Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Miller Field Motorhome Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Miller Field Motorhome Camping Reviews

CLOSED: Miller Field Motorhome Camping
Miller Field
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Unfortunately the site will be closed permanently as from Sunday 12th January 2014.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BevandJohn 3 reviews from this member

We found this site by chance when passing about four years ago and rang the number on the entrance. Graeme who looks after the site gave us the padlock code for the gate and said if he didn't see us to just leave the 10 per night in the box! That's the sort of guy he is. The site has been a godsend to us over the last few years and I have lost count of the number of times that we have visited. The location is perfect right near the centre of Ambleside. We rang to book a place today (6th January 2014)to be told that the site was being forced to close by The National Park Authority this weekend. This is a massive setback for ourselves and the hundreds of campers who have used this wonderful site over the years. It will also be a huge loss to the town of Ambleside as all those motorhome campers who have paid to drink in the pubs, shop in the stores and eat in the restaurants will now be forced to take their business elsewhere. There is nowhere else to camp in the vicinity of the town centre. I will be writing to the towns MP tomorrow to express my views about the closure and would ask anyone else who has visited and enjoyed this great site to do the same ASAP.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wilson tribe 1 review from this member

What a perfect site, if you want a very cheap camp. We were amazed at the location. You can walk for a minute or so and be bang in the middle of ambleside. There is a massive kids play park a river, a indoor soft play area, loads of bars and restaurants and a cinema on your doorstep. The cinema has a bar and terrace, you can put kids in and sit and have a drink and they will watch them for you. The owner is a really nice guy and will pick up money in a relaxed way with no stress booking, just ring him and turn up. This is the first review I have given to any site because I was that impressed. 100 percent, although the toilets and play park are council run they couldn't be closer and you don't pay for them so 10 per night is unbeatable in this location.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Howardandjanet 1 review from this member

This is an excellent but simple site for motorhomes only within walking distance of Ambleside Town centre and all its facilities - shops, pubs, cinemas (excellent!)- and close to the hills and bus stop for transport. It has a water tap, toilet emptying point and hardstandings, but no electric or toilet block. However it is under threat of closure having lost an Enforcement Appeal brought by Lake District Planning Board (November 2013). Please email your support to site operator!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 514 reviews from this member

Spent a few days on this site while touring The Lakes

Location

A five minute walk from the lovely town of Ambleside. It's definitely worth a visit - great pubs and a great atmosphere. The surrounding countryside is stunning and a good base for the hills and water sports

Facilities

Basic - water point and waste disposal. Ideal if you have your own facilities.

Price

10 per night - cheaper than the car park!

Great site!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Esox67 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from a lovely weekend at this site. 2 mins walk from the town centre. Very basic site with water and waste water outlet only, very dog friendly area with good walks. The warden was very helpful from taking the booking over the phone to making sure we found our pitch ok. Only negative about this visit was so called motorhomers ruining it by having their generators going till 11pm, when it clearly states generators from 10:00 till 8:00pm only. Will visit again.

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Onetile 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights at this site. Very good position within 5 minutes walk of all shops, pubs, eating places in Ambleside with very friendly people. Graham was very helpful and friendly.

Fresh water and elsan point available. Very quiet site. You will need a torch walking back from the village.

Would definitely stay again.

There should be more of these camperstops up and down the country.

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teemyob 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights November. Arrived around 9pm and had emailed and sent a text to Graeme who had promptly replied to both stating 'should be able to accomodate you'. We took one of the last two places on the main hardstanding (Grass field was closed due to flooding and wet weather). Glad we pitched up on the main hardstanding because someone was using a very loud generator until beyond Midnight on the far hard standing. Why do people do this? It clearly states no generators after 8pm or before 10am. Very fair of them to allow their usage and then people abuse it.

Overall: Loved the spot. Quiet once the genny was off. Very convenient for the town and lake walks. Very impressed and pleased with our stay. But it needs to stay at 10

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bobbrooky 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night on the way home, basic facilities, ie no hook ups, but that's ok for me. 10 a night and so close to the centre of Ambleside with all its shops, take aways etc.

As previous comments have said, a true gem, its a pity there are not more of these stopovers in the lakes, and for that matter, all over the UK as there are in Europe, not all of us want swimming pools and clubhouses.

Keep up the good work.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bluejet 4 reviews from this member

This has got to be the most informal, relaxed, & cost effective way to visit the Lake District!

This was our first & last port off call during our two week adventure to Scotland & back.

Before we set off we emailed Graeme who got back to us with the code to the padlock on the gate. He said that if we didn't bump into each other we could just put our 10 per night! into the envelopes provided and pop it through the brass letter box into the honesty box upon leaving.

Fresh water & chemical loo disposal is included in the price.

Not surprisingly we stayed for a total of 5 nights.

Many thanks to Graeme, who works full time and looks after the site when he finishes work!

Also very dog friendly with an area to let them off the lead(please use the bins provided for you know what).

We will be using this great place again.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5793 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019