Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Port A Bhaigh Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Ullapool > Port A Bhaigh Campsite Reviews

Port A Bhaigh Campsite
Altandhu
Achiltibuie
Ullapool
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV26 2YR
Tel: 01854 622339
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 42 HARD STANDS 50 TENTS
Open: All Year(ring For Notification)

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

A very relaxed site with great facilities in a stunning location.

They is a pub across the road where you book in if no staff on site. We intended to go for a drink but it was extremely busy. Food looked good would recommend booking a table if you intending to eat there.

An exposed spot so make sure you are prepared but this is the west coast of Scotland!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 9 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, in a lovely location. Couldn't see a list of do's and don'ts in large red font anywhere - always a plus.

I was wowed by the facilities when first walking in, this was the 5th site I'd been in during my travels, and trumped all previous ones. They're modern, clean, and quite funky. There were fridges available, a kettle would be very welcome too though.

My dog was welcomed, and we enjoyed ourselves on the pebbly beach.

Will definitely be returning to this beautiful area, and certainly this site.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wakemalcolm 2 reviews from this member

We first visited this site 4 or 5 years ago. Having previously read the reviews on here we were interpreting the complimentary remarks as 'amazing, given the location' rather than just 'amazing' but it has peerless views, quality facilities (I'm 50/50 on whether there should be shower curtains) excellent level pitches and really good food (and takeaway) up the hill. It's now one of our favourite sites, anywhere.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

One word to sum this place up 'WOW' ! Amazing scenic location overlooking the Summer Isles, with a nice little beach. Immaculate modern facilities block which also has Wifi (a big plus as we had no phone signal) The pub, at the top, which owns the site serves good real ales and excellent food especially the local seafood - they even do take away ! Ok it is a very remote location with single track road road (about an hour to get there from Ullapool but well well worth it - and stunning views on the way too) This has to be one of my favourite sites ever, love it.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stephentwist 3 reviews from this member

Returning for a second consecutive year, Port a Bhaigh continued to impress, such that this year's visit comprised 16 nights. To assist, I have brought forward, added to and updated some details from my previous review.

To visit Port A Bhaigh you must leave the A835 south of Drumrunie sharply out to the west for 12 miles on on the narrowest single track road.

The unnamed road traverses the left side of Lochs Lurgainn, Bad a Ghaill and Osgaig with views into rugged low lying West Highland countryside. The route will take you past Achnahaird beach, worth a detour to enjoy over 100 metres of silver sand with views out to the north of the peninsula. A measure of the terrain - you will need 45 minutes to complete the 12 miles, but using the passing places for moments to collect, see the journey as part of the experience.

The family-run Port A Bhaigh campsite sits on a small bay, protected to the west by Isle Ristol and Eilean Mulagrach, the first of the Summer Islands, their low turf and heather clad moorland rimmed by creamy fawn rock shores on the line between sea and sky. The view is ‘heart-felt’ rather than breath-taking. It has an intimacy that tells you that you belong here.

The site

The terraced pitches are generally reasonably level, although it is wise to take blocks. Most are rough hard standing, separated by turf, but all have elevated views across the bay. If required electric points are available at the wooden posts.

The facilities block is 7 years old, but looks new and is well appointed with three wet-room level eco-showers, but no privacy cubicles. Centrally, alongside superb disablity facilities, is a kitchen with full laundry facilities, kettle and twin refrigerators. Just inside the doors is a small wifi area with seating and tables. Chem disposal is to the right side of the block, and grey water directly in front via the long grate. We found the facilities spotless in 2017, thanks to the lovely Adelle, who also works as waitress in the Fuaran Bar above the site.

To book and pay, ascend the hill to the Fuaran Bar and speak with co-owner Andrew - who runs the venture with his sister Catriona. Here is a friendly bar with dining room serving mid-day snacks and superb evening meals. I can recommend the sea food, especially the scallops, crab and seafood pie. Make the most of it for, to the north, the nearest next pub is in Iceland.

For shopping, drive down to the Achiltibuie Stores, well stocked and efficiently run by Teresa. Here you will find fresh lobsters, together with superb meat in the chiller cabinet. For eggs, jams, pickles and herbs walk 20 metres left out of the site and call at Diana's croft.

Walks from the site.

Round the headland to Coigach

Leave the site by the side gate heading south towards the headland. From here is a delightful 20 minute walk to Old Dorney Bay and onwards to Coigach. Turn east on the road and make your way to Ayleen's tea room for coffee, shortcake and local crafts.

Or take the road from the site north to Reiff offering headland views from the road and after Reiff head for the coastal path.

For those with kayaks, take an escorted trip around the islands; and those without, consider a fishing boat trip which you can book at the bar.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

What a location! Firstly, to get a location like this you need to get to it so if you are nervous on single track roads or you have a unit the size of an articulated lorry, give it a miss. It is 30 mins at least along the single track road. Access to the site itself is down a steep concrete track but this is well maintained and should not cause anyone problems. There is a good choice of level hard standings all with superb views over the summer isles. The EHU's are very modern and well maintained. The facilities block is fairly new and contains toilets, showers, dish wash and washing facilities. There are a couple of tables to sit at and wifi is fast and free in this area. The only down side is that the men's toilets only have 2 toilets which can be a problem if the site is busy. There is a grey waste dump and water in front of the facilities block. There is a pub / restaurant across the road and this is where you check in if the site is not staffed, which it usually isn't. Given a nice sunset or indeed, wild weather, this is a good place to be and I wish we had have had longer than the 2 nights we spent there.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Percy12 1 review from this member

This site is a little gem. The service block was heated, with a couple of tables to sit at. The facilities were clean and an added bonus was the fridges and freezes available to use.

It's lovely and quiet, we will most definitely be returning here. We stayed two nights here on our NC500 trip. It's off the route but we were so glad we visited.

If you prefer peace and quiet away from it all, this site is for you.

The site is over a few levels which meant we could pitch our tent in a more sheltered area. There are plenty of hard standing pitches with grass in between.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjacq 3 reviews from this member

Awesome little oasis. Facilities are excellent & very clean. Pub/restaurant is great. Little honesty box/ croft shop next to campsite is worth a visit. Fresh salad, the pesto is so tasty. The owner & her helpers are very friendly and full of information. Will definitely be back many times.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kontikimann2 4 reviews from this member

On arrival a bit disappointed as we had booked earlier on in the year we expected a reserved pitch but no just park anywhere, some of the pitches were even on a slope, A

Caravan parked up and obviously there for long periods looked like it had never been cleaned since bought and they just let their dog run about and do the business anywhere on site without picking it up.

On the plus side the toilet and shower block etc: is 5 star.

The pub/restaurant at the top of the road is well worth a visit excellent food at reasonable prices.

Don't let this Review put you off going as the Summer isles are well worth the visit and the scenery is well worth seeing.

The schoolhouse at Achiltibuie serves excellent food with pleasant and helpful staff, well worth the visit.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gracesett 17 reviews from this member

A good friendly and relaxed site overlooking a small part sand part stone bay. Facilities clean and well cared for. I was told the prices were comparable to those in the surrounds of Ullapool but certainly more than any CC site I stayed at during our month in Scotland, but still satisfactory value for money. The area is wonderful and there is a choice of good eating establishments including directly opposite the site entrance.

The drive through to the Summer Isles should not be missed

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019