Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Travellers Rest

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Fareham > The Travellers Rest > Reviews

The Travellers Rest
Church Road
Newtown
Fareham
Hampshire   (Browse area)
PO17 6LL
Tel: 01329 830097  or  07825 150770
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sueco3 5 reviews from this member

 The Traveller's Rest pub has closed, though the owner/manager lives there. It does mean anyone who chose this location originally with the expectation of a bar / meals on site will be disappointed, although we were told about the closure when we rang to book. There are pubs in nearby villages eg Wickham 3 miles, and the town of Fareham is only 7 miles away.

The site is located on a country lane, with a coded gate that is great for security but means a large car towing a large caravan couldn't actually get off the road completely to open the gate -

Just a word of advice! And though it's a country lane it's well-used and traffic moves fast on the long straight stretch past the site. However, when the friendly owner's around he's very helpful with the opening and closing!

We booked by phone but didn't have to pay in advance; and weren't asked for our CCC number though it's a certificated members-only site. We did get a Covid contact form to fill in when we arrived, however, and the number was requested on that.

We were pleased with our pitch: we had hard standing beside a hedge separating us from open fields, sharing a water tap with the next unit, and with electricity on a meter system. You pay in advance, overspend refunded on departure - ours came to £6 for 4 nights.

The toilet and wash blocks were well maintained, although we didn't need them, and the disposal facilities were also clean and tidy, including large bins for waste and recycling. For families with children the excellent play area would be an added benefit. Plenty of car parking on site for visitors, too.

This location is great for visiting both countryside and coast, with good roads to seaside resorts and to larger towns including Portsmouth and Chichester with all their tourist attractions.

We however were mainly there to catch up with friends we made when we lived in Fareham, so we know the area quite well. Even so we did get lost coming back in the dark one night: it's pitch black and the signposts can be deceptive!

There are several country paths through woodland nearby, and dogs can be walked on leads throughout the site. The first couple of nights were very quiet with only a few units on site, and we heard owls and pheasants, and saw bats flying right by the tent.

Towards the Bank Holiday weekend a large number of tents arrived, so then the site was virtually full; and one family were still chatting loudly round their blazing fire-pit after 11. 30pm.

As we were leaving on the following morning it didn't become an issue, but was a reminder for us retired folk that it's probably best to book at non-holiday periods when we can! 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sammyh 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site. Hard standing elec and water on pitch. All pitches large can fit awning and still have room. Kerry and Scott are fantastic very helpful friendly.

Pub far enough away that you donít hear it. Pub does lovely food locals all friendly. Shower and toilet facilities always clean and tidy. Toilet disposal on site.

Great outdoor play area for kids. Dog friendly. We were only due to stay 4 nights but loved it so much we extended our stay.

Will definitely be coming back again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Luke1992 1 review from this member

 Under new management.

What a lovely bank holiday weekend, Lovely clean and refurbished toilet and shower block. We were given the choice of hardstand or grass pitch which were both very spacious.

Well maintained play area and plenty of space for children to play. We were advised before booking that the pub isnít open yet as under refurbishment.

We will most definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that this site now reopened after a couple of years being closed. It once again offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinathrip 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site

Flat land

Great location

Quiet despite being a pub

Excellent playground and ok facilities

Excellent value for money.

Really enjoyed it.

We went to Portsmouth dockyard

Southampton new forest and day trip to isle if eight from here 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derekcbr 83 reviews from this member

 First the site - grass pitches slightly unlevel you will need chocs. EHU ok and chem disposal ok. Was dry when there but suspect it could be difficult if wet. Sanitary block ok and adequate for just 5 campers. Near to docks so good for a one night stop. Now the pub - The pub is good for food and a pint and Paul the owner is very pleasant and helpful but you must use the web site to book your stay. We have used this site purely as a one nighter for the ferry and as such it is a reasonable stop over. There is a child's play area which looked ok. I would recommend this site as a good one night stand. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tracy2 3 reviews from this member

 We camped here for 1 night on the way to portsmouth and we're glad that it was only for 1 night. The site although flat is very unlevel so you might need chocks and the grass gets cut and then left.

There are 2 toilets and 2 showers, one each for male and female and these were very dirty and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a long time, the shower sprayed water at the mouldy wall instead of on you and the plug holes were blocked so this caused the water to go everywhere.

On the plus side the pub itself was welcoming and the food smelt good although we didn't try it and there is a children's playground. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caro48 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 10 nights on a friends and family visit. Lovely surrounding area with good walks and cycle routes available close by.

While we were there the owners were getting a new shower and toilet facility installed and also new electric hook ups on the field. Food and drink in the pub was good quality and they had free WiFi. Good playground for kids at the PH and a Pet friendly site. Wish we had seen the Sept 14 review as we also did not know the PH was closed Monday AM/PM and Tuesday AM.

Caution - After recent heavy rains the field was very 'wet' and heavy units/motor homes would have bogged down in the soft ground. However, the PH has a large hard standing car park. The grass had not been cut for a while due to the recent wet weather. On the down side there was a definite smell of 'drains' but the recent rains could have exacerbated this.

One thing we found refreshing was a lack of notices of rules and regulations - the owners are content that their guests will use their common sense. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JohnB600 16 reviews from this member

 We booked this site as a overnight stop, coming off the ferry at Portsmouth; we arrived at 1015 pm and found the pub and site in pitch darkness. After eventually managing to find our way into the site, and trying to find a reasonably level part of the field to pitch, a difficult task as the site was like a ploughed field, we were invaded by the largest swarm of flies I have ever seen! We could not find the water tap or any other facilities in the dark, so, after attacking the flies, we went to bed. In the morning we were informed by one of the other caravanners on the site that the pub was closed on Mondays! we were not told this when we booked.

On reading the other reviews here, I can only assume that the site has gone seriously down the nick since the last review, which was in 2012, we will certainly not be going back! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dotti 3 reviews from this member

 This is a good campsite for a stop-over if Sailing from Portsmouth. We stayed for one night on a Monday. The pub does not open every day, and it was closed. There was nobody about for our arrival, but we asked other campers who were there and they told us to 'just hook up' to the electricity and somebody would be around sometime in the evening. This is what happened and we paid for one night. There is a door from the campsite that leads into the pub toilets when the pub is closed, so these are available. If you book this site for a stop-over, check that the pub will be open; otherwise, make sure that you have enough food for the night. In previous years we have stayed when the pub has been open, and the pub grub was excellent. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Travellers Rest child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Travellers Rest?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Travellers Rest dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3044 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement