Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Treetops Certificated Site( Formerly Larkhill Farm )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Treetops Certificated Site( Formerly Larkhill Farm )
Oxford Road
Princethorpe
Coventry
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV23 9QE
Tel: 07767 365362
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Knobby1 1 review from this member

Lovely little site, basic amenities but very clean and looked after. Park homes are nice too, not at all unpleasant so don't be put off. Nice field at back, pick a pitch, park the 'van and enjoy! Several fresh water taps, grey waste disposal and Elsan point all handy in the field. Pub nearby 15 min walk' however be careful as it is on a fast road with no path, just grass to walk on. We came in winter, so doesn't look as pretty as in summer but really quiet and peaceful. Will definitely be back. !

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5mph 30 reviews from this member

Some may be put off by the entrance - large wooden security gates leading into a graveled area containing two park homes and some apparently long term caravans, but it is clean, tidy and well maintained and the welcome is friendly. Further in is a pleasant small field surrounded by hedges and trees. There is a little road noise but for us it was a good nights sleep. We only stayed for a one night transit stop, so did not see the shower/toilets, but we would use the site again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Adrianjon1 1 review from this member

Had a very peaceful weekend here. Toilets are basic but clean. Staff very friendly. This site now has 5 hardstanding pitches and is always kept tidy. Very good for disabled. In easy reach of stratford upon avon warwick, leamington spa and kenilworth. Will go back. Toilets are rural if not quirkey. It also has a separate shower for disabled

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caca1105 1 review from this member

We stayed as a mixed age range with a variety of units for Easter weekend, we really enjoyed our stay and the children loved the tree house and den! It is a quiet site with basic amenities, but suited us all. The wardens are very easy going as to how and where you pitch which was great for our group. We visited nearby Ryton Pools and the local pub in Stretton, The Shoulder of Mutton(great food!)

The campsite is located on a fairly fast road and you can easily miss it, if travelling from Coventry you should start to slow as you see signs for Stretton, the site is just after the layby.

We will definitely be back for another visit!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NicciMac 46 reviews from this member

We made a last minute decision to stop here for one night after something else fell through, and had an enjoyable experience. We didn't bother with EHU so it was just 12 for the night (the top end of our usual nightly budget!). Our spot was on hardstanding next to the toilets - it was on a bit of a slope so remember to bring your levellers!

Toilets were basic but clean enough (bring your own loo roll) - I didn't find out where the showers were. No washing up point that I could see which is a bit of a nuisance as I hate carting home dirty pans etc!

Owner was very friendly and apart from the odd bit of traffic noise, the place was very quiet at night - heard an owl in the woods which was fab! We don't have kids but I could see there was plenty of playground equipment. We cook for ourselves but I did see a couple of pubs within walking distance.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MadgrannyS 4 reviews from this member

Booked into this site last minute at Easter so was slightly concerned as to why it wasn't full. Shouldn't have worried. Lovely site that was well kept. Had to use the hardstanding due to ground conditions but would love to have been tucked away in the corner of the field near to the woods. Limited toilet facilities that were clean enough but froze due to -4 at night although the outside water tap was lagged. Might have been better to have had the heaters on. Didn't bother us as we use our own facilities anyway

Some road noise but nothing that would put us off going again

Lovely walk into Stretton village which has 2 pubs, excellent dinner at the Oak and Black dog. Also has village shop and bus stop on route to Rugby and Coventry. Was surprised by the great walking from the site, country lane and footpaths led us to Ryton country park

Had some difficulty catching the owners so that we could pay but we coughed up in the end

Would go back again

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RuthnMark 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here the last week in August. The owners had been very helpful on the phone. We didn't see them all weekend. They left a message for us to pop our payment to them through the letterbox, with another visitor to the site?

It's easy to miss the site from the main road, so make sure you aren't travelling too fast once you get in the right general direction. We had to go down the road and from the direction we were travelling in, we went as far as the Foss Way and had to turn around and come back. This isn't a criticism just mentioning that you can easily miss the site.

The grass on the camping and touring field was really quite long and the weekend we were there, it was wet so this was a bit of a bugbear, however the site was very nicely located and had a smashing games shed for the children as well as a small play area with climbing frame and swing. The site is also very dog friendly. There isn't a dog walk and dogs must be kept on a lead but well behaved dogs with responsible owners are welcome and there are plenty of places to walk the pooches around and about -though you are looking at a short car ride away for a longer than 'around the field' walk.

The toilet and shower left a little to be desired. The best has been made of a bad job with a raised port-a-cabin and sani-flow type of pumping system but it was a bit smelly and we didn't see evidence of the shower being cleaned over the couple of days we were there - as I said the owners were away for the weekend. The shower was grubby as a result of this - and also the constant damp has resulted in mold or mildew growing which doesn't make it very appealing. Whilst my husband braved it - the rest of us chose to be acquainted with wet-wipes and showered at our next port of call.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bartdon56 1 review from this member

Had a weekend there with some other friends, very friendly owners, think it could do with a door bell as waited about 10 mins till someone came.

Field is well kept, toilet block is clean but could do with updating maybe add another couple to it. Could do with a bigger sign for entrance.

Only problem we found was walking to the pub (the three horseshoe's) down the road. There is no path to get there except for the last 300 mts or so. Having to walk in the road was frightening when HGV's came passed.

15 for EHU, . Defo stay again next year.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnandsi 4 reviews from this member

A great site, ideal for families due to the provision of activities for the kids, and close to numerous local attractions including a country park down the road and Warwick further afield.

We stopped for just one night as we were trying out our new tent and it was within easy driving distance for us. Rang beforehand to check availability, although we could have just turned up on the off-chance (booking would be advisable though, especially in the warmer weather, due to limited pitches).

Very friendly owners, explained everything we needed to know. No marked pitches if you're not using electric (we weren't), just common sense with where you put your tent. Would probably avoid right by the treehouse/rope swing area as another reviewer has pointed out though!

If you need electric then they're all along the left-hand side of the field as you drive in and the EHU points are clearly visible. Loads of room in the field for activities with kids as everyone tends to pitch around the outside.

The owner said that there wouldn't be a problem if a group wanted to pitch more communally though. Again, common sense would apply here but plenty of room for vehicle access.

The field very gently slopes from left to right as you drive in the entrance. It's flat in the majority of pitches (not billiard table but pretty good) and the ground is fine for normal pegs (we use the yellow ground anchors and didn't experience any problems getting them in or out).

Toilets/shower are perhaps the one thing the site needs to improve upon, in our opinion. There are just two toilets, one of which also houses the shower, for the entire site. Whilst this is obviously better than none, we felt it would be a major issue if the site was really busy.

There are also no electric points for hairdryers, which naturally isn't a problem if you're camping with EHU but if not then could be frustrating. Speaking to other campers who'd been there most of the week it appeared the hot water was a bit of a first come, first serve for the shower in the morning, and on more than one occasion both toilets were without toilet roll.

A good tip therefore would be to have a roll of your own handy when visting! That aside, they were clean and in good order. It does appear the owner may be revamping this area ready for next year so we'll see how things turn out. If they were improved then this in turn would massively benefit the site in our opinion.

Facilities for kids include a tree-house (looks ok now but also being rebuilt for next year) with rope/tyre swing, table tennis table (free bats provided and kept with the site warden or bring your own), basketball hoop, and a hut with a pool table (cues and balls available to borrow from the warden for free) and table football.

The main field has plenty of space for ball-games or other activities for kids. Several families had also bought bikes along and the country park (Ryton) just up the road had loads of safe marked trails which would be ideal for biking round.

It's generally supposed to be a quiet site after 10/11pm, and if there are problems the warden will (and has in the past) deal with them accordingly as soon as possible. Have to say we did notice a fair bit of traffic noise which was a surprise given the comments of a previous reviewer. At times in the early hours it seemed a very busy route given the remote location of the site! However a good pair of ear-plugs would definitely help if you're a light sleeper!

There's an excellent pub down the road (turn left out of the site entrance, distance about a mile) called The Three Horseshoes. Fantastic food/drink, very reasonably priced, and friendly hosts. There's a large lawn area with an extensive kids play area which we could see would be very popular in the summer months as well. You could feasibly walk to the pub but there's a lack of footpaths for the first half a mile or so and it's a busy main road so bear this mind if wandering down with small children.

Overall we really like the site and would definitely re-visit at a later date. The toilet/shower provision would perhaps make us think twice about a long stay here but everything else, including the price (10 a night at time of stopping, 15 for EHU), gets a big thumbs up. Well worth a visit if you're in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wrighties30 5 reviews from this member

A great little site, close to the lovely Ryton Pools country park which was excellent for entertaining the kids with daily activities through the holidays. We went rocket building, but missed the mini bugs on the weekend we visited!

Some of the facilities at the camp site were basic, i. E. No sinks or warm water for washing up and it was hard to pitch as the ground under the top layer was very stony so take reinforced pegs! The toilets were clean and the shower warm & they were easy to see at all times to keep an eye on the kids.

Our kids loved the tree house and we enjoyed the relaxed, casual atmosphere.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1317 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019