Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Secret Garden Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech > The Secret Garden Certificated Site Reviews

The Secret Garden Certificated Site
Mile Tree Lane
Wisbech
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE13 4TR
Tel: 01945 585044
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 37
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 96 Reviews
                10/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Thedeedar 10 reviews from this member

 Excellent site large fully serviced pitches each partitioned off with hedges. All have fire pits and logs can be obtained from the small site shop.

Shower block is excellent with wet rooms containing shower sink and toilet. We were on fen side which has no security barrier so be aware.

A superb new bar is situated on the other field serving very nice craft beers but does get extremely busy fridays and saturdays when they have entertainment in the huge marquee next door.

The shop is small but has most of the necessities.

The owners and staff are very friendly and we will definitely be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Skilin 2 reviews from this member

 What a little gem! We are a mature couple but we were as a large family with 3 large EHU pitches in the Meadow camping area - 1)our van, 2)a van with 3 kids age 6 - 15 & their parents & 3)a giant air tent with 2 kids age 8- 12 & their parents. The staff were very friendly & Lesley did whatever she could to help anyone. There is also a Brewery & Gin distillery almost on site too!

Check in was easy - caravans need to turn the correct way or its too tight! Take it slow along the path through the trees to your pitch.

Lovely large pitches - park anyway you like & nothing is regimented. Pitches divided by shrubs and trees so very private. We had an air awning on one side & a sun canopy on the other which was good to put kids toys under as well as the washing line. A French drain at each pitch - need long hose for grey water run off. EHU was good & water tap had no problems - need a long connection. Each pitch had a large fire pit supplied - Logs were £5 a bag from reception. Fantastic atmosphere when these were lit around the meadow.

Noise to be kept down after 11pm - you might get a reminder if you forget like we did first night. It was our family's first gathering for 2yrs due to Covid, so we got a little excited!

Entertainment on site at w ends - extra charge but we could hear the music on our pitch- wasn't super loud. The bar is open on other nights till 9pm. This might change after Covid rules finish. There are basic supplies in the shop with sweets, ice creams, eggs etc. There is an Aldi, Asda & Tesco in the area - about 10 mins in the car. Street food vans park up on certain nights - might need to pre book. WiFi mast covered all areas. All of our teenagers had no problems.

Washing machine & tumble dryer good - need to check for right coins. Also a fridge for those without EHU to store perishables. Label your pots/dishes/bags.

Toilets - TAKE TOILET PAPER IF THERE ARE SHORTAGES! There is only 1 unisex separate loo, the rest of the toilets are in with the showers. They got very grassy & mucky on the floor. The on-site cleaners had their work cut out to cope and we didn't have any rain! If muddy conditions it could be bad. There are 3 showers with a donation box for charity. One of these is

The shower/ loo for disabled but it didn't have a radar key lock fitted so was used by anyone. This was very inconvenient as I am disabled & I had to wait on the nearby sofa on more than one occasion for this to be vacated, even though there was another vacant shower. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. We never had any problems with lack of hot water - all 11 of us were using these facilities.

There is another shower block for those in the non electric camping field. Can't comment on these.

There is a large field for kids to charge around in & play football - not allowed near caravans. There is a forest skills teaching area sometimes on site. There are pigs to feed - kids loved putting the vegie peelings in their buckets to take to the pigs. A small hidey-hole play area, the woods around the field were another favourite play space. Kids played for hours and came back filthy but loved it!.

A brilliant time was had by all - we certainly shall return as this is only just over an hour from home. A good base to explore Norfolk area but beware the traffic queues around King's Lynn. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smandley 16 reviews from this member

 1st time visiting the Secret Garden Touring Park and we will be returning. We stayed for 3 nights over the early spring Bank Holiday. Not only is it on our doorstop (half an hour away) but itís a lovely peaceful site, children dependent!

There are 2 sides to the park, we were situated on the side over the road. Not secure site; as in no enter card to get in or out of the site so you need to be security conscious. On arrival you are shown to your pitch by very friendly staff; once there you can site your caravan/tent etc where you like within.

The communal facilities were good with wet rooms for showering with toilet and sink all in the same room. Plenty of hot water and fairly clean, although didnít see anybody cleaning whilst we were there. Showers are automatic and go off after 30 seconds but just a wave of your hand gets it going again.

Fire pits with each pitch, we didnít use these but saw plenty who did. They sell the firewood and lighters at the on-site shop along with locally produced bacon; eggs; sausages; cider; vodka; gin. Lovely little shop.

Saturday afternoon they held a sausage; beer and cider tasting session. Very popular and you need to get there on time otherwise everything is gone. They also had a guy with local honey enabling you to have a taste of the different varieties on offer, again available in the on-site shop.

Off lead dog run available on site but didnít use this. Playing field available but didnít need this either. Some of the pitches over the main side seemed more secluded with hedges and trees around. Both electric and non-electric pitches available. Tipi and camping pod available to hire. There are pigs and chickens from a local farm on site too, which you can feed when food available.

As I said before we will return but the only negative we found were a couple of families who let their children run riot around the place screaming and shouting until well after dark, there are always people who seem to think itís acceptable and spoil it for the rest. It was reported and the owners seemed to be aware of the families involved. We will definitely return but try and stay on the main side of the park. Wisbech has many facilities and only a few miles up the road - usual shops and restaurants; cinema. The touring park appears to hold many events and we are planning another visit soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HarryBear 15 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights here in early June, meeting up with my sister and her young family. The pitches are generous and very private, with hedges around to make a clear barrier. We found the facilities spotlessly clean each time we used them.

There's plenty to do in the surrounding area - we only had the Saturday free so headed for the coast. It's about an hour's drive to Hunstanton. We didn't explore Wisbech itself, but it looked nice for a stroll round next time.

My nieces loved the piglets and my teenage children appreciated the open space to play cricket, so it ticked all the right boxes for me. It seems to get booked up for weekends very quickly, which is a good sign. I'll be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cazbix 20 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. The pitch sizes are great, the facilities are so clean and modern, each pitch offers EHU, water and grey water drainage, as well as a fire pit.

There is an on site microbrewery and the site shop sell sausages made from their own pigs. Neil and Lesley are very nice people and will do everything to ensure you enjoy your stay.

We were on the fen that is very nice. There are several supermarkets in the area. We also ate at The Wheel Inn for a Pub Carvery food and service was excellent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Puttinari 1 review from this member

 Love love love this place. It was the first site we took our new campervan to and to be honest nowhere has really lived up to it since!

We only live 17 miles away but have visited twice since last September. Great modern shower and toilet blocks, all have hook up and water, and the addition of fire pits and availability of firewood is a wonderful extra touch.

And a super friendly site cat! Our favourite bit? The free sausage and cider tasting on a Saturday! Both are amazing and available from the shop. Avoid the chilli vodka though!

I was reluctant to review as we really don't want more people booking as we may not be able to get in but hey, it's such a fabulous site I guess it's only fair to share! 11/10 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sue faulder 6 reviews from this member

 Wow. What a wonderful site. Secret Garden has everything. The pitch sizes are amazing, the facilities are so clean, warm and comfortable. Each pitch offers E. H. U. , water and grey water drainage, as well as a fire pit.

There is an on site micro brewery and the site shop sell sausages made from their own pork. Neil and Lesley are the nicest people and will do everything to ensure you enjoy your stay. There are three areas. The garden is private and sheltered, the meadow is communal and friendly and the newest area, the fen is very attractive.

There is a teepee on the fen that looks good fun and a pod on the meadow that looks very comfortable. There are a variety of eateries in easy distance and several supermarkets for supplies. We ate at The Wheel Inn and the food and service was excellent.

Secret Garden is a great base for. Visiting the area. Wisbech is lovely 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bolton Druid 3 reviews from this member

 Had a great two night stay at the Secret Garden. We stayed in the meadow area where we were parked within a crescent of hedging where the birds came to feed on the berries. Great facilities with an indoor seating area with a TV and books, which we didn't need but could be a welcome area if in a tent in bad weather.

We purchased beer, jam and local honey from the shop and a bag of kiln dried wood for an evening round the fire pit.

The whole setup feels friendly and we will be back next year when we go to the beer festival held at Elgoods Brewery. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: CB-Camper 11 reviews from this member

 Wow! What a fabulous site! We had numerous recommendations to stay here and so pleased we finally got round to it!

Friendly helpful staff, spotlessly clean facilities, fire pits available on every pitch to have a camp fire or cook over.

Loads of space to explore and for little ones to play.

Sausage tasting on a Saturday and an on site brewery, what's not to like!

A quiet, spacious site in a great location for exploring the local area,

We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mark Mellor 1 review from this member

 We have been to this site many times over the past 6yrs or so. And have to say that its a benchmark for all camping sites.

Super friendly staff & owners. Amazing setting for individual pitches. Firepits on every pitch hookup on most. Water on most. Such a fantastic place. It really should be kept a secret.

The recent opening of the new 'Potting Shed' bar is a superb addition to an almost perfect site. With weekend entertainment and visiting street food vendors, the options are truly amazing.

Only 10mins drive from the town & shops, and less than an hour from the coast if that's what you want, but equally pleasant just to stay on site & chill out. Be warned. The toffee vodka is dangerously delicious.

Cost is around £26 per night with deals to be had for mid week etc. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Secret Garden Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Secret Garden Certificated Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Secret Garden Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wisbech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4318 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement