Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flower Camping Les Portes De Sancerre

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Sancerre > Flower Camping Les Portes De Sancerre Reviews

Flower Camping Les Portes De Sancerre
Quai De Loire
Saint Satur
Sancerre
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
18300
Tel: 0033 02 48 72 10 88
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 85
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hellywelly3 2 reviews from this member

 I am reluctant to say how good this site is in case it becomes over booked.

What could possibly be better than camping next to the Loire. Showers washing facilities were all grea

t and central. Staff were helpful. Fab cycling, restaurants. They have a communal room where you can view the TV. Handy for the world cup. And a fridge and freezer.

Great wines and cheese. Loved it. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ciarri 20 reviews from this member

 This site is set right beside the Loire. It's easy to find as you can see it when you're crossing the bridge (if you're coming from the direction of the A77). It's a small, well laid out site. It has a central sanitary block, which is cleaned regularly and has plenty of showers, private sinks, etc.

The staff team seem to be very young. Theyre all very friendly and provide some low-key family entertainment, such as barbecue evening, boules tournament, a sketch show, which got lost in translation for us. They sell a few basic provisions and local wine in the reception. We cycled to a supermarket about 3km away.

The adjacent tennis courts are part of a tennis club and are top notch. I think we paid 5 to book a court for an hour. The municipal pool is next door, it has a 25m pool, a large warm pool and a babies paddling pool, there's also a beach volley ball area. I think it was 3 for each entry.

At the other side of the site, the Canal Lateral du Loire runs parallel to the river. Following this takes you to the lower village of St. Satur. Sancerre is the village up on the hill surrounded by vines. We followed the cycle tracks along the canal for a few miles, which was really lovely. I was very surprised that Sancerre wasn't a more touristy town, given it's world famous wine. It has a few touristy shops set around a small square and a fantastic panoramic view of the vines stretching for miles. It's a very pleasant place, there are some bars and restaurants there too.

The site seems to be used mainly by people passing through, a lot of cyclists stop for one night. We stayed for three nights, it got quite empty during the day but filled up during the evenings. There were some people staying in rented static caravans and very groovy looking tents.

I really liked this site, it had a nice friendly feel, with a lovely location on the river. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foldercamper 1 review from this member

 This is a good campsite in a really nice location next to the Loire. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke English. The facilities are clean and as other people have said the office has a small shop selling basic supplies. There is a small Carrefour near Sancerre and a larger Auchan, Carrefour and even a C&A nearby at Cosne sur loire. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Razzyb 5 reviews from this member

 Great campsite in fantastic location. We booked and paid well in advance, but on arrival were asked to go and choose an emplacement from the few which were left (first come first served. ) Most places seemed good, shady under the trees, but very sandy. Staff were really good and reception facilities great. There is a small shop with basics, but also a fridge of local wines and local beer. Games and racquets etc were available and there is a small TV room with a kettle and coffee machine. Toilet facilities clean if dated. Usually being cleaned at 8am which seemed odd. Pool next door was really good especially as weather was so hot. 3 euros each entry- seems to only open July and Aug. Restaurant/ cafe bar just behind was really nice- right next to river and good food as well as selection of drinks and mini golf too. A real mix of nationalities and backgrounds using the site- a good atmosphere generally. Lots of visitors seemed to be on the loire cycle trail and stayed one night before moving on again. Good activities nearby- kayaks, horses, bikes, etc.

A few restaurants nearby- Le Ship had good food and nice location above the river. Didnt seem to be a lot else. Carrefour supermarket is closer to Sancerre but is very good and has a 24h petrol station with good prices. Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shakeymc 6 reviews from this member

 Booked a few days before arriving, arrived at 14:45 the reception was closed; although the information on the booking said that it opened at 14:00 the sign on the door said 15:00! A young man opened the reception at 15:00, he apologised that the information was wrong, the rest of booking in went well and the young man spoke very good English. A part from that what a great campsite, it's next to the Lorie with lots of activities around the immediate area, and canoeing available just outside the gate entrance. And of course, the reason why we came, the cycling!

The toilet facilities are a bit dated but clean and there is free WiFi. Just don't turn up before 15:00hrs! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 270 reviews from this member

 A very nice site which accepts ACSI card in low season (finishes end of June). The usual French profusion of trees, but we arrived during their lunchtime when the barrier is closed, walked about and chose our pitch.

To find the site, approach from J24 of the autoroute and not as stated in the ACSI book, it's very easy from there and you will see the camping sign just after crossing the Loire. There is a swimming pool a bit further along the road fro (right from the site), but we didn't use it. There is a restaurant by the river near the junction and a snack bar at the mini golf just past the site.

As said, Sancerre is a lovely town, on a hill overlooking the Loire with great views. It doesn't seem that you can only buy 1 bottle of the famous wine though, and I didn't want to buy 6 in case I didn't like it.

One thing that interested and intrigued us was 'Camp U. S. ', a number of folk of all ages who dress up in WW2 military uniform (mostly American with a few French), and drive around the area in authentic looking WW2 military transport. I don't know if their permanent base is just along the road from the campsite, but there was a sign to it there.

We would not hesitate to recommend this site for an overnighter or short stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glampingcouple 2 reviews from this member

 Amazing 10 nights spent at this site at the end of August 2012, pitch No64 is superbly placed directly opposite La Loire with views to die for. There is a communal BBQ and a small on site shop where you can order bread etc for the morning, we actually preferred to walk to the local patisserie as they were better quality products.

Lovely and clean shower/toilet block (no loo seats tho!) but plentyful supply of paper. All the on site staff were friendly and very helpful, I took advantage of the massage service offered on Wednesdays, she didn't speak English and my French is very ropey so it was very quiet and very relaxing! The site is small, personal and very peaceful. They are very strict with the opening times at the gate and in the shop but you are in France and you need to adapt to their pace of life, lunch times are sacred!

This site is brilliantly placed to visit all the wine areas particularly Sancerre which is an incredibly beautiful town with great cafes and restaurants. We only tried one restaurant 'Le Petite Berry' in St Satur and were very disappointed with the food and service, the town of St Satur doesn't have a good selection of shops only the Carefour, for anything else you need to go into Sancerre.

You must visit 'Morogues' where we had an amazing lunch in the villages only restaurant and 'Chavingol' not just for the cheese but just above the village is an incredible view point. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave+trace 17 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for 4 glorious days of sunshine to visit the local sancerre and poully fume vineyards. Very well located next to the Loire and a very good golf course.

The site is shared with some Log cabins and was reasonably busy for the time of year. Pitches were of medium size and mainly shaded and separated by hedging giving a fair bit of privacy.

Sanitary block was big and of reasonable quality and there were several decent restaurants within walking distance.

Our biggest disappointment was that our confirmation told us to arrive at 1pm which was also stated on their website, on arrival at 1pm a notice told us that it was closed until 3pm, what made this worse was the manager saw us waiting and just continued yomping on his sandwich and playing on his computer, we had to wait until just after 3pm.

Overall I would recommend the site for its great location 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flower Camping Les Portes De Sancerre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flower Camping Les Portes De Sancerre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Flower Camping Les Portes De Sancerre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sancerre      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3143 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement