Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow ) Reviews

Watermouth Valley Camping Park (was Big Meadow )
Watermouth
Berrynarbor
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 9SJ
Tel: 01271 862282
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: DabbsTribe 1 review from this member

We’ve just come back from our second visit this year (first was end of May) to this campsite, we love it! We’ve been visiting for a few years now.

We always pitch up on the hill with the sea view, can’t beat that first morning cuppa looking at the sea whilst witnessing (if you’re lucky) the dolphins that visit!

The facilities are great and suit our needs, the park is great for the kids and the goats fascinate my toddler who’s obsessed with animals. My daughter always makes friends here which is lovely.

Great location too, not far from woolacombe beach which is beautiful, great pub next door which is just walking distance from the campsite. Plenty of places to visit around Ilfracombe too.

The owners work so hard to keep the place looking clean and tidy and always try to accommodate especially if you want a specific pitch etc.

Definitely worth a visit :) we’ll be back soon!
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Camp-cat 5 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit to Watermouth Valley. Previous visit was July 2018.

This year we opted for a pitch on the hill overlooking the bay.

Chris and his parents are really proactive at ensuring the site looks and feels its best. There was never anything that was too much trouble.

The pub at the edge of the campsite is dog friendly and serves fantastic food.

The site is well laid out with plenty of space and amenities. The new shower block is one of the best I have come across. Loads of privacy, space to change and hot water. There are 2 hairdryers, but no plugs to bring your own.

From our pitch this year we spent most of the days watching the dolphins play.

There is however some negative points with the pitches in these locations: they are quite sloped (we were rolling off the bed quite often and drinks would slide from the table and they are VERY exposed. We found we were wrapped in blankets (despite there being a heat wave) this was purely due to the wind coming in. Because we were situated at the top of the hill, it didn't seem to matter which direction the wind blew from, we got blasted. This made getting our 6 berth airbeam tent inflated and secured extremely difficult. Once it was up it was secure, but I was pretty sure we faced near death on several occasions (nothing several glasses of wine couldn't overcome) Any pitches from b9 onwards are sloping and subject to the wind in my opinion.

We also struggled with cooking due to the wind keep blowing out the gas or the flames. We did try and protect it as much as possible but just didn't work. On the odd day when the wind eased it was stunning. Down in the valley pitches all the campers were enjoying the warmth.

Yes we will return - and to the same pitch ;-) probably at some point next year as it truly is a beautiful, well run site in a fabulous location.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taffsgal 2 reviews from this member

This is a well laid out, peacful site with nice pitches in a beautiful area. It is immensely let down by lack of cleanliness. The toilets and showers weren't cleaned for days. No fem bins in ladies. No mop to clean showers in 2 blocks. The outside dishwashing facility is also dirty. Even the new shower block, which is lovely, is already looking grotty due to lack of cleaning. This is not due to lots of people on site, it was fairly quiet. We have been too much busier sites with better cleaning regimes. A real shame as this would be a great site otherwise. I would definitely not recommend it or go there again unless things drastically improved.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Malteaser red 12 reviews from this member

This is such a lovely site. I stayed here with my family and we all had a lovely time. The campsite is a bit hilly, we stayed in the sea view area and were glad to have brought our leveling ramps to use with our campervan. I don't think larger camper vans or caravans would make it up the hill to this area, it's a little steep with a bit of a windy roadway up. The view was amazing looking right down on the sea below. From our pitch there was a bit of a steep walk down to the showers and toilets, however there are other pitches at the bottom of the hill which avoid the steep walk, but they don't have the sea view.

Showers are warm and clean, a little old looking but during our stay we noticed a new shower and toilet block being built ready for next season. Having said that I didn't have a problem with the showers.

The site has a small shop for the basics. There is a large Tesco about a 4 miles drive away for other items.

There is table tennis to use as you please without charge just near reception, plus a small games room with a few bits in.

Laundry facilities are good too.

There is a large playpark to keep the kiddies busy, although my children were fairly happy looking at the campsites pet goats they have.

The walk down to the beach took us and my 7 and 10 year old about 20mins, along the track and down about 200 steep steps.

The beach is lovely, I guess the walk down deters some people from going as the beach was fairly quiet every time we went.

A lovely campsite, this was our first time visiting and we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevehagger 10 reviews from this member

My family (2 adults and 2 children age 7 and 9) stayed at Watermouth Valley Camping Park in July for the first week in the school summer holidays. We had a great time, the pitches are spacious and the sea view field has a great view across the sea. The walk to the toilets from the sea view field is steep but not too far, or if you want to be closer to the facilities and more sheltered they have pitches in the lower field without a sea view which looked nice too. There are some rooms near reception with pool tables and TVs which may be useful if you have teenage children to entertain, there is also a big park for children to play in. The facilities near the reception had a toilet and shower in each unit. These were often busy however there was a more traditional toilet shower block just a short walk into the other lower field which had plenty of toilets and plenty of shower cubicles they were clean and tidy and never busy. There is also a small shop which only had the essentials but did save a trip to the Tesco down the road for bread and milk. The beach was very nice too it was a bit of a walk down the steps to get there but definitely worth it, the sea was very good for swimming its quite a sheltered bay there. We really liked this site, it was quiet, simple and tidy and it was lovely sitting looking out to sea watching the sun go down.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Herewood 2 reviews from this member

Went to Watermouth for the last week of the school holidays, the final week that the site was open. You could tell it had been a well used site over the summer, lots of dead grass patches all over :)

The site itself is nice and simple to find, a five minute walk to Watermouth Castle which is great fun, lots of rides and lots of old fashioned one armed bandits which are mostly 2p a go.

The toilets and shower block could have done with updating but was big enough for the amount of people on the site over the August Bank Holiday, didn't have to queue for any of the facilities when I went to use them. Only downside of them is when they clean them they tend to just throw a load of chemicals on the floor and give it a hosing down, which does leave it very slippy and takes a couple of hours to dry (plus didn't see a wet floor sign anywhere).

Good sized play area for the kids, but it is over a stream so lots of kids get very wet. Pitches are all good sized and its great value for money.

The Sawmill pub at the end of the campsite is pricey but tasty.

The private beach is quite a walk from the main campsite including 200 odd steps cut into the side of a cliff, so is quite treacherous and awkward to cross, but once you get to the cove it is definitely worth it. Not a sand beach but very fine black gravel, lots of caves to explore and the sea was some of the clearest and cleanest I have ever seen in the UK.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

We loved this site, a great location, fantastic price and a relaxed atmosphere.

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly wardens. We were place on a generous sized grass pitch and could set up the caravan in any way we liked.

Facilities were good, toilets and showers were always clean, though a little dated.

The kids playground was a hit with my son, as was the pool table and table tennis.

The shop was well stocked and is visited by a Mexican and a Caribbean take away.

Location is great, close to Ilfracombe and Combe Martin. The site does have it's own beach, but it is quite a trek to reach it.

In all, a great site which I'd thoroughly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jivemistress 1 review from this member

We stayed decided on this camp site for a week in August after checking the other reviews. We were not disappointed. The shower and toilet blocks were clean and tidy. Considering it was the school summer holidays I only had to wait for a shower once and only for a few minutes. The games rooms and two table tennis tables were a definite hit with my seven year old son. As was the great children's play park. We asked to be situated near the play park & the owners were very accommodating. Great on site shop and an added bonus was the African cuisine catering van which visited on the Wednesday. Great food, lots of it at a reasonable price. Made a change from cooking! Great location just opposite Watermouth Castle which is well worth a visit. Impressive beach surrounded by towering cliffs but be warned - think its over 200 steep steps down so the trip back up is not for the faint hearted! Nice quiet camp site in the evenings, some road noise but not too bad. Overall we had a great holiday here & would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hollyh83 1 review from this member

We stayed here at the end of August/beginning of September, family of 5, 3 kids 11, 6 and 10 months. We arrived at a very long journey and were greeted with very polite friendly staff, no issues booking in. I had asked for 2 level pitches next to each other near the park and the facilities, this is exactly what we got, they were perfect. We had been told there had been rain the week before and if the pitches were a bit wet to just pitch further forward or wherever was dry.

When we got to out pitches we wanted to swap one as we have a baby that still refuses to sleep through the night and wanted to be tucked away in a corner to avoid disturbing anyone. This was accommodate fine and pitches swapped straight away.

While we pitched the kids played in the park, I could still hear and see them and the equipment kept them more than entertained. There was a rather large amount of wasps and my youngest got stung twice within an hour of arriving but once the bins were emptied this was no longer an issue.

The toilets were very clean and there were plenty, the same with the showers which were warm after a few presses of the button. They were free which is always a bonus and can be hard to find. The only small downside to the facilities was there was no family bathroom which would have been handy with a little one although they did have a changing unit and sink in a large toilet in the ladies (not sure about the gents!) which did the job of not a little awkward.

There was plenty to do near by and plenty of shops to buy supplies. The pub nex to the campsite was a a god send on the first night as no one could be bothered to cook. Good was decent and the fellas liked the ale!

All in all a fab week at a great price and everyone enjoyed their stay. We would definitely visit again if we were down that way.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Floppy-poppy 10 reviews from this member

Having read the good reviews of this site, we were not disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The site has a shop for everyday needs and there is a Tesco not too far away and a little petrol station in Hele down the road that sells most everything at reasonable prices.

We were pitched on a terrace just before the top field. Our pitch was large enough for the Tennesee 6 plus 2 cars and quite even. Just the other side of the hedge was the sea (nice to be lulled to sleep by its' sound) and if you walked further up there were some terrific views of the bay.

They have their own beach which is lovely but it does have rather a lot of steps, 220 to be precise so you do have to be fit(ish). You can explore the little nooks and crannies and can see Coombe Martin across the bay from one point. The beach does not have golden sands, but grey. Getting to the beach you get great views over the whole of Watermouth Bay - it all looks idyllic and peaceful.

There is a launderette, freezer for ice packs and there are 2 washing up areas, one in the launderette and one outside near the shower blocks. All nice and clean.

The are 2 places to shower, one behind the shop (wet rooms) and a shower block on the other field. There are 6 wet rooms/toilets (in a wooden block), so if someone had a shower, the toilet was out of use and the next 'user' would find everywhere wet. The basins were tiny corner ones and, unfortunately, no towel or hand drier to dry hands. The other shower block had separate section for toilets and showers. The mens and ladies blocks were okay with plenty of hot water but needed updating as some parts were a bit 'tatty' looking. The ladies were not always as clean as they should be but this may have been children, although a dirty nappy or two on the floor/on a toilet lid was obviously an adult.

On site, there is table tennis, snooker room and games room and a children's play area all enjoyed by the children on site. There is also a pub at the end of the site which, although we didn't quite get to, apparently served good food and ale.

The area itself is superb with fantastic beaches (beware of Saunton Sands (lovely beach) which charge 8pound for parking but after 6 is free or drive down the road to the dunes and pay 2 pound)and fantastic walks - google them, they are worth it! Some nice towns and villages not too far away. All in all a great central point from where you can explore North Devon whatever you like to do.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2187 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020