Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Larrouleta

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Urrugne > Camping Larrouleta Reviews

Camping Larrouleta
210 Route De Socoa
Urrugne
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
64122
Tel: 0033 05 59 47 37 84
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 327
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We intended an overnight stop but its a lovely site in an area with plenty to see and do so we ended up staying a couple of days.

Campsite is an easy couple of miles off the motorway, good roads. Reception is super helpful and friendly, everyone we dealt with spoke good English.

In winter its only the hard standing being used, plenty of choice despite the site being quite busy (40+ units there the nights we stayed). All pitches have ehu, you can pay a bit more for 'comfort pitches' with fresh water and drain on the pitch. There is a good moho service point and plenty of fresh water taps.

Toilets / showers clean and plenty of hot water. In winter its one block and unisex - cubicles are more than big enough to get changes etc so not a problem.

The swimming pool is lovely, as previous review said it is 170cm deep and n shallow end. None the less its covered in winter and heated.

There is a Le Clerc store and several other shops about 10 minutes walk from the site (not the best road for walking but they are working on a cycle path). Its about an hours walk down to the harbour, plenty of lovely cafes, bars and restaurants around the Fort area.

We were really impressed with this site, ideal for a nights stopover or longer as there is plenty to keep you. We will come again and make sure we have more time to explore further.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

I agree with all previous reviewers comment so no point in repeating them just to add some. The site is very near the A63 with good caravan friendly access roads. Ideal for stopovers.

We stayed here for a week and found the man and woman on reception very helpful with good English. We arrived late when reception was closed so we picked a good pitch and booked in next morning. We used one with water and drainage, cost 25. 5 euros night. They take Asci cards. We tuned our TV in and found one or two English speaking programmes. The site is massive so you don't need to book. You can arrive until 9pm. The have lovely baguettes in the mornings. The wifi is still poor, working only at or very near reception. There is a computer room below reception. The covered swimming pool is all one depth about 5' 6' lovely for me but my wife 5' 4' can't swim so she could not go in. There is an on site bar/ cafe open some of the days we were there. We did the La Rhune mountain train and went to St Jean and San Sebastián all very good. Large supermarket close by has cheap diesel.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

As there have been some alterations at this site since my last review in 2012, an update is in order. Some previous reviews mentioned building work - this is now finished. There is a smart new reception block near the entrance, and at the back of this building, on a lower level, a super new laundry room with plenty of machines, at 4 euros per wash. This is a big improvement on the rather tatty outbuilding which previously served as a laundry! Next to the new laundry room there is a new games room, with a patio outside with a table-tennis table.

The toilet block is looking a bit dated but is still very comfortable for winter stopovers, with heating, plenty of hot water and wash basins in cubicles for privacy. The indoor heated indoor swimming pool is also popular.

Major road improvements have been made nearby, with the construction of a large roundabout between the LeClerc supermarket and the campsite.

Even on a stopover it's worth staying an extra day or two to make the most of the lovely surrounding scenery. This time we enjoyed a steep ride on the vintage rack railway up to the summit of La Rhune, the first mountain in the Pyrenees chain (or the last, depending where you start from!) The views are spectacular.

Larrouleta is certainly not the smartest site we've stayed on but having been there four times now we find it homely and welcoming.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Uxb443 3 reviews from this member

Stopped 2 nights here whilst meandering from Northern Spain up through France.

Low season so about 30 or so motor homes and caravans on site.

Large unisex toilet/showers/washbasins block, that looked fairly new. Arrived on Saturday and the facilities were very clean. Unfortunately no cleaning at all was done on the Sunday. I marked the facilities down quite a lot, because it doesn't matter how new they are if they are not clean.

Some building work was finishing off around the block resulting in a lot of grit getting walked in to the building. By Sunday night the whole floor was covered in it.

Very pleasant staff/owners. Spoke fluent English, for those that need it.

Lots of space for children to run about BUT must be supervised because of the big pool/lake.

Traffic noise at night was faintly noticeable (from the nearby motorway) but did not keep us awake.

A small bar/restaurant was open. Not much variety on offer foodwise, probably because it was off season. Food very nicely cooked and presented. House red worth a try!

Definitely stop again if we were down this way.

Leclerc supermarket nearby. Shut all day Sunday when we were there and probably would be shut on public holidays. A bit of respect for staff; I like it.

Pleasant tidy well kept grounds. Attractive.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

Used this on the recommendation of other UKCS reviews enroute back to the UK. Unfortunately for us exit 2 of the motorway was closed so we went on to J3, got off then back on to the southbound carriageway where we were able to exit at J2. Costly for us but we got there eventually.

Although with ACSI, we chose to upgrade to a comfort pitch at €20 per night, but it was not large enough to take our midi-awning, not that we were bothered really. However, it was a nice sunny pitch, but at night I was conscious of the motorway traffic noise.

The staff were very friendly. The young lady in reception, in particular, who spoke good English to compensate for my rusty French.

Just the one unisex toilet/amenities block was open which, compared to some of the excellent facilities we have experienced in more than a month of touring Spain and Portugal, was dated and in need of some repair/refurbishment. Hot water was always available at the showers even if some of the shower roses were broken.

Builders were on site constructing a new building next to reception, so that may improve the standard.

Restaurant and shop were not open since it was low season, but the all important morning baguette was available from reception. Wifi was not very stable and rather costly.

We loved the area and had some lovely days out during our 6-night stay. Hope to return next year as we would like to see more of northern Spain and Portugal.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helenf281 1 review from this member

Stayed at Larrouleta for 2 weeks. We had a good sized pitch with electric hook up. Lots of shade first thing in the morning was appreciated due to temperatures.

Good facilities on site. Lovely pool although a bit small and the children would have liked a diving board or slide. When the weather wasn't great a large covered protected swimmers from the rain. Nice sized play ground. Lovely lake suitable for swimming as well as free use of pedalos.

On site restaurant and shop were basic and a bit pricey. Much better value was the large LeClerc just up the road or a quick trip to the patisserie in Urrugne. Wifi was available at a cost of 1 Euro for 30 mins.

There were several toilet shower blocks. We used 2 of the blocks. Both were cleaned regularly and had lots of hot water. There were queues at peak times for the showers although even then you didn't have to wait long. The main shower/ toilet block was unisex. Disturbingly the shower walls in the new block had little holes drilled into the walls (?peep holes)! A french lady complained about this at the same time and they promised to seal the holes! I would also liked to have seen proper hand washing facilities i. E. Soap.

Generally a quiet peaceful site (from out pitch) although the main 2 fields looked a bit busy at times. Mainly French campers use this site although there are some Spanish, British and Dutch.

Excellent base to explore St Jean de Luz, the surrounding region and Spain.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

The previous review is how I found this campsite. My wife does not like unisex toilets.

The facilities are modern and clean but no soap or hand drying facilities, take your own. The showers are easy to use but the shower heads face against the wall so you have to take it off to rinse yourself.

We stayed two days on our way to Benidorm and two more on our way back. The pitches we had were a good size with 10amp (or 5amp) electric, water and drainage.

The indoor swimming pool was a good temperature, I used it twice. The small bar was open on our return trip, late April but we did not use it. This is a lovely site for longer stays with families and a very good stopover.

Very close to the motorway. We visited close by town St Jean de Luz. It is a very nice coastal town with a lovely beach and lots of shops and cafes. Well worth a visit.

We used wifi but could only get good reception near the reception or in the library room.

The lady on reception was very pleasant and spoke good english. She took us to the pitch we had booked. She and the a man from reception helped us pitch our caravan.

When we returned late April reception was closed but a note on the door said in english. 'If closed find your own pitch and we will see you next morning' So we did.

The large LeClerc supermarket is very close to top up groceries and cheap diesel.

Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

In winter this is a popular overnight halt on the way to Spain. It's a large site incorporating a lake with bathing beach and boating in summer, and most of the pitches are grass, but in winter the pitches in use are the gravel ones nearest the only toilet block open. (In summer there are 3 in use. )

The facilities are unisex - slightly disconcerting for ladies to walk past the urinals - but are well-heated, clean and with lots of hot water. Showers are fully controllable and wash-basins are in private cubicles.

The washing-up and laundry sinks are fully enclosed. There is a laundry room with washing machines and driers at 4 euros, and free irons.

The restaurant is closed in winter but bread is available from reception. There is a big LeClerc supermarket within walking distance.

It's worth staying a day or two to explore the spectacular coastal corniche road, and the pleasant resort of St Jean de Luz, and Biarritz with its surfing beaches (well used even in temperatures just above zero!)

There is a covered swimming pool in use all year round.

An excellent stopover, and it would make a very pleasant base for a summer holiday too.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jofang 13 reviews from this member

Used this site en route to Spain for an overnight stop December 17th 2011, as Portsmouth - Bilbao ferry was cancelled at the last minute due to bad weather forcing us to take the long way through France.

Arrived without booking in the dark at 7:30pm and site was still open, but reception closed. There is a barrier that comes down later in the evening, but not sure of time. Possibly 10pm, but don't take that as accurate.

There are hard standing sites for caravans & motor homes. Some are level, some on gentle slope. Pitches vary in size from 80m2 to well over 100m2. We have a double axle caravan and were able to reverse into our chosen pitch comfortably.

Electricity is available, but only 5amp. We tried to hook up but found no power. Next morning reception told us that power is always on, but with it only being 5A it trips often and reception are not told.

There are plenty of water points, but didn't see any dedicated to pitches.

Toilet block is heated and adequate but not 5 star. Plenty of hot water for shower even at 10pm. Beware of toilet block lights going out at 10pm. Showering in the dark most interesting.

Next morning croissants and bread available at reception. There is a large supermarket 1-2km from site.

Good access from motorway, close to junction 2. Good site for a stop over, but not our choice for a longer stay, but then we've not tried it. Should be nice in summer with adjacent lake.

As mentioned in other reviews there is slight noise from the motorway, but not sufficient in a caravan to be a problem or keep you awake. Daresay this might be a nuisance in a tent.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MGJo 3 reviews from this member

We booked this site through C&CC and were looking forward to it's location close to the coast and St Jean Du Luz.

The site is situated very close to the motorway and you can hear the traffic all day and night which takes some getting use to. The location is handy for the supermarket with a large L'Eclerc within 1/2 a mile of the site.

The restaurant/cafe on site had a very limited menu but was reasonably priced and ideal when arriving late. The same cannot be said for the toilet facilities. The ones near our pitch were always dirty and the lights were always blowing, so I resorted to walking across site to the heated block, which were reasonable.

The swimming pool was excellent and was covered during cold weather.

I would only recommend this site for overnight stop offs on the way to/from Spain.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3896 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019