Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Walric

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Saint Valery Sur Somme > Camping Le Walric Reviews

Camping Le Walric
Route D Eu
Saint Valery Sur Somme
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
80230
Tel: 0033 03 22 26 81 97
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kempsons 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights beginning of August. The reception staff were friendly and spoke good English. We were given a map to our pitch.

We were disappointed with the size of the pitch as I had booked in February and had given dimensions of our caravan and told them we gad an awning. The pitch was just wide enough to fit caravan & awning but with the car at the front there was no room to sit out. The pitch was surrounded by hedging which gave privacy.

The signs around the site were in French so no surprise we didn't know where to fill the aqua roll and on the first day did the washing up in the wrong place. The correct designated place for washing up is in the the toilet & shower block and there are plenty of sinks. The Aqua roll we filled up in large sink outside toilet block as couldn't find anywhere else.

The toilet & shower block was clean with a good number of both toilet & showers, in typical French style they were unisex and you had to take your own toilet roll & hand soap.

We chose this site for the covered heated swimming pool which we only went to once as it was so overcrowded. If going remember your skin tight speedo's as my son wasn't allowed to even sit on the loungers by the pool in his UK swimming pool bought speedo's which were deemed not tight enough!

We did play tennis a couple of times which was great fun. Wifi had to be paid for at 2 per person for 24 hrs.

Days out:-

We walked into St Valarie which is very picturesque and enjoyed some crepes from a cart along the front.

We also went down the coast to Mers de Bain which was very pretty with lots of painted houses.

The beach, when the tide was out, at Ault was lovely, lots of pebbles to walk over to get there. The sea was bath temperature for paddling in, beautiful.

There is also a lovely beach just across the road from the camp site at Cap Hornu.

Overall we thought the area was very pretty but wouldn't rush back to the site. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TotnesTravellers 24 reviews from this member

 A good reception at this site and the pitch we were sent to was fine for us. Toilet facilities not the most modern but well kept. The walk into town was an easy one and there was plenty to do and see locally. The old city is well worth looking around and the town was interesting enough. There were places to eat/drink though this was not a particularly cheap part of France we found. The market was a good one (Sunday). The bay of the Somme was great and another time we would take the train around it. We didn't think this site very good value (& no free wifi) however other sites in the area seem pricier so I guess it was not too bad and we would return here. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We have stayed here previously a year or two back, and I would have preferred a different site this time, but this site gives ACSI discount, and when we enquired at another site, the price was eye-wateringly expensive, so we ended up here again for the night.

This time we were allocated a nicer pitch, surrounded by tall hedges so sheltered and private. The nearest sanitary block was better than last time, though all unisex. Very clean site, though large.

We left on the Friday of a public holiday weekend, and from 10. 00 am there was a stream of units coming onto the site, blocking the roads, hanging around waiting for their pitch to be free. A huge French motorhome came to our pitch, though not unpleasant they made it clear they felt we were in the wrong. As we were leaving anyway, we quickly packed, and I spoke to the receptionist on the way out. Eventually she admitted they had made a mistake. Not a huge issue, but spoilt the relaxed morning we were having.

This is not the sort of site we would normally choose, it's too big and further out of town than we prefer, but otherwise perfectly ok. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Timelord 4 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have visited the Walric site. It is a well run park with decent pitches enclosed by hedges. Sanitary facilities are unisex, but of a very good standard. The pool was closed during our trip, but looked very inviting. The young lady on the reception is very friendly and helpful and speaks excellent English. It is refreshing that you don't have to trudge outside the site to dump rubbish as it is picked up each morning in the bags provided by the site.

The town is a 10 minute walk away. It has an interesting old centre and looks across the Somme Estuary to Le Crotoy. The promenade makes for lovely walks or cycle rides and there is a steam train which runs around the local villages. Market day on a Sunday is well worth a visit as the fruit and veg is really fresh and well priced. The site takes the ACSI card and is highly recommended.

We will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Westy20 4 reviews from this member

 Because of back problems we decided not to drive too far into France and decided to stay here for two weeks. A big mistake on my part. If it was an over nighter I would say yes, but any longer, a no no. The site is clean, however only two water taps available on the toilet blocks, the locals (Almost resident French campers) fill up litre bottles of water. I connected an hose using velcro straps and run it to my pitch to fill the motorhome tank, almost immediately I was surrounded by irate non-english speaking french locals, shouting at me for doing it. Told reception, they smiled politely!. The swimming pool opened up at 10am, then closed between 12 and 2, then opened until 7, very odd for high season. The town is small with not much happening, OK for one or two visits but not when your staying two weeks. I had my tow car, and despite covering a 100 mile around the area, there is not much to see or do in this part of France.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rothie Rovers 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Camping Le Walric on our first night in France and returned here for our last night as we really enjoyed Saint-Valery sur Somme, the campsite is within useful striking distance of Calais and it had a number of plus features.

It is a large, established and well-maintained site that includes fixed mobile homes and places for touring motorhomes, tents and caravans. It's situated on the outskirts of Saint-Valery sur Somme which is a lovely coastal town overlooking the Somme Bay. It's about a mile downhill from the site to the centre of town. There are several supermarkets in Saint-Valery but they are mostly on the ring-road (makes it sound bigger than it actually is!) around the town. Bread shops, butchers etc passed on the walk to the entre of town.

On our first visit, we arrived after the campsite had closed but used the telephone provided outside reception to call the 'gardien' who came and let us in and allocated us a 'plot'. There are no hardstandings for tourers. All the 'plots' are grass and individually enclosed by mature hedges. Electricity provided on individual plots but not water. I successfully fused our supply by using our kettle (lesson learned!). There was quite a lot of rain on our first visit but the water drained away effectively and we had no problems getting stuck. The plots are of a good size but the hedges, trees and width of the internal road around the site can make navigating onto 'plots' tricky. We had a little difficulty navigating into our 'plot' on the second visit - our motorhome is just under 7m. The adjoining caravan was moved using a wheel turning device. The staff were always helpful and the receptionist speaks some English. The site provides large waste bags which are used to put your waste at the edge of your 'plot' and it is then collected in the morning. There are two toilet blocks (both unisex, one heated) which include washing up and laundry facilities, a motorhome service point, swimming pool, play area, shop and bar. We found the shop and bar weren't open on our first visit at the beginning of May but were open when we returned towards the end of May.

Toilet blocks are clean. Toilets are of the English style (rather than 'Turkish toilets' as they're referred to in France) but lacking toilet seat as is often the case on sites. A lot of French families here. It had a nice atmosphere and is in a good situation to enjoy the town.

One night cost us 24 euros which was one of the more expensive rates we experienced over three weeks of touring France but we would use this site again if arriving at / leaving from Calais etc. As we found the location and standard of facilities etc. Were good. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We had hoped to find a site a bit nearer the sea, but this was the best we could do on the day. The site is a few minutes drive up a hill out of the town, and is quite easy to find. It is a huge site, I suppose you would describe it as a holiday park, with lots of chalets and statics, but still some space for tourers.

The reception was quick and easy and the receptionist spoke good English. Along with the receipt she gave us a rubbish bag and explained that we could leave it out and a man would collect it in the morning. He did too, drove round picking up the bags, the park was absolutely spotless. We were allocated a pitch, which was grassy.

There were several toilet blocks. The nearest one that we used had 2 rooms that appeared to be unisex, however, one had showers, enclosed basins and urinals in, but no toilets, the other had showers, enclosed basins, 2 children's' toilets, 1 disabled, 1 marked gents, and 3 ladies. If the site had been busy, that would possibly have been a problem. There was a washing up area and I think a laundry section, under cover. All were clean, in fact the cleaning lady was mopping out at 10.00 am when people were trying to use the facilities.

There is a swimming pool, shop, and cafe bar, but we didn't use them. There is a tennis centre located at the entrance to the site.

The town is about 10 mins downhill by bike. It has a promenade and the views across the estuary are stunning. There is a tourist train which I think goes round the Bay to Le Crotoy, which is also a seaside town worth a visit. You can cycle this route, I think it is about 8k.

The town also has a mediaeval part, worth a walk round.

The price was moderate. We would use this site again for overnight, but it wasn't really the sort of site we would choose to spend a lot of time on. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Walric child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Walric have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Walric?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Walric dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Valery Sur Somme      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5057 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement