Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Willows Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Tewkesbury > The Willows Campsite Reviews

The Willows Campsite
Bishops Walk
Lower Lode
Forthampton
Tewkesbury
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL19 4RE
Tel: 07707 031828
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 36
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 23 Reviews
                7/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsez 1 review from this member

First camping trip with young children. Easy to find, welcoming site manager and scenic pitch. Our tent looked out on the resident heron, ducks and moor hens. We could choose our pitch and had plenty of space for our 9x3m tent and two cars. Water point was in the centre of the field which makes it less than 10 metres from any of the pitches. The field is fenced and so safe for children and dogs. Which also made it a little difficult for the children as they are worried about large dogs. The shower/toilet block was kept clean and always had a plentiful supply of toilet paper. Obvious efforts had been made to update the facilities (new showers tiling and electric showers) but it still feels a little run-down (with the ceilings, floor and paintwork peeling due to condensation). I would return again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendycb73 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this pleasant site on the banks of the river Severn for 11 nights in our large tent. The warden enabled us to get an electric hook up by placing us on the field usually allocated to touring caravans. The site tends to fill up during the weekend but is lovely and quiet in the week. The toilet and showers are practical but could do with a bit of a sprucing up if opportunity arises.

The site warden was friendly and helpful.

The Lower Lode Inn is close on hand if you feel the need for a pint and a bite to eat. The pub also sells day licensing for fishing locally.

The Willows is well located for exploring the local area with Tewkesbury as the closest town (there's a pleasant walk from the site to the town).

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Small site on the side of the river behind a pub, The site is right down the end of a narrow twisting lane.

Upon arrival we were able to choose a pitch.

Toilets are in need on an update / freshen up, but didn't bother us too much as we have our own facilities in the caravan.

Nice level hard standing pitch with plenty of water taps.

Didn't see and weren't given any rules, which is probably what led to a group in the adjacent camping field making noise until 1am.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walker58 9 reviews from this member

We stayed just for a Saturday night as we were joining friends who were there as part of a weeks touring. Lovely grass pitch with electric that I preferred to the dearer hard standing ones. Good facilities and right behind the pub. Ferry for £1 each way across the river and then a 10 minute walk to Tewkesbury. Site is quite isolated so you need to have provisions with you if you don't want to go to town. Lovely beer garden overlooking the river - quite a busy pub with cyclists stopping and a wedding in the garden! Gorgeous weather made it a perfect day.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SuHedges 1 review from this member

We have been to this site a total of twice this year and found it to be clean, tidy and quiet. The owners were friendly and there were no issues at all. If you want somewhere quiet to stay, close to a lovely old pub then this is a brilliant location.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richtay72 1 review from this member

Excellent weekend camping at the Willows great site to explore Tewkesbury and the surrounding countryside, amenities were clean considering the wet weather. We camped on a hard standing pitch as the camp field was a little boggy again not surprising due to the heavy rainfall. The warden was helpful and informative giving us a key to the toilet/shower block on arrival and said the tokens for the shower were free.

Will definitely go back in the summer months.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NicciMac 46 reviews from this member

We stopped here for one night - 2 adults and a dog in a campervan with EHU. We paid £20 and I think this was actually quite good value for us - not our friend who paid £15 for a tent pitch (no EHU) though!

I should point out that The Willows is totally separate from the pub campsite, don't get confused like we did! Turn left before you reach the pub.

Customer service on arrival was lovely, a chap called Jim lives in the first caravan as you enter the site and will sort out your payment, key for the toilet/ shower block, plus as many shower tokens as you want (showers are included in the fee).

What stands out about this site is how well maintained it is -lovely landscaping and incredibly clean and tidy. Actually felt a little bit clinical! We didn't need our levelling blocks at all on the hardstanding pitch we were allocated (with plenty of surrounding grass for the tent and sitting out in the sun). Our dog was fine sniffing about off her lead which is a real relief for us as some places are so weird about it!

Toilet block clean and spacious - didn't use the showers on this occasion. Access is with a key which is a bit of a faff, the block is quite tucked away on site so I don't really understand why they are kept locked, perhaps a bad experience in the past?! At any rate you don't want to be scrabbling about for a key in the dead of night busting for a wee!

There is also a decent washing up point. The EHU and water are provided on 'bee hive' type structures positioned between each pitch - really convenient.

There was a wedding on so we didn't venture to the pub but it looked nice enough and it's a lovely waterside location.

We will definitely be coming back here as we didn't see the pub or get to enjoy the water! Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzanne8861 2 reviews from this member

We booked a 7 night stay here commencing September 6th.

To get to the site we had to travel down a single, winding track for approximately 3 miles with no mirrors on the 90% blind corners.

With a Discovery and a twin axle caravan it was a very tight turn in/out of the site with cars parked across from the entrance.

On arrival we were met by the warden/manager who was very pleasant and commented on our early arrival (10am) He took our money and gave us one key for the toilet block and 4 tokens for the shower (told us to ask for more tokens when needed)

He told us we could pick any pitch on the site.

We are used to being given leaflets on local places of interest but to our surprise we didn't receive any.

We were left to ourselves on the site, no-one came round to see if we were ok.

One of the first things we noticed was that as a 'dog friendly' site there wasn't a single dog waste bin to be seen. The only one we found was outside the site. With two Westies we have frequent use of these kind of bins !

I only used the shower/toilet block once (and that was to check out the facilities) the female block consisted of 2 toilets, 2 washbasin cubicles and ONE coin operated shower (8 minutes for your token) I never used the shower as we have our own.

Everything was very basic with cobwebs and dead insects everywhere. My partner said the Mens were to the same standard.

With 22 pitches I dread to think how long the queue would be if the site was full.

The pitches are large and well spaced apart with plenty of room for your caravan, awning and car. There is electric hook up, and fresh water but a trek to the elsan and waste water tucked away in a corner at the toilet block.

The pub next door had friendly staff and serve a variety of snacks and meals.

There is NO shop on site. The nearest place is Tewkesbury which is a good 10 minute drive away.

It's advertised as being 'next to a river' The river is across the track. The site is next to a stagnant pond.

This caused our awning to become infested with 100's of beetles and flies which made the awning unusable. As we always eat in our awning this meant we had to eat inside our caravan which spoilt our meal times for us.

By the Wednesday we were fed up with the bugs so we took down the awning and asked to move pitch. We moved from pitch 6 to pitch 19 that lunchtime, but didn't put the awning back up.

We spent a couple of hours in Tewkesbury and on our return found our caravan had dozens more occupants !

We decided enough was enough. Handed the toilet key and shower tokens in and left at 6. 30pm on the Wednesday, even though we had paid up to the Saturday morning.

The site warden/manager had to get the owners of 2 cars to move their vehicles so we could exit the site. Whilst travelling down the narrow track we had 3 near misses, meeting speeding traffic on blind bends. Nerve racking to say the least.

The peace and quiet was lovely. Such a shame about everything else.

Would we recommend or use again?

That's a definite NO.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesnlola 5 reviews from this member

The Willows is a very nice site which is well lit and well run and the warden was very friendly. I think some reviewers have got mixed up as there is another site which you arrive at first belonging to the pub which has very basic facilities but I am not sure if they are both owned by the same people or not. The first site has nice views of the boats on the river but The Willows is much nicer and we went in the Tent field which overlooks a large lake full of swans ducks and cormorants. We chose the site as another reviewer said it was 15 minute walk to Tewsbury but that is only if you catch the Ferryman and when we visited he wasn't there so had a 45 minute walk to town which goes along a very busy road for the last mile or so and was a hard going coming back as it was dark walking through fields of sweetcorn! The pub was ok only a few customers but I guess its out of season now but it was quite cosy and welcoming. As for spiders and insects in the toilet block I don't know what people expect in a campsite that is situated in the countryside! If they bother you I suggest you stay in hotels. All in all its a very peaceful rural retreat

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Danddjackson 1 review from this member

This was a last minute booking as we wanted to make the best of the unusual summer weather (sun!). Although the site entrance is not clear when you approach the pub (could do with a sign as you approach the pub)we found the site wardens very friendly and helpful.

First impressions of the site are good neat cut grass, well laid out hard standings and clearly mark tent pitches. The pitches are generous, we managed to get 2 large tents and an event shelter set up with ease on. The two pitches we were allocated The site has low level night lights in both the caravan and tent areas which made returning from the pub less of a trauma (no stumbling over tent guide lines). Although the toilets are presentable and appear to be recently decorated, there were a number of spiders webs and decease flying bugs on display which could do with cleaning away (I suspect, bearing in mind the site is in the countryside this would need to be a regular activity). Also I agree with the previous comment about the cost of the shower tokens (£1. 00 for 8 mins is steep.

The pub, the 'Lower Lode' provides a warm welcome, excellent ciders, generous portions of perfectly acceptable food and a nice view of the river.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5053 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019