Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brockwell Wood Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Tyne and Wear > Blaydon On Tyne > Brockwell Wood Camping Reviews

Brockwell Wood Camping
Blaydon Burn House
Burn Road
Blaydon On Tyne
Tyne and Wear   (Browse area)
NE21 6JR
Tel: 0191 4142025  or  07770 807915
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 26 acres of woodland
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Quickpitch 2 reviews from this member

I can barely believe that this absolute gem of a site is virtually on my doorstep.

For all intents and purposes you are 'wild camping' in a 26 acre woodland. The various forest clearings have been designated as camping pitches and are far enough apart to give a proper sense of isolation.

The camping area itself is facility-free. No showers. No toilets (a spade is provided). No club house or pub. You are pretty much left to enjoy the woodland for what it is :-)

Fires are positively encouraged and the farm sells their own meat for you to enjoy.

I enjoyed a couple of nights camping over an unusually mild February weekend. Didn't see another living soul the whole time I was there, cooked burgers over an open fire and slept like a log. Bliss.

If you're nervous about 'going' in the woods you can do what I did and buy a small bucket toilet (basically a bucket with a toilet seat and a lid) for about 15.

I'm already planning my next trip here.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Riff 15 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this site. It's the perfect place to camp if you want to legally 'wild camp' in England.

There are no frills here at all which suited us just fine. You are helpfully shown where the water tap is beside the farm, given a spade (for waste) and a map (of where the camping plots are) and pointed in the right direction. You can also buy firewood, kindling and organic meat if you want to. You are also advised that you 'camp at your own risk' which makes a refreshing change. No mollycoddling here!

We were advised that that weekend there was a wedding reception on elsewhere in the grounds and told where they were, but to be honest, we didn't hear them.

We chose a pitch where someone had previously constructed a ready-made fire pit. After finding a big enough flat space to pitch the tent, we got the fire going with some kindling that we bought from the owners and also spent a lot of the evening foraging for wood which was excellent fun.

After cooking our tea, we sat outside the tent just taking it all in. You would struggle to find a more peaceful spot in Tyne & Wear.

A wonderful 'back to nature' experience close to home. Can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wallace L 7 reviews from this member

Fantastic. We just got back from a 2 night stay here. I cannot believe how wonderful this place is. I was really worried about how we would cope without facilities but it was great. The owners are really friendly they meet you at arrival and supply you with a spade and map of how to get to you pitch. We really felt like we were the only people there. The pitches are set in clearings each with its own fire pit we bought their home reared beef steaks and let me tell you the meat they sell is to die for. BBQ over an open fire it melted in your mouth delicious. The woodland is beautiful we saw a deer, watched the tree tops for squirrels gathering the nuts for winter and listened to birds. Definitely going back there and will be taking our granddaughter next time she will love it.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jherd 1 review from this member

Just come back from a fantastic weekend here with friends and 5 young children between us. We have never wild camped before but would definitely come back, we had our own space set a long way away from anyone else (infact we thought we were the only campers there until we went for a walk). We spent the weekend hunting for firewood, building dens, making damper bread then picking blackberries to stuff into them, washing and exploring in the stream and generally relaxing. The owners were very friendly, there is plenty of wood to make the fires and we used nothing else to cook with all weekend. Would thoroughly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pwood1973 1 review from this member

Stayed for the first time with my two daughters, the site was well set up and the owners very helpful! plenty of wood around to make fires and the pitches were well spaced apart and mostly tidy. Nice paths around the woods for shirt walks and my two daughters loved playing around the woods and spotting the wildlife! Will be definitely be back soon for some peace and quiet from normal life! Back to nature is great just be prepared and take everything you may need!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ddave489 7 reviews from this member

Amazing campsite, so glad not many people know about it, I live about 7 miles away and only just heard about it! selfish of me but I hope it stays a secret.

Owners are very friendly and helpful and you really do feel like you're in the middle of nowhere most of the time!

Like others have said you get your saw and shovel and away you go!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allycat360 1 review from this member

Just returned from Brockwell Woods, totally amazing, I live in Tyne and Wear, and choose Brockwell as it was the first time we have been camping in years.

Did not expect it to be good, being so close to home, but it is out of this world, so peaceful, and we will return and be a little more prepared for the temperatures, we had one small child with us and he loved it, having to gather up firewood, make the fire and cook on it, I think its a must for all. We had one rule in out camp base, no technology was allowed, it was totally bliss.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AdamThurgood 1 review from this member

Came here as a couple (23 and 25 years old)for our first time camping.

We were given a lift to the area by friends and it was easy to find.

Very pleased by the beauty of the place. Wonderful forest with nice, fairly hidden, clearings within for setting up and making a fire. The owners, and warden, were friendly and helpful.

We ran out of milk and were directed to shops just ten minutes up the road. We saw a pub there too but did not go in.

So glad we chose Brockwell Wood as we can't stand loud noise. There wasn't groups of people drinking late or talking too loud, near us anyway, which is one of the only reasons we'd be apprehensive about camping at a site. We decided to go to Brockwell Wood after being told by a friend that they sometimes refuse large groups.

Perfect for getting back to nature, no electricity or toilet blocks, wish we could have stayed longer and can't wait to return!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eddie n 1 review from this member

Great site for back to basic camping, my son loved it we took our bikes and toured the woods, brilliant thanks a lot, not to far from the local shops and pubs, plenty of dead wood for making camp fires the owner is there to greet you on arrival and will give you a spade, wood saw and bottle of water if needed you get a map of the site which shows where your camp site is and all the trails on which you can explore

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joe Tomaselli 1 review from this member

I went on a weekend trip with three of my close friends and to say I was impressed would be an understatement.

The forest in itself is huge, with enough space to give all of the campers enough room to have nobody near them. The openness of the forest is great, you can simply start a fire, then look for more wood and keep it going all through the day.

The only perhaps downside is the fact that it is so close to city life! I say this as when the usual North East rain picked up we went to get a Mcdonalds, which was a first whilst camping.

Overall, it's a very good campsite for those who want a totally wild camping experience.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blaydon On Tyne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Tyne and Wear

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3663 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019