Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashaig Campsite Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Breakish > Ashaig Campsite Certificated Site Reviews

Ashaig Campsite Certificated Site
8 Ashaig
Breakish
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV42 8PZ
Tel: 01471 822771
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 C&CC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 01/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We've been advised by the site owner, that this campsite will not be opening in 2022 - it should reopen for the 2023 season. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobwad 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site. Friendly, peaceful and wonderful hot showers.

Great location near the beach and a lovely walk near the coast to Broadford.

Onsite coffee shop, knowledgeable owner.

Perfect. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Galem4 2 reviews from this member

 Basic but very clean facilities. Eggs on morning (honesty box). Short walk to beautiful beach. Friendly owners.

We Loved it. Dogs loved it. Shop not far away.

An overall great location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nzmichaelarosenz 1 review from this member

 We arrived late, lost and without a booking. The customer service + friendliness of staff were out of this world exceptional.

Tom showed us all the facilities even while it was pouring down with rain; this place has everything you need and is the perfect location to start off travelling Isle of Skye then to return back down the island, spend the night and depart

The showers are amazing too! They do cost; 20p per 2 mins but you donít need any longer than 60p for sure.

10/10 will stay here again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lofty007 12 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Breakish,

My self and wife found it very clean,

Very pleasant,

Quiet no road traffic problems,

Great views from the rear of the site,

Yes it is a quirky site as others have reviewed,

The owner and manager are very friendly and helpful.

Would not hesitate to stay again on our next Skye trip. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 118 reviews from this member

 A great campsite for exploring the Eastern end of Skye. It is right beside the main A87 road but we chose a pitch in a field well away from the traffic so the noise was not an issue, unlike the midges!

A wheel barrow is provided to help with luggage transportation. Initial impressions aren't great with some of the campsite resembling a builders yard with several stand alone toilets (some compost)and showers. Do not be put off.

Tom, the owner, is one of the nicest guys you'll meet and the quirky nature of the site just reflects his personality. The main toilet and shower rooms run off 20ps. The £6 pppn charge when staying 3 nights or more is very reasonable too.

There are shops and takeaways at Broadford. Visit Breakish at low tide (walking distance). There is an old well here and even some limestone pavements. Elgol and Kyle Rhea are also worth a visit.

So, in summary, not a classic Skye site, but well worth a stay if you want a good site to explore this end of The island 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 22114 11 reviews from this member

 This is the first campsite you arrive at on Skye when crossing the bridge - about 4/5 miles in. It is situated on the A87 (left hand side if coming from bridge). The entrance sign for the site is quite small, so keep your eyes peeled.

The site itself is as advertised, small peaceful and rustic, with a laid back atmosphere.

You have hard standing pitches with hook up, there is also a grass area for tents and some hook ups. The facilities, you have shower and toilets in the main building, there is also the same in wooden huts.

It's about 3 miles from Broadford where you have a decent sized co-op with petrol station. Post office, pharmacy, fish and chip shop and a few other small shops. On Skye you can get on or off a bus anywhere on the island, just stick your arm out. The A87 where site is situated is on the bus routes.

The owner and manager of the site are both real friendly and run the site really well, helped me out big time with my van (don't buy a T25!). All in all a great site and open all year! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: GeorginaH 1 review from this member

 Our favourite campsite through our trip to Skye. We used to start and finish our journey around the island as it was in a perfect location. This campsite has everything you could ask for and the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. The bathroom and shower facilities were always spotless.

Great value for money. It was our first night in our rented camper van and the host help us set up the electric etc which we were incredibly grateful about.

I would highly recommend this campsite and would like to go back again one day. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 636 reviews from this member

 We used this site a good few years ago, came back and found its not really changed.

There are several hard-standing pitches, all a good size with ehu. These are too the left of the main building and there seems to be a further pitching area on the right but we didn't use that.

All pitches had ehu, there was easy access to fresh water fill and a chem disp. The moho waterdump is just stopping over a certain point on the campsite roadway - but water drains away so it does what is says.

Toilets and showers were clean, even though site was busy we didn't see any queues. One shower is in side the block - uses 20p coins dependant on how long you want, the other shower is a wooden outhouse with a £1 coin meter for 10 minutes hot water.

The price seems to have increased a fair bit as previous reviews were quoting £13 with ehu - we paid £20 with ehu, showers were extra. There isn't any wifi on site.

Its a good campsite, very much a work in progress but its friendly, clean and more than a little quirky - and we would use it again even though prices are rising there. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Markphelan 19 reviews from this member

 We paid a flying visit for just 1 night to this site on our way through Skye. It was very quiet, and the sign outside said they were closed - however we discovered that they'll allow people to make arrangements in advance during the low season.

Like others we weren't sure if we had the right place as we drove in past piles of old machinery and metal but once inside it was a nice campsite with the hardstanding area broken up by trees. The camping field is quite spacious but a little bit bumpy and I think you have to park away from your pitch but it's not too far to carry things.

The facilities were basic, but fine. I'm not sure how much of a queue there would be if the place was busy but we had no issues.

It's well situated just off the road and has nice walks down to Lower Breakish and the beaches and was a short drive to the large Co-op and petrol station.

The owner wasn't around but the guy who was looking after the place was very pleasant and helpful - even offering use of the landline phone to check if the ferries were running in the bad weather. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashaig Campsite Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashaig Campsite Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashaig Campsite Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Breakish      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3356 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement