Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Les Genets D Or

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Bagnols Sur Ceze > Les Genets D Or Reviews

Les Genets D Or
Chemin De Carmignan
Bagnols Sur Ceze
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
30200
Tel: 33 (0) 4 66 89 58 67
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 4 Reviews
                8/10 from 4 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

 This is one of two adjacent campsites, accessed under a viaduct. We've actually stayed at both and decided this is the better - and more expensive - of the two, but we wouldn't happily return to either!

We were woken at 7:00 in the morning by many barking dogs (we think there must be a kennels nearby, or else someone with very many noisy dogs). The barking lasted for about an hour.

Our pitch - which was dry, dusty and under trees - was opposite the pool and table tennis tables and so was very noisy. Lights shining from the pool/raised area were left on all night. The pool area, which is by reception, is small and not very enticing.

The site is beside the river (pitches are probably better at this end of the site, rather than those closer to reception) but it is not easily accessible and it's a good idea to take mozzie spray.

The sanitaires, accessed by uneven steps, are very dated and were not very clean during our stay. Water pressure in the showers was very poor.

The site was packed, for some reason it's hard to understand. We paid 33, 20 euros plus 5. 50 euros for electric (2 people), so not the cheapest site around.

Would we return? Nope! We only stayed here because our intended campsite - Le Pontet at St Martin - was full, and it was late, so we needed to stop. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scawbyboy 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 weeks in June, using the ACSI scheme. We found the site had plenty of spare pitches. Most of the visitors were Dutch - in fact I only counted 3 other English couples - hello to Graham and sheila !The shower and washing facilities were very good and always clean. We used the restaurant and liked it -you can always get a portion of chips to take away for your meal! The Dutch lady spoke excellent English and was always helpful. My tip of the day ! Use Dutch owned sites. Regards to Christa and Michael Lovely site on the banks of the river Ceze. Teddy (our shi-tzu ) loved it ! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: *Diamonds* 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at Les Genet D'Or. We booked via the internet which was quite difficult and took about a week to get a final response and a booking confirmation, although they don't take a deposit which was quite good and you don't pay the bill until you leave.

Our first impressions were good, it's a forest like setting with mostly shaded pitches set in between trees and beside a lake.

We thought the pool was a lot smaller than we expected.

The owner is a Dutch lady who is very pleasant and speaks good English. The large majority of campers were Dutch rather than French with only a couple (ourselves and one other family) of British.

The lake is beautiful and our pitch was right beside it, my husband made a handrail to make it easier for me to get down as it's quite steep.

We spent many hours in/beside the lake which was peaceful and relaxing. The weather was unbelievably hot. 39 degrees most days and we found the tent unbearable. We had opted for a pitch that had afternoon sun thinking that we would enjoy sitting outside of the tent of an evening in the sunshine but it was a big mistake as we found we couldn't escape the sun and would have much preferred one of the shaded pitches - lesson learnt!

The pitch cost us about 260euro for a week in August 2011, we had a trailer tent.

All in all we enjoyed the week, the town itself is OK, nothing to get excited about. We went to a great night market in an area called Port-Sant Esprit on one evening which was really enjoyable and went to a brassierie with a fantastic live band.

The toilets and showers were OK. No toilet roll in either the ladies or gents which proved to be a bit of a problem with our little boy when he went to the toilet and wasn't suitably equipped! he got a bit upset about this.

The restaurant food is fine, they do a menu of the day which is about 13euro each for 3 courses. Again, nothing to get excited about but acceptable.

We probably wouldn't go back to Les Genets but this is probably more because we like to have a change but one thing we would say is camping in a tent so far south is extremely hot so be prepared! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pauline49 10 reviews from this member

 We did not book this site as we never do, but just went on a recommendation from someone on here.

Reception was shut when we arrived, but the gate was open, so I walked around and asked the first person I saw what they thought of the site. They told me it was excellent and highly recommended it. We had to ring the bell for reception as we had arrived out of hours. They were very welcoming and gave us a few pitches to choose from (having given us free rein at first, but we found that overwhelming). Most of the site is very shady apart from the pitches near the volleyball pitch. Gas BBQs only allowed. Pitches are various sizes, dictated by the trees. The soil is mostly sandy and you need rock pegs.

Madame is Dutch, married to a Frenchman and spoke excellent French, Dutch, German and English. We were the only English on the site for the whole two weeks. Another English family left as we arrived who had also been the only English there. It was not a problem as the Dutch speak very good English and the children made many friends.

The site has a heated pool with a toddler pool, a restaurant, free wi-fi (a very welcome surprise for our teenagers), a riverside beach along the Ceze river, excellent 'English' toilets in the two spotless washblocks which were thoroughly cleaned every day in rotation. The price you pay is per person and you are allowed any number of pup tents, etc on your pitch.

There is a very small shop open from about 9-11 in the morning and 5-7 pm that sells Camping Gaz, wine and I'm not sure what else as we did not use it. Bread, etc can be ordered up to 6.30pm the night before. It comes from a local baker and was much tastier than the supermarket fare. The local town has two hypermarkets and various other supermarkets, including Netto and Aldi. You can freeze your coldblocks for free and there are two washing machines that cost 4 euros and one dryer.

We also know that the site does various trips, but we did not participate in those.

In addition to being open 11-7 every day, the pool is open from 9.30-11 pm on Mondays, Thursdays and Saturdays which meant in practice that the 10 to 18 year olds jumped/dived, etc. The pool has submerged lighting which changed colour. No swimming was done in those sessions.

We had absolutely excellent weather while we were there, apart from one 5-hour long thunderstorm one night. We did have a small flood in part of our awning, but that was the pitch we chose.

The site is on the banks of the Ceze where you can swim, boat, fish. There is a discernible small current caused by the dams which are built and dismantled by the children using stones and change day by day, but that is all part of the charm.

The site is in close proximity to a number of attractions/towns - Avignon, Nimes, Roque-sur-Ceze. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Les Genets D Or child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Les Genets D Or have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Les Genets D Or?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Les Genets D Or dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bagnols Sur Ceze      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement