Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Compton Park Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Callington > Compton Park Campsite > Reviews

Compton Park Campsite
Florence Road
Callington
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL17 8EA
Tel: 01579 383069
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 5 Reviews
                7/10 from 5 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sjgosling 2 reviews from this member

 We took our new caravan here to check all was working ok as this site is only a ten minute drive from the storage place where we keep it and a forty minute drive from where we live.

We were very impressed with the site. It’s fairly small and very well set out in three terraces. The spacious pitches have a hard standing and a small area of grass. We were able to fit our caravan and awning on the hard standing and use the grass for sitting out to enjoy the warm sunshine and amazing views that we are very familiar with, but not from that height!

We particularly liked the washrooms in a unisex wooden hut and the attractive approach to it - a small garden type area with a drying line running along the length of each side.

We didn’t use the restaurant, but it was obviously very popular as the car park was usually busy. Check in for the site is in the restaurant. This was completed very swiftly by a friendly member of staff. We were not disturbed at all by any noise from the restaurant or car park and only noticed some road noise around 5pm on Friday.

We were able to walk from the site to the area around Kit Hill which has lots of paths and the most incredible views across Cornwall and Devon.

It’s at least a forty minute drive to the beaches recommended on the park’s website and considerably longer at weekends in the summer and in school holidays.

We definitely recommend this site, particularly as a stopover and we will be returning again later in the year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hmv4u 53 reviews from this member

 We are currently coming to the end of a pleasant week at Compton and I feel it needs a up to date review, the reviews on here are 5 years out of date and obviously a lot has changed.

The site has a restaurant/bar so first off when you travel along Florence road look for the Engine House as that is sign posted where Compton Park isn't.

The site has 3 tiers with gravel hard standings separated by grass and is quite high up so some nice views. There is some grass area for none electric tents but was mostly caravan/motor homes (one tent).

The toilet block is a 3 year old modern wooden structure with 4 x shower/ toilet/ sink cubicles and a separate toilet cubicle and pot washing station.

There is a waste shed with recycling bins and nearby a single water tap, for some reason the chemical waste is situated in the alley next to the restaurant rather than the toilet block.

The restaurant opens every day for breakfast/ lunch but apart from fri/sat( 8. 30pm) closes about teatime, we had a meal and it was nice, this is where you book in on arrival. There is a house on site where I assume the owners live.

Rate wise it was a very reasonable £17 per night BUT ehu was £4. 50 a night even so overall still a good rate these days.

Callington itself is a about 1. 5 miles away and has a large tesco/B&M and some shops. Possibly because it was out of school holidays there were no children on site and apart from a small playground next to the Engine House there isn't a lot for them.

It is a quiet country site although there are cars (and occasional visiting motorbikes) to the restaurant but its a hundred yards away so you don't really hear them. There are no lights on site so take a torch for loo visits.

Overall we enjoyed our week here and would recommend it-there are a lot of reviews on other sites which is good because I wouldn't have booked on the outdated ones on here 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wander 1 review from this member

 There are lovely views from the campsite across Callington and beyond. The wardens are friendly and helpful and the on-site café seems very popular as it attracted a lot of customers, despite the poor (very wet) weather conditions during our stay.

That said however, if the campsite is to remain open all year, it is badly in need of a drainage system. The pitches were waterlogged during our stay and we had difficulty in pitching so that we could get out of the caravan without stepping into huge puddles. The drive onto the site is very rough and misleading for reception (which is in the café but not indicated), there needs to be a sign directing caravans to the pitching area and/or a layby area where caravans pull in, otherwise it is assumed (as we did) that you go up to the reception/café and then have the problem of manoeuvring round the café car park back to the pitching area.

There is a complete lack of privacy in the showers, you have to dress and undress in the area where there is one sink that is also for use of café customers using the toilets. The showers are push button every 10 - 15 seconds and at times completely stop and dribble out. The windows are obscure but not frosted and therefore anyone on the toilet or in the sink area is visible from the outside washing up area and food storage area behind the farm shop. Site badly in need of upgrading, facilities might have been acceptable 20 years ago but not in 2013. Will not use the site again unless upgraded, which is a shame as it is in a lovely area. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zeebamuf 1 review from this member

 My wife and I have just returned from a week's stay at Compton Park, and we've had a great time!

The site is fairly basic, but has all the facilities you need for a short break. It was surprisingly quiet for August, with only 5 or 6 other campers there which meant we had LOADS of space! The site warden seemed very friendly.

There is a large children's play area on site, and away from the camping field, so noisy children aren't a problem. There is a tea rooms and farm shop on site which sell all sorts of food, drinks and snacks to campers and non-campers.

The toilets/showers are shared with the on site tea rooms which I found a little strange. In the mens, there are 2 showers, 2 wc's and only 1 sink (all of which are spotlessly clean). There are no doors to the shower cubicles, just shower curtains.

There were a couple of instances during our stay where I was using the only sink to shave in or brush my teeth, and a tea room customer came in wanting to wash his hands before his meal to find me in my shorts and flip-flops with no shirt on using the only sink! It made me feel quite uncomfortable and I tried to be in and out as fast as possible!

There is a large Tesco less than a five minute drive from the site and a couple of pubs around the same distance, non that we found within walking distance though.

My main gripe is that there are 2 resident dogs that roam freely around the site.

Other than the dogs, the site is clean and has good facilities and a superb view over Callington. We also found the price very reasonable. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mjb1416 1 review from this member

 Compton Park is a small, quite site. The facilities are shared with the cafe on site, campers are given a key code to access them out of hours. There are two showers and toilets for each sex, but only one sink. These were very clean and cleaned daily.

The site consist of a number of flat terraces, about 50% have electric hookup. There is a small children's play area in front of the cafe.

At the time of our visit the site was not very busy, only about six units stayed on the same four nights. It may get busier at weekends.

Our stay was very enjoyable, with great views to the south and west, but this would also make it very exposed if wind & rain were coming from that direction. Note that the ground is very hard and rock pegs are essential.

Although the site is in a quite location, there is a Tesco superstore less than a mile away in Callington.

A good location for visiting Plymouth & the Tamar valley. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Compton Park Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Compton Park Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Compton Park Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Callington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3989 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement