Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Yew Tree Inn

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Herefordshire > Ross On Wye > Yew Tree Inn > Reviews

Yew Tree Inn
Peterstow
Ross On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR9 6JZ
Tel: 01989 562815
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 8
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Decided to end the camping year by staying at Yew Tree Inn and it was great as the pub had events planned for 30th (monthly cider club, 10 GBP per person) and 31st (free cider tasting, cider flight and cheese pairing, plus free buffet and pear cocktail to welcome the New Year), highly recommended.

The site only has 8 pitches and it was fully booked; however, due to last minute cancellation, a couple of pitches were unoccupied.

The facilities were well-maintained as per usual.

Already booked for their cider festival in August and Rosstoberfest (their Octoberfest) in October 2024, waiting for booking to open for the New Year weekend as I am definitely going back!

Love this site and the pub! 


Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joanne juniper 1 review from this member

 Small site with pub on site

Really friendly staff and owners

Excellent clean facilities, heated toilet/ shower block.

Bus stop outside site to Hereford/ Ross/ Gloucester. local shop 1min walk 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another lovely trip at this pub camp site which is adult-only.

I booked months in advance without knowing my stay would coincide with their Oktoberfest weekend, and it was lovely, with lots of guest beers as well as ciders and perries from Ross-on-Wye Cider and Perry Company. They also had pizzas from Firebird Oven which had 4 pizzas especially for the festival. There were music too and it was all very jolly and fun, and everyone was in good spirit and many in costumes.

The pitch I chose, being Pitch 4 was slightly slanted and I needed to use my chocks on one side.

The facilities were great for a pub campsite, very clean and tidy. Two separate toilets were unisex, and there was only one sink outside. There were two separate showers, one with a toilet and sink and was accessible by wheelchair users.

There is no motorhome service point, however, there was a chemical disposal point, a grey water waste drain and 2 washing up sinks with very hot water!

All communal areas and facilities were well kept.

Apart from the pub's Oktoberfest, they also hosted a cider blending workshop as part of the Hereford AppleFest during my stay. It was very informative and enjoyable.

The site was only a short walk away from Broom Farm where one could find the orchards for cider apples and pears for perry; as well as the more rustic Orchard Camping which is family friendly without EHU.

The owners of the Broom Farm and Ross Cider and Perry Company were very friendly and helpful to visitors. Likewise for those who were behind the bar at Yew Tree Inn who also looked after the cider shop with lots of their own products to choose from.

Yew Tree Inn is a must for cider and perry lovers without a doubt, and I have booked to stay over the New Year weekend in 2023/4 and also for their annual cider festival in late August/early September 2024. Can't wait! 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: June15 1 review from this member

 Good sized hardstanding pitches with EHU.

Excellent showers and toilets.

Friendly staff. Food and wide choice of ciders.

Walk through orchards.

Buses to Ross on Wye, Hereford, Gloucester.

Initial impression disappointing due to a few old, scruffy permanent caravans with awnings. Belies the true quality of the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Fordja 1 review from this member

 Lovely little campsite with up to date, clean facilities.

Very friendly, warm welcome.

Close to shops, towns and attractions.

Will definitely be booking again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nesty 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed 12 nights at Yew Tree inn, the site is an adults only site and a bit more compact, which I found quite pleasing. The check in to the site is contactless, you just drive in and pitch up, I extended my stay to over the BH, I just booked again via the website.

The plots have EHU and a mix between hardstanding and grass.

There is a pub on site, which serves good beer / cider and food (no food Sunday or Mondayís), itís either pizza or a burgers. I tried the pizza and it was really good, I also tried the ciders, though just beware they can be of a stronger alcohol content!

The facilities are satisfactory, there is chemical toilet / grey water disposal and drinking water tap. There are 3 washing up basins, 2 inside the hut and one outside, the 2 inside are much larger, in fact you probably could wash clothes in there as well.

The toilets are unisex 1 disabled with shower and 2 others toilets with 1 solo walking in shower. The hot water is nuclear hot, if you wash your hands, within 10 seconds itís so hot, so have to add cold.

Phone and TV signals were good, you can see the transmitter, in the distance to the NW.

The bus stop is directly outside the campsite entrance the Northbound one to Hereford has a sign and the one to Gloucester (via Ross on Wye), is the entrance to the site, (no post sign), if you using either make sure you hail the bus with a clear arm signal. The 33 is great value, itís hourly, I got to Gloucester for £4 return, same with Hereford. I downloaded the Stagecoach app and itís good on live times. I visited Pluzzlewood, Symonds Yat rock and river walk, Goodrich castle, on my bike.

I was on the pitches, which backed on to the pub garden, I had no issues apart from on Saturdays the gardener will start up the sit on mower at 7. 45am! The garden I feel, could get busy in the summer, so if you want a more quieter pitch, go for the ones on the opposite side (pitches 5-8).

My only gripes were the toilet paper in the blocks kept running out and sometimes, in the end I just took my own and 1 night had a motorhome on the next pitch arrive at 9. 35pm and they were making noise banging away setting up until at least 10. 45pm.

Also, on site in the first week a lot of noisy yapping dogs, behind the site there is a mobile home park and they too have dogs and sometimes the site ones barking set off them and it sounded a bit like cruffs.

All in all I enjoyed my stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cateyp 1 review from this member

 We loved it! Lovely small campsite, great atmosphere and very good clean facilities,

The Yew Tree Inn on site is very welcoming, with their own cider on tap, food is served most nights and is sourced locally and is very reasonably priced.

Bus stop outside the pub and village shop for supplies a short walk away. Ross on Wye a short drive away and lots of local attractions to visit.

Thankyou for a great stay we will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Just came back from Yew Tree Inn and I had a reasonably good trip.

The facilities are good, especially the unisex toilet and shower block.

There were 2 showers, one with toilet and sink for the disables, the other is just a shower.

Two toilets and one sink outside, and other sink for washing up in the office area.

It was fine with the site was not busy during most of my stay.

However, on Friday, 7 units arrived and the site was full. I asked for the facilities block for the gents to opened up, and they obliged.

For some unknown reason, they decided to close and lock up the gents block, meanly everyone had to use the unisex block.

I walked out of the shower only room to encounter a gent using the sink. Not ideal if someone coming out of the toilets and wanted to wash their hands - they would have to go and use the washing sink next door!

I really don't understand why they decided to close and lock the gents block, hence a mark has been taken off their score for facilities.

Although it is supposed to be an adult-only site, however, it is next to a family friendly pub, and some pitches are right next to their beer garden.

Therefore, if one wants tranquillity without screaming children, then ask to be put on the pitches further away from the beer garden, such as Pitches 4 to 8. It was worse on food nights as more people and families went to the pub to have food.

Any other issue with my pitch which was Pitch 1, although it is closest to the pub and the facilities, the hedge separating the pitch and the beer garden had gaps in it. Punters could see right into my pitch and van, kids kicking football near my pitch, etc. ; so I put the windbreak up to create some privacy and to minimise my dog being disturbed by other dogs in the beer garden.

The pub is famous for its own ciders and perries, and had a large range in bottles for sale, as well as to purchase to drink. I tried to sample as many as I could during my stay.

The bar was well-stocked with interesting beers as well as the usual lagers; and plenty of gins and other spirits.

I had pizzas from CPK Pizzas twice during my stay, and they were nice, highly recommended. Pre-ordering is advisable as they make their own doughs.

They had burger nights too, however, I did not sample them.

They have another campsite in brewery's old orchard further away, walkable from the pub. Very basic with no hardstanding pitches or EHU.

There is supposed to be facilities on site, however, I could not find them to check them out.

There are circular walks from the pub, however, I did not try them as it was too hot to do much.

The staff are very helpful and friendly.

I paid full peak rate for school holidays without a single person discount (I did ask), however, being school holiday and adult-only, it was worth it. I just need to remember adult-only does not always mean child-free when I look for adult-only sites in future!

All in all, a good stay except for the last morning when only the unisex block was opened while the site was full! I would definitely come back for the ciders alone! 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wm142 3 reviews from this member

 We liked the excellent toilets and showers, and the location with the cider orchards nearby and a shop 150 yards up the street.

The community pub was great.

There were a few things that could be improved.

The hardstanding pitches were on quite steep gradients, not fully corrected with our ramps.

The site was quite busy as it's used as a thoroughfare.

Surprisingly no-one in charge came onto the site, though the online booking was straightforward and informative. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Viseo 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with new toilet and shower block. Showers hot and powerful.

Good walks in the area and bus stop just outside the campsite. Very handy for the pub with a very good selection of beers and ciders.

Only had one meal at the Yew Tree but it was the nicest burger we have ever had and very reasonably priced as well.

Would definitely stay again and would recommend. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Yew Tree Inn child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Yew Tree Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Yew Tree Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ross On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58317 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement