Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wellihole Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Oldham > Wellihole Farm Caravan Site Reviews

Wellihole Farm Caravan Site
Well I Hole Road
Greenfield
Saddleworth
Oldham
Lancashire   (Browse area)
OL3 7HY
Tel: 07719628439
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 39
Open: 1st March Until 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 23 Reviews
                6/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadstanley 7 reviews from this member

At the moment the facilities are very basic. The owners seem to have big plans for this place according to the notices, with redevelopment of the old farm buildings, landscaping, and provisions for the local community. Until this happens, I would encourage customers to manage their expectations. This site was perfectly located at the end of my third day walking the Pennine Bridleway National Trail (south to north). Difficult to rate at the moment but in time this place could be an excellent site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EmmaJohnson 1 review from this member

I absolutely love this place. I only live very local a drive past it regularly but being there is like being on holiday. Beautiful pitch overlooking pots and pans monument and the hills, nice clean facilities, great food from Mel's van and Jack who was not only very helpful but had us laughing all day.

Can't wait to go back next weekend!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JulieManifold 1 review from this member

Had a fantastic time and met some great people. Jack the campsite manager was brilliant and had loads of laughs with him and Gordon. Toilets and showers were clean and well maintained. Lovely views and totally relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely go again. Can't wait for next visit. Thanks for a great time.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JohnFaul 6 reviews from this member

I can't understand how this site gets good reviews!

The toilet facilities; locked overnight causing queues first thing in the morning. We questioned this practice to be told 'you're lucky we unlock them at all'.

The showers; one attached to the farmhouse is padlocked, the two wet rooms are the only toilets available in the morning, so you might be in a lengthy queue again.

There are better places to go.

This might be ok for camper van and caravans with their own loos, but if you use at tent avoid this place.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johniw27 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at the Well I Hole Caravan park between the 7th and 10th June 2017, in order, mainly, to attend the Saddleworth Whit Friday Brass Band Contest on the 9th June. This is our third year of attendance at this fabulous free event (look at the websites), staying on this site.

The site was taken over by the current owners at the end of last year and they are already making improvements to facilities and the site in general with improvements to toilet/wash room availability being the most obvious. As caravanners in their own right, I feel sure that they are committed to improving the site as soon as they can.

On arrival at the site, the ever helpful Jack (site Manager) allocated a pitch in the centre of the site looking at the rolling hills opposite, rather than the road behind. The surrounding scenery is quite amazing with views over Moors and woodlands. There is a local pub (the Royal George) within a 100 yards and Greenfield village, with its Tesco supermarket, Shops, Pubs and Restaurants, about a 15 minute walk via the Canal Bank or through woods accessed via a Public Footpath from the site.

The site is Dog friendly and Henry, our Irish Setter, certainly enjoys the many local walks available, where he meets lots of friendly canine friends or equally friendly owners.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Well I Hole and will return next year if not before.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Princess potter 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site fri/sat 26/27th May. It was extremely busy with it being bank holiday and when we arrived campers/caravans/motorhomes were arriving by the minute and it seem mayhem but the manager and warden (Jack & Phil) seemed to somehow have it under control. We were met by Jack the manager (a loveable character) we told him we hadn't booked but it wasn't a problem. We wanted electricity but because they were so full we struggled to reach one of the few remaining hook-ups. The warden, Phil, was brilliant, he connected us up with some extra leads and helped us sort out our leisure battery. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They were constantly helping put up awnings and tents and helping new arrivals. It was by far the most basic site we have ever stayed on and could be improved/up-dated (more toilets/showers)but they were clean and improvements were being made in the right direction. Maybe very basic but site in a beautiful place with stunning views and Jack and Phil were hysterical! It was extremely hot and we couldn't believe our eyes when an ice cream van drove onto the site and parked amongst the tents. A cold ice cream was a nice treat. Never happened before, great idea. Although it is a very very open site with a public footpath running through it, it felt a safe site but very basic! Tescos short walk up canal and great pub 2 mins walk away. Nice food and not too expensive. We did however see pizzas being delivered to some campers, another great idea! Maybe a hut or room with delivery menus and local information would be good but Jack and Phil seem to have good knowledge of the area and were always happy to help. Would we stay again? Yes. Jack and Phil, keep up the good work and see you soon. John & Debbie 5*****

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bertie300 20 reviews from this member

A field. Very below average wash rooms. Average views and a site manager whom needs to learn how to communicate with customers in a pleasant manner, and less often.

The field: A not very well cared for grassed area, limited electric points.

Wash rooms: Two plastic rooms each with a toilet, sink and shower, didn't notice any cleaning going on for our whole stay.

The views: Hill side views to one side of the site, the other side however is of broken down buildings, overflowing bins and very old caravans.

Site manager: Very strange dress sense but each to their own, his personal interaction leaves a lot to be desired. A very blunt and almost aggressive manner.

Absolutely not worth the 17 regrettably paid.

Plus point: Close to some great walks and a couple of decent pubs where good beer and food is served.

Would we go again. No, my advice is go somewhere nice and spend your money there.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smiffyz 8 reviews from this member

We booked and stayed here for a weekend after reading the reviews so we knew not to expect too much, but we'd just taken delivery of our new van and wanted to stay local to try it out and see what extras we need to buy. The site is a little tatty and we never even looked for the toilets/showers as we wanted to try our own in the van so we cant comment on theirs. The site is in a nice position with some lovely walks nearby of varying lengths. There's a really good pub 5 mins walk away with good food and atmosphere. The site steward Jack was really helpful and pleasant and was always on hand for advice. The site has it's own Farm Produce van that visits for fresh local groceries. It's not a first class site with great amenities but it's nice and peaceful and yes, for a weekend we'd go again.

Dovestones Reservoir is lovely and just a 20 min walk away and there's different routes for a good walk around it.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xxxmariexxx 7 reviews from this member

Caravan and Tenting areas, Toilets & showers were across the road at the farm.

We Stayed on the CL site opposite the farm. 18 a night. We were self sufficient so we didn't need to use them. Clean and tidy area. Its quiet even though there is a main road by the CL/farm. Plenty of walking areas. Dogs are very welcome here as we saw loads walking pass our caravan on a lead with their owners.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Das545701 11 reviews from this member

Oh dear Oh dear what a tip. Nothing was clean and the grass was not neat, hedges over grown, farm yard filthy. So called showers and toilet leave a lot to be desired. 18 per night with electric way over the top. Booked 2 nights only stayed one that's how bad it was.

Needs to be bought up to scratch and that would take some doing. The area is lovely and worth a visit but not on this site I am sorry to say.

Would I go back NO would I recommend NO.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3570 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019