Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Breighton Ferry Pub And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > East Yorkshire > Selby > The Breighton Ferry Pub And Campsite > Reviews

The Breighton Ferry Pub And Campsite
Breighton
Bubwith
Selby
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO8 6DH
Tel: 01757 288407
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 51 reviews from this member

 Another great weekend here {spent with our car club again}.

It seemed a little busier with "other campers" this year.

See my reviews below for more details. And we'll be back next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 51 reviews from this member

 Another visit here with "our Car Owners Club". This time the site had a good few other campers there. We arrived Thursday night to "set up" our camp, it was rather quiet until late Friday afternoon when others {both our club members & general public} arrived. No worries there though because the field is quite large, and the facilities adequate for large numbers.

The WC & Shower block is kept spotlessly clean.

We had an evening meal in the pub {along with a few pints of their excellent hand pulled beer} and a breakfast one of the mornings. The food was top class on both occasions.

The pub is large and roomy, has an excellent choice of beers & an excellent "jukebox".

Electric Hook Up, again shared for three nights with friends in their camper van {using a splitter plug on the same EHU unit/box}. Cost us 20 for three the nights {there was actually a small amount left on the meter, which we simply left for the next campers}. I guess a 10 card would cover a weekend {2nights} for one caravan {the cards are available from the pub}.

Having experienced how quiet this site is during the week, We're looking forward to visiting midweek, although FWIU, the pub does not open every night.

Whilst there, we visited the "Motorist" Cafe & museum at nearby Sherburn-in-Elmet, well worth a visit, as is also "Squires Cafe" in Sherburn-in-Elmet {which is a well renowned motorcyclists cafe.

I cant comment on value for money/cost per night, because our club organiser made a "block booking".

I cant comment on child friendliness because {unlike our last visit} we did not take our grandchildren with us, but there is a small "playground"

Will we visit again?. Yes, our Club organiser made point of booking the same weekend next year, and we are hoping to get back there later ourselves, on our own this year, for a quick mid-week break. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 51 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the 4th year in succession, taking our grandchildren with us again. We were part of a {Car Owners} Club Rally. I believe this site caters for Club Rallies most weekends.

AS I stated in my review two years ago, we find the site clean, well maintained & child friendly, and the pub serving excellent food & beer. Although, arriving on Thursday, we found the pub was'nt open.

We obtained EHU {Electric Hook Up] this year. You have to buy a card from the pub, which turns on the EHU unit, at the end of the stay, its possible to cancel the card, which then "saves" the unused Electrical Units for your next visit. The card cost 10, and due to me carrying a "splitter" in my caravan, we shared the cost [and electricity] with friends for the weekend, and we still had 5's worth left.

It would be nice to go back midweek when the site is quiet because FWIU, it is mainly used for Rallies throughout most weekends. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: NigelHoll 2 reviews from this member

 We went there for a Trike Rally

Site is well kept & the river right next door

Outside 24hr toilet block was large & well kept

Beer was reasonably priced & food was good

If you have kids there's a nice little play area

Already booked for next year 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 51 reviews from this member

 WE spent a weekend here with our Car Owners Club. We found the grass was level & cut short, the toilets are clean, the bar [on site] allows children & dogs in, some of our friends said the food was good and reasonably priced [although we did'nt try it ourselves].

The site is not too far from a small airfield, so there is a little noise from light [private] aircraft constantly taking off & landing but this was no problem for us.

The site [and facilities] are shared by campers/caravanners and the Marina housing [mooring] a couple of dozen small pleasure boats and there are a few [of what appears to be] 'seasonal pitches' along the roadside leading past the camping field.

There is a small play area, and our five year old Grandaughter loved it. One side of the field is on the riverbank, which we thought was a nice touch.

All in all, a very pleasant stay. Would we go back?. YES, but if it was a weekend only with members of 'our' Car Owners Club, because from what we understand, the site caters for a lot of Owners Clubs [motorbikes, bikes, scooters, cars etc]. I would imagine its very pleasant & quiet in the week 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shinysplumber 1 review from this member

 I camped it up over the weekend of 26th June and had a great time. Fantastic, peaceful setting with excellent facilities and a laid back type of pub to boot!

During my visit there was a party of scooterists there for the weekend, not chav types but Lambretta and Vespa owners and they certainly showed me a thing or two. They had communal dining and certainly seemed to like the sausage!

On the Saturday I launched my dinghy and did a bit of dogging along with my yorkie Bob for whom it was a first time with the rubber suit on. He was a bit reluctant at first but I managed to pull him off.

It rained a little but with the bright sunlight the golden showers were quite refreshing.

When they had managed to get the Vespas started the scooterists went for a bit of a ride around the area and returned to find me unable to get the hang of the shower. It worked out ok though as one of the Vespa owners pointed me in the right direction. Amazing what a 20p piece on on the floor can do!

All in all a fab weekend and I've already booked for next year with my good friends Donald and Jacqueline. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bongo2 3 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site 3 or 4 times with a Motor Cycle Rally group, Vulcan Riders Association UK, and always had a brilliant time.

Having read the comments about the showers, those that are whinging, ought to get a grip. I can have a good shower for 40p by planning in advance, undress 1st as the meter counts down soon as you put your money in but still plenty of time. My wife managed too, even managing to wash long hair and condition it for an extra 20p.

As a large group, we booked our own band which the locals get the benefit of for nothing, music in the pub went off at a reasonable hour and if you put your unit further away from the pub it should not disturb you.

The breakfasts are good value for money so is the evening food. The location is superb on the bank of a Marina and the staff are very friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richy 34 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights in august and had a great time. There was plenty of space for you to pitch where you liked (unless you want Electric hook up) and it was not crowded.

There is a kids play area and horses in the next field that will come up and say hello. The pub has pool tables and good selection of beers and a large conservatory to sit in.

The shower block is excellent and very clean with plenty of hot water. There are boats all along the river and you can walk along the bank for half a mile.

All in all well worth a visit ! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Felixthecat 1 review from this member

 Friends recommended as quiet family site which it was for the first 2 nights of our 3 night stay with children enjoying the small but child friendly park and the adults enjoying the view over the river derwent that runs along side the site. On the third night the pub on the site was booked for a private party with the noise going on from this until 5 in the morning!

The toilet and shower facilities were clean and well look after but you did have to pay for a shower 1 for 8 mins.

Check prices on booking as prices have just gone up which we did not find out about until arrival. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bluebird.01 19 reviews from this member

 A lovely site that can change overnight When we arrived we reported to the pub to let them know we were here but the landlord looked puzzled and said have we pitched up yet ? and why are we bothering him.

You pitched were you like in our case next to the EHU point for which they charge 6 extra a night for a low ampage supply that tripped out with the heater, lights and telly on, maybe it was just ours.

If you are a tenter or no hookup you camp where you like with no layout at all so no roadway through if you needed to leave. The site is next to a river with boats on it very nice but no protection either and parents were letting their kids run wild around the site past 11pm even though there is a play area and a ungated concrete slipway in to the river for boat launching.

We had the mandatory loud music player next to us with her car doors ajar and cd player on full blast playing the same CD on loop if I heard 'I will survive' once more time then I'm sure she wouldn't have. The first night my wife asked her to turn it down a litte but the next night same girl same CD was still blasting out at after 11pm but a fellow camper with kids this time lost it and told her to turn it off. Not just us then !

The next day the site almost emptied and what a lovely tranquil place good flat walks, it is near an ex bomber base now used by a flying club so we got free air shows. The pub is OK nothing else near.

Overall the site is OK probably quieter during the week the landlord does not seem to manage the site at all in fact you never see him patrolling so people doing just what they want at the expense of others. No firefighting points at all about the place. Besides paying 6 quid a night you have to pay for showers too at 20p for 1. 6 mins it says on the meter. Shower block quite new. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Breighton Ferry Pub And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Breighton Ferry Pub And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Breighton Ferry Pub And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Selby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2560 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement