Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Municipal Le Sabot

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Azay Le Rideau > Camping Municipal Le Sabot Reviews

Camping Municipal Le Sabot
Rue De Stade
Azay Le Rideau
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37190
Tel: 0033 0247454272
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 256
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beenie 4 reviews from this member

Spent 9 days here, as there is so much to see in the area.

The site is spacious, with lots of trees for shade, and kept clean and tidy. The sanitary blocks are a bit dated, and you need to take your own loo paper, but otherwise fine. There was no pressure on facilities when we were there, the site was only a quarter full.

The town of Azay, although only a short walk, is slightly disappointing as there are no real shops there, just touristy places. If you need supplies of any sort, then you have to go to the Carrefour supermarket up the road. Not a problem for us, but the motorhome people looked cheesed off at having to drive everywhere.

The cost for two people, car and tent was approx. 145 euro for 9 days.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisJoy 1 review from this member

In a beautiful setting with plenty of space, clean showers etc. BUT. We found this site to be vastly overpriced for the time of year. We checked the fees before going in but were charged a lot more than we expected: €21. 90 a night for a campervan, two adults and electric hook up. Not good value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Detnor 9 reviews from this member

Very popular site, with the river Indre forming the edge of the site.

None of the pitches are defined, but in June, it was more a case of pitch wherever you like.

Only one toilet/shower block was open, opposite reception, a bit dated, but adequate. The washing up facilities were at the back of the toilet block, just sinks, no draining area. There is an information room with TV and free Wifi. The reception staff were helpful, but they keep no essential supplies and there is no general store in the village centre. A 20 minute walk takes you to the local supermarket, there is a machine outside the supermarket that dispenses unpasteurised milk. Fuel also available here.

Large parts of the site were closed off in June, and the grass was quite long, giving the site a bit of a scruffy appearence at first glance. The chemical toilet point was not signed anywhere, other than to the one that was closed. It is a drain behind the newer toilet block.

Located next to the chateau and a few minutes walk from the village, which is mainly bars/restaurants.

Had a really good time here once we sorted out what was open.

There is a motorhome aire to the right of the entrance as you approach, seemed fairly busy with decent facilities, entry by credit card.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tom + Sarah 6 reviews from this member

Great location, right next to the Indre (a branch of the Loire) - although no problem with insects, in spite of this! Large site but very well run and no problems with noise or space. Most of the other holiday makers were French, and turnover seemed quite slow with people just sunning themselves and relaxing on the site for days! Quite a lot of trees giving a choice of pitches in shade or sun. Unlike other municipal sites we've been to the pitches aren't separated with hedges etc but it really wasn't a problem as people were very quiet, friendly and it wasn't overcrowded. Really friendly and helpful reception with good English spoken. Daily bread van from 8. 30-10. Toilets were the main drawback as the ones near us had very unreliable hot water. However, there was a newer block nearer reception which was much better. Note that you need your own loo roll!

The village of Azay-le-Rideau is extremely attractive and dominated by the chateau (which you can pay to go in, and which is currently open but undergoing works - so no son et lumiere) and has a number of decent places to eat and tourist shops - gifts, local produce, wine. Around the town squares there are shops (baker, butcher etc) and there is a weekly market too. The station is a little way out of town and trains are a bit irregular so check at the tourist information first. There is a supermarket really close by too (walkable if necessary) and it has a dispenser for fresh milk outside, which is cool!

Plenty to do in the area, particularly the chateaux. Amboise well worth a visit - they had a medieval reenactment of the village's history on when we were there. Not much to see in Tours however.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hholloway 1 review from this member

This is a fantastic site. It is very open with plenty of pitches with or without shade, or by the river. We didn't have a two pin socket but there are a few pitches with standard hook up. Main toilet block is clean and showers are good. Showers in block at far end of site were cold when we used them. Plenty of room for kids to run around and to play badminton, foot ball etc. Table tennis and pétanque court available. The location of the site is perfect in the lovely town of Azay le Ridau with its small but perfectly formed chateau. Town has good choice of places to eat, gift shops and large Carrefour on edge of town. Another bonus of the site is free entry to municipal swimming pool next door, which is heated and there is a good toddler pool. We stayed 5 nights and wish we had stayed longer. Will definitely go back next time we visit that part of France. Only cost €110 for five nights with hook up.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Osborn 7 reviews from this member

This site is truly excellent. Flat, shady or full sun to choose from. A river to sit by in the evenings or to fish in if that's your hobby. Very clean and modern sanitaires with plenty of hot water. The office seems to be open 8 'til 8 now. We paid about 13 Euros a night for a tent and two people in July, no electricity. 5 minutes walk to the town, where there is a selection of restaurants, a butchers, bakers, and even a candlestick makers. The chateau is beautiful; if you enquire at the Office of Tourism you can get a discount for visiting several chateaux. Don't miss the Chateau Islette a couple of miles away, that is a gem. Also the Les Gosillieres troglodyte farm a mile in the other direction. For shopping there is a Carrefour about half a mile away with reasonably price petrol and all the usual stuff.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AllanI 7 reviews from this member

We stayed 15 nights here (for which we got a discount). The site is all flat on the bank of the Indre river. There are two toilet/shower blocks (3 if you count the sports facility block at the entrance)which are kept immaculate by twice a day cleaning. There are shady pitches, river bank pitches, full sun pitches all are a good size. Free wifi is available near Reception where a helpful staff are most welcoming. The municipal swimming pool is free to campers who are issued with a wristband. Azay centre is a 5 minute walk away with bars, restaurants, bakers and butchers. The Chateau is beautiful and on the way to town. Carrefour and Lidl supermarkets are nearby on the edge of town. Tours and Chinon may visited by rail although the station is the opposite side of Azay to the campsite. When arriving for the first time watch out for the camping signs as you go through the narrow streets, they are not large and easily missed (don't ask). Summary :- A super site in a area with lots to do.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karende 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for one night on our way to the Royan. We found easy access to the site and booked in with reception who spoke good English, you can choose to pitch anywhere but we found the ground to be quite uneven in places. The shower block we used was immaculate with plenty of hot water.

My two girls cycled round to the municipal swimming pool which you are given wrists bands for free entry, we walked round the village and had a peek at the chateaux but did not go inside.

Lovely place will definitely use again.

We paid 30 euros for 3 adults 2 children, folding camper with electric in August.

A bakery van comes to the site every morning but we did not use it.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ced1 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night on the way back from the Dordogne. Our last stay here was in 2006 and I had good memories of the site which I am pleased to say were reconfirmed. On arrival, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful and explained the layout of the site, opening times (closed at lunch and in the early afternoon and then open until 9pm), arrangements for using the swimming pool next to the site etc. We were able to pitch where we wanted and had a nice view over the river. Although pitches aren’t demarcated by hedges they are a good size. It looked like the main facilities block had been modernised since our last visit and this was a good size and spotlessly clean with plenty hot water. There were still 2 other blocks which we didn’t use.

As last time, campers can use the outdoor municipal swimming pool next door for free (ask reception for a ticket). This was welcome after a long hot drive. The pool is a good size with lawns all around for sunbathing.

A baker comes to the site every morning at around 8. 30 but it is also an easy walk into the very pretty town if you miss her. Although this is a big site there is plenty space and it has a very tranquil feel to it; I was sorry only to have one night there this time as although it is good for a stopover it is also an ideal base for exploring this part of the Loire.

One last point- if you like wine, be sure to try the Touraine Azay rose and whites as they are gorgeous!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Delboya 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely 14 day stay there with another couple also in a 'van, and the site was exactly as described by most people, and was exactly what we were looking for. One bloc sanitaire was closed for refurb, but there were two others available (no need for tokens as another reviewer states - that's for non-campers). Our nearest shower block had a problem with the showers, but this was resolved within a couple of days.

The grass was a bit overgrown and unkempt - we thought this was down to the higher rainfall that they have experienced this year, but we later found out that the man on the mower had got a little too close to the Indre and fallen in - together with the mower! He was back on it after a few days.

You can choose your own pitch, either fully shaded, part shaded (as we did) or there are some open pitches.

As has been stated, the town is only a 5 min walk, and contains eating establishments to suit every pocket.

All-in-all, a lovely site, with a lovely small town (with chateau) within walking distance and plenty to do/see. Not the cheapest of municipal sites in France (€16. 70 June - 18. 10 July)but well worth it in the area. We were lucky with the weather with rain only on the last friday and saturday, so a lovely holiday.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019