Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal Kaysersberg

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Lorraine - Alsace > Kaysersberg > Camping Municipal Kaysersberg Reviews

Camping Municipal Kaysersberg
Rue Des Acacias
Kaysersberg
Lorraine - Alsace   (Browse area)
68240
Tel: 0033 03 89 47 14 47
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Westcountrymaid 10 reviews from this member

 We loved this site, Its a smallish typical french site. We emailed the day before to check availability and they replied quite quickly.

Reception is closed 12-2pm or 2. 30pm but there is a little space to wait if you arrive early.

On arrival, we were told to go and chose a pitch.

The pitches by the river are very shady in the morning but good for the afternoon. The ones near the lower loos are very noisy due to the weir behind. We chose the a pitch a little further in to get more sunshine. All pitches are hedged with reasonable privacy, electricity (10amp I think) and shared water and waste. Some pitches on the other side will have noise from the school during weekday breaks.

The site was the quietest I have been on in the morning and evening.

The loos are basic but clean and the showers good.

There is an outside, undercover wash up area and washing machine area and a super drying area.

There is a small TV room where we watched the England game and a little playground for kids.

The boulanger was there every morning bar monday and we didn't need to order.

The site is about a 20 minutes quiet walk into pretty Kayersberg and there is a small but good Carrefour supermarket 2 minutes drive, 10 minutes walk away. You will get a voucher to use here.

We loved the area. 20 mins into Colmar (very hot, very busy but pretty) and close to lots of the incredibly stunning villages on the routes des vins. The prettiest village that we visited was Eguisheim. , truly stunning.

We would make a picnic some days and just enjoy in the vineyards; sometimes joined by a stork or two!

We enjoyed La route de cinque chateau which took us to Le chateau du Hohlandsbourg which has stunning views.

we paid 90 euros for 5 nights and one washing machine token (ask at reception) We thought this was excellent value in late June. We were sad to leave. Highly recommended. (one point to note is that the barrier is locked at night ane we were not allowed to leave before 8am on the day of our departure). 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Janetbedell 4 reviews from this member

 A high quality municipal run by young couple who keep it immaculate. For 17 euros a real bargain. Best showers we have had in France for a long time! Baker sets up a shop every day except Mondays from 8. 30 to 9. 00, no need to order in advance. Local firemen came once a week and cooked Flammenkuchen on site plus local vineyard does a wine tasting evening. Pitches ok though short of shade in some spots. Close to river which keeps the temperature down on really hot days! Local swimming pool. Beautiful. Close by which campers can use. Very few Brits, a few German and French but predominately Dutch. The only downside as we had a complaint from one of them as we ran our engine too long for his liking. How do you get a campervan onto chocks without doing this???? The nights were generally peaceful unless the Dutch sat out late talking. One rule for us one for them it seems!

Kayerserberg although a bit touristy a nice town with endless options to eat. Flamme and Co a real favourite. Lots of Michelin stars in the area if you want to push the boat out. Delightful market on Mondays. Not too big and genuine local stalls. Also a Friday afternoon one which we missed.

On the cycle route so managed 2 day trips from site, also many walks from site, we did 3 4-5 hour circular walks. We should have taken the bus to explore further but not enough time! A must do is the walk to St Alexis restaurant. Real local cuisine, closed Fridays.

All in all, would highly recommend this site. Beware, you cannot book in after 20. 00hrs and need to give 24 hours notice of departure. Would advise booking even out of season. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sumitra 25 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site with good clean amenities and a good motorhome service point. Shops and restaurants within easy walking distance and a very pleasant 15 mins or so walk to the lovely little town centre with all amenities. They do not take dogs in July and August but do otherwise. They have some dog friendly pitches all together the rest of the site being dog free. This will suit a lot of people but to our suprise, because she is normally very friendly, this made our little dog nervous and on edge. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Odefrt 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site many times over the years, twice last year, once in June on Motorcycles & again in September (cold) with car & wifey. It's a basic municipal site with the usual top class hedged pitches & sanitary facilities that is typical of municipal sites in France.

A ten minute walk along the riverside takes you into Kaysersberg, a typical of the area chocolate box village. There is a local shop back on the main road, supermarket up the hill & a bigger one other side of town.

Some nice walks to other villages in the area or a short bus ride into Colmar if you don't wish to drive. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Devon Mike 13 reviews from this member

 A really first class site in one of the most beautiful yet lesser known areas of France and situated a short distance from the centre of the lovely old town of Kaysersberg.

As previous reviewers have said, Camping Municipal Kaysersberg has excellent toilet and laundry facilities, good sized level pitches, plenty of shade, flowers everywhere and smooth asphalt site roadways. Nearly every pitch has direct access to electricity, water and drainage. Bread is delivered everyday and the whole site has free wi-fi connection. All this for a little over twenty euros per day in high season - plus, if you stay for eleven days or more, one night is free!

The site is managed by a very helpful, English speaking young couple who maintain everywhere to a high standard.

There are a number of 'Plus Beaux Villages de France' in this area of Alsace - Riquewihr, Hunawihr, Eguisheim - but there is hardly a village or town nestling among the green velvet vineyards that doesn't have lovely old houses or a beautiful church. To say 'old' is perhaps a little misleading because this area was severely damaged during the last war and many of the buildings, particularly in Kaysersberg, have been carefully restored.

We used two restaurants in Kaysersberg and would recommend both - the excellent 'Veille Forge' and the cheaper but livelier 'Roger Hassenforder'

The nearest large town is Colmar (a distance of about ten kilometres) and although there is much urban sprawl on the outskirts the centre is an architectural delight and well worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frogman14 17 reviews from this member

 Confirm reviews from previous years. Site is every bit as good as reviewed and if possible even better. Flowers everywhere, sanitaires immaculate, attention to detail obvious in every sector. Compliments to 2 young people in office for offering an exceptional site. Our pitch along with most others had own water, own waste, and these couldbe plumbed if you had the necessary bits and pieces. Local pool just round corner, and a crackin' CORA minimart 5 mins walk, had everything at bargain prices. Wine shop 2 mins adjacent to local Indian resto, and Bretonne creperie if you wanta bit of variety.

Keysersberg village is a bit of a walk, but loads of parking if you need to take the car. Local delicacy is carp/frites, best enjoyed at L'Arbre Vert in town rather than cafe at Hachimette.

Whole area, route de vin, Voges mts, Colmar, river Rhine offers plenty to see and do. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ScubaScoobyDoo 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 7 nights and really enjoyed being there. The site is very clean and has good toilet, shower and washing facilities. Booking almost a necessity with reconfirmation the day before arrival. One day notification of departure also required. Large size pitches, many delineated by well kept hedges. Site is grassy but with a tendency to have bald patches through frequent use. Free WiFi with a strong signal. Well placed for cycling to Kaysersberg or to the local supermarket on the designated track. Friendly & helpful staff (Marilyne et Stéphane). Reconfimation via SMS text to 00 33 6 77 96 97 10 if no other means practical on day before arrival.

Would highly recommend and return again. Security barrier for all entry of vehicles and reception closed 12-2pm is only downside to arrival. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaiash 21 reviews from this member

 We first stayed at this site about 12 years ago and remembered it as well organised, clean and cheap.

It is all of the above! The toilets and showers are impressively clean and hot water is plentiful. The site is alongside the river and pitches on that side have the noise of the water which can be intrusive after rain.

Pitches are large and most have water and waste within a few yards. Standard electric is 8amp with 12amp available for an extra charge.

Be aware that you cannot book in over lunchtime 12-2pm and must wait at the entrance.

There are several marked walks from the site ( some quite strenuous) and Kaysersberg is a 15 minute walk along the riverside path, which is also cyclable.

There is a small Intermarché close to the centre and a much larger supermarket nr Mulhouse or Houssen.

A short walk (5 mins) from the site there is a small general store which has bread etc. The town has a good selection of restaurants.

Handy for visits to Eguisheim, Ribeauvillé and Riquewihr.

WiFi access is free on request for up to 7 days. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal Kaysersberg child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal Kaysersberg?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal Kaysersberg dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kaysersberg      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Lorraine - Alsace

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3040 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement