Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glastonbury Cottages And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Glastonbury > Glastonbury Cottages And Caravanning > Reviews

Glastonbury Cottages And Caravanning
Higher Edgarley House
Ashwell Lane
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8BG
Tel: 01458 835069
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bren15 2 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here and it was a lovely quiet site situated at the bottom of the Tor.

Easy to reach the Tor in very short time. Went up to see the sunset. Wonderful experience.

Could see the Tor from my bongo camper. Wonderful view 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pearl30 1 review from this member

 Great little site just at the bottom of the Glastonbury Tor and the owners were very friendly.

Easy walk into town.

Facilities were more than adequate so no complaints from us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ruthyo 1 review from this member

 Loved how close it was to the Tor and that you could walk from the campsite.

Also liked how small the site was aka that the camping and touring pitches felt separate.

Owner was helpful and friendly. Me and my dogs felt very welcome,

Would definitely go back there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CrystalCamper 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite conveniently located near Glastonbury—pavement paths leading into town—off the busy main road.

The flat hardstanding pitches were generous in size. We were on Pitch 2, which gave us ample room to set up a small camp for one night.

We would have liked to stay for a few days, but there was no availability (probably due to the equinox), so we enjoyed our one night listening to a band of drummers on the Tor and having a great view of the Harvest Moon, Jupiter and Saturn.

Edd, kindly informed us of the Covid-safe measures they have implemented, and while we were there some construction was taking place. Perhaps more self-contained cottage units are being built?

Overall, this is a campsite that I can recommend for ease of visiting Glastonbury (3-5 minute drive), Glastonbury Tor (15 minute walk to the base), and the surrounding Somerset countryside.

As others have mentioned, water supplies in the toilet blocks require opening both taps before water comes through, but only in the right-hand facilities.

The left side toilets, basins and taps are unaffected and have ample water pressure and warm water for showers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SteveandSandra 6 reviews from this member

 A stopover on our way back home from Devon. Site is on main A361 road and as such suffers a little road noise.

We went straight to our pitch, 2, which was right at the base of Glastonbury Tor.

Although a quite small site, it was well kept and Edd the owner was soon there to make sure all was ok.

Booking is probably essential as it seemed quite busy.

Good base for exploring Glastonbury, Wells, Street and Wookey Hole caves.

I think we shall return for a bit longer next time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Glosbill 30 reviews from this member

 Great site, level pitches close to Glastonbury Tor. Great view up the hill. Welcoming owner.

Clean quality facilities. Water in sink taps a bit erratic but owners know about it.

Shower great, hot and plentiful. The drumming from the Tor lulled us to sleep.

Will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andybuchan 2 reviews from this member

 Great little site, right under the Tor.

Friendly owner, decent facilities. Only issues you might find are a bit of traffic noise from busy road (didn’t keep us awake) and the light sensors in the loo block could have been on for longer if you’re showering after dark!

Fair walk into town, but there is a route to miss most of the main road. 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazza112 1 review from this member

 Great location. Good clean facilities.

Very nice, helpful owners.

The guys let us pitch as we turned up without booking and usually don’t open the tent field until later in the year to keep the pitches from damage as they are still a little wet.

Had a great time and of course appreciated the wonderful view of the Tor as you are actually sited at its base.

Will certainly be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pagan-Buddh Pilgrim 1 review from this member

 Found the place on some website, possible this one, who knows. The road was sort of easy to find in the dark however the farm and field weren't. Would have been much easier in the daylight - no signs as such, which is odd!

But what a beautiful place: Pitched my tent facing 'Mecca' and when I pocked my head out of it I had an Easterly view of the nearby hills. Its at the foot of the Tor you know - quite literally! The downside being that if anybody is mucking about up there during the night with drums and singing etc, then that may be a pain. You don't have to take the A road all the way into Glastonbury town as the farm leads is serviced by one of the lanes - which also lead to the Tor. So walking to Chalice say, at average pace is 20 minutes. But when you do get onto the main road be damn careful!

The shower/toilet block is available 24/7 and works fine (1 mens shower out of action when I was there for 4 days). Theres also a fridge for your perishables and a very clean sink and microwave. What more could you need? *Shame the light are on timer as you have to move to trigger the sensor in the dark. Small grass area with a picnic bench.

Its only a small site but it as quite mid July. The young couple who live in the farmhouse and run it are charming, quite down to earth, even helped me pitch up in the dark! I forget the guys name. I will certainly return. £15 pn. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: NimbusC 4 reviews from this member

 Beautifully kept site within walking distance of the town centre if you have reasonable fitness and mobility.

All the facilities were good including nice size pitches and a fantastic view of the Tor one way and the Somerset Levels the other way.

The cost was at the top end of what I'm willing to pay at £25. 00 per night all inclusive of electricity and WiFi. The WiFi was good enough to stream stuff off the internet and cast it to the TV (Giro d'Italia).

The only downside was that it is very close to the A361 and the road noise was quite intrusive, although I appreciate that we all have different tolerance levels to this.

Also as we were on a cycling weekend we had to use the A361 in order to get to and from Glastonbury each day and it proved to be the worst part of all the 100 mile+ cycling we did due to the amount of traffic and lack of any viable alternative.

However, if the above concerns are not applicable to you this is a great site for exploring the Tor, Glastonbury and the surrounding area. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Glastonbury Cottages And Caravanning child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glastonbury Cottages And Caravanning?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Glastonbury Cottages And Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glastonbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5112 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement