a short drive and Broadsands only a short walk away (down the 200 steps).

Thanks so much for having us, we really enjoyed it. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Katyc3 1 review from this member

 Can’t fault it. Plenty to do. Great facilities. We had the best time.

The views from the top field are phenomenal. Feels free and unregimented.

The shop is useful and reasonable 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Emmah1 1 review from this member

 The campsite is spacious and well presented, very clean & tidy.

Only slight complaint is that we were pitched surrounded by camper vans. 1 in particular had a habit of opening & closing their sliding door repeatedly at 5:30am. Once they'd gone we had a very pleasant stay.

The wet rooms were a brilliant addition, not there last time I visited. Social distancing measures in place and well observed by all campers.

Will definitely be staying there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karen Little 1 review from this member

 Great site. Was able to pick our own pitch with glorious views across the sea. Lovely walks nearby.

Site was clean with washing facilities.

Although shop and pub was closed due to covid there was plenty nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: DabbsTribe 1 review from this member

 We’ve just come back from our second visit this year (first was end of May) to this campsite, we love it! We’ve been visiting for a few years now.

We always pitch up on the hill with the sea view, can’t beat that first morning cuppa looking at the sea whilst witnessing (if you’re lucky) the dolphins that visit!

The facilities are great and suit our needs, the park is great for the kids and the goats fascinate my toddler who’s obsessed with animals. My daughter always makes friends here which is lovely.

Great location too, not far from woolacombe beach which is beautiful, great pub next door which is just walking distance from the campsite. Plenty of places to visit around Ilfracombe too.

The owners work so hard to keep the place looking clean and tidy and always try to accommodate especially if you want a specific pitch etc.

Definitely worth a visit :) we’ll be back soon! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Camp-cat 5 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to Watermouth Valley. Previous visit was July 2018.

This year we opted for a pitch on the hill overlooking the bay.

Chris and his parents are really proactive at ensuring the site looks and feels its best. There was never anything that was too much trouble.

The pub at the edge of the campsite is dog friendly and serves fantastic food.

The site is well laid out with plenty of space and amenities. The new shower block is one of the best I have come across. Loads of privacy, space to change and hot water. There are 2 hairdryers, but no plugs to bring your own.

From our pitch this year we spent most of the days watching the dolphins play.

There is however some negative points with the pitches in these locations: they are quite sloped (we were rolling off the bed quite often and drinks would slide from the table and they are VERY exposed. We found we were wrapped in blankets (despite there being a heat wave) this was purely due to the wind coming in. Because we were situated at the top of the hill, it didn't seem to matter which direction the wind blew from, we got blasted. This made getting our 6 berth airbeam tent inflated and secured extremely difficult. Once it was up it was secure, but I was pretty sure we faced near death on several occasions (nothing several glasses of wine couldn't overcome) Any pitches from b9 onwards are sloping and subject to the wind in my opinion.

We also struggled with cooking due to the wind keep blowing out the gas or the flames. We did try and protect it as much as possible but just didn't work. On the odd day when the wind eased it was stunning. Down in the valley pitches all the campers were enjoying the warmth.

Yes we will return - and to the same pitch ;-) probably at some point next year as it truly is a beautiful, well run site in a fabulous location. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taffsgal 2 reviews from this member

 This is a well laid out, peacful site with nice pitches in a beautiful area. It is immensely let down by lack of cleanliness. The toilets and showers weren't cleaned for days. No fem bins in ladies. No mop to clean showers in 2 blocks. The outside dishwashing facility is also dirty. Even the new shower block, which is lovely, is already looking grotty due to lack of cleaning. This is not due to lots of people on site, it was fairly quiet. We have been too much busier sites with better cleaning regimes. A real shame as this would be a great site otherwise. I would definitely not recommend it or go there again unless things drastically improved. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Malteaser red 12 reviews from this member

 This is such a lovely site. I stayed here with my family and we all had a lovely time. The campsite is a bit hilly, we stayed in the sea view area and were glad to have brought our leveling ramps to use with our campervan. I don't think larger camper vans or caravans would make it up the hill to this area, it's a little steep with a bit of a windy roadway up. The view was amazing looking right down on the sea below. From our pitch there was a bit of a steep walk down to the showers and toilets, however there are other pitches at the bottom of the hill which avoid the steep walk, but they don't have the sea view.

Showers are warm and clean, a little old looking but during our stay we noticed a new shower and toilet block being built ready for next season. Having said that I didn't have a problem with the showers.

The site has a small shop for the basics. There is a large Tesco about a 4 miles drive away for other items.

There is table tennis to use as you please without charge just near reception, plus a small games room with a few bits in.

Laundry facilities are good too.

There is a large playpark to keep the kiddies busy, although my children were fairly happy looking at the campsites pet goats they have.

The walk down to the beach took us and my 7 and 10 year old about 20mins, along the track and down about 200 steep steps.

The beach is lovely, I guess the walk down deters some people from going as the beach was fairly quiet every time we went.

A lovely campsite, this was our first time visiting and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stevehagger 10 reviews from this member

 My family (2 adults and 2 children age 7 and 9) stayed at Watermouth Valley Camping Park in July for the first week in the school summer holidays. We had a great time, the pitches are spacious and the sea view field has a great view across the sea. The walk to the toilets from the sea view field is steep but not too far, or if you want to be closer to the facilities and more sheltered they have pitches in the lower field without a sea view which looked nice too. There are some rooms near reception with pool tables and TVs which may be useful if you have teenage children to entertain, there is also a big park for children to play in. The facilities near the reception had a toilet and shower in each unit. These were often busy however there was a more traditional toilet shower block just a short walk into the other lower field which had plenty of toilets and plenty of shower cubicles they were clean and tidy and never busy. There is also a small shop which only had the essentials but did save a trip to the Tesco down the road for bread and milk. The beach was very nice too it was a bit of a walk down the steps to get there but definitely worth it, the sea was very good for swimming its quite a sheltered bay there. We really liked this site, it was quiet, simple and tidy and it was lovely sitting looking out to sea watching the sun go down. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Herewood 2 reviews from this member

 Went to Watermouth for the last week of the school holidays, the final week that the site was open. You could tell it had been a well used site over the summer, lots of dead grass patches all over :)

The site itself is nice and simple to find, a five minute walk to Watermouth Castle which is great fun, lots of rides and lots of old fashioned one armed bandits which are mostly 2p a go.

The toilets and shower block could have done with updating but was big enough for the amount of people on the site over the August Bank Holiday, didn't have to queue for any of the facilities when I went to use them. Only downside of them is when they clean them they tend to just throw a load of chemicals on the floor and give it a hosing down, which does leave it very slippy and takes a couple of hours to dry (plus didn't see a wet floor sign anywhere).

Good sized play area for the kids, but it is over a stream so lots of kids get very wet. Pitches are all good sized and its great value for money.

The Sawmill pub at the end of the campsite is pricey but tasty.

The private beach is quite a walk from the main campsite including 200 odd steps cut into the side of a cliff, so is quite treacherous and awkward to cross, but once you get to the cove it is definitely worth it. Not a sand beach but very fine black gravel, lots of caves to explore and the sea was some of the clearest and cleanest I have ever seen in the UK. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3229 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement