Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Drum Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Ashford > The Drum Inn Reviews

The Drum Inn
Stone St
Stanford North
Chunnel Tunnel
Ashford
Kent   (Browse area)
TN25 6DN
Tel: 01303 812125
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ged600 8 reviews from this member

Booked in here for the Ferry to France in the morning. Booked well in advance but on arrival there was only 3 camper vans and our van for that night.

Basic toilet shower block with no basins, there's a washing up sink right inside the entrance to the toilet.

Hook up and water no problem till morning when the electric went off we were leaving in 10 minutes so didn't bother the owners. Ate at the pub the night we arrived paid Kent prices for beer and food but again only one night. Food was good but service a bit slow.

There's a locked gate which you open via a combination given by the owners the night before. It's around 20 minute drive to Dover for the ferry towing a caravan.

Would stay again if going for ferry very handy!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

Such a convenient site for the Tunnel. There are 6 hardstandings in addition to the grass. 21 pn including electricity. Facilities are a bit primitive and old.

Dinner in the pub was good value and the service was fine.

The one sad and discordant note was that access is now by way of padlocked gates as they had suffered from travellers last season entering the premises without authority. Undoing padlocks at 7. 00 am in the cold is not much fun.

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doverover 23 reviews from this member

We wanted somewhere just to 'get away from it all' for a few days and quite honestly couldn't have picked a better place.

Easy access a minute from the M20 junction. 16A electric supply. In a pub carpark (not quite but could have been), decent pub food, and clean heated toilet/shower facilities (albeit a bit limited).

Lots of places to visit locally and perfectly placed for the short trip to the Channel Tunnel or the Dover ferries.

We certainly recommend this site as either a stopover or for a longer stay to see all the local NT and English Heritage sites.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claydoncamper 26 reviews from this member

This is a great site whether you intend to stay in the area or if it's for an overnighter before getting or returning on the channel tunnel or ferry. It is literally 5 minutes away from the Eurotunnel terminal and around 30 minutes to Dover. For use it was an overnight stay before getting the tunnel the next day.

We had a good welcome on arrival and quickly allocated a spot with electric hookup. Most of the field that the pitches are in are mainly level and easy enough to manoeuvre a trailer, caravan or motorhome around.

The toilets were clean and warm and though I didn't use the showers, I did have a look and again, looked clean and tidy and rather spacious compared to some campsites. I thin, though not sure that the showers are coin operated.

It is possible to book a table in the pub and have a meal but we opted for our own BBQ instead. We did buy some drinks from the pub and thought that the beer and cider was a bit expensive but I guess this is the south-east and the prices do tend to be a bit higher there.

There are some things to do in the locality and we went to the Battle of Britain Memorial at Capel Le Ferne about 15 minutes away. The big question in any review of a campsite is would I go there again and the answer is yes I would if I were using the cross channel services again and, given the late afternoon M20 and M25 congestion we we experienced on our return to the UK, I would stay there for a night on my return as well.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 66 reviews from this member

Been here a few times. Every year there seems to an improvement and this year is no exception. The site has been extended and now has a hard standing area are with added security.

There is a large 5 bar gate for entry and exit and you have to know the number on the lock to get in and out with your unit. This is given to you on arrival by very pleasant owners who manage the pub and can provide very good pub meals.

Its advisable to book before hand and after a long journey from North Wales, the welcome and the meal is great to look forward to.

The toilet block is for men and women with only one shower but is clean and seemed adequate for the people on site. Weve always used this site as an overnight stop before the ferry at Dover which is about half an hour away and we can highly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

We used this site on our way home to Staffordshire after spending two weeks in France, as it's only a few minutes from the Eurotunnel.

When we arrived, a chap came to us to book us in and show us our pitch. The site is basically a couple of small fields at the rear of the pub, but it is very tidy and the pitches are relatively level.

Toilets and showers are clean. You do have to pay for the showers, which I don't agree with.

Generally the site was mostly quiet, though it was noisy early morning due to other people leaving early.

The pub is nice, we had a meal which was very tasty. We were though disappointed to find out they had run out of steak; it was 6pm!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Liannwilcox 4 reviews from this member

Great stop over before catching early morning ferry.

Beautiful meal in the pub great facilities toilets and washing. Great location to ferry and tunnel crossing.

Would thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dickiebird 17 reviews from this member

Excellent wee site with good toilet and shower facilities.

Great location for access to the Eurotunnel and to the Dover ferries. Pub was friendly and food good.

Will definitely use again when down that way.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MollyD 6 reviews from this member

Another good night at the Drum, This site is minutes away from the tunnel and makes the ideal stop over before France.

I paid 16. 00 for a non electric pitch. There is a simple toilet block with shower, and wash basins I found it to be very clean.

The pub is very nice, with friendly staff.

Security for the site has recently been introduced with a locked gate at night, staff will give you the code to get out if you have an early crossing as I did.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Not in a box 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site prior to our journey to the Eurotunnel. We arrived on the Friday evening and was met by Chris who was very helpful and popped us on a lovely pitch.

The site was a fair size, clean with a basic shower block - all you need for a one night stop over however you could easily stay here longer to visit the area. The on site pub is lovely and we had a lovely family meal on site prior to tucking up for the night.

I even managed to get a route to run from the lady behind the bar so before we left for the tunnel the next day I had a nice 5k run to set me up for the day

We will be back next time we use the tunnel without a doubt. The online booking was very good and the site was a very reasonable price.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3510 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019