Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Campingplatz Allweglehen

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Berchtesgaden > Campingplatz Allweglehen Reviews

Campingplatz Allweglehen
Allweggasse 4
Berchtesgaden
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: 0049 (0)8652-23 96
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Halster 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights in August. Good sized pitch with spectacular views of the mountains.

They have just completed a new facilities block which is unlike any toilet block I have ever seen on any campsite - very high spec, very cool and very clean! It wouldn't be amiss on Grand Designs. They've also built a new pool which is heated and has great views of the mountains too. Also nice little restaurant and 'beer garden'.

As others have said the approach to the site is quite steep but I didn't see anyone struggle to get up it.

Great base for Eagle's Nest (don't go up when its cloudy, just saying. ), Konigsee and Salzburg.

Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MalcolmR 35 reviews from this member

 Wonderful location with lovely views, on site facilities could not be faulted at all, they were kept very clean and plentiful. The tent grass pitch area was flat but a bit tough for a few of the pegs as a bit stony. The site was very quiet indeed in the evenings which is nice. The bar and restaurant on site was nice bit pricey like most places in Germany. The staff very helpful but did feel the father was a bit money grabbing by getting as many folk on site regardless of pitch spacing's and comfort.

We were using it as a base for touring round the area for 5 days and found it a good base. On the tent area we had a 4 birth dome tent and felt we were camping in a car park. Every one was shoehorned in to this small area with cars parked along side. Many small two man tents staying a few days or one night so constantly changing.

Caravans and motorhomes seem to get the better deal but even they were a bit cramped. Everyone we met on site was most friendly and had a nice atmosphere about the place. We would use this site again and recommend it to friends but mention the high season can be a bit cramped.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 603 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights at this excellent site.

Location

Situated on a hillside overlooking some of the best mountain scenery in Europe! You can cycle into the town (1steep hill) and explore from there. The main attraction is Hitler's Eagle's Nest, which is a spectacular journey.

Facilities

Modern and spotlessly clean and tidy facilities. The shower block was modern and there were plenty showers. There's a small bar and decent shop on site.

Value for Money

20 per night.

Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jim Cator 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at this site, having used it as a base for a walking holiday. It is predominantly aimed at owners of motor homes, there were three small areas set aside for tents.

The most attractive feature of the site is undoubtedly the location with super views of the mountains of Bavaria. An important element for us was accessibility by public transport as we were backpacking.

This was good, with reliable buses to Salzburg (45 mins)and Berchtesgaden (15 mins) running every 30 mins or so. We were very pleased to find that bus travel is free in the area for holders of Guestcards, which are issued free by those offering accommodation, including of course the campsite.

The sanitary facilities at the site are excellent, as we have come to expect in this part of the world and the on-site restaurant offers breakfast and evening meals. I have to say that the food is not the best - more a feature of the area than the site itself I think.

We looked at several places to eat in the area and found that they all seemed to offer similar food - huge portions but largely variations on pork accompanied by mountains of chips, potatoes or dumplings - but was cheaper on the site. There is a shop offering basic food open every day and most people seemed to use it to buy items for breakfast.

The owners and staff at the site were friendly and helpful. I think that most were able to speak some English but, like other local people in the area, were reluctant to do so. We found that the ability to speak a little 'holiday German' helped a great deal.

Although we had a very good holiday here I won't return, largely as we did everything we wanted to in the area in the time we had, without a car. I would also have liked to have seen more consideration given to those with tents. The suggestion on the website that there are separate 'fields' for tents is a little misleading. There was one field for about a dozen tents and a couple of other small areas, which I suspect were unsuitable for camper vans. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Basscamp 6 reviews from this member

 The other reviewers have said it all. A superb site with brilliant scenery, nice pool, great 'facilities', good restaurant and helpful staff. The one slight problem could be the climb up to the site (it's a bit steep) especially with a large caravan, although they will tow you up if necessary!

Tip - visit the salt mine, about a mile away and of course the Eagle's Nest.

Can't wait to go back again. Enjoy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alahol2 22 reviews from this member

 The road up to this site is very steep and the owner will tow caravans up with a tractor if necessary. The pitches on the site are laid out over several terraces on the side of a mountain. There are also a couple of fields used mainly for touring tents. Many of the terraced pitches appear to be taken with either permanent or long stay caravans/campervans. The terraced pitches are mostly hardstanding. One of the camping fields is fairly flat and gets filled with booked tents. The other fields are mainly sloping (some parts quite steeply!), not marked with pitches, and you are allowed to choose your own spot.

There are 2 sets of washrooms/toilets for each sex in the main complex and several smaller toilet only facilities in different areas of the site. The main washrooms/toilets are modern and kept very clean. There is a small shop that sells basic requirements; bread, milk, wine etc. Camping Gaz exchange is available. Also in the main complex is a very good and reasonably priced restaurant with indoor or outdoor eating/drinking. There is a smallish outdoor swimming pool which is usually well attended (even in the rain). Very little English is spoken.

The site owners arrange various tournaments, folk evenings, day and nighttime hikes etc.

The thing that makes this site stand out for us is the location. The mountain views are outstanding and the surroundings are stunning. There are some terrific walks available direct from the site and even better ones within 10 or 15 minutes drive. Hitler's Eagles Nest mountain top house is visible from the site. The picturesque town of Berchtesgaden is 5 minutes drive. Konigsee is 30 minutes, the Austrian border and Salzburg are 20 minutes drive. There are easily enough activities/attractions to occupy a 2 week holiday within an hours drive. We love the site, have camped here several times over the last 10 years, and will, I'm sure, be returning several times over the next 10. Very well recommended. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Campingplatz Allweglehen child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Campingplatz Allweglehen have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Campingplatz Allweglehen?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Campingplatz Allweglehen dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




All Sites in Germany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1918 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement