Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Drum Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Ashford > The Drum Inn Reviews

The Drum Inn
Stone St
Stanford North
Chunnel Tunnel
Ashford
Kent   (Browse area)
TN25 6DN
Tel: 01303 812125
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Talbot48873txs 1 review from this member

 Liked pub, excellent ambience, choice of drinks and friendly staff. Meals very good. Dog friendly. Very close to Channel tunnel and M20.

Overnight facilities clean and working well. (wc x2, showers, chem. Disposal, water & hook up. )

Only problem for our 8M Autotrail vehicle was a scrunch underneath on way in and on way out, contacting hump at entry gate. If this could be flattened out a bit this would be a very good stop over for us especially as Citie de Europe has closed to overnight stays. Higher or shorter outfits probably ok now. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Reala46755oar 1 review from this member

 Excellent stop for Tunnel, only 10 minutes travel.

Would certainly use it again.

Warm welcome from staff.

Pub looked to be of a good quality although we did not use it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert100red 1 review from this member

 Staff welcoming, excellent meal, would revisit.

Ideal for channel tunnel only ten minutes away.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: WJohnRD 1 review from this member

 We booked as it was close to channel tunnel for departure on a Monday morning, arrived too late.

For dinner as they stop serving at 7pm.

Very basic facilities but served its purpose. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gailbonney 30 reviews from this member

 Booked here as overnighter for tunnel early am crossing. Arrived after very long journey. First thing you notice is the hill/ramp to get into the car park. It was quite gritty and we struggled to get up it! You could see where other vehicles had grounded/caught the surface - that set me worrying about getting off in the morning.

The ?owner was in the field as lots of us were arriving at same time, directed us to our pitch, initially grass and quite sloping, but we managed to sort it out. Didn't book a table for dinner as didn't know time of arrival, so couldn't have a meal as stopped serving food at 8. 30pm! I think that was a missed opportunity. OH and son went out for diesel and fast food!

Toilet block was, I think, 2 toilets and one shower, fortunately we didn't have a shower before leaving due to early get away. It was a little tired and dirty but that's down to users as much as anyone else.

Cheaper than the one we used last year, but not as nice! As OH said, its just one night and better than a service station! 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nikr 1 review from this member

 Very convenient for the tunnel, just a 5 minute drive.

Very basic site with limited hook up. We didn't have any but this was OK for one night although would have been nice to get our fridge cooled down for the long drive through France.

Toilet block basic with only one shower. It wasn't very clean when we came to use it and there were overflowing bins.

Considering how basic it was and that we had paid 20 ish with no hook up we were a bit surprised to have to pay 1 for the shower.

We would use again for the tunnel just because of how close it is. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ged600 15 reviews from this member

 Booked in here for the Ferry to France in the morning. Booked well in advance but on arrival there was only 3 camper vans and our van for that night.

Basic toilet shower block with no basins, there's a washing up sink right inside the entrance to the toilet.

Hook up and water no problem till morning when the electric went off we were leaving in 10 minutes so didn't bother the owners. Ate at the pub the night we arrived paid Kent prices for beer and food but again only one night. Food was good but service a bit slow.

There's a locked gate which you open via a combination given by the owners the night before. It's around 20 minute drive to Dover for the ferry towing a caravan.

Would stay again if going for ferry very handy! 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 54 reviews from this member

 Such a convenient site for the Tunnel. There are 6 hardstandings in addition to the grass. 21 pn including electricity. Facilities are a bit primitive and old.

Dinner in the pub was good value and the service was fine.

The one sad and discordant note was that access is now by way of padlocked gates as they had suffered from travellers last season entering the premises without authority. Undoing padlocks at 7. 00 am in the cold is not much fun. 


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doverover 25 reviews from this member

 We wanted somewhere just to 'get away from it all' for a few days and quite honestly couldn't have picked a better place.

Easy access a minute from the M20 junction. 16A electric supply. In a pub carpark (not quite but could have been), decent pub food, and clean heated toilet/shower facilities (albeit a bit limited).

Lots of places to visit locally and perfectly placed for the short trip to the Channel Tunnel or the Dover ferries.

We certainly recommend this site as either a stopover or for a longer stay to see all the local NT and English Heritage sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Claydoncamper 28 reviews from this member

 This is a great site whether you intend to stay in the area or if it's for an overnighter before getting or returning on the channel tunnel or ferry. It is literally 5 minutes away from the Eurotunnel terminal and around 30 minutes to Dover. For use it was an overnight stay before getting the tunnel the next day.

We had a good welcome on arrival and quickly allocated a spot with electric hookup. Most of the field that the pitches are in are mainly level and easy enough to manoeuvre a trailer, caravan or motorhome around.

The toilets were clean and warm and though I didn't use the showers, I did have a look and again, looked clean and tidy and rather spacious compared to some campsites. I thin, though not sure that the showers are coin operated.

It is possible to book a table in the pub and have a meal but we opted for our own BBQ instead. We did buy some drinks from the pub and thought that the beer and cider was a bit expensive but I guess this is the south-east and the prices do tend to be a bit higher there.

There are some things to do in the locality and we went to the Battle of Britain Memorial at Capel Le Ferne about 15 minutes away. The big question in any review of a campsite is would I go there again and the answer is yes I would if I were using the cross channel services again and, given the late afternoon M20 and M25 congestion we we experienced on our return to the UK, I would stay there for a night on my return as well. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Drum Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Drum Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Drum Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3832 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020