Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ty Gwyn Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Borth > Ty Gwyn Campsite > Reviews

Ty Gwyn Campsite
Ynys Las
Borth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY24 5LA
Tel: 01970 871894
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/05/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Adam2306 6 reviews from this member

 Would recommend this site

In a beautiful part of Wales with stunning scenery

Near and a stones thrown from the beach.

Facilities are good and good communication with staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Red_leader 9 reviews from this member

 Back to this camp site for the 4th time, over several years.

Still a great place to stay.

It is clean, tidy with basic facilities.

I had a lovely view of the hills inland as the sun set.

Now with toilet paper provided.

I will be back again next year I hope. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dharmadoo 7 reviews from this member

 Love the review that a very clever person called 'Frozer' gave. It was pretty much spot-on.

This is a site for people who have no expectations. A per previous reviewer. When we visited the grass was uncut, wet and messy underfoot, there was no soap or toilet paper in the bathroom (I say bathroom as there was only 1) and the trains did indeed run frequently and at all hours a few feet from our pitch. But as we had spent the previous night on a nearby site with the neighbours from hell next to us (think of the TV show 'Shameless' and you can pretty much visualize our neighbors) we were desperate to just find somewhere to stay for the second night of our weekend away.

The location was good, right off the road into Ynsylas and Borth and a minutes drive to the beach. The views were lovely across the salt flats and towards the hills.

If you are happy with a very basic site then this fits the bill. The other occupants were quiet and respectful and the only noise was from a group of teenagers camping in tents nearby who didn't realize how voices can carry late at night when others are trying to sleep. Sadly there were no rules or regulations of any kind, so no 'quiet time' was enforced. In fact, the site host was nowhere to be seen at all other than when we first arrived. She collected our money, had no change to give us at the time, and never returned with our change either, so we overpaid ! It was a little overpriced in my opinion for a site with practically no facilities and no-one to enforce a quiet time. But again, if you are not fussy then it's a site that is relaxed and less than a minutes drive from the outstandingly beautiful and tranquil Ynyslas beach. I guess you can't have it all.

I would stay again for just one night if I wanted to visit the area as there are very few touring parks in the area and certainly not many so close to the beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Red_leader 9 reviews from this member

 Back to visit again, last here in 2012.

Still the nice clean camp site and facilities I enjoy.

The grass was just being cut as I arrived.

I will definitely visit again.

The shops in Borth are basic but cover most things.

The site was not too busy and stayed quiet, except for the trains.

Do remember your own toilet paper. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frozer 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived with no-one to bother us with rules, or instructions, and enjoyed the challenge of 'find the facilities' we chose our pitch, and all seemed very quiet. The long lush grass gave us the opportunity to change our footwear ( inc the kids) several times a day, especially in the inclement weather, and the very clean but basic facilities, ensured we didn't feel obliged to use inferior brands, but could use our own luxury toilet roll.

The kids loved the train every 30 mins, which gave us welcome breaks in conversation, they ran until midnight, and again from 04. 45 which gave us a great early start.

The beach is very close, take a right through the boat yard, and the showers are refreshingly hot, then cold, then hot, then cold, keeping you on your toes til your two mins for 20p or 10 mins for 1 ran out. The gents shower is more of a constant temperature, but much less invigorating!

We cut short our stay, for the want of an uninterrupted sleep ( without the 02. 00 engineering train, we might have got nearly 5 hours)

This site is ideal if you love trains, long grass, your own loo roll, no rules, and being left to your own devices. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nannycool 1 review from this member

 Arrived no one about. Pitched tent anywhere and checked out site. Basic toilets but very clean. Showers ok and hot water basin separate. Chem toilet point. Very quiet all day and night except for train. Went to house to pay 10. 00 a night for 2 adults. Lots of dogs well behaved but allowed to foul were they want. This was removed by owners except one who let their dog roam unchecked and did not remove it. Will be returning soon as enjoyed my stay 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pamzee 18 reviews from this member

 I second the other reviews, pleasant, basic, inexpensive site. The facilities are basic but cleaned daily. Take plenty loo roll. Lack of signposting - where to book in, what coins the shower took. Can get boggy in parts. Don't camp in the dip!

Trains not a problem, 2 hourly service so infrequent. Beautiful location in lovely part of Wales. Peaceful most of the time but got very busy with families over bank holiday.

Will definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Red_leader 9 reviews from this member

 A great simple basic site. Clean toilets and showers. Brilliant beaches close at hand. Basic shops are a short drive away in Borth (3 miles).

Borth is a small place but Aberystwyth with lots more facilities is only 10 miles away.

The site is between the road and railway line but it did not spoil my stay in any way.

I will definitely visit this site again.

I cycled fro here to Nant yr Arian mountain bike trails. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hanmil81 1 review from this member

 We stopped here for a weekend in the summer holidays. This is back to basics camping which we love! Toilets, 1 shower per gender (20p for 2 mins), both in outbuildings. Clean and functional (take your own toilet roll). An outside washing up point with lukewarm water (boil a kettle!) and several taps around the site.

The site is set on several levels, we opted for a lower level, right below (and I mean RIGHT BELOW!) the train track! The kids thought it was brilliant and waved like mad at the passing trains. Not bothered by them at all (until one went past at about 4. 30am on the Saturday!).

For a summer holiday weekend it was quiet, we shared our field with only 2 touring caravans and 2 small tents. Lots of room for ball games!

The owners seemed laid back. Pitch where you want. Beautiful views of the mountains and countryside.

5 mins walk to beautiful beach, 10 mins walk to Ynyslas dunes, 10 mins walk to small shop on 'swn-y-mor' caravan site for ice creams, 5 min drive to Borth, 15 min drive to Aber.

We had a great time! 12 per night for a large family tent, 2 adults, 2 children and a baby. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FamilyY 3 reviews from this member

 If you love 'roughing it', this campsite is for you - but if you're a camping novice, you may want to try somewhere with better facilities.

The toilets are very basic (don't come here if you dislike sharing facilities with spiders etc), and we couldn't find the showers at all, but then it took us over 24 hours to find someone to pay! Organisation doesn't seem to be the strong point here.

I confess the trains did bother me - woke me regularly through the night, but no-one else in the family was bothered by them.

Our first night there was a huge storm resulting in a river of rainwater running through the camp and flooding a couple of tents pitched on the lower level.

The best thing about the campsite in my opinion is its proximity to Ynylas nature reserve which is an absolutely beautiful must-visit! 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ty Gwyn Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ty Gwyn Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ty Gwyn Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Borth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3053 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement