Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Old Barn Touring

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Sandown > Old Barn Touring Reviews

Old Barn Touring
Cheverton Farm
Newport Rd
Sandown
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO36 9PJ
Tel: 01983 866414
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Joy Whale 1 review from this member

 We have been camping here for over twenty years. It changed hands this year and the new owners are wonderful. They are friendly. Accommodating and very kind and understanding. Nothing is too much trouble. The bonus is they live on site and can be contacted to respond immediately to any issues

The site is peaceful. Well laid out. Plenty of space per pitch amid Beautiful surroundings in beautiful countryside A couple of minutes drive to Morrison’s or less than a 10 min walk

The Covid guidelines have been reinforced and applied brilliantly

We cannot recommend this site more highly Owners Terry, Emma and Gary go the extra mile to make sure you are happy and safe and have all you need 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: VBalk 1 review from this member

 Just had a great stay on the IOW. Family of four with two teenage sons. It was our first time at The Old Barn Touring campsite and we found the new owners to be friendly and helpful. We booked the ferry through them and got a discounted fare and they helped us re-arrange our return sailing.

It's a small, quiet site which suited us perfectly. We stayed on an electric grass pitch, the site is divided up by hedges and trees which give the pitches a cosy feel. Little traffic on the site itself, could hear birds singing and family of ducks waddled past our tent each day.

The shower block could do with refurbishing but it was kept very clean, an abundance of hot water and never had to wait for a shower. There is a 20p slot for the shower - it was great, lots of instant hot water for plenty of time (didn't have to keep pressing a button for water like many other systems) & it ensured people were in & out in a reasonable time. There was a well managed system within the bathroom block to ensure social-distancing during Covid-19 - it was simple and worked well.

Renting a fridge for our stay was a wonderful service.

The site is in a great location on IOW, close to shops (can choose between supermarkets or farm shops with local produce), beach & lots of family friendly attractions.

Hope to visit IOW another year and we would return to this campsite. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Green camper 1 review from this member

 Can't believe this site is 4 star, very tired toilet/shower block with different coloured sinks and toilets, however the showers were hot and clean.

Loved the way the site is set out with areas surrounded by bushes.

Easy access to anywhere you want to visit, Morrison's just along the road for supplies.

Friendly staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lion123 6 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a nice few days on the iow, on arriving at the old barn we were met by the warden and his wife, they were very helpful and friendly and showed us to our pitch,

The site itself is in good location to travel to all parts of the island, just down the road there is a morrisons super market and also a nice pub,

We found the site a little bit tired and yet the facilities were nice and clean, they were having a little trouble with a number of mole hills sprouting up on our pitch, kept the warden on the go trying to cure them,

There is a little road noise from main road and also light planes flying directly overhead as the site cant be far off from the end of runway,

Would I go there again? don't think so, but it could suit other people. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aidmason1091 1 review from this member

 Upon arrival first thoughts were that the site was spacious with fairly large pitches and easy to find. Grassed areas were well maintained and the ground free from debris to pitch the tents.

We were placed on the bottom field on our own giving us plenty of room considering that we have a toddler and 2 large dogs with us. The facilities leave a lot to be desired they are positioned in an old out building and could have been cleaner, cobwebs and spiders everywhere however that is to be expected from camping.

The laundry facilities were sub-par. The washing machine did not actually clean the stains it just made the clothes wet. Couple this with the fact that the tumble dryer doesn't dry the clothes and we were onto a losing streak. Showers had to be paid for 20p a time and the ladies only had one working shower.

I personally believe that these should be included in the price of the package. Upon our departure date we began to pack up the tents after being told that we had to be gone by 1100 it also states this on their website. Newcomers began to arrive onto our pitch area after being told to come down by reception. This was at 0930 bare in mind that they should not have been allowed onto the pitches to set up until 1200.

At first this was just 3 cars then more turned up until there was a grand total of approximately 10 cars with more arriving and we were surrounded by about 30 people staring at us and about 12 dogs running free trying to get their tents pitched on our area whilst we were trying to take ours down.

We were told to keep our dogs on a lead or a line and which we did making sure we followed the rules of the site. However the people that arrived did not do this allowing their's to run free and unrinate on our belongings.

I know this is an issue with the owners but I can't help but think that this issue could have easily been avoided by the wardens better managing the people leaving and the newcomers arriving.

When the problem was raised to staff they reimbursed us £30 for the price of the holdall although this was a pleasant gesture I do not feel that it makes up for the fact that they allowed us to rushed into packing and leaving the site before our time thereby giving us no time pack our cars properly.

A lovely holiday falling short at the finish. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mooey Moo 1 review from this member

 Very spacious pitches. We have been to this site 3 times we have always had a lovely time. But, it has been just before the schools have broken up so it was very peaceful.

The site is spotless and well kept. It's just the showers and laundry need to be updated. Our ferry has always been booked for us. We had to cancel one year as I was ill, when I called they were very understanding.

Then the next year our car broke down and we missed nearly a week, and again they were very kind and refunded us some money.

Last year I forgot something from home so we had it posted to the site and our little parcel was in our awning when we got back from the beach. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nosha35 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights, tent with electric hookup, they even booked our ferry for us at a discounted price, very lovely site, after booking in we were shown to our pitch, very friendly and helpful.

Great, clean facilities, we loved everything about this site, we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maeblip 5 reviews from this member

 We live on the island and for years said lets go to the Old Barn, but you know how it is, you find excuses etc.

Well finally we went and what a nice campsite it is, we went as a party of 4 in 2 motor homes, checking in was easy, we had booked by phone. The site is a lot larger than it appears from the roadside.

There are adequate water/rubbish points around, there is the Old Barn itself with 2 pool tables 1 tennis/table, loads of paperbacks a TV seating area and a giant draught set, counters were 200mm dia floor set.

We didn't actually use any of the above, but none seemed to unusable.

Yes there is a bit of road noise, nothing too bad though and the small planes from the local airport were an easy way to while away the time, daylight only so no noise overnight.

For those with motor homes which you want to leave on site. 2 mins up the road is a covered bus shelter, . 15 mins walk down the hill Morrisons. 20 mins back of course.

There is a 20p charge for the shower(5mins)? Again unused by us.

The bonus for us was an I. Wight discount as we were island residents.

Would we go again, YES. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smwright69 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights whilst discovering the Isle of Wight. Easy to find and tour from because just off main road. The road was generally busy, which made it difficult to leave the site at times and the noise was notable on site. Didn't bother us as we live near a road but for those who demand silence not the site for you.

The wardens on the site were excellent and the facilities good. I know 20p for a shower upsets some people but it keeps the 60 minute shower hoggers at bay.

The pitch was gently sloping and though in a 'gully' the sun seemed to move across the pitch through out the day which was nice.

Acid test would I stay again? Yes 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsBing 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for one week from 17th August. I spent some time on this website trying to find the best one, with good reviews etc - and what a gem. The wardens were lovely, from the start of the booking to the end of our stay. They were honest about the pitches available as the only one available on the Saturday was by the road, but offered us a better pitch if we arrived on the Sunday. They were always on hand if you had any queries - and were alwayshappy to help.

The site is very well maintained and the showers were always spotless. I was concerned that only two showers on a full site would be an issue - but I had to wait only once during our stay. I think this is actually helped because you have to pay 20p which stops people hogging!

The play area in the wonderfully restored barn was a welcome amenity as it worked well for two 12 year olds that have outgrown the smaller playground attraction.

Do be warned that there isn't a shop on site but Morrisons is only a 3 minute drive away, so pick up your basics before you get there. The Fighting Cocks just down the road served very good and reasonably priced home cooked food.

In all - a great place to stay. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Old Barn Touring child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Old Barn Touring?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Old Barn Touring dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3400 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement