Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greetham Retreat Cl

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Greetham Retreat Cl
Greetham Lodge
Tetford Road
Greetham
Horncastle
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN9 6PT
Tel: 01507 588640  or  07747 602458
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravan and Motorhome Club Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes (no tents) and is for Club Members only - you can usually join on arrival.

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dickyboy 5 reviews from this member

Great CL sited in some lovely grounds.

Well thought out pitches, flat and of a reasonable size. The Owners are a lovely couple who go out of their way to make you welcome and explain the site facilities and what goes on in the local area. We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dillydom 2 reviews from this member

Nice cl with one excellent shower which was very clean and tidy. Mown walk which was handy for taking the dog on morning trot. Also washing machine, tumble drier and even iron and board. Once you are pitched up the owner calls round to give you information on site and surrounding area, he allows half an hour for talk so is quite indepth.

Only downside for us is lack of village pub near by but nice ones can be found a short drive away.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Busterboydog 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a lovely 2 weeks here.

Really lovely site, well laid out with pitches all tiered, all hard standing with one grass pitch, if you prefer grass. There is a locked gate at the site entrance plus security cameras, the site is a small distance away from the owners self catering cottages. The site is beautifully landscaped with wild flower meadow, and mown pathways leading to secured areas where you can sit and contemplate, there is also a small pond on site. We saw lots of wildlife, lots of different birds, rabbits and even a squirrel visited the bird feeder that we had put out. When we were there there was a family of geese wandering around, just be careful you don't stand in the geese poo!.

There is a shower and toilet on site, which has really hot water and is very clean, more than sufficient for the site. Inside the entrance to the self catering properties there is a well stocked information room and a small laundrette that you can use, the owners use this for the laundry for the cottages so use is when they are not using it.

All in all a really well thought out site in a lovely area and really well thought out and beautiful grounds.

Horncastle is 10 mins away by car and is an interesting village, especially if you enjoy antique shops!lots of nice places to eat out and some within 10 to 15 mins by car.

Television and phone reception was good, there is free wi fi on site, but we had issues all the time with the wi fi dropping (used an iPad) that was my only gripe.

Apart from that this is a really nice quite site in a lovely part of the country.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulinedodd 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful find, Rob and Jeanette are absolutely great. The site is brilliant toilet and showers clean. The name of the site says it all. If you have no caravan please book the cottages they are a dream all the best to the owners they deserve all the praise

We cant wait to come back and will certainly recommend to all our friends

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hughandpenny 23 reviews from this member

First time at this site and probably not our last.

Well laid out with very level hard standings and one grass pitch for the better weather, tiered pitches not overlooking each other. Water, waste recycling and chemical waste identical to CC ones but with sensor lights at night. Fabulous toilet and shower and the red light to show occupation a reall neat addition.

Information room very good and walks around the site good with plenty of nearby walks.

Rob met us on arrival and then after we had set up came and gave us all the local information we could ever want, with doggie advice for our hound and where we could all go together. He is friendly knowledgable and easy going you could not ask for more.

A lovely site well run and organised an oasis for wildlife with birds a plenty and two nice ponds and a wild flower meadow. Bliss

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frankiedog 14 reviews from this member

We stayed 3 nights on this lovely CL, and would of happily stayed longer if we could of ! A lot of time and effort has been put into this site. We found the site easily following the site owners instructions, access is also easy.

Their website is informative and shows pitch availability over the year, this saves wasted time and phone calls. We promptly received confirmation of our booking and a request to email them nearer the time with our ETA. We did as requested and was then given instructions on arrival with our pitch number - cant every site have this arrangement ?!

The owner came over to meet us when we were un hitched and set up. He gave us all the information we could possibly need to make our stay more enjoyable - local dog walks (the dog walk on site is very pretty with seating at the top of the hill to enjoy the views) For further afield walking there are copies of laminated circular walks to borrow in the information room. He advised us of restaurants/pubs and the best beaches.

There is a laundry room and a spotless toilet and shower for your convenience. We like the light idea that illuminates when the toilet/shower is occupied so you know when its free before you leave your outfit.

We struggled a little with our TV signal, (perhaps due to windy conditions - no one else has mentioned this in their reviews. ) We had no problem connecting to the wi fi.

We will go back to this site but the problem is getting a pitch as it is so popular!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Yvonnelodge@hotmail 3 reviews from this member

We have just spent a couple of days here. Fantastic well kept site. Facilities are fantastic and when we met Rob it was obvious he really cares about his guests and their comfort. He is obviously open to ideas for improvement. I don't want to criticise anything on this wonderful little site as it was gorgeous. The pitches were level and tiered. If you are on the lower tiers the views are not as interesting as the high tiers but this is no problem as there are numerous picnic tables and benches dotted about to allow you to share the views in comfort. One idea I think might be worth considering is a little more lighting around the top of the drive near the caravans during the winter. The area around the toilet area and the courtyard are well lit but some improvement on the lighting on the way Down might be helpful. We will return to this wonderful retreat.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 76 reviews from this member

We cannot really add much to the other reviews.

Jeanette & Rob have to be commended for setting up a superb CL and have managed to get it “right first time”.

We have just spent three nights there, admittedly not in the best of weathers, but we still had an enjoyable time. As others have said, all pitches are level although tiered and the central services facilities point is a carbon copy of the Caravan Club version. The toilet/shower area was spotless and the red light over the door establishing that it was in use was a novel idea.

We would have like to have done more walking in the area but the constant rain put paid to that! We will return when the sun comes out & dries out the footpaths & byways!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dibri 1 review from this member

A fabulous little site! Very quiet, clean, and not far from interesting places to visit - though you do need to have transport. There is nothing really within walking distance, but that's why it's a retreat!

The owners are friendly and helpful.

The toilet block has just the one toilet and shower, but we never had to wait. The facilities are spotless, and have a neat little red light outside which comes on when occupied and can be seen from the other side of the site - saves you walking over to find them engaged!

The site itself is spacious and really well landscaped, with a picturesque little pond and pretty seating areas dotted around. I suspect in the summer it's a little suntrap.

Keen bird fans will love the barn owl who regularly flew by during our stay.

The local Thai restaurant in Horncastle will deliver to the site - bit pricey at £24 for two, but lovely food, and it means you don't have to cook!

Nearbye Horncastle is worth a morning visit - The Old Stables Coffee Shop does a fine breakfast, and allows dogs!

Lincoln is also worth a visit. The Wig and Mitre is a nice pub and allows dogs.

Louth was disappointing. We did visit on Sunday and the majority of places were shut, but there didn't appear to be anything of real interest.

A bit further afield, The King's Head near Mablethorpe, is another dog friendly pub. Beautiful thatched roof and lovely food.

We thoroughly and enjoyed our stay at Greetham Retreat and will return.

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tents are us 29 reviews from this member

We booked this site as its local but we wanted Xmas 'away in the van', I have passed it many times as its only about 12 miles from home! but WOW what a site & really I shouldn't be telling everyone as next time I want to go it will more than likely be full! It has so much that you wouldn't expect on a 5 van site, one of the best shower / toilet rooms that I have been in & the best laundry / drying/information rooms I have ever seen! The grounds are so nicely laid out & the hard standing is very good, as someone else put the only thing that I heard was an owl. Also thanks for offering to tow our van home when I was taken ill. This is a site we will be using many times.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lincolnshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2496 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1094