Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dolaucothi Estate Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanwrda > Dolaucothi Estate Caravan Park Reviews

Dolaucothi Estate Caravan Park
Dolaucothi Gold Mines
Pumsaint
Llanwrda
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA19 8US
Tel: 01558 650365
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 38
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cymraes1dog 7 reviews from this member

 This site has been a favourite for many years and has been missed during lockdown. We missed the lovely wardens who became friends and who kept the site immaculate.

The site looked rather run down now. The hardstandings were covered with weeds, there were no recycling or dog bins as in the past On the bottom tier the trees needed trimming back as we exited our back door into a barrage of leaves.

It is still beautiful. We still enjoyed. But PLEASE bring back the enthusiastic volunteer wardens. Security was also a slight worry. It looks as if people have been climbing over the fence by the gate to the public lane. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 55 reviews from this member

 Great site, very helpful team on site and well maintained.

A visit to the mine next door is highly recommended, along with a visit to their cafe.

Great for walks or cycling, there is a pub in walking distance, but not much in the way of shops.

There are no toilets/showers but there is a chemical disposal point.

We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jostar3737 7 reviews from this member

 If you have children then ignore some of the stupid comments on here - how dare people feel that they can dictate whether kids can come here or not!??

Yes its peaceful but in a great location for some nature walks and playing by the river.

The goldmine centre next door also has some great activities for kids (panning for gold, trips down the mine, activities in the visitors centre etc) and we were made to feel so welcome there.

Of course as a family we try and be quiet and respectful but after a while I tire of the glares and think stuff it and ALL OTHER FAMILIES SHOULD TOO! Remember when you wrinklies were young and used to laugh and god forbid play games!?? 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Welsh Mel 9 reviews from this member

 If I could give this location 11 out of 10 I would. The wardens Lynne and Dave were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the local area.

The gold mines were adjacent to the site and well worth a visit. Nice walks around and the Dolaucothi Arms is a lovely pub.

We will definitely be returning to this peaceful site.

There are no toilets or showers but there is electric, water and waste points. Plenty of wildlife to see. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WestBest 3 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site in a stunning location. However, it's not for children. Not because there isn't a play area, that isn't an issue for kids that like to play and explore in the woods or play tag etc.

The wardens made it obvious that they were a nuisance to them and the normal sound of children playing clearly irritated them.

Other campers that we chatted to, although much older than us, were very friendly and supportive.

There aren't any facilities like toilets or washing up area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Oli33vier 3 reviews from this member

 Just bought a Hymer motorhome and decided to test drive it to somewhere local.

What a lovely surprise this site was. Tranquil, peaceful and picture perfect.

The volunteers were brilliant with information on hand about walks and the local area.

I expect inventive parents may like the site too, but the walks we found quite strenuous and might not be suited to young families.

But a great start and we certainly would love to go back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 92 reviews from this member

 A delightful site that occupies sunny glades amongst the forestry. The site is quite straight forward to get to, being just a few hundred yards down narrow lanes off the A482.

The welcome off the site wardens us superb and the site is immaculate. There is no toilet block here so you will have to use your own facilities.

Set amongst the mature forestry of the Dolaucothi estate, the site is a haven for lovers of wildlife, and walkers are offered miles if different walks direct from site.

The wardens loan out laminated maps for walks of differing length through the estate grounds.

There is no shop on site, but a garage just a mile or so down the road has a convenience store attached. For a decent shop you'll need the travel to Lampeter, some 8 miles away, where there is a big Co-op and Sainsburys as well as many local shops. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Meryldawn 16 reviews from this member

 Only stayed 2 nights here. Didn't bother to put the awning up as the hardstanding was roadstone and our breathable groundsheet wouldn't have faired too well with the sharp stones. The site was very quiet and even though the site was nearly full we hardly saw any of the occupants. I think most of the occupants were walkers and people kept themselves in their vans so felt like we were there on our own. I don't think children would fit in at all as it is so quiet and there is no play area.

I would recommend Tafarn Jem pub and restaurant, at Cwmann, Lampeter SA48 8HF. Also Shapla Tandoori, College Street, Lampeter 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cerdded 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 2 weeks at this super little site.

Received warm welcome from National Trust Volunteer Wardens who provided us with endless ideas for walks of all abilities direct from the site, places to eat and visit.

Really peaceful site with endless bird and wildlife (excluding the odd Hercules on low flying training)

Wonderful dog walking opportunities on the estate.

Digital TV Reception from on site relay mast but no computer signals.

Local Bus runs two days a week from the adjacent Gold Mine to either Lampeter or LLandovery.

Lampeter is a University town and well worth a visit to stock up with provisions at Sainsburys or the Co-op.

We consider the site not to be suitable for children due to lack of play equipment or games area. However

Site wonderful for couples who are looking for peace and quiet.

Wardens suggested we look at video posted on You Tube (Dolaucothi Estate Caravan Site) to see the site in all seasons of the year.

We now plan to return in May to see the bluebells that apparently engulf the site or September to see the Estate in its autumn colours. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SalEd44 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a weekend trip to this site. Had a great time. The site is well laid out with 2 separate areas, one part being quite secluded. It is situated on The Dolaucothi Estate, which includes several good walks. The Dolacothi gold mine is adjacent and as a resident on the site you get free access to the main area but you need to pay to enter the mine.

The wardens are volunteers, extremely helpful and friendly and the place was spotless.

The only downside is you are out in the sticks a bit. There is a good pub (The Brunant Arms), that serves food, about a mile and a quarter away, a little steep in parts, but a pleasent walk along a quiet road. They also except dogs in certain areas of the pub.

In all, a great 'get away from it all site' there is no toilet block, or shop with in walking distance, so will need to be stocked up before you arrive. Lampeter is a few miles away by car, but well worth a visit. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dolaucothi Estate Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dolaucothi Estate Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dolaucothi Estate Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanwrda      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3774 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement