Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Castillo De Banos

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Castillo De Banos > Camping Castillo De Banos Reviews

Camping Castillo De Banos
Cn340 Km 360
Castillo De Banos
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: +34 958 829528
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 5 Reviews
                8/10 from 5 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 20 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 37 reviews from this member

 We were originally heading for Portugal, but decided to travel to Southern Spain in search of some winter sun and warmth. We did not like the sound of the mega sites nearer to Malaga, and found this site after reading very mixed reviews.

The site was easy to find on coordinates, and we received a friendly welcome at reception. We initially booked for 14 nights but we were enjoying our time and decided to extend the stay to 20 nights. Good value for money with the campsite's own rates rather than using ACSI, and we found out it was even better if you stayed for 1 month or more!

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and we managed to get everything we needed despite using very broken Spanish. The pitches are on three levels. The top level which appeared to have more sun particularly in the evening, the middle level and then the beach level. Each pitch has its own fresh and grey water disposal. Please be aware if you haven't got a length of 40mm hose to connect your van, then a funnel makes it easier to use the grey water disposal point. Plenty of fresh water taps around the site and bins on every other pitch. We had 6amp electricity which was included in the price, although they are in the process of changing to 10amp metered electricity on every pitch. We chose the beach level as the pitch we were on was quite open and it was lovely to go to sleep and be woken with the sound of crashing waves. The sunrises were particularly spectacular as the sun rose over the Med.

The facilities were always clean. The showers were very powerful with plenty of hot water, and there was a row of enclosed showers if you didn't want the wind blowing under and over the doors. Laundry and drying facilities, 5 euros for the washing machine which included detergent, and 2 euros for the dryer. Usual sinks for washing clothes and a separate one for utensils and dishes.

WIFI was reasonable considering it is free. Unless you have a large satellite dish there is no TV reception and have to say we did not miss it at all. The site is kept clean by Juan and his wheelbarrow which is always somewhere to be seen on the site. The site supermarket is very basic, but there is an excellent Coviran shop run by very friendly Chinese people and you have get most of what you may need there. For big shops the supermarkets are about 20 miles away.

The beach is black sand and quite stoney so shoes are needed. The sea is quite cold about 14C but we managed a swim or two on the warmer days (it was December). We met some lovely people staying on the site and it attracts people from all over Europe. People have commented on the amount of plastic greenhouses surrounding the site but please don't be put off as they are not noticeable from the site. Plenty of good walks along the coast either way especially for spotting the wild Ibex goats on the hills. The hills have many walking paths and you can get wonderful views from the top.

If you have a car there is plenty to do around and about. Our favourite visit was to Polopos which is about 10 miles from the site and 3, 000ft high. It was featured in a Dutch reality programme, which has breathed new life into the town. It is a lovely way to spend a day as it is so quiet.

If it is peace and quiet you are looking for, this is a more traditional Spanish area and well worth a visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope to be back later this year for a full month or so. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Photo4x4 16 reviews from this member

 Camping castillo de Banos is a smaller site with around 200 pitches, and it attracts a cadre of UK winter season visitors, plus the C&CC Winter Sun Rally. It is set about 2km off the new E15 motorway and is next to the newly reconstructed N-340, so access is easy for larger motorhomes and caravans alike. Don’t worry about traffic noise as the motorway is behind the hills and the N-340 only carries local traffic. We never even noticed that the road was there. The entrance is wide with a bit of a slope, but this is easily negotiated and there is plenty of room to park up whilst you are booking in.

Each pitch has its own drainage (so make sure you take your waste hose extensions) and there is a shared fresh water tap for each two pitches. If you have a ‘splitter’ you can permanently attach your unit. If not, you won’t have far to go to fill your Aquaroll (other makes are available). The taps are just a few inches off the ground so you can’t put your Aquaroll underneath, therefore you will need a short length of hose. We purchased a 7. 5m ‘expandable’ hose pipe from a hardware shop in Motril for €13. 50, so were able to fill up the Aquaroll without disconnecting or moving it. This made life much easier and will be a useful bit of kit to carry with us.

There is also an EHU between each two pitches, so you won’t need a huge extension EHU lead, I used a 15m lead. The plugs are the standard UK type. The EHU points are in a plastic tree stump (honestly) which is good because the plugs go in a ‘branch’ hole at the bottom and are away from the rain and wet. The pitches are numbered and are separated by a small hedge, and many have trees for shade in the summer. These hedges and trees seem to be regularly pruned and clipped so that they don’t get in the way of the units getting on or off the pitches.

There has been a complete refurbishment of the ‘facilities’ block, centrally located on the site, with the result that it is bang up to date, with each shower unit having its own dressing area and seat. There are facilities for doing your laundry by hand and also three washing machines and three tumble driers for doing your laundry by hand and also three washing machines and three tumble driers (€5 for the wash and €2 for the tumble dryer – prices as at April 2019). The chemical toilet disposal point is easy to use. There are also washing-up basins and every third one has hot water. The facilities block was kept immaculately clean.

You can choose pitches on the north side of the site, the central area or the south side next to the beach. We went for the south next to the beach and enjoyed going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the sea. There is access to the shingle and black sand beach from the site. You can surf from the beach and at times there were some large breaking waves. It is also good for walking your dog.

The pitches at the north side seemed to drain well. We did get a bit waterlogged next to the beach when there were the occasional storm downpours, however the pitch did dry up quite quickly. I suppose that there would only be a problem if there were a period of prolonged rain.

Other on-site facilities include a couple of boules pitches, two charcoal/wood BBQs and a swimming pool (unheated). The pool is a good size and has a slide and a waterfall. There are plastic loungers for you to use. There is free wi-fi throughout the site which worked well for us.

The site is well lit at night with small ‘street lamps’, which also adds to the feeling of security.

There is a bar, a restaurant, a small shop and even an ATM on site. The village is a 5-minute walk away and there is a very good small supermarket there that will cater for most of you needs. The area has some of the plastic green houses, indeed there are two next to the site, however they are all but invisible when on the site and certainly do not detract from the ambience.

To sum up, Camping castillo de Banos, is a quiet, friendly and relaxing site, within easy reach of all that the Costa del Tropical has to offer It makes a nice change from the massive, 2, 000 pitch megasites further along the coast. Prices vary depending on how long you stay, our 4 week stay cost about €15 per night for a caravan and two people plus dog. Would we return? Yes, most certainly. 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Milliebear2016 8 reviews from this member

 Camping Castillo de Banos is situated on a narrow coastal strip with mountains to its back and the Med to its front. It has a small beach which unless cleaned up by environmentally aware campers, contains the rubbish discarded by fishermen, locals and tourists alike. All around it is surrounded by and butted up to large plastic polytunnels, which are themselves surrounded by discarded vegetables and general refuse/detritus. The ramblas are a disgrace.

Within walking distance there are two bar/restaurants and one small convenience store. Further away, but still within walking distance is the small village of La Mamola that has a bank, a pharmacy and a few more bar/restaurants. The local restaurants are distinctly lacking in any type of finesse and cannot be recommended at all. The convenience store has a curious line in fresh meat. It all appears to have been soaked in brine prior to sale and therefore is not only 'over plump' but incredibly salty. Beware the frozen fish which is also frozen in brine. You are paying for frozen saline!

The site itself is in dire need of investment and refurbishment. The bar/restaurant on site is dark and dingy with a distinctly dark and dingy clientele, who consist mainly of young males in hoodies who apparently live and work in the myriad of plastic tunnels. Only a small proportion of the washing up sinks, clothes washing sinks and personal washroom sinks have hot water taps. The showers are essentially open to the elements and the doors are old and rotting. Similarly the toilets are old and in dire need of replacement. The cleaning of said toilet/wash blocks takes place 6 days a week by a woman dressed as a slaughterhouse attendant in rubber boots, armed with an industrial hosepipe, with a cigarette permanently dangling from her lips. EVERYTHING is hosed down and that passes for cleaning. The pay for use WiFi was appalling, but whilst we were there they upgraded the server and made it free for all. It's still rubbish if you don't have a pitch within range but at least it's now free.

We managed to get out a few times but to be honest the area has little to commend it. Yes, you can go to the Alhambra, but it's not worth staying in Banos just to go to Granada. Stay in Granada instead. I wish I could say we would stay here again, but I can't. Even for a stopover. I would carry on driving and find something worthy of our money. The whole area has a sense of brooding deprivation and while I'm sorry for their plight, it doesn't mean that tourists should be considered 'fair game'. 


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Margwxs 1 review from this member

 Have stayed on this site for past 2 years and going again January 2012. We go on the C+CC rally. Shower and Toilet Facilities are good, and there is a separate shower/toilet for wheelchair users - key available from reception.

There is a bar restaurant on site, as well as shop selling basics, and fresh bread daily. The site has opening directly onto the beach, which is mainly pebble and grey sand. A short walk away is a village shop, and bar/restaurant.

There have been improvements made since our first visit, with roadways tarmacked, drainage to each pitch, and electricity upgrades.

There are a few chalets for rent but it is mainly used by touring units.

There is a weekly market about 5 miles away to the south and the village of La Mamola is about 1 mile north of the site.

If you want a nice quiet break then this is the site to choose. 


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 A fairly big site typical of the area - a grey sand beach right outside the camp entrance - not the nicest looking but typical of the area. The site is well set out with small roadways separating areas - pitches fairly generous size.

One shower / toilet block in the middle of site, clean and well kept and plenty adequate for site size.Individual shower cubicles with small changing areas.

Bar, restaurant and supermarket on site. Fresh bread sold daily. Wifi available €8 for 48 hours - good connections.

From most pitches you could see the sea - its literally 40ft away from the back pitches and the front pitches look directly onto the beach (although it is fenced between).

C&CC rally on site whilst we were there - friendly group who had organised activities. Work ongoing on site to put in running water to pitches, we had draining to our pitch as most other did.

This is a cracking site in this area - don't let the greenhouse farming in the area put you off - you cant see from the site and it really is a peaceful friendly site - at €13 with ACSI its a bargain too. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Castillo De Banos child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Castillo De Banos have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Castillo De Banos?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Castillo De Banos dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Castillo De Banos      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


400 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement