Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Chateau La Garenne

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Calvados > Chateau La Garenne Reviews

Chateau La Garenne
Aunay Sur Odon
Viller Bocage
Caen
Calvados
Normandy   (Browse area)
14260
Tel: 07850 511893  or  0776 258 1456


Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 27 Reviews
                10/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Highlandponies 2 reviews from this member

Another wonderful 3 days stay with Sue and Steve.

This time we bought our grandchildren aged 10 and 14. They both enjoyed every minute because Sue and Steve went out of their way to keep them entertained.

Thank you once again for a great time, we will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 26 reviews from this member

Could not get a warmer welcome anywhere, we booked this site to be close to Caen as our ferry was very early, wished wed booked for longer, what an idyllic place, it is about 30 minutes to the ferry.

Sue and Steve are so welcoming and anxious to please, it felt like staying with old friends. Stunning countryside views all around and the peace and quiet is therapeutic.

Short walk to the village, what a lovely place, good shops, bars and eating places. There is plenty to do in the area but that is for next time. Superb gites are on offer too. You will need your own toilet and shower.

We cant wait to come back!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marymac 12 3 reviews from this member

Lovely spot, amazing views, walking distance of town, really friendly owners, nothing to fault. Just turn up and enjoy.

We were in our campervan but the gites are stunning, easy access from/to the ferry
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Dimermaid 1 review from this member

What a wonderful experience. Beautiful chateau with such interesting history back to 16th century. Two gites, beautifully renovated and tastefully and comfortably furnished. Sue and Steve can't do enough to make you welcome, so friendly. Caravans, motorhomes can hook up randomly in the beautiful grounds. There are rare breed highland ponies, which Sue breeds.

Omaha and Bayeux an hour away. Pretty villages and Clecy a quaint village by the river.

Every Saturday there is a typical French market in Aunay Sur Odon.

Can't wait to visit again

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: GrahamKennedy 3 reviews from this member

Well, what can I say. It is not often you visit a campsite and come away with the feeling you've been visiting friends. Sue and Steve go out of their way to make you feel comfortable, be it a cuppa on arrival, the offer of a lift to lidl (as Sue was just off shopping), info on the local area or even hints on some good cheap wine!

The site is a working stud farm, rather than a formal campsite so everything is very laid back, which suited us perfectly.

Local town is 10 minutes walk away and has supermarkets, bistro, hotel and a nice market on a Saturday.

Stayed for two nights when heading south and another on the way home.

Looking forward to dropping in again when in the area (and hopefully take in one of their BBQ's, which sound like a great night).

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Drisc1 3 reviews from this member

We can only reiterate what the previous reviewers have said about Chateau La Garenne, The welcome by Sue and Steve was great and made us feel relaxed and chilled out. Fantastic setting with the rolling hills in the distance it is hard to imagine that the area was the scene of heavy fighting during the battle for Normandy in 1944, although Steve did inform me that a German Panzer division had been billeted there. We look forward to staying there again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vauncutts 5 reviews from this member

Returned to La Garenne this summer for a total 11 days this time - 6 days on our way south and then altered our plans to spend a further 5 days on our way back home.

Why? Well, you could not wish for friendlier or more helpful hosts than Sue and Steve, They really make you feel like a part of the family (eg. Being included in a barbeque for their friends and neighbours), nor for a more beautiful and peaceful setting in which to relax.

Lots of space to pitch with easy access to water and electricity, but you will need to use your own shower and WC. Not an issue for us. That is part of its charm.

The site is convenient for Caen and for touring Normandy from Mont St Michel to Honfleur to the D-Day beaches and, of course, Bayeux. Aunay is a 10 minute walk away; an attractive small town with a good range of shops and two supermarkets.

Cannot wait to return to wake up on a pitch next to a chateau surrounded by beautiful countryside and inquisitive white ponies (and don't forget the cats!).

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 2 B Trusted 2 reviews from this member

The welcome on arrival from Sue and Steve was wonderful. Sue put kettle on but before it had boiled she came out with two glasses of homemade Elderberry cordial. The village which has been mainly rebuilt since the war is lovely and an easy walk from site. Sue and Steve have renovated outbuilding to 2 VERY BEAUTIFUL GITES which could not be better for anyone looking for this type of accommodation. The whole concept of the site is 1st class and we throughly recommend this laid back, peaceful and amazing site. C & J

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Highlandponies 2 reviews from this member

Sue and Steve could not have been more welcoming from the cup of tea when we arrived to the home made jam when we left. The grounds are beautiful with lots of history. The town is only 10 mins walk away with good restaurants and market day. Sue and Steve did everything they could to make our stay special so our 2 night booking turned into 5 nights. Good luck with your renovations and hope to see you again.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Juliesomerset 36 reviews from this member

Just spent 4 delightful days here - the welcome was wonderful -Sue and Steve are great hosts - it was a delight to be surrounded by lovely countryside and peace and quiet -after 3 months staying on campsites this was a real tonic ! perfect stop for return ferries from Caen ( 20 mins away ) or Le Havre 1. 1/2 drive -we shall most definitely be stopping by again ! the Village is vibrant, with good bars, shops and Bistros and the saturday market is wonderful, it is a 6 minute gentle walk into town either along the quiet road or a bridlepath which is delightful if you have dogs with you.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Calvados      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019