Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Buttyland Manor Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Buttyland Manor Caravan And Camping Park
Station Road
Upper Manorbier
Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 7SN
Tel: 01834 871278
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 84 Reviews
                7/10 from 84 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Haynew 10 reviews from this member

Nice clean site, well kept tidy grounds. Was very quiet when we visited. Friendly staff nice bar with happy hour 4-7 £2. 50 a pint. Fish & Chip shop. Short walk to the train for Tenby £3. 50 return. Thought the site was good value in a peaceful location with great access to Tenby by train.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarah3012 3 reviews from this member

Lovely camping site, family friendly, showers were lovely and warm 50p for 5minutes for women or 20p/£1 for men 2mins/5mins. Toilets were cleaned on a regular basis. Floor was a little muddy but that was to be expected due to the volume of people on site. Bar area and garden was lovely a little small but there is a bigger one being build happy hour 4-7 £2. 50 a pint of fosters or John smiths, we were made to feel very welcome on our first day with a game of killer darts and goodie bags for the children has a funday was being held. I used the washing machine a few times which used 2 old pound coins and the tumble dryer the same. Chip shop in site was great we had a good few bags of chips and it was reasonable prices we also found an Indian that delivered from Pembroke which we used a few times too. The whole area for camping was clean no rubbish around and the grass was kept near to. Say nav did prove unreliable but if you head for kiln park and stay on that road for about 3/4miles you will see it sign posted on the right. Whole in whole this is a fantastic site and we will be returning

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nadia Willott 2 reviews from this member

Unfortunate enough to book and pay in full for this site for 2 weekends. I wished after the first weekend, I had not paid in full, and then would have booked elsewhere. Not for us I'm afraid. To give a fair review. Below are our pros and cons.

Pros

Location - Within 10 minutes drive of a number of beautiful beaches

Pitches - Were flat and well maintained. We had a fair bit of rain and they drained well

Toilets and shower location - Close to the pitch

Entry gate - Passcode security on entry gate in and out

Fish and chips - On site chippy. Reasonably priced, ok quality

WiFi - the site didn't charge for Wi-Fi as, by their own admission, connection was temperamental

Big Play Field - good for kids

Cons

Cleanliness - Toilets and Showers stayed clean for about half an hour each day. The men's toilets absolutely stank of stale pee

Electric Hook up - Couldn't boil kettle with anything else plugged in. Even a cool box. Without it tripping

Showers - Cramped, had to squeeze round the door to get in, broken hooks so nowhere to hang clothes/towel to stay dry so everything ended up falling onto the floor or wet shelves.

20p / 50p for 2/3 minutes of scalding water in the women's with no temperature control and you don't even get the full time as you have to push a button for water every 20 seconds. No on/off switch. One of the men's showers ran freezing cold. Great for my 6 year old boy in it at the time. His dad had put all his change into that shower so no opportunity to move to another shower.

'Games room' - This is just arcade machines which have to be paid for. Of course. Fruit machines and grabber machines

NOISE. This is my biggest complaint with the site, in no way is the site child friendly in terms of noise. There are signs indicating 10. 00pm noise cut off. Rubbish. No one enforces this. I have 3 kids under 11. Couldn't get them to sleep before 11. 30pm because of noise. EVERY NIGHT WE STAYED. Music, shouting and even drunken arguments. Which I can only attribute to the on site bar.

Staff - Virtually none existent. We even had to site ourselves on 2nd visit.

Cheap but certainly not cheerful. Not for us and will not return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JBSB 6 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights at the start of August in a 'Gold' pitch. Person who checked us in did not know the area and was unable to advise how to get to the beach or where the nearest supermarket was. Other staff did turn out to be more knowledgeable but it wasn't a good start. Pitches were very tight, much too close together.

Gents showers were 20p and ladies 50p. There were 4 of each. On more than one occasion there was only one ladies showers working which is not acceptable on a site of this size. The toilets (4 or 5 of ladies and gents) and showers are in desperate need of modernisation. They were horrible.

The site flooded behind the gold pitches, apparently this is the first time this has ever happened? We required staff to bring planks of wood so that we could get out of our motorhome.

Would definitely not recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon354 1 review from this member

We took advantage of the long weekend over Easter and went a bit further afield to this site.

Initial impressions of the site were good, we were shown to our pitch which was fairly spacious but not as much room as others we have visited.

The good points are the location, only down the road from Manorbier beach, which is lovely and great for exploring rock pools, surfing if the need takes you and taking a walk along the spectacular coast path. There is also a castle overlooking the beach which is pretty unusual and spectacular. Manorbier itself has a lovely cafe/gift shop and also a very handy, very well stocked supermarket. A bit further afield is Tenby, a lovely seaside town with a great, large beach split into North and South sections, we parked by the North beach and the parking was super cheap, park there and walk across the beach into town!

OK so the site itself, has a small clubhouse, with outdoor seating and an attached chip shop, both of which are great as an option if you are stuck. There is also a large building being built, this could be a new entertainment area, I didn't ask but could be worth enquiring about.

Unfortunately that's where the good bits end. Firstly I thought the overnight rate was very expensive for what you actually got, plus you had to pay extra to re-freeze your freezer blocks and use the showers. Whilst the toilet and shower block was clean, the shine was taken off by firstly having to pay for a shower and the fact that the water was at best luke warm. The same goes for the washing up facilities, luke warm water, so not great for washing up.

Another aspect I wasn't so keen on was that tents were mixed up with tourers, camper vans etc, I know this is a personal gripe and I should have checked before we booked, so that is a learning experience for me.

There was also a group near us playing loud music, this really bugs me as the site had clear signage all around saying no loud music after 10pm, they didn't seem to enforce the rule and the music went on until after midnight for two of our three nights, which was disappointing.

On the whole we enjoyed our stay, the kids made some friends and we enjoyed exploring the locality but we won't be going back to Buttyland I'm afraid.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fudgybrown 7 reviews from this member

Spent six nights camping and we liked this site.

We didnít need electric so camped along the edge of the main field which is a mixture of caravans and tents with the electric hook-ups towards the middle of the field and hard standing along one side. There are water taps at either end of the field. The grass was cut nice and short and the field was flat with only a negligible slope. The ground was nice and firm some stone so did need a mallet.

The facilities consisted of a small toilet block, washing/laundry/freezer room and shower block. They were cleaned regularly but itís a pity other people donít clean up after themselves. Also pity about the extra charges for freezer £2 for the week and shower 50p for three minutes. There is a small club house with regular entertainment, but it was small so the one night we went there was no space to sit inside. But it seemed to have a good atmosphere (but £5 to play bingo was a bit much). Attached to the club house was a fish and chip booth, we had pie and sausage and chips on our first night. It is a good facility to have if you need food and havenít planned ahead. There is also a small shop with some basic food stuffs and camping supplies. One night our camping gaz ran out so I need to get a refill. However whilst the site shop does stock Calor gas and small picnic size aerosol gas it doesnít stock Camping Gaz. But there is a shop in Tenby high street that does stock camping Gaz refills. Luckily we had a small portable picnic size stove so used that to get by. The kids had a great time playing football, cricket, rugby in the middle of the field until it got too dark. The site was quiet from about 11 - 11. 30. Generally the site was very good but the owners did have to deal with a rowdy group and we assume they were asked to leave as they and their kids werenĎt there the next evening.

The area is lovely. We loved Manorbier beach, sand and rock pools. Tenby is lovely and has plenty to do. And if you have kids Folly Farm and Annaís Welsh Zoo are excellent.

Our one criticism is that the hot water for washing up was never hot. And as that was the only thing wrong then we think this site is pretty good.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alisway74 2 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite everyone was so friendly. All staff very helpful and informative. Shower blocks where clean and warm 50p shower meter didn't last long when showering the only down side. The site itself was very quiet clean and tidy. Passed more then my expectations the price of a pitch was very reasonable for what you get and was told could pitch up where we wanted too. Plenty of water points around. Washing area was usable and clean. The bar food and chippy was very tasty. Was great to join in with bingo and quiz nights, Had a perfect relaxing time even though our tent did leaked in the wet weather. The children enjoyed themselves a great family atmosphere. We found lots to do around and about in manorbier/tenby itself. A stunning beach not far from camp site. And a few shops close by. Will return for sure without hesitation, work permitting

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petengail 16 reviews from this member

Sat navigation not the best took us around tight lanes but on arrival told best to head for tenby then enter street name and post code. Booking in very good and given useful info for various places to visit. Told to park on field and wait for plot to be vacated this didn't happen and I think a more strict ruling is needed on departure times but on the good side the owner came and led us to some plots which was brill. The toilets were clean and kept clean through day, showers are unisex showers and 50p for 5mins also clean and plenty of hot water. Buttyland bar is small but very friendly the chip shop food is good and the breakfast is value for money overall the site is very good and worth another visit.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevenchris 1 review from this member

First time at Buttyland and we enjoyed every minute. Loads of space for tent and parking alongside. Families with kids had plenty of room in the field for them to run around. Owner and all staff friendly and helpful and made us feel like regular visitors. Toilets and showers always clean no matter what time of the day. Electric hookup was enough to power all we needed. There is a good chip shop which also does cooked breakfasts. The bar/clubhouse is smallish and friendly and we got to play cards and bingo with other campers as well as locals and there is live music on Friday. Buttyland is a great place for a base to explore Pembrokeshire and if you don't want a big faceless campsite and prefer the more personal touch, I would recommend it. A great place and I hope to return soon

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coldcampers 1 review from this member

BEST CAMPING EXPERIENCE EVER!

Really good site the shower room and toilet's are always really clean and the water's always hot, the fish and chips are lovely and happy hour at the bar (£2 pint) is even better :) the entertainment was epic!

The electric hookup is enough to power whatever you need in the tent

Everyone was really nice and you feel comfortable the minute you arrive

Thanks for an amazing time, we would love to go again

Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1756 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019