Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow )

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow ) > Reviews

Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow )
Watermouth
Berrynarbor
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 9SJ
Tel: 01271 862282
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 01/05/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cookmc 1 review from this member

 Very clean toilets and showers family cubicles and hot water.

Booked a sea view spot at £50 a night, on arrival at pitch we could not see the sea, would have been great if you were15 ft tall! Otherwise expect an overgrown hedge instead.

Although the pitch was private and a fair size with room to park the car the ground was hard and stony so take extra pegs cos most of ours got bent.

The site felt secure but some of the staff were unhelpful.

6/10. The location was close to beaches and a few nice pubs.

Shops in illfracombe were a 10 min drive away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Live near by but always use Watermouth Valley camping park when my family come to visit as we all camp as a group

Children love the goats & sheep & playgroup 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Seahorse 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site but the daytime road noise was too much for me. It got quieter by night-time and wasn't enough to keep us awake in the van, but was fairly relentless during the day.

Pitches were lovely, showers perfect and lots of nice touches ; kids play area, games room, Sawmills pub within walking distance (though the food there wasn't great).

The beach is only accessible via a steep uphill walk and then 200+ steps descent, not ideal for small children or anyone with mobility issues. I was unable to visit the beach, frustrating when you can see it but can't get to it.

They have people providing takeaway food on certain evenings, we gave them a try but found it wasn't up to the standard we would have expected for the price, I wouldn't buy again.

We were fortunate to have a partial sea view with ehu but the best views are on the non electric field which is on a steep slope at the top of the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tomgi7 1 review from this member

 Excellent as always. Lovely site, lovely people.

Nice location for exploring surrounding area and further afield.

Food tent was excellent, good value for money, all fresh, home made scones were great. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob Johns 15 reviews from this member

 We decided on an unusually (for us) longer camp at Watermouth Valley Camping Park.

This site can only be described as very special. The owners are fantastic, the atmosphere is outstanding the scenery is breathtaking.

There is a very nice modern 8 unit toilet block which is probably a little small considering that it (along with a small group of five older toilet/shower units) has to cater for a very large chunk of the large site. There is another toilet/shower block along the valley section which we did not visit.

If I were to criticise anything here, it would be that there was only one single water tap for the whole large hill area of the site.

We were pitched on a hook up pitch on the hill (pitch B2). Beware, this is on a hill slope, so I would not recommend this pitch for tent camping. We were offered an alternative pitch by the excellent staff, but declined in this case as we were very tired and had already set up a lot of kit. The pitch did have a view over the Bristol Channel that was incredible, with some spectacular sunsets.

There is a large children's play park, a goat field, a pool/TV room as well as laundry and washing up areas. There were also mini tennis courts! I really could not fault any of this.

Another very notable feature for the summer peak times is that there was a catering set up near the reception with a different meal style every day. There were tasty roast dinners on Sundays as well as curry days, Mexican days and Pizza days, all done very nicely.

The area is fabulous with Ilfracombe and Combe Martin on the doorstep with many smaller beaches in the area. If you have kids, then a visit to Watermouth castle 300 metres away from the site is well worth a visit with its Victorian museum and beautiful gardens and theme park.

Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park is also a great day out (mind the steep hills though).

All in all, I thoroughly recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nichol 1 review from this member

 Amazing campsite before we left we have booked an additional two stays for over the summer holidays -

Staff were incredibly helpful,

Amazing facilities

A firm favourite! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Shauna 1 review from this member

 Our first time visiting the campsite and we had an amazing time.

The camp was well equipped with many facilities and our children had the best time!

The views from the hill were spectacular.

We will definitely be visiting again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nicolahole 1 review from this member

 Site is beautifully maintained fantastic facilities.

Family run who seem to really know what running a great campsite is all about.

Lovely choice of pitches. Small playpark for little ones.

Dog friendly and some lovely walks nearby 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marshy 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely time staying at this campsite. The owners and staff were really friendly and helpful at all times.

I was really impressed with extra facilities such as washing machines and tumble dryers, a freezer to keep ice packs in, pool tables, ping pong tables, badminton net and play areas.

The pitches are well kept and fairly private. Such a great location as well with a choice of beaches within a short drive and Broadsands only a short walk away (down the 200 steps).

Thanks so much for having us, we really enjoyed it. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Katyc3 1 review from this member

 Canít fault it. Plenty to do. Great facilities. We had the best time.

The views from the top field are phenomenal. Feels free and unregimented.

The shop is useful and reasonable 
via mobile


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement