Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Old Barn Touring

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Sandown > Old Barn Touring Reviews

Old Barn Touring
Cheverton Farm
Newport Rd
Sandown
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO36 9PJ
Tel: 01983 866414
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 18th April To September 30th

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Green camper 1 review from this member

Can't believe this site is 4 star, very tired toilet/shower block with different coloured sinks and toilets, however the showers were hot and clean.

Loved the way the site is set out with areas surrounded by bushes.

Easy access to anywhere you want to visit, Morrison's just along the road for supplies.

Friendly staff.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lion123 6 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from a nice few days on the iow, on arriving at the old barn we were met by the warden and his wife, they were very helpful and friendly and showed us to our pitch,

The site itself is in good location to travel to all parts of the island, just down the road there is a morrisons super market and also a nice pub,

We found the site a little bit tired and yet the facilities were nice and clean, they were having a little trouble with a number of mole hills sprouting up on our pitch, kept the warden on the go trying to cure them,

There is a little road noise from main road and also light planes flying directly overhead as the site cant be far off from the end of runway,

Would I go there again? don't think so, but it could suit other people.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aidmason1091 1 review from this member

Upon arrival first thoughts were that the site was spacious with fairly large pitches and easy to find. Grassed areas were well maintained and the ground free from debris to pitch the tents.

We were placed on the bottom field on our own giving us plenty of room considering that we have a toddler and 2 large dogs with us. The facilities leave a lot to be desired they are positioned in an old out building and could have been cleaner, cobwebs and spiders everywhere however that is to be expected from camping.

The laundry facilities were sub-par. The washing machine did not actually clean the stains it just made the clothes wet. Couple this with the fact that the tumble dryer doesn't dry the clothes and we were onto a losing streak. Showers had to be paid for 20p a time and the ladies only had one working shower.

I personally believe that these should be included in the price of the package. Upon our departure date we began to pack up the tents after being told that we had to be gone by 1100 it also states this on their website. Newcomers began to arrive onto our pitch area after being told to come down by reception. This was at 0930 bare in mind that they should not have been allowed onto the pitches to set up until 1200.

At first this was just 3 cars then more turned up until there was a grand total of approximately 10 cars with more arriving and we were surrounded by about 30 people staring at us and about 12 dogs running free trying to get their tents pitched on our area whilst we were trying to take ours down.

We were told to keep our dogs on a lead or a line and which we did making sure we followed the rules of the site. However the people that arrived did not do this allowing their's to run free and unrinate on our belongings.

I know this is an issue with the owners but I can't help but think that this issue could have easily been avoided by the wardens better managing the people leaving and the newcomers arriving.

When the problem was raised to staff they reimbursed us 30 for the price of the holdall although this was a pleasant gesture I do not feel that it makes up for the fact that they allowed us to rushed into packing and leaving the site before our time thereby giving us no time pack our cars properly.

A lovely holiday falling short at the finish.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mooey Moo 1 review from this member

Very spacious pitches. We have been to this site 3 times we have always had a lovely time. But, it has been just before the schools have broken up so it was very peaceful.

The site is spotless and well kept. It's just the showers and laundry need to be updated. Our ferry has always been booked for us. We had to cancel one year as I was ill, when I called they were very understanding.

Then the next year our car broke down and we missed nearly a week, and again they were very kind and refunded us some money.

Last year I forgot something from home so we had it posted to the site and our little parcel was in our awning when we got back from the beach.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nosha35 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights, tent with electric hookup, they even booked our ferry for us at a discounted price, very lovely site, after booking in we were shown to our pitch, very friendly and helpful.

Great, clean facilities, we loved everything about this site, we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maeblip 5 reviews from this member

We live on the island and for years said lets go to the Old Barn, but you know how it is, you find excuses etc.

Well finally we went and what a nice campsite it is, we went as a party of 4 in 2 motor homes, checking in was easy, we had booked by phone. The site is a lot larger than it appears from the roadside.

There are adequate water/rubbish points around, there is the Old Barn itself with 2 pool tables 1 tennis/table, loads of paperbacks a TV seating area and a giant draught set, counters were 200mm dia floor set.

We didn't actually use any of the above, but none seemed to unusable.

Yes there is a bit of road noise, nothing too bad though and the small planes from the local airport were an easy way to while away the time, daylight only so no noise overnight.

For those with motor homes which you want to leave on site. 2 mins up the road is a covered bus shelter, . 15 mins walk down the hill Morrisons. 20 mins back of course.

There is a 20p charge for the shower(5mins)? Again unused by us.

The bonus for us was an I. Wight discount as we were island residents.

Would we go again, YES.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smwright69 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights whilst discovering the Isle of Wight. Easy to find and tour from because just off main road. The road was generally busy, which made it difficult to leave the site at times and the noise was notable on site. Didn't bother us as we live near a road but for those who demand silence not the site for you.

The wardens on the site were excellent and the facilities good. I know 20p for a shower upsets some people but it keeps the 60 minute shower hoggers at bay.

The pitch was gently sloping and though in a 'gully' the sun seemed to move across the pitch through out the day which was nice.

Acid test would I stay again? Yes

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsBing 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for one week from 17th August. I spent some time on this website trying to find the best one, with good reviews etc - and what a gem. The wardens were lovely, from the start of the booking to the end of our stay. They were honest about the pitches available as the only one available on the Saturday was by the road, but offered us a better pitch if we arrived on the Sunday. They were always on hand if you had any queries - and were alwayshappy to help.

The site is very well maintained and the showers were always spotless. I was concerned that only two showers on a full site would be an issue - but I had to wait only once during our stay. I think this is actually helped because you have to pay 20p which stops people hogging!

The play area in the wonderfully restored barn was a welcome amenity as it worked well for two 12 year olds that have outgrown the smaller playground attraction.

Do be warned that there isn't a shop on site but Morrisons is only a 3 minute drive away, so pick up your basics before you get there. The Fighting Cocks just down the road served very good and reasonably priced home cooked food.

In all - a great place to stay.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie Scrivens 1 review from this member

Having just had stayed at the Old Barn Touring Site, we wish to highlight the excellent support and helpfulness of the couple who are wardens there.

These are kind and caring people - multi tasking to meet the needs of visitors to the site.

Due to an unfortunate breakdown of our car upon disembarking from the Southampton ferry we arrived by taxi. Having unpacked our tent, equipment, belongings etc. And in spite of the weekend ahead and increasing arrivals, our hosts could not do enough to ensure we had everything we needed to make our break enjoyable. We were even offered a lift to our car where public transportation was limited.

We also found the layout of the pitches attractive and carefully maintained and were impressed by the neat clipped hedges and lawns of this site in a pretty area of the Isle of Wight

If we have any criticism we did find that only two showers in the ladies and gents blocks were restricting. Aside from this they were well maintained and clean.

Mike and Julie

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AllieStops 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a short break at Old barn Touring. Booking was made online and the park organised ferry travel for us. The warden confirmed the booking with a phone call and email and it was all very easy and pleasant. The site is small and very pretty. We had a large plot and there was a slight slope but as long as the beds were facing the right way that didn't matter too much.

The weather had been awful and the entire camping field at the bottom of the site, which is really the tent area, was sodden so the owners and wardens had managed to accommodate everyone in the main area and we had plenty of space. The toilet facilities were dated but clean. The showers had lots of room, with a bench and hooks so everything doesn't get wet.

They cost 20p but there is ample time to shower. The games room was fab for our kids when we were putting the tent up and down, and was a godsend when the weather was bad, giving the kids time to practice their table tennis skills.

Locally there was a Morrisons store within a three minute drive, numerous pubs. One that is about a five minute drive is the Fighting Cocks which has great food and a wonderful play area for the kids. As the island is so small the site is a good base to get anywhere and to reach the ferry terminal.

Finally, the site was run extremely well with friendly, helpful staff, who made us all feel very welcome. If we go to the IOW again we would return to this site.

On the whole, despite the daily rain, we had a great stay.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Sandown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4913 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019