Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Old Vineyard Safari Cabin

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Woodbridge > The Old Vineyard Safari Cabin > Reviews

The Old Vineyard Safari Cabin
Snipe Farm Road
Woodbridge
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 6SL
Tel: 01473 737742
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 1 Safari Cabin
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billpoll 3 reviews from this member

 If you want a nice friendly site? In a quiet location? You want to Cook on or sit round an open fire? Look no further, my wife and I have just had a long weekend hear we arrived on the Saturday a blackboard with our pitch No and logs by the fire pit with kindling waiting Nice.

On Sunday morning Dan the owner came round very nice person chatted openly this is his first season at this site and for a first year he can only get better as he chats to campers and asked their opinion facilities are basic but very clean.

I recommend this site whole heartedly and will go there again without doubt 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PrimesCampers 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful, laid back atmosphere at this simple, unspoilt site.

Although we didn't have children with us it was lovely to see other people's kids all playing together in the middle of the field.

We used our caravan facilities but checked out the loo and found it to be clean and fresh smelling with a wind up torch for night time visits! Dan was a friendly and welcoming host who was always on hand whilst at the same time happy to leave his guests in peace.

We loved the free and easy attitude and whilst we were there everybody seemed to be having a great time, especially in the evenings when pretty much everybody sits outside around their campfires.

We thought the wood was good value for money (one load lasted us for 3 nights) and sitting outside, warm and toasty, looking up at the stars, which were amazing, was a truly magical experience.

We would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiggerjo 1 review from this member

 We (2 adults 4 children) have just returned from this idyllic spot in the middle of the working farmland of rural Suffolk after 10 days camping.

As advertised there is not much here except the green green grass, a cold water tap, the sweetest cleanest little loo in a shed you will ever find and lots of freedom and wildlife, oh yes and the most important thing.

Firepits for the genuine experience of a proper campfire. Most people stay here for just 3-4 nights so we had the field virtually to ourselves in the middle of the week.

Go here for the space, the owls (little owls, tawny owls and barn owls all seen/heard) other wildlife and freedom from the hustle and bustle.

But be aware you are in the middle of working farms, you will hear and occasionally smell the pigs, the farm machinery will be operating during the night if it's harvest time and milking waits for no man.

I loved it 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mambogoddess 11 reviews from this member

 Absolutely perfect!

We wanted somewhere small and quiet where we could have a proper camp fire and escape and that is exactly what we got from the Old Vineyard.

The pitch sizes are extremely generous, sheltered and level with a fire pit provided which meant we could sit outside and stay warm whilst toasting marshmallows.

There is an extremely clean toilet provided and an area to have a quick wash/clean pans in. There are no shower facilities on the site which wasn't a problem for us because we only stayed for one night.

We will definitely stay here again and have recommended it to friends. We had a proper camping experience. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ratter Camper 12 reviews from this member

 We have been camping regularly for 5 years now, and this is the 1st campsite we have decided that we definitely will go back to!

It is a small site but there is plenty of room for each party to enjoy some privacy.

There is only 1 flushing toilet, but it is always clean and with plenty of loo roll.

The firewood provided by Dan is 15GBP, it included kindling. It was very good quality wood, they were easy to light and last for a very long time. We were there for 2 nights and got some logs to bring home!

We walked to the pub - it was about 45 mins walk.

It is a basic campsite; however, this is what camping all about - back to basic! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Panpooth 1 review from this member

 Just back from a stay here. Dan and campsite (which is basically just a friendly field, in the middle nowhere, with added firepits) both very lovely. And can verify, stars are truly great. Highly recommended.

Nice villages surrounding too. Would suggest a little tour around, and a visit to the local alpaca farm.

It's easy to find with sat nav. Would be Ok even with just a map book.

The toilet is in the shed, it's nice and clean. There's even a cool outdoor sink for washing things. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ghampshire 3 reviews from this member

 I was disappointed in this site.

We were asked to pre-pay a 10 deposit for one nights camping, or we would probably have camped somewhere al-fresco.

For your 12 per night there is only one toilet in a small shed with no washbasin.

Outside is an old sink with a cold water tap.

Watch out you do not break a leg in the numerous rabbit holes on route to it!

The site is remote with no pubs within a walkable distance. They encourage campfires. You cannot however use your own wood, only but a bundle from them at 15!

At the back of the site is a noisy (Agricultural?) garage. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jak 31 1 review from this member

 This is a really pleasant little site. It is very basic, it has a wooden hut with a toilet, then outside is a sink and various other taps around the field. Although it is basic, which suits us fine, there are some nice little extra touch's, such as a basket of loo roll in the loo, solar powered lites around the field and by the loo, and there is a little honesty stall selling wood, kindling, eggs etc. The owner, Dan, is really welcoming and friendly, and is also good for advice for exploring the area.

We drove about 20 mins to Aldeburgh on the coast one day, then the next day followed the footpaths through the fields down to the pub at Grundisburgh. There is also an old American Airfield behind the campsite which only opens fully one Sunday a month, but is interesting to wander around any time.

The atmosphere on the site was really nice and chilled out, there was a nice mix of people including quite a few kids, but were never too noisy! I get the feeling it does attract a pleasant, laid back kind of crowd, it may have been co-incidence, but I get the feeling it's more down to the way that Dan markets and presents the site. The only down side I would say is that as the field is surrounded by trees, there isn't a view as such, but trees are of course nice, and I did a lot of staring at the sky! A great place to sit quietly around the campfire while the sun goes down! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Devilbunny 1 review from this member

 This is a fabulously 'unspoilt' campsite, just the way we love to camp. The facilities are limited to one toilet (clean and cosy) and one sink for washing, but don't let that put you off as this is how camping should be! We went to the swimming pool at Woodbridge (10 min drive) for a shower, sauna and swim and in all honesty didn't miss the usual pound-a-minute lukewarm dribble shower you often get at campsites.

The camping field was spacious and didn't feel crowded at all, and being able to bring the dogs and to have a campfire to cook on and warm ourselves by was lovely. Firewood (15 for a generous heap) was ready waiting for us when we arrived, and the campsite owner, Dan, was very welcoming and came over for a friendly chat.

The surroundings were peaceful and quiet, with the only noise at night coming from the horses in the next door field and the rain on the tent - bliss! I can also recommend the multi-coloured free range eggs, which were delicious.

The children at the site all played together during the day, and there was ample room for their games of rounders.

This is a rare campsite without a lot of the negatives that I've found with other sites - no list of rules when you turn up, not overcrowded, no rigidly camping in a tiny assigned space and no hovering to ensure you leave on time on your day of departure. Having been to campsites where the owners ride around the field on quad-bikes ensuring you are obeying all their rules, I can definitely say that this was a breath of fresh air! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: X nelly x 1 review from this member

 This little site has a lovely and quiet atmosphere. With plenty of space for the kids to run around and play.

There are little touches that make it very special and the campfires are amazing in the evening especially when you have plenty of marshmallows to eat. We had a wonderful time and the children loved telling stories around the fire.

We Will definitely go again and would recommend this site to anyone looking for a quiet and family friendly site which embraces the good old outdoors and camping as it should be. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Old Vineyard Safari Cabin child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Vineyard Safari Cabin?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Old Vineyard Safari Cabin dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2528 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement