Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brooklands Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Brooklands Caravan Park Reviews

Brooklands Caravan Park
Whitecross Road
Woodbury Salterton
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX51EL
Tel: 07958 735 889  or  01395 744 354
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wisken 1 review from this member

 Very disappointed, 20 a night, which I paid in advance.

Firstly we saw no one connected with the site at all whilst we were there, we were advised which pitch to go on by another caravan owner who took a guess.

The facilities are basic, lined shed for showers and toilets, but they are heated, cleanliness not particularly good. No where to empty grey (waste) water when I asked another caravan owner I was told to empty it on grass by hedge, so I emptied 120ltrs of waste water into the ground, not my idea of healthy.

Very poor TV signal could not get BBC at all and other channels kept breaking up.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Johnabacus 21 reviews from this member

 Used this campsite for a one night stay after dropping a friend's son off at Exeter University. On arrival we had a problem. In the phone call to book the site I was told to use Pitch number 1. When we arrived there was a car parked in it, which it turned out belonged to one of the people working for the Events company which share use of the site. Two other pitches were occupied by a van from the Events company and a trailer. On speaking to another camper who was a friend of the owner he suggested parking on the grass between the pitches which is what we did. The photos of the site are cleverly arranged to minimise the extent the Events company occupy the site.

It was a bit scary walking the dogs on the road outside the site as there is no footpath and traffic does come along at speed.

The facilities are adequate and unlike some other reviewers comments we found them spotless. The owner came to see us the following morning and was very friendly. We mentioned we planned to go the Farm Shop for breakfast and she told us of Caras which is in the nearby industrial estate (follow signs for Raceworld Indoor Karting. ) Excellent value huge breakfast with free top up of tea/coffee.

Within easy reach of Exeter which seems like a lovely city. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robert Foxon 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a short break to visit Exeter and Exmouth. The site was conveniently located for both and was easy to find. The owners were friendly and we were offered any windfall cooking apples from the tree next to our tent although when they started falling on it in the early morning we wished we had pitched a couple of feet further away.

The site was very clean, tidy and well maintained. It seems more geared to caravans than tents with hard standing for caravans and cars parked on the grass areas between. For tents it works the other way round: tents on the grass, cars on the hard standing. We have two three-man tents for us and our two adult boys and there was plenty of space to pitch both and set up our limited kitchen facilities. The site was also quiet and although it was shared with the event company this was not a problem. The only noise problem was the late (10 pm) arrival of a largish part after dark who made a considerable racket setting up just when we were trying to get to sleep.

Shower and toilet facilities were very good, clean and free. The showers are more wet room than shower cubicle so there was plenty of room. The one downside is that the water is heated by gas cylinder. If it runs out you have to phone the owners who, in our experience, will change it quickly but not sure what you do if the gas runs out half-way through a shower. There is also a covered area for washing up.

The only local facility we used was the Cat and Fiddle Inn at Clyst St Mary, which is a short drive away and is excellent.

There is no play area and the pitch area is quite compact so it would not be ideal for young children to run around.

Things to do.

The model railway at Exmouth is not worth a trip: it was the worst I've ever seen. The crazy golf next door was fun and we enjoyed a walk along the coast path. Top tip: you can park at the cricket club car park for half the price of the long stay on the front and the club has the benefit. It just past the car park.

In Exeter we enjoyed the underground passages. We had a look around the guildhall (free) and took a walking tour (also free) which we would recommend as the guide we had very informative and took us to places that we would otherwise have just walked straight past.

So the acid test. Would we stay there again? Yes, absolutely. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ADSmith 7 reviews from this member

 The site is not too difficult to find, the postcode gets the satnav close enough. The site itself has been well laid out with mostly hardstandings for caravans and a few grass areas for tents. Getting set up was no problem, every pitch has electric hookup, there were plenty of taps and a tidy area for rubbish and recycling items. The site owners also have an Events Business so there are some items stored on the periphery of the site but it was basically tidy and safe. The owners were not present when I signed-in but both made a point of coming to say Hello and to welcome us to the site so that was commendable. There are no debit/credit card facilities so it's cash or cheque for payment. The toilet facilities are intriguing. They're a bit of surprise in their design but the showers were exemplary (even more so being free and were needed a lot in the hot weather) and the whole area was kept clean though a paper dispenser in the Gents became inoperable and was like that for three days so perhaps a more regular program of cleaning and checking is needed. There is no doubt that we would stay there again, it is close to the Exeter M5 and was a good base for touring the area. Our Thanks to the Owners. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeff and Zoe 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a week here and were really impressed with this small site as the pitches are good size, it is clean and well kept, the showers (one ladies, one gentleman)are spacious wet rooms with lovely hot water and there is a clean toilet block. This was an ideal place to camp and relax, away from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives. We walked easily to the 2 pubs and both serve good food and are very friendly. The washing up facilities were good and undercover(not like some we have used)All in all this site is just as it states nice quiet situated near many of the attractions of the area but does not have a specific play area for children but there is enough area around the pitches for children to play. We loved this site and are planning to visit again next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Westonrose 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a long weekend at Brooklands.

What a great little campsite. If you want a relaxed, quiet and friendly site then this is the one for you. We have a 28' RV and on arrival the owner not only greeted us personally but made sure we had the right pitch for our RV. The showers and toilets were clean and warm and not too far away from our pitch. There are 2 pubs close by both doing great food and a bus stop 2mins away taking you to Exmouth or Exeter. Great site great location. If you go give the farm shop and vineyard a visit well worth the effort both on the doorstep. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chocodeb 1 review from this member

 I stayed with friends in their caravan last weekend, and we had the best time, such a lovely site owned by very friendly helpful people in the owners. Supplying us with the essential Pimms jugs and ice! The facilities on the site are excellent clean and warm! the local pub at the top of the road does excellent food with a good atmosphere, the nearby farm shop has a varied menu and sells all kinds of locally grown/reared products.

I'm no camper but I could get hooked staying in such a great place!

Oh and thanks for the cooking apples they were delicious. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chipmonk 16 reviews from this member

 What a great little site.

Was looking for somewhere to break our journey up to the West country. Owners are absolutely great. Nothing too much trouble. No hassle.

Facilities are very clean. Pub at top of lane does great food, although a little pricey. You pay for quality.

Dave even made room for us to stop overnight on our return. We will be doing the same next year.

It is very close to Crealy and Sidmouth for the beach, and Exeter for shopping.

Looking forward to returning in 2014. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Canon Graham 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a two week break of which the first four nights were spent at Brooklands Farm. We were so pleased to have found this lovely campsite where the owners made us feel so welcome. The site was very well cared for and the pitch was brilliant. The owners could not have been more helpful and friendly. We shall certainly visit this site again as it was the perfect start to our holiday. Thank you.

Graham and Angela Morris 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bethyleek 2 reviews from this member

 This is a small basic site, but it is priced to reflect this. It is a good place to use as a base as there are so many things to do in the surrounding area but there is nothing for the kids to do at the site. This was not a problem for us as my 7 year old and I were so busy during the day and were happy to just come back to the site to recharge. Shower and toilet blocks were not what you would call luxury but then we were camping so again not really an issue. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I would use this site again. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brooklands Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brooklands Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Brooklands Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3087 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement