Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bowdens Crest Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Langport > Bowdens Crest Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Bowdens Crest Caravan & Camping Park
Bowdens
Langport
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA10 0DD
Tel: 01458 250553
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that after a period of having no touring pitches, this site once again accepts touring caravans, motorhomes and tents. 


Date of Visit: January 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site was sold in 2017, and no longer provides touring or camping pitches. It now has Park Lodges only for sale.  


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iowkiss 7 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 9 nights in July 2017 as an HQ for my various travels around Glastonbury, Yeovil, and Taunton. Gorgeous views of the Somerset Levels! The owners (mother/daughter/son-in-Law?) where always welcoming, and pleased to help, but to some they may be taken the wrong way until known better, as they seemed to be down-to-earth, Somerset-ian people. The pitch was level and well drained (as stated on website).

The site is in the sticks and it seems to be miles from everywhere. I had pitch 26 (tent) but I needed an additional extension to my EHU lead due to the power point being approx 60ft away - the owners kindly offered a solution.

The site seems to cater more for static caravans and tourers than anything else. One side of the site sounds to be a dog kennels with ever-barking canines, another side was an Army rifle range, and clay pigeon shooting takes place now and then elsewhere, and the RAF helicopters make an appearance now and then. However, when it's quiet, it's very quiet. One of the static caravans enjoyed loud music until late which was a little irritating.

The facilities, ie. Shower block were relatively clean but it seemed that they are not regularly cleaned (relying on the campers to clean-up after themselves), not to say that they were dirty, just a little cobwebby!

Food? Well, if a man's heart is in his stomach there are a lots of very happy men at the site! The meals were generous, tasty, quickly served, and I just can not fault the restaurant. The table service, although down-to-earth (not literally!), was attentive and considerate, and we were regularly asked of all was ok. All in all I would visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Airforcedave 1 review from this member

 Overall an excellent site with great views! Amazing staff just can't help enough, unfortunately one member of staff spoilt the whole holiday. So will not be returning. Such Ashame because as I said the site was ok. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Me123 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely well run campsite with friendly and helpful owners. Showers and toilets were immaculate and the site was generally well kept clean and tidy. The location is remote but we liked this. This time we stayed in one of the campsite statics but would return with our folding camper to use one of their well maintained pitches. Small shop, bar and restaurant on site and well equipped games room so lots to do on site. Fantastic views over Somerset. The only down side was the narrow steep 'road' to the campsite just glad we weren't towing for the first visit but now we know the road it wont be so bad.

Definitely worth a return visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunnybiker 2 reviews from this member

 The site is easy to find with a clear 'Access to Bowdens Crest' sign on the temporary Road Closed barriers in Langport. It's a nice level site, our motorhome pitch had everything we needed and was close enough to Reception to pick up the free wifi service.

The toilets, showers and even the chemical toilet disposal point were all spotlessly clean and well maintained, and judging by the way the Wardens go about their business I'm sure the static vans will be equally well looked after.

After reading reviews elsewhere we 'risked' a Sunday lunch and what a joy! The food was excellent and plenty of it, and the site owner / chef and his wife took obvious pride and pleasure in ensuring that everything was perfect for us.

While we were there a couple of new/replacement mobile homes were delivered to replace aging units, and when we showed an interest we were given a guided tour of a very smart and up-to-date unit with full disabled access. We also chatted with others on the site who have seasonal caravan pitches and they were still very happy to keep coming after 8 years.

Overall a very pleasurable experience and we're already looking at dates for a return visit.

Cycling across the levels is so good but there is a steep hill to get back!

Oh, and I must just mention Langport which is a delightful place with lots of character and everyone we met was just so friendly and helpful.

P. S. Just been back for a second visit and certainly not disappointed - except that it rained. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 Visited on a cold and blustery February weekend, but fortunately that was the only negative I can really report from my very enjoyable stay at Bowdens, and I doubt the campsite owners possess the power of gods to do much about the weather.

The site is fairly large with about half given over to statics, about a quarter seemingly occupied by long stay caravans, but this still left ample space for touring.

The welcome was warm, the facilities warm, showers warm, but could maybe have been a few degrees more. There was a bar and games room but alas we never ventured forth as we were too snug and warm in our vans.

Pitches were flat and spacious and were some way from the facilities but as a male of the species this didn't prove a problem.

Good if not amazing walks from the site, wear wellies if there in the winter as this is the Somerset Levels and luckily for us 2015 not 2014 but it was still quite damp under foot. We were lucky to see some storks feeding on the levels which was nice.

Happily return to this site as it was good value for money and had a nice feel to it. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for two nights over a chilly but dry February weekend. The site was pretty much empty, so plenty of space and nice and peaceful.

The site was well kept but had a nice rough round the edges feel. The facilities were modern and clean but the hot water in the male showers could do with being a few degrees hotter; according to the girlfriend, it was fine and hot in the ladies. The grass around the campsite was well drained, so no thoughts of sinking down.

There are great views from near the reception and bar. There is good walking direct from the site so easy just to park up for the weekend and take in the sights.

We'd have no problems using this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wendyframpton 1 review from this member

 After reading reviews we thought this site sounded lovely so we booked for 8 nights.

We only stayed for 2 nights. The toilet block was clean but unfortunately that's the only positive we can say. The site is in the middle of nowhere, right beside a boarding kennels and clay pigeon shooting site. We are dog owners and understand dog bark, but dogs were barking and crying all day and all night. We also understand in the country that people like clay pigeon shooting. The guns going all day frightened our dog and he curled up in a corner of the caravan shaking and would not eat or leave the caravan. After our second night we decided we would have to move for our dogs sake. I went to the shop to explain why we were leaving and asked if there was any chance of having any money back so we could finish our holiday and the gentleman was very rude and said its only a dog and refused to listen or understand. I'm afraid our dog is part if our family and we could not let him continue the holiday in a corner shaking. We packed up our awning and carried the dog to our car and left. All the time we were packing up no one came to speak to us not even either of the wardens. So hone we went. We would never visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heartsman 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from spending 2 weeks here, very nice site, was quiet but this suited us with our special needs son. The toilets/ showers and the room with the bath were always very clean with plenty hot water. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The views over the levels were amazing.

There is a restaurant and bar on site and the food we had was always of a high standard especially the mixed grill which takes some eating. Would highly recommend this site and would use again if we were in the area. 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bowdens Crest Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bowdens Crest Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bowdens Crest Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Langport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3734 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement