Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chateau La Garenne Campsite

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Calvados > Chateau La Garenne Campsite > Reviews

Chateau La Garenne Campsite
Aunay Sur Odon
Viller Bocage
Caen
Calvados
Normandy   (Browse area)
14260
Tel: 0776 258 1456


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 39 Reviews
                10/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (7)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Herman 1 review from this member

 Sue and Steve are an older English couple who give you a very hospitable welcome.

A sea of ​​space, you don't have to make a reservation, just stand, even if they are not there.

Wonderfully quiet with beautiful trees.

You have to be somewhat self-sufficient, because they don't have a sanitary building, although you can use the facilities in a holiday home if it is not rented out.

We do have water and electricity, and it is certainly not a standard campsite.

30 euros per night is a bit steep, but we thought it was worth it.

--------

Sue en Steve zijn een wat ouder Engels echtpaar die je heel gastvrij onthalen.

Een zee van ruimte, je hoeft niet te reserveren, gewoon gaan staan, ook al zijn ze er niet.

Heerlijk rustig met mooie bomen.

Je moet wel een beetje zelfvoorzienend zijn, want een sanitairgebouw hebben ze niet, al kun je gebruik maken van de voorzieningen in een vakantiewoning mits die niet verhuurd is.

Water en stroom hebben we wel, en het is beslist geen standaard camping.

30 euro per nacht is wat stevig aan de prijs, maar wij vonden het wel waard. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Samuel bernard 1 review from this member

 Rural France at itís best. We visited Chateau La Garenne in June. Pre arrival we were flooded and vacated from our previous site.

I called Sue and Steve asking if they had space for us to turn up early and off course they welcomed us with open arms.

Driving through the little village on the way, it is within walking distance and has an Aldi, various shops, butchers, bakers and a few pubs and restaurants. We drove into the chestnut lined entrance and was greeted by the view of a most gorgeous chateau in all itís glory.

Sue and Steve have restored this from a boomed ruin to what it is today. Another van was next to us and we parked up next to the chateau under the trees and overlooking a field with 12 white highland ponies, all they needed was horns and it would have been a field of unicorns.

We had a meet and greet with Sue and Steve who are so warm, welcoming and approachable.

Remembering it is a working farm and it is rural France, the waste goes down a pipe at the corner of the field, you dispose of your rubbish in the village, there is a bin next to Aldi and the grey water, drain overnight.

We visited Pegasus Bridge which was fantastic and not too far away and also a brocante market which if I had room I would have had it all. We shared meals and had a barbecue with Sue and Steve and had a wander around the medieval buildings.

There are two gates on site which have been immaculately restored, wisteria hangs alongside wonderful coloured clematis. Both are decorated with antiques and French furniture exactly what you would expect. Euros 150 and for four per night is an absolute bargain.

Camping was 30 euros and they say no need to book for the camping just turn up, the gates I would call first though. An absolutely amazing experience, we will definitely go back, we have made friends for life.

Sam misses tinkering with Steveís tractors etc. If you are looking for a true experience and some good food, good wine and most definitely good company then donít miss this little gem. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ginny6 1 review from this member

 Fantastic place, quiet, in the countryside, on owners land, EHU and water.

Brilliant hosts so hospitable, met like long Losts, totally mad as box of frogs and we totally fitted in. A totally relaxed welcomed stay, we were invited in to Sue and Steveís home like we were the best of friends invited to dinner which we didnít do but went and drank and had a very enjoyable evening with them and friends into the wee hoursÖ

If you want pure relaxation and to feel like your at home GOÖ

We would wholeheartedly say without a doubt this is one of the best places we have stayed.

This was our first stay in France off the ferry from Caen and it will be our last stay already booked in for the 30th May on our return to Portsmouth.

Their place is a 15 min walk into a lovely village where we shopped at the charcuterie /bolangerie and ate a meal at the restaurant that Sue recommended, you need to have the Plat De Jour for value for money, it was superb.

We would recommend Sue and Steveís place in a heartbeat, fabulous find and a great area to visit before moving on. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: WillemMonincx 1 review from this member

 Fantastic place, beautiful view / quiet and very nice hospitable owners.

Een echte aanrader voor een boeren camping met historie.

Voor gezinnen met jonge kinderen is het wel opletten dat de kinderen niet gaan zwerven omdat er ook stieren in de velden lopen 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andyorp 11 reviews from this member

 Can only agree with all the previous reviews. Nice little CL type campsite in a beautiful location.

Nice and quiet, with a short walk into town.

Steve and Sue are excellent hosts. Very warm and friendly.

We are looking forward to returning when we are in the area. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Soton3 1 review from this member

 Wonderful, warm and friendly hosts who were great with communication.

A great location, with a spectacular panorama across the countryside. Very easy to find, even at night and near to a picturesque town with all the facilities (including supermarkets that open on a Sunday).

Ideally placed for our first night on the road after disembarking from the ferry at Caen.

Electric hook up was good to have. You'll need to have your own washing and toilet facilities which we didn't have as first timers in a rented VW campervan.

Nevertheless our hosts were brilliant in helping us to find a workaround for the night. Hope to return sometime soon!

Thank you, thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Hilltoncamp 1 review from this member

 I stayed at Chateau La Garenne near Caen for 2 nights.

The welcome from Sue and Steve could not have been more warmer, the kettle was on when I arrived. A British couple with a wealth of local knowledge.

I spent 1 night with electric in my VW camper. The second night I hired one of their cottageís. The accommodation is magnificent. Two bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and living room. Immaculately furnished to a luxurious standard.

I canít recommend La Garenne enough and canít wait to return. Many thanks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert 2 reviews from this member

 You have to stay here!

Sue and Steve are the most welcoming and helpful couple you could ever hope for.

From making us a much needed cuppa when we first got there, to allowing Adele to hang the washing on their line to dry.

Sue also recommended where to eat on our first night and the Brasserie du Centre did not disappoint with some of the nicest food we had tasted on our holiday.

The site has everything that you need, peace and quiet in abundance, a short walk into town down a quiet road, good views and importantly superb hosts who can and will keep you amused for hours and make you welcome in their home.

Part of the pleasure of staying here was that some of the mares where due to foal so we would lookout the windows first thing to watch out for changes as the Sun came up.

Picked here as wanted somewhere handy for the return ferry so that we could just drive straight there without any stopping and this was ideal.

We enjoyed the stop and the area so much we may be considering becoming neighbours! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shrija 1 review from this member

 Our Ch‚teau hosts Sue & Steve were extremely friendly and welcoming throughout our stay.

Following a lovely cup of tea in their garden and a tour of the outbuildings we pitched up in front of The Ch‚teau with a direct view of the gorgeous horses that they breed.

We were delighted to see a family of Coypeus during our stay.

A wonderfully peaceful site that we intend to return to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynnmo 1 review from this member

 What a warm welcome from Sue and Steve. The kettle was on instantly and we were welcomed into their home. Sue even ran us to Aldi to get some food.

Hard pitch outside their front door with electric.

We had the use of the empty gite for toilet facilities.

Loved meeting this interesting couple 
via mobile


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Chateau La Garenne Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chateau La Garenne Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Chateau La Garenne Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Calvados      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45920 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement