Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Port A Bhaigh Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Ullapool > Port A Bhaigh Campsite Reviews

Port A Bhaigh Campsite
Altandhu
Achiltibuie
Ullapool
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV26 2YR
Tel: 01854 622339
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42 HARD STANDS 50 TENTS
Open: All Year(ring For Notification)

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisajk 12 reviews from this member

 This used to be our favourite campsite ever, but sadly it seems to have become a victim of its own success.

It was unusually busy and there were queues for the toilets, dishwashing, washing machine etc which has never been the case before - more facilities needed for the numbers of people now being accommodated - also it appeared that people were being allowed to pitch in random locations when all official pitches were full.

Oh, and the owners' dog wandered around the site taking a crap wherever it fancied.

Shame. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The bargee 3 reviews from this member

 This is the second time that we have stayed at Altandhu, the first being December 2017 when we were storm bound, then nearly snow bound. The site was virtually empty then! This time the weather was slightly kinder, and the site was full to overflowing, despite or perhaps because of the virus crisis, but we still had an excellent stay and and it never felt crowded or too busy. Lots of hired camper vans and brand new tents, no doubt escapees from the towns.

This is an excellent site in an absolutely beautiful location. Friendly and relaxed too! Do not be put off by the fact that it is 15 miles off a main road down a single track lane. Access is straightforward even for our big twin axle caravan. As almost everywhere in the Highlands the roads are easy to drive, open (not between high banks as in Cornwall) and have lots of easy passing places. We can heartily recommend Altandhu!

Be prepared for no phone signal and limited WiFi, but the tv picture is excellent and you only have to drive half a mile up the nearest hill to get a phone signal.

Many thanks to the owners and staff for keeping the site open! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KeniDhu 2 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend stay at this site, We had a pitch right on the edge of the site overlooking the beach, the view was excellent and the sunsets were lovely.

On our second evening we were enjoying a glass of wine watching the sun go down when a shoal of mackerel could be seen churning the water as they fed on the small bait fish, minutes later the dolphins arrived chasing the mackerel.

It is the perfect spot for kayakers and paddle boarders and there are lots of photographic opportunities no matter what your interest is.

Despite being very busy social distancing was not a problem, the site shop only allowed 2 customers at a time. Toilet & showers were also limited to 2 campers, this would not be a problem normally but did mean some queuing under current restrictions. They were however very clean and well stocked with soap, disinfectant spray and toilet paper.

Mobile phone reception and WiFi around the site was very patchy, best spots were around the shower block. Personally I did not see this as an issue, one of the main joys of camping for me is escaping the rat race.

We will definitely plan a return trip soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cowsie489 1 review from this member

 Great wee camp site, got a nice wee spot up the back.

Weather was ok but blew a Hollie at night.

Shop very well stocked so if you forget something they will likely have it

Showers and toilets very clean and WiFi good at shower block.

We ate at the pub one night, fantastic food rump steak surf and turf, scallops amazing.

We will be back highly recommend.

Well done to all the team 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KathP29 22 reviews from this member

 2nd visit to this fabulous site. Location is amazing on a long single track road but lots of passing places. Facilities very clean, little shop sells most things.

Amazing sunsets. Little pub does good food and nice wine. Owners are relaxed dabs easy to book.

Nice walks and worth a trip to Ullapool 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Margar 1 review from this member

 It was our first venture into camping on a campsite.

It was fantastic, really clean. Hosts very friendly, all the amenities that you require. Good spacious pitches. Really good place for exploring the island.

Even the midges did not dampen our spirits. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Antony 1 review from this member

 Stunning position but pitch was a bit cramped but we managed fine to get our van and dome tent in.

Great atmosphere amongst fellow campers. Perfect for outdoor/coastal activities.

Good food in the pub too.

Brilliant stay. 👍😁 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Willfm 1 review from this member

 The staff were excellent

Site superb

Restaurant and bar on site with a superb menu,

Will definitely go again in better weather.

Marvelous views of Summer Isles lochs and mountains, a photographers paradise. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kedwards 1 review from this member

 Fantastic location looking over the sea. Very clean and showers were hot. Staff welcoming and helpful. An excellent campsite with a very well stocked shop too! Will come back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Evil in Tent 6 reviews from this member

 Simply a fantastic location! Peaceful and quiet with brilliant views, helped by good weather and a distinct lack of midges during my visit.

The very poor rating for customer service is a criticism of those left in charge while the owners were away. Despite being a solo traveller on a motorcycle and being charged as such (reasonable charges by the way), I was later hounded by one of the temporary staff who repeatedly told that my tent was 'obviously' a family tent and I would have to pay more for my stay. This happened to several other people staying on the site too, many refused to pay. To avoid souring my weekend entirely I paid the 'extra' modest charge but the attitude of those left in charge spoiled my stay.

I expect that normally these issues would not arise and therefore I give the site 7/10. Perfect for those who want somewhere quiet, out of the way, without the full facilities of a holiday camp type arrangement. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Port A Bhaigh Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Port A Bhaigh Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Port A Bhaigh Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullapool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1658 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement