Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Branscombe Airfield And Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Branscombe Airfield And Caravan Site
Branscombe
Branscombe
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX12 3BL
Tel: 01297 680259
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20 powered 20 non powered
Open: 2nd Feb - 31st Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gonnate 10 reviews from this member

We found this a very friendly, quiet site, run by a couple who've taken over recently, and work it as both private airfield and campsite, living in a bungalow on the edge of the site.

They've upgraded the facilities, which were apparently very run down. There are now two 'family bathrooms' combining loo & shower, plus two shower & 3 loos in separate cubicles. The equipment in there is nice domestic stuff - I hope it'll be robust enough to last. When the site became busy they also imported 4 portaloos, which were kept clean & supplied.

There's a good play area, and small football goals on a short pitch for children & families, a bit away from most tents but visible; and a separate dog walking area, which was respected.

The field is divided into two, one part between the grass airstrip & main buildings/hangar. This is, unsurprisingly, very flat! The other is flat at the top, then slopes away, but plenty of space on the flat. We never felt too crowded, and we don't like camping in our neighbours' elbow space. We were there during the excellent Sidmouth Folk Week, which means many other local sites are pitched with interlacing guy lines - not this one.

During our fortnight's stay the site was generally quiet by soon after 10. 00 each night.

The airstrip: maybe once or twice a day a small, usually interesting vintage plane would take off over our heads, which made an enjoyable spectacle.

It's on top of a hill behind Branscombe - nice view of sea in the middle distance. When the wind blew we knew about it; when the rain came the ground drained quickly. Some people spent their holiday happily sitting & relaxing on site.

We didn't use it, but there's a pub maybe 10-15 m walk down very narrow lane. Maybe an hour to walk to Branscombe beach, or drive carefully on the lanes, and park.

They run a shop in office hours selling eggs, milk, etc.

A washing room has two sinks for dishes, and two clothes washing machines, plus a rather undersized freezer for cool blocks.

There's a games room, and Wifi.

Apparently some people find it too quiet, and prefer more noisy clubhouse facilities. Such sites are easily available round here, we hope this one stays a nice quiet family site, as the owners intend!

Decent value for money, we'd use it again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sulphurman 1 review from this member

Lovely area, friendly atmosphere, well maintained site - etc, etc. It's just that the toilet and shower facilities are very poorly thought out. Personally I don't like having to go 'hunting' for an empty toilet cubicle. And also believe that the Gents and Ladies should be distinctly separate. There are only 7 toilet cubicles on this site, 2 of which are not available after 5. 30pm! I felt uneasy not being able to just walk into the 'Gents block' and not feeling I was depriving any female camper of a cubicle. If I had known about this rather odd arrangement in advance, I would not have booked. Having said that, the new family shower rooms (2 of, with 2 of the total number of loo's in there) are a good idea in principle. However this made the total number of showers up to only 4, and while someone is in there, either in the shower or using the loo then the total available of each facilities fall unnecessarily. This has taught me to check these things out more thoroughly in future. If the owners rebuilt the old toilet blocks, separately sexed with more cubicles and showers in each, the site would be pretty much perfect. The quirkiness of the little planes taking off is quite charming, and other essentials, such as roomy pitches, dog area and good playground are all in place.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marina24 2 reviews from this member

We (me husband and 2 dogs) had a lovely stay here, stunning veiws out to the sea, very quiet/peaceful, the site is well kept, all facilities are very clean and tidy, shower/washrooms, washing up room with washing machine tumble dryer and freezers, fenced off dog field with poop bin, there is a lane behind the site for shaded dog walks (not used that much by vehicles) our pitch (electric hook up) was next to the airfield, one afternoon we had the treat of watching a restored Boeing Stearman model 75 take it's test flight absolutely amazing. Well if you like planes it is! I have rated it 9 out of 10 as there is always room for improvement. ! Branscombe beach is lovely well unless you are a Yorkie (on a long lead!) and get washed back into shore by a little wave hahaha! We would stay here again

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cath Sykes 5 reviews from this member

Wonderful site Large pitches and the very friendliest of owners

Small planes took off and landed daily whilst we were there - it is still an active airfield

Facilities were clean and well looked after Though 4 showers for a full site did result in queueing 😟

Dogs allowed anywhere on site - supposedly on leads but some owners ignored this and let their pets wander and poo wherever Owners of site did ask pet owners to follow site rules when they saw this Also as this is a dog friendly site some pitches with 3 or more dogs seemed a little too dog friendly

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: APJ666 3 reviews from this member

This is such a lovely campsite. We were fortunate to be able to send a handful of nights here in July, and had a great time. The pitches are massive, the electric ones being pretty level. We opted for a simple tent pitch which was slightly sloping, but with a nice southerly aspect. Facilities are excellent - with the recent addition of 2 luxurious shower rooms, each with electric shower, basin and toilet. Refurbished toilets and showers are also available but we didn't try them. The airfield is quiet, the take off/landing strip separate from the campsite. Only 2 planes took off whilst we were there.

The owners were very friendly and seem to be investing heavily to improve facilities.

Access is via a few narrow lanes, fine for cars but plan your route if towing a caravan.

Branscombe itself is lovely, a narrow road leading to the village and onto the beach. The Masons Arms in the centre of the village is higly recommended for it's good food.

All in all a good visit. The only gripe being the advertised tarriff of 2 per day per dog is excessive. Although this was not charged on our visit!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SJJohns 7 reviews from this member

We visited this small site last weekend and it is excellent in terms of pitch, facilities, quietness and value for money (29 for two nights for two people and a dog).

There was a warm and friendly welcome when we arrived and with the majority of pitches being level, setting up was easy. Facilities are new - two standalone bathrooms/wet rooms and a block of male/female toilets with a shower. The only thing I would say is that when the site is full there possibly may be a wait. The site was very quiet with no road noise. There is only a lane running next to it. The pitches are fairly well spread out so you don't feel hemmed in.

This site has the added bonus of being an airfield so there were a few small planes around. No flight activity whilst we were there which was a shame as it would have added to the experience!

The site is accessed down a quiet lane/road which is slightly narrow in places. It was not a problem for us but may for those not confident at towing.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattysavampire 1 review from this member

Picked this as thought that this may be good site.

Wasn't disappointed, this is a great little site, close to loads of places to visit, never got to visit them all, so will be back.

Tent pitches are large and plenty of room for car parking besides. Most are on level ground. Owners could not be more helpful, New toilet and shower block, small but ok, can get a queue forming at a busy time.

Only drawback is wifi needs to be extended. Can be a bit stoney so you will need some strong pegs.

All in all a great site, have booked to go again

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevesharpe 1 review from this member

What a great site, booked at very short notice and the owners, Mark and Debbie could not have been more helpful.

The site is located within easy reach of coastal path and many other beautiful walks,

While there you have to visit the local pub 'The Fountain Head' the food is nothing short of superb, the steak is to die for, just what you need after hours of fresh air and walking.

The site is very clean, and well kept throughout, pitches are of a generous size,

Will definitely be going again

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bluemax1066 1 review from this member

Lovely campsite and working airfield, really good flat site with new facilities being put in. The new owners are a smashing couple, nothing too much trouble and please ignore the previous feedback as we believe this campsite is well on the way up. Very child and dog friendly, about a 15 min walk to the pub. Lovely area for cliff walks and only a 50 min drive to Torquay. We are going back in August as it's so nice and the new owners Andy & Debbie made us so welcome. This is an absolute must place to go if you love aviation - full sized or models!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicky Davies 3 reviews from this member

This site can be described as rather quirky - that's the positive - that comes from the fact that once or twice a day light aircraft are wheeled out of the hangar and make their way for take off through the caravans to the airstrip. There is a view of the sea and valleys which is beautiful. However, the site itself is very limited in terms of its facilities. The toilet/shower block is small and rather old, although is kept clean but you have to pay extra to have a shower. There is a sink for washing up and a washing machine. There are no other facilities. The chemical and grey water disposal points are very poor in that there is no cover for the chemical disposal and you have to lift up your wastemaster nearly four feet to pour it out. It stretches a point for them to say Wifi is available - it is - but only near the office, so if your caravan/tent is not near, and most aren't, then no Wifi. The saving grace for the site are the couple who look after it - nothing is too much trouble for them including replacing my car's small window when it had been broken into elsewhere and helping me turn my caravan around in a narrow lane, in the dark, when I'd taken a wrong turning nearby. The village of Branscombe itself is very picturesque with a pub, limited menu but friendly, and a lovely church. There is a great walk from the village hall, where parking is free, to the beach which is accessible for most walkers. The beach has a pretty cafe and can be reached via car if necessary.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3552 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019