Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashaig Campsite Certificated Site ( C&cc Members Only )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Breakish > Ashaig Campsite Certificated Site ( C&cc Members Only ) Reviews

Ashaig Campsite Certificated Site ( C&cc Members Only )
8 Ashaig
Breakish
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV42 8PZ
Tel: 01471 822771
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 C&CC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 88 reviews from this member

A great campsite for exploring the Eastern end of Skye. It is right beside the main A87 road but we chose a pitch in a field well away from the traffic so the noise was not an issue, unlike the midges! A wheel barrow is provided to help with luggage transportation. Initial impressions aren't great with some of the campsite resembling a builders yard with several stand alone toilets (some compost)and showers. Do not be put off. Tom, the owner, is one of the nicest guys you'll meet and the quirky nature of the site just reflects his personality. The main toilet and shower rooms run off 20ps. The £6 pppn charge when staying 3 nights or more is very reasonable too.

There are shops and takeaways at Broadford. Visit Breakish at low tide (walking distance). There is an old well here and even some limestone pavements. Elgol and Kyle Rhea are also worth a visit.

So, in summary, not a classic Skye site, but well worth a stay if you want a good site to explore this end of The island

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 22114 11 reviews from this member

This is the first campsite you arrive at on Skye when crossing the bridge - about 4/5 miles in. It is situated on the A87 (left hand side if coming from bridge). The entrance sign for the site is quite small, so keep your eyes peeled.

The site itself is as advertised, small peaceful and rustic, with a laid back atmosphere.

You have hard standing pitches with hook up, there is also a grass area for tents and some hook ups. The facilities, you have shower and toilets in the main building, there is also the same in wooden huts.

It's about 3 miles from Broadford where you have a decent sized co-op with petrol station. Post office, pharmacy, fish and chip shop and a few other small shops. On Skye you can get on or off a bus anywhere on the island, just stick your arm out. The A87 where site is situated is on the bus routes.

The owner and manager of the site are both real friendly and run the site really well, helped me out big time with my van (don't buy a T25!). All in all a great site and open all year!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We used this site a good few years ago, came back and found its not really changed.

There are several hard-standing pitches, all a good size with ehu. These are too the left of the main building and there seems to be a further pitching area on the right but we didn't use that.

All pitches had ehu, there was easy access to fresh water fill and a chem disp. The moho waterdump is just stopping over a certain point on the campsite roadway - but water drains away so it does what is says.

Toilets and showers were clean, even though site was busy we didn't see any queues. One shower is in side the block - uses 20p coins dependant on how long you want, the other shower is a wooden outhouse with a £1 coin meter for 10 minutes hot water.

The price seems to have increased a fair bit as previous reviews were quoting £13 with ehu - we paid £20 with ehu, showers were extra. There isn't any wifi on site.

Its a good campsite, very much a work in progress but its friendly, clean and more than a little quirky - and we would use it again even though prices are rising there.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Markphelan 19 reviews from this member

We paid a flying visit for just 1 night to this site on our way through Skye. It was very quiet, and the sign outside said they were closed - however we discovered that they'll allow people to make arrangements in advance during the low season.

Like others we weren't sure if we had the right place as we drove in past piles of old machinery and metal but once inside it was a nice campsite with the hardstanding area broken up by trees. The camping field is quite spacious but a little bit bumpy and I think you have to park away from your pitch but it's not too far to carry things.

The facilities were basic, but fine. I'm not sure how much of a queue there would be if the place was busy but we had no issues.

It's well situated just off the road and has nice walks down to Lower Breakish and the beaches and was a short drive to the large Co-op and petrol station.

The owner wasn't around but the guy who was looking after the place was very pleasant and helpful - even offering use of the landline phone to check if the ferries were running in the bad weather.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chaz N Jen 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights for a chilled weekend on Skye. Pitched a tent with great weather and great fare prices. Fantastic site, free to pitch anywhere you like in the large camping field. Plenty of open spaces for tents and caravans.

The facilities were spotless and heated which is a real bonus when your camping towards the end of the season, with showers that were nice and hot. Another bonus is the heat racks for those wet days out.

Great views of Ashaig beach and the mountains in the distance.

Nearest town is about 4 miles away which has all the basic things you need and a small co-op.

Really nice and helpful owner, always about when you need him for advice or just someone to talk to about the surrounding areas.

There's also information for those who haven't arrived by vehicle or who are backpackers, for taxis and the local bus with times which is helpful for those who need to go into the nearby towns.

I would recommend this campsite for those who enjoy roughing it outdoors, what you see is what you get, and for us, it was perfect.

Will definitely be back again.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bizzielizzie1958 2 reviews from this member

The entrance to the site is not good full of junk, old metal, and a derelict old Croft house etc we weren't sure we were in the right place at first but once inside the site it's a little gem.

Stunning views, beach just across the way. Loads of places to walk doggies.

A perfect location just 4 -5 miles from the Skye bridge.

Only two showers and loos but kept very clean. Plenty of hot water, This site does exactly what it says on the tin. Easy jet not British airways

Value for money only £13 a night with hook up. Pitches are flat and drained well after rain.

Great base for touring. Nice people running the site

Would definitely come back to this site if we come back to the lovely Isle of Skye.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keanelin 1 review from this member

Just returned after a very windy and rainy week in Skye, however this site is a great base.

The toilets and showers are the cleanest I have ever had on a campsite. The old static where you can sit and eat, prep food and use the toaster kettle was great, especially for those walking/ cycling so in very small tents. Loads of info on the local area is available, really clean site. Exceptionally nice views of the mainland, islands and Cullins.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Borthw1ck 1 review from this member

We have just returned to Cardiff from a 7 night stay at Ashaig camp site. What a great little site this turned out to be for our return to camping holidays.

It is everything the owner Tom says it is in his thumbnail description of the site. Both he and manager Mal could not have been more helpful giving advice. The shower/toilet facilities are not extensive but are more that adequate and are kept exceptionally clean. There is a fridge, freezer and dish washing facilities on sie, all under cover. Broadford and Kyleakin are within a 10 minute drive of the site providing all the camper requires. The site is ideally situated for visiting all areas of the island. If you do not want to cook on site then go to The Waterfront cafe in Broadford, on the left just past the Co op or Hectors Bothy in Kyle, the food is to die for!. The charges were more than reasonable, £13. 00 per night which included electric hook up We will be back next year.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

My least favourite campsite of our 3 weeks away in Scotland and the Isle of Skye. Our pitch was on a gravel area with several other campervans/motorhomes simply parked couple of feet away from each other like in a car park. But we were only there 2 nights and it was just for sleeping as we were out all day, so it did the job. There were other, better pitches on the fully occupied site, but we were a last minute booking so took what we were given as we wanted to be in that area of Skye at that time.

The small shower/toilet block is clean & modern and there are other more rustic toilets and showers in sheds around the site if necessary.

The owner is very helpful and friendly.

We also stayed at Staffin Campsite and Kinloch Campsite during our time on Skye.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andyharvey 10 reviews from this member

Advertises itself as a quiet informal camp site and it is. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Shower and toilets clean and warm.

Fairly level gravel pitch, electric hook up if needed.

Very convenient place to explore Skye from. Seems quite popular the 'Totally full' sign went up shortly after we arrived having not booked. It was also full when we passed on the way home.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3421 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019