Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of La Bouysse De Caudon

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Vitrac Sarlat > La Bouysse De Caudon Reviews

La Bouysse De Caudon
Caudon Par Montfort
Vitrac Sarlat
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24200
Tel: 05 53 28 33 05
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Woodman2 13 reviews from this member

 As the last review was in 2014, I thought I would update the record.

I agree with all that has been said before, and rate this site highly.

It is located next door to the much larger and at our time of visiting much busier Soleil Plage.

The pitches are large and offer sun or shade.

Water taps are the push button type.

The swimming pool is excellent and the owners are friendly and speak good english.

The only downside for me is that I tried the Pizza next door which was freshly made and far better than the one I tried at this site which was straight from the deep freeze. My wife enjoyed her salad though.

If you want all the bells and whistles, go next door. If you want a more relaxed friendly site, you will be happy you chose this one. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobbydazzler100 2 reviews from this member

 What a great location, we travelled with two adults and 6 kids. We stayed in two tents on large adjoining pitches. The staff were friendly and check in was efficient and easy.

We rented a fridge from the site, but being novice campers, we didn't realise that we'd need to being the extension lead from the electric supply point to the actual tent. That was an interesting hour or so for us, as neither of the grown ups spoke french, but in the end we found a DIY store with the correct CEE form connector to the french leads. (ironically, I have tonnes of these leads at home, but forgot to take them with us).

The toilets were well attended, however, on some occasions the toilet roll ran out in the block. They were clean shared toilets and shared shower blocks.

The play area has a nice selection of equipment, and our kids used the free table tennis tables lots too. The large Boule court has a light for night time play too.

The canoe hire facility was great, and we made good use of those too. The overall area itself is a stunning area. Although it rained nearly everyday that we stayed, it didn't impact on our enjoyment of the holiday at all. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dav8 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first full family camping holiday. I always camped as a child; my husband's family did Eurocamp, and he had camped independently with me, but never for a full 2-week holiday and we had never camped with our children (6. 5 and almost 4 at the time of our stay) for more than a couple of nights. Our 2015 holiday was so great, despite the rain, that we all agreed we want to go back to the exact same areas and probably even the exact same campsites another time.

Why?

Well, La Bouysse was the first campsite we stayed at. The pitch was a good size. We could walk down to the Dordogne. The wash blocks were clean and although there were occasionally queues, you never had to wait long.

The campsite is in a quiet location and has an on-site canoe hire facility. So you can set off canoeing on the Dordogne directly from the campsite and they will pick you up and bring you back later. You have to be at least 5 to do this (French law, no getting round it). When my husband did this with our son, I took the younger one off to Beynac to visit the castle (recommend) and go on a tourist boat.

The pool has great views and we were often the last people in there in the evening. It didn't feel too busy when we were there.

Other campers were mainly French and Dutch, some Germans. There were a handful of other Brits.

The children liked the playground, but we actually didn't spend much time there as our days were so filled with other activities.

There were so many local attractions that we couldn't visit everything (hence the need for another visit to the area!). We did a couple of bike rides, visited some caves, the impressive gardens of Marqueyssac (highly recommend), canoeing, Beynac castle and pottering in the Dordogne by the campsite.

We didn't eat on the campsite, although there is a take-away option and a meal organised once a week with a regional menu. We compared the price of this to a restaurant in Montfort and decided to eat in Montfort instead as it seemed to offer better value for money. We had a great meal at the Angelus there. We drove because our children were quite young and generally exhausted by all the cycling/swimming/canoeing we'd done, but older children and teenagers/adults could definitely walk there and back.

The on-site shop is small and has the essentials but there are several different large supermarkets on the outskirts Sarlat and other smaller shops in nearby local towns.

There is live music one night a week, which was plenty for us. The kids enjoyed it and it didn't go on too late.

There is also bike hire and a good family-friendly off-road bike trail just outside Sarlat. We had our own bikes, but the hire people were helpful with suggestions as to which route we should take with our children.

If anyone is interested about the drive from the UK, we live on the London/Kent border and set off in the afternoon, planning on taking a 4 pm train through the Channel Tunnel. We planned on driving, stopping for dinner, and then driving through the night. There were awful delays due to people on the track earlier in the day, and it was more like 8 pm by the time we arrived at Calais, so just drove through the night in shifts, with a couple of hours sleep in the car at a service station en route, and arrived at La Bouysse in time for breakfast.

After La Bouysse, we went on for another week at Le Tedey on Lac Lacanau near Bordeaux. Perfect holiday! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clf86ha 16 reviews from this member

 Just about to sadly leave this site to head home. Hadn't initially planned to come here, as I was heading for the soleil plage next door. Walked around both sites and this one is better.

Yes it doesn't have the restaurant set up of the site next door, but for everything else it wins hands down:

Large pitches, peaceful surroundings, beautiful infinity pool area looking over to the rock cliffs on the river, decent sanitary blocks, canoe hire available, free wifi in low season and on acsi, so its a fraction of the cost of the soleil plage.

A site I would definitely return to.

The only thing I could want to improve it, would be a dog shower, so that I could rinse my dogs after a play in the river. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pau406 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with all the facilities we needed. There is a canoe hire facility associated with the campsite which made things very easy for the 'young adults' in the family.

The pitch we had was of a good size although there were plenty that were massive. Washing blocks were clean if perhaps a little small when the site is full. It would be good if they could arrange for a hand washing basin in the toilet area rather than having to go next door to the shower/washing cubicles.

There is no restaurant on site - guess that is what makes it a 3* as everything else is well up to 4* standards - but they do offer a regional meal evening once a week.

The pool is lovely but as ever a few more beds would be good.

Enough has been written about the Dordogne, Sarlat & the surrounding area, it is as beautiful as ever & Camping La Bouysee a wonderful base. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephen15 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site end of July, beginning of August for 14 nights. We had a good sized pitch with hedges on 3 sides with some shade. As the temperatures were in the mid 30s plus throughout our stay we also had the foresight to hire a fridge from the site and this was invaluable for keeping food chilled and for freezing bottles of water to take with our picnics. There was a good mix of nationalities with around half French, and the other half a mix of mostly British, German and Dutch. Staff were very friendly and indeed throughout the site there was a general atmosphere of happy people chilling out. There was entertainment a few nights and the site was quiet after 11 oclock. In fact any noise that we did hear came from Soleil Plage next door. I know that Soleil Plage is popular with quite a few members of UKCampsite.co.uk and we did have a stroll around it but to be honest it felt a bit like little England to us with the majority of campers being mostly British closely followed by Dutch. I do see that it would appeal more to families with teenagers but for couples or young families I feel that La Bouysse is a much better site ( and also much less expensive ). The site is also well centred to visit all of the major attractions in the area. All in all we had a lovely holiday there. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ced1 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 12 nights at the height of the season in early August. We were looking for somewhere that would keep our children (11 and 14) happy but was not too commercial and this was definitely a good choice. The site shares the same beautiful location as the larger Soleil Plage campsite, near the river but well away from the main traffic choked road that runs alongside the Dordogne in many places in this area. It is well positioned for visiting classic Dordogne sites such as Beynac, Sarlat, and Marqueyssac. Canoes can be hired either from the campsite or Soleil Plageís kiosk by the river

Throughout our stay the site was very busy with new people arriving pretty much as soon as pitches became free, however this is a spacious site and although at capacity it never felt cramped or overcrowded. Pitches varied in size and ours was quite snug compared to some although it did fit our trailer tent, pup tent, tables and chairs and Landcruiser quite adequately; it was also nice and private with shrubbery on 3 sides. The site is attractively laid out in tree-lined avenues and all the pitches seemed to benefit from shade (very welcome) while not being completely in the shadows. Campers not wanting EHU were able to pitch more freeform in a walnut tree plantation which looked delightful.

Nationality wise, I would estimate that about 70% of campers here were French, 20% Dutch and the rest a mix of British, German and Belgian. There is a sign in reception stating that English is spoken but this is also a good place to stay if you prefer to speak French when in France- even my 14 year old eventually overcame his self-consciousness and made friends with some of the French teenagers on the site (there was a good mix of older and younger families staying while we were there).

The pool area is lovely with a view down to the cliffs by the river but did get busy at times- we found the best times to use it were when it first opened, just before it closed and when it was slightly overcast. This is not really a hardship however with access to swimming in the river and a gorgeous riverside beach less than a 5 minute walk away. For other recreation, there is plenty of space for boules games, a tennis court, volleyball and football areas and two childrenís play areas with a good variety of quality equipment. The shop was fine for stop-gap groceries and the morning baguette and pain au chocolat and there is a nice little bar for drinks and ice-creams and where you can sit to eat food from the takeaway. As other reviewers mention, the pommes sarladaises from the takeaway are delicious but unfortunately our experience of the other fare available was not so good- microwave burger in a bun, grey chicken nuggets and the most gloopy unappetising pizza I have ever come across. Wi-Fi is free (code available from reception) but a bit hit and miss.

There are two unisex facilities blocks which in spite of the use they were getting were always kept clean. There never seemed to be queues at one of these blocks (possibly because it was a bit older) whereas at the other you sometimes had a 5 minute wait for washing up, showers, etc. Rather quirkily, the older block has a communal loo roll dispenser which is placed on the wall outside the cubicles and bang next to the menís urinals. I found this quite amusing but mention it here as I know this could be an issue for some. We were able to rent a fridge for 7 of the days we were here and icepacks can be frozen in the shop for 40 cents each.

Entertainment on the site is generally low key- meals, organised visits, boules tournaments etc, and easily ignored, and although the site had a busy feel to it, it wasnít noisy. Walking about one evening well after midnight, I was surprised how many campers were still sat outside chatting as it was so quiet. The one exception to this was an evening when both La Bouysse and Soleil Plage had live bands playing and the location of our pitch meant we were treated to both turns at the same time. We saw the amusing side of this (imagine Y Viva Espana in one ear and YMCA in the other) and all was quiet after midnight but I might have formed a different opinion of the site if this had been the only night we had stayed there. The PA system at neighbouring Soleil Plage can be heard in places at times but other than on band night this was not really a problem.

In all, La Bouysse is a great value place for a family holiday in a stunning area with good quality facilities and a definite French feel. Both children said they would like to go back. With 150 pitches, I would not describe it as a small or intimate campsite but it could be a good compromise if your preference is for lower key but you have children who want something to do and something going on. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Watson 5 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from 8 nights at La Bouysee. It is a lovely site - not too big and in a fantastic situation. The Dordogne runs right outside the entrance, where you can hire canoes. Some pitches are bigger than others, but we were given the choice of where we wanted to stay. There are lots of trees for shade - it was 42degrees when we arrived! The staff are really friendly and the showers really clean - even my 11 year old daughter who usually likes to shower in the caravan ventured to the shower block! There is also a large baby bath, which the younger 2 loved. The pool is really nice and had a lovely view of the cliffs opposite. There is a bar and a small take away - recommend the pommes sarladaise - we ate them with everything. The shop was not very well stocked, but I think that was probably because it was the end of August, but it is only a few kms to the Casino supermarket as you go into Sarlat.

The site was really empty by the time we left and there weren't many brits - mainly french, dutch and germans. There are also a few wooden chalets and static caravans which all looked really nice (gites available too). We really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it. I was glad that we had not been able to book the Soleil Plage next door, as it seemed rather bigger and busier - fine if you want more going on, but we are quite happy with the quieter life on holiday at the moment. This will probably change as the children get older. The whole area is wonderful - Domme is a lovely old village and Beynac and Roque Gageac are all only a few miles away. Sarlat is a busy town with a huge market on Saturday. Go further east and we found an old steam train ride at Martel - this was amazing with 5 tunnels on the track (takes about an hour there and back). The views are amazing - well worth the drive. All in all a great place and campsite for a holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jshr 6 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay at this site. The family were very helpful and friendly. The pitch was a good size and provided privacy, the toilet block was spotlessly clean In June it was very quite but this is how we like it. It was an excellent base to drive out from, many places of interest being close by. They have their own canoe hire and as the river is facing the site,it is ideal. We can't recommend the site more highly, we had a great holiday. We will certainly return 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Longcol 10 reviews from this member

 Our third year at this smallish family run site which has to be one of the best value in the Dordogne.

It shares the same beautiful riverside situation as it's adjoining bigger neighbour Soliel Plage a few km south of Sarlat.

As well as camping / caravan / camper van pitches the site has gites (which we'd used the previous two years), mobile homes and chalets to rent.

Pitches are reasonable size - at least 10x10m - and most have some shade. EHU is 3 pin and there are plentiful water taps.

2 toilet / shower blocks (mixed)cleaned twice daily - also washing up / washing facilities - and a laundrette in the main block.

Small shop mainly used to buy bread / croissants and papers. Only a ten minute drive away is a big LeClercs supermarket on the edge of Sarlat. Sarlat is very busy in season and can usually be a bit of a so and so to get in - but there is a very easy back way to the supermarket - just go back to the main road - turn right past Montfort Chateau, take the left signed Sarlat - follow your nose turning right at the two mini roundabouts along the way and there you are! Cash point and petrol (cheap) available also. Another cash point at the bank opposite the tabac situated just below the big side car park.

Reasonably priced bar (also sells ice cream / coffee etc) with free Wifi connection - and a couple of power points yo plug your lap top into if needed (don't forget your 2 pin adaptor.

Good take away - the confit de canard and pommes sarladaises (little spuds fried in duck fat) is especially good. Pizzas are very popular although occasionally sell out.

Smallish outdoor pool (no swimming shorts) with a lovely view across the river.

Tends to be mainly French but an increasing number of Brits using the site. They occasionally have provided entertainment but not very often - site is usually settling down by 11 - 11:30. Sometimes noise from Soliel Plage bar which is actually nearer to most pitches on La Bouysse (take the track from the bottom toilet block / kids playground)- you can pack the teenagers off there on an evening if they find La Bouysse too 'boring'.

They have their own canoe hire on site - very reasonably priced.

Nearby is a river beach which offers safe swimming in the Dordogne - our family prefer to walk up to just past Soliel Plage, wade out to our waists in the water and swim / float back to La Bouysse - floating on your back past the large limestone outcrops against the blue sky with swallows and martins skimming the river right by you takes some beating!

You are so well placed to visit some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in the Dordogne - Sarlat, Domme, Castlenaud, Roque Gageac, Beynac and Marqueyssac Gardens are all only 15 mins drive away. Rocamadour can be reached in less than an hour. Even a golf course just a mile away.

We are just so glad to have found this site! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is La Bouysse De Caudon child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does La Bouysse De Caudon have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to La Bouysse De Caudon?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is La Bouysse De Caudon dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Vitrac Sarlat      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


703 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement