Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chateau La Garenne Campsite

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Calvados > Chateau La Garenne Campsite Reviews

Chateau La Garenne Campsite
Aunay Sur Odon
Viller Bocage
Caen
Calvados
Normandy   (Browse area)
14260
Tel: 07850 511893  or  0776 258 1456


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 31 Reviews
                10/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (7)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shrija 1 review from this member

 Our Château hosts Sue & Steve were extremely friendly and welcoming throughout our stay.

Following a lovely cup of tea in their garden and a tour of the outbuildings we pitched up in front of The Château with a direct view of the gorgeous horses that they breed.

We were delighted to see a family of Coypeus during our stay.

A wonderfully peaceful site that we intend to return to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynnmo 1 review from this member

 What a warm welcome from Sue and Steve. The kettle was on instantly and we were welcomed into their home. Sue even ran us to Aldi to get some food.

Hard pitch outside their front door with electric.

We had the use of the empty gite for toilet facilities.

Loved meeting this interesting couple 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kdunco 1 review from this member

 Steve and Sue are the perfect hosts. Warm, friendly with a cup of tea on tap. We were treated as long lost friends, not customers.

The chateau, its grounds and outbuildings are gorgeous and steeped in history.

The grounds are immaculately kept and are also home to Sue's vast collection of beautiful ponies.

A short walk downhill takes you into town, where you will find everything you need and then some.

There is no noise at all overnight at the chateau and we slept the sleep of the dead.

Would we go back. Damn right we would! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ggar10 1 review from this member

 Very friendly welcome at the chateau, very quiet site.

Thought we were going to get stuck in wet grass when we left, but got out eventually.

Site could use more hook up points & waste bins were not evident. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Highlandponies 2 reviews from this member

 Another wonderful 3 days stay with Sue and Steve.

This time we bought our grandchildren aged 10 and 14. They both enjoyed every minute because Sue and Steve went out of their way to keep them entertained.

Thank you once again for a great time, we will be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 29 reviews from this member

 Could not get a warmer welcome anywhere, we booked this site to be close to Caen as our ferry was very early, wished we’d booked for longer, what an idyllic place, it is about 30 minutes to the ferry.

Sue and Steve are so welcoming and anxious to please, it felt like staying with old friends. Stunning countryside views all around and the peace and quiet is therapeutic.

Short walk to the village, what a lovely place, good shops, bars and eating places. There is plenty to do in the area but that is for next time. Superb gites are on offer too. You will need your own toilet and shower.

We can’t wait to come back! 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marymac 12 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely spot, amazing views, walking distance of town, really friendly owners, nothing to fault. Just turn up and enjoy.

We were in our campervan but the gites are stunning, easy access from/to the ferry 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dimermaid 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful experience. Beautiful chateau with such interesting history back to 16th century. Two gites, beautifully renovated and tastefully and comfortably furnished. Sue and Steve can't do enough to make you welcome, so friendly. Caravans, motorhomes can hook up randomly in the beautiful grounds. There are rare breed highland ponies, which Sue breeds.

Omaha and Bayeux an hour away. Pretty villages and Clecy a quaint village by the river.

Every Saturday there is a typical French market in Aunay Sur Odon.

Can't wait to visit again 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: GrahamKennedy 3 reviews from this member

 Well, what can I say. It is not often you visit a campsite and come away with the feeling you've been visiting friends. Sue and Steve go out of their way to make you feel comfortable, be it a cuppa on arrival, the offer of a lift to lidl (as Sue was just off shopping), info on the local area or even hints on some good cheap wine!

The site is a working stud farm, rather than a formal campsite so everything is very laid back, which suited us perfectly.

Local town is 10 minutes walk away and has supermarkets, bistro, hotel and a nice market on a Saturday.

Stayed for two nights when heading south and another on the way home.

Looking forward to dropping in again when in the area (and hopefully take in one of their BBQ's, which sound like a great night). 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Drisc1 3 reviews from this member

 We can only reiterate what the previous reviewers have said about Chateau La Garenne, The welcome by Sue and Steve was great and made us feel relaxed and chilled out. Fantastic setting with the rolling hills in the distance it is hard to imagine that the area was the scene of heavy fighting during the battle for Normandy in 1944, although Steve did inform me that a German Panzer division had been billeted there. We look forward to staying there again next year. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chateau La Garenne Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chateau La Garenne Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Chateau La Garenne Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Calvados      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3983 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement