Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Secret Garden Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech > The Secret Garden Certificated Site Reviews

The Secret Garden Certificated Site
Mile Tree Lane
Wisbech
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE13 4TR
Tel: 01945 585044
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 37
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 92 Reviews
                10/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smandley 16 reviews from this member

1st time visiting the Secret Garden Touring Park and we will be returning. We stayed for 3 nights over the early spring Bank Holiday. Not only is it on our doorstop (half an hour away) but itís a lovely peaceful site, children dependent!

There are 2 sides to the park, we were situated on the side over the road. Not secure site; as in no enter card to get in or out of the site so you need to be security conscious. On arrival you are shown to your pitch by very friendly staff; once there you can site your caravan/tent etc where you like within.

The communal facilities were good with wet rooms for showering with toilet and sink all in the same room. Plenty of hot water and fairly clean, although didnít see anybody cleaning whilst we were there. Showers are automatic and go off after 30 seconds but just a wave of your hand gets it going again.

Fire pits with each pitch, we didnít use these but saw plenty who did. They sell the firewood and lighters at the on-site shop along with locally produced bacon; eggs; sausages; cider; vodka; gin. Lovely little shop.

Saturday afternoon they held a sausage; beer and cider tasting session. Very popular and you need to get there on time otherwise everything is gone. They also had a guy with local honey enabling you to have a taste of the different varieties on offer, again available in the on-site shop.

Off lead dog run available on site but didnít use this. Playing field available but didnít need this either. Some of the pitches over the main side seemed more secluded with hedges and trees around. Both electric and non-electric pitches available. Tipi and camping pod available to hire. There are pigs and chickens from a local farm on site too, which you can feed when food available.

As I said before we will return but the only negative we found were a couple of families who let their children run riot around the place screaming and shouting until well after dark, there are always people who seem to think itís acceptable and spoil it for the rest. It was reported and the owners seemed to be aware of the families involved. We will definitely return but try and stay on the main side of the park. Wisbech has many facilities and only a few miles up the road - usual shops and restaurants; cinema. The touring park appears to hold many events and we are planning another visit soon.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HarryBear 14 reviews from this member

We spent two nights here in early June, meeting up with my sister and her young family. The pitches are generous and very private, with hedges around to make a clear barrier. We found the facilities spotlessly clean each time we used them.

There's plenty to do in the surrounding area - we only had the Saturday free so headed for the coast. It's about an hour's drive to Hunstanton. We didn't explore Wisbech itself, but it looked nice for a stroll round next time.

My nieces loved the piglets and my teenage children appreciated the open space to play cricket, so it ticked all the right boxes for me. It seems to get booked up for weekends very quickly, which is a good sign. I'll be returning soon.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cazbix 12 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site. The pitch sizes are great, the facilities are so clean and modern, each pitch offers EHU, water and grey water drainage, as well as a fire pit.

There is an on site microbrewery and the site shop sell sausages made from their own pigs. Neil and Lesley are very nice people and will do everything to ensure you enjoy your stay.

We were on the fen that is very nice. There are several supermarkets in the area. We also ate at The Wheel Inn for a Pub Carvery food and service was excellent.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Puttinari 1 review from this member

Love love love this place. It was the first site we took our new campervan to and to be honest nowhere has really lived up to it since!

We only live 17 miles away but have visited twice since last September. Great modern shower and toilet blocks, all have hook up and water, and the addition of fire pits and availability of firewood is a wonderful extra touch.

And a super friendly site cat! Our favourite bit? The free sausage and cider tasting on a Saturday! Both are amazing and available from the shop. Avoid the chilli vodka though!

I was reluctant to review as we really don't want more people booking as we may not be able to get in but hey, it's such a fabulous site I guess it's only fair to share! 11/10

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue faulder 6 reviews from this member

Wow. What a wonderful site. Secret Garden has everything. The pitch sizes are amazing, the facilities are so clean, warm and comfortable. Each pitch offers E. H. U. , water and grey water drainage, as well as a fire pit.

There is an on site micro brewery and the site shop sell sausages made from their own pork. Neil and Lesley are the nicest people and will do everything to ensure you enjoy your stay. There are three areas. The garden is private and sheltered, the meadow is communal and friendly and the newest area, the fen is very attractive.

There is a teepee on the fen that looks good fun and a pod on the meadow that looks very comfortable. There are a variety of eateries in easy distance and several supermarkets for supplies. We ate at The Wheel Inn and the food and service was excellent.

Secret Garden is a great base for. Visiting the area. Wisbech is lovely

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bolton Druid 1 review from this member

Had a great two night stay at the Secret Garden. We stayed in the meadow area where we were parked within a crescent of hedging where the birds came to feed on the berries. Great facilities with an indoor seating area with a TV and books, which we didn't need but could be a welcome area if in a tent in bad weather.

We purchased beer, jam and local honey from the shop and a bag of kiln dried wood for an evening round the fire pit.

The whole setup feels friendly and we will be back next year when we go to the beer festival held at Elgoods Brewery.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claire1990 1 review from this member

Absolutely fantastic site!

This was our first camping trip as a family over Easter weekend. They held an egg hunt for all the children on site which was a lot of fun. They also do Sausage and beer tasting on Saturdays!

Really nicely laid out and beautiful site with loads of room.

Toilet and shower block very clean and modern with great showers. Every pitch has a fire pit which was a great bonus! there is also a shop on site which stocks the beer from the brewery and other locally made products.

Staff all very helpul, friendly and can't do enough to help!

Really couldn't recommended this site enough x

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pootsy 2 reviews from this member

Couldn't wait to go back for a 2nd visit but what a disappointment. We were sited on the new fenland field this time but won't be returning.

Firstly the lack of security on entering is non existent then the amenity block which we found to be dirty, not just the muddy floor which couldn't be helped due to the rain, aspects of it hadn't had a clean for days.

Then the pitches especially the ehu hubs they were unfinished and unsafe, surrounded by a rocky ditch! On the whole the site felt unkempt which is a shame as we enjoyed the first site previously.

Management response: Many Thanks for your comments Ė we will raise the points you make in the next staff and maintenance team meetings this week. Lesley & I take every comment seriously but we are sorry that your recent visit did not meet your expectations.

We would like to understand more about the comment of lack of security, there are surveillance cameras at the entrance of Fenpark Ė is the more we could do? We donít know what is expected here.

Fenpark is the newest site, and in landscaping terms about 2 years to reach the maturity of the secret garden side Ė we do work hard to maintain the amenity blocks but in times of persistent rain on grass pitches it becomes very challenging to keep them totally clean every hour of the day. We will double check the cleaning programme to ensure it is being covered as we would expect.

We can assure you that every aspect of site safety is monitored and logged with weekly pitch and service point inspections and the electrical infrastructure is tested for the highest standards of safety compliance on an annual basis.

Again many thanks for your comments. I assure you we will review all aspects of this feedback.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ronbev 3 reviews from this member

Stayed from the fourteenth till the twenty first of this month August. Was very pleased with the site. The way that it was laid out with hedges and shrubs to give each caravan or tent privacy.

Saturday is beer And sausage tasting and must say the sausages were a delight and the beer was just as nice. Toilets were clean plenty of hot water though water for washing dishes not hot at times. This was the first time in Cambridgeshire and secret garden site, we will be returning again though.

There doesn't seem to be a lot for young children in the area. Lesley Angus her husband work hard and will do anything at any time to help in any way.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

Lovely weekend at The Secret Garden. Well laid out site very private pitches and each pitch gets a fire pit to use. Logs can be bought from the site shop as well as everything else you may need.

Newspapers can be ordered as well. We went to the sausage and beer/cider tasting on Saturday afternoon a great way to try before you buy ! This was our first visit but it won't be our last, staff friendly and helpful what more could you ask for.

A fenced off area for dog walking off the lead as well, all in all a great weekend.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wisbech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5105 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019