Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De Cognac

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Cognac > Camping De Cognac > Reviews

Camping De Cognac
Boulevard De Chatenay
Route Desainte Severe
Cognac
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
16100
Tel: 0033 05 45 32 13 32
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/05/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tonyrad 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site 2. 5 km walk to centre.

We had a good sized pitch with a river view.

Had Moule & frits the first night in the cafe which were very good. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site alongside the Charente amongst the trees, on the outskirts of Cognac. The old town of Cognac can be accessed from the site along a quiet route (although you need to go back over the bridge along the main road first to access the route). We were told it was 2. 5km into town, we cycled in, and it looks like there will be a proper cycle route alongside the river soon on the last part into town, but they were working on this when we were there. During July & August there is a snack bar at the site, but in June it was closed, with the nearest restaurant along the route into town. We were able to pick up a few supplies at the end of our day in Cognac at a ‘Casino’, but it was quite expensive, similar to small shops in the UK. There is a nice covered market in Cognac and this closes at 1pm.

The site itself looks like it was once a municipal site, with all the facilities in a central building. It is a little dated, but everything was very clean whilst we were there. There is also a camper service area, where you can drive over and drain grey waste, empty the loo, and fill up with fresh water.

They speak good English at the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barb n Barney 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights in our motor home. The site is just perfect, right on the river bank, so lovely and peaceful. The walk into town was an easy one and great for our dog, so pretty alongside the river all the way. The site was very quiet whilst we were there but the ablutions block, although typically French in the sense that the facilities are shared was very clean and well maintained.

The site made our visit to Cognac a very pleasant and easy one. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nectaryweasel 5 reviews from this member

 It is hard to believe or describe how much this campsite has gone downhill I n the space of two years. Electricity is no longer included, the snack bar is closed in the evening, there is no longer a reduction for long staying clients and high season has been extended. Reserving a pitch seems to mean nothing and even whilst I have been here several clients who have reserved specific pitches in advance have had to accept different pitches on arrival.

It is tragic to see a site that has such great natural beauty (and that

I have loved for so long) fall in this way.

It is with a heavy heart that have to say that I no longer feel able to recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nectaryweasel 5 reviews from this member

 There have been a number of changes since my last review - electricity is no longer included in the price and the period of 'high season' has been extended.

At the end of last season the manager left along with all the staff who had been there for some time and I am told that a completely new team is now working there. I will update my review after my visit this year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nectaryweasel 5 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site. I have stayed here regularly for long periods (six weeks and above) for several years (pitch 50C).

The office staff are very friendly and efficient and all speak at least a little English, and some speak quite fluently. A watchman patrols the site at night.

The pitches are of varying sizes, some are very large indeed (room for a large tent with a car and gazebo beside it. ) Some pitches are well shaded, some less so for those who want to enjoy the sun. It is best to say when you arrive what your preferences are rather than be allocated a pitch and then try to change. Just a couple of the pitches do not cope well in the very heavy storms which occasionally cross the region and I have seen some waterlogged. The water disappears very rapidly. I'm talking about literally one or two pitches, not three.

There is a small swimming pool, a small games area for the children (including ping-pong and hand ball) and in the bar/snack a television (not intrusive). The bar is usually open in the mornings for breakfast and in the evenings when food is available. Bread can be ordered to be collected in the morning.

There are two sanitary blocks - one has all standard toilets, the other has three standard and two “turca” toilets. Both have hot showers and wash-basins - hot water is included. The blocks are cleaned several times a day and are usually in good order. A notice board gives information about upcoming activities which last year included free scuba diving sessions and several free concerts in the bar. The concerts, usually at weekends, go on late and those who are arriving for just one night may like to choose a pitch far from the bar area.

Electricity is included in the fee and there are plenty of power points on the site. Most are of the new international type of plug but I believe a couple still use the standard French plug. The fee also includes free wi-fi but the range is limited and is usually only available close to the bar area.

The site is on the banks of the River Charente which is much used for fishing but a permit is essential Last year these were available from the site office. The river is patrolled and I saw more than one person in trouble last year for fishing without one.

There are two main routes into town – the longer one is along the road but shorter is the path along the banks of the river which, on a fine day, is idyllic. I would say it’s about a 20-25 minute walk.

There are supermarkets on the outskirts of town, the two nearest within about five or ten minutes drive of the site. There is a fine shopping area in town with a vibrant market hall and an open air market on market days. There are, of course, the cognac factories – the “big names” are there in town but there are also a large number of small producers dotted all over the region which are well worth visiting. Occasionally the site has visits from producers, both of cognac and of local produce (and last year there was even a fish and chip van which came once a week.

All in all, an excellent site.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chapman -Jones 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for just the one night on our way back home and because we wanted to do a distillery tour.

The site is on the outskirts of the town, probably a fair walk in but we had spent the day in town and booked in around 6pm so that didn't bother us. The pitches are spacious and grassy, the pool basic but clean and refreshing on a very hot day. The toilet and shower block was communal and very clean.

We did the Hennessey cognac tour which was excellent - informative and about right at 1. 5 hours. The old town is very quaint with cobbled streets and very old houses - the rest of the town seemed a bit sleepy and tired.

We would happily use this site again for a stopover but we're unlikely to visit Cognac again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aitch69 24 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night en-route from the Med to the Vendee. The site is very well situated on the side of a beautiful river and is signposted from the main road that runs through Cognac. The river looks great for fishing but probably needs a permit. The site is very neat,tidy and well kept. Pitches are grassy and spacious and separated by shrubs. The two ladies in reception were friendly, helpful with local information on shops etc and both spoke enough English to get by. The toilets are clean with sit down WCs. Plenty of hot water and free showers.

There are supermarkets and a s/market filling station nearby and - as Cognac is a decent sized town,there should be a variety of other shops in town which - like most French towns has a great cafe culture. We only stayed overnight so didn't explore much. Mind you we did drive round town a couple of times when leaving but that was because I took notice of the SatNav instead of the road signs. I;m sure you know what I mean.

We used our ACSI card and for 1 night paid 17.00 euros for 2 adults,car and caravan. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping De Cognac child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De Cognac?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping De Cognac dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cognac      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7353 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement