Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Pannell Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Bridge Of Weir > Pannell Farm Reviews

Pannell Farm
77 Kilbarchan Road
Bridge Of Weir
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
PA11 3RN
Tel: 01505 612480
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 9 Reviews
                6/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jane7 1 review from this member

 Would really recommend staying here!

Gorgeous place and amazing site facilities!

There is also a lovely park our children loved playing in!

We were only supposed to be staying 2 nights but ended up asking if we could extend it by another 2 nights as we had such a lovely time!

Thank you Pannell Farm! X 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: BogDodger 9 reviews from this member

 There has obviously been changes since some of the earlier reviews which should be discounted. The camping area is in a nicely mown gently sloping field, with good grass, set aside for tents.

There is a good indoor kitchen area with a useful kettle, microwave, dishwashing sink etc. Next to several shower rooms which are perfectly adequate.

The site makes for an excellent stop off en route to or from the Scottish Highlands and islands as it is only a 10 minute drive from the motorway.

It would also be very convenient if visiting Glasgow or for exploring the Clyde Muirshiel Regional Park where there are a number of good walks.

There is a good welcoming pub in Kilbarchan a few minutes drive, or 15 minute walk away. I would certainly stay here again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 266 reviews from this member

 Horrible! we were told to go in the area near the facilities which looked dated even though there is a date of 2014 above the door. We had to unhitch the caravan and use the mover to get through the entrance to this area. Perhaps they though they were doing us a favour by putting us near the facilities?

We were not told that there were roadworks and the road to the site was officially closed, had to phone rhem and were told that we could get through. They might have mentioned this, I only booked 2 days earlier.

Upon arrival I went to the house to pay as we were only staying 1 night. I knew the price was 23 but needs must as it was the only site in the right area. A lady appeared, grabbed the 20 note from my hand and disappeared. Five minutes later she reappeared and said 'are you only staying 1 night? then that is 23'. I had the 3 all ready to give her!

Oh used the shower, the electrics are installed the wrong way around.

There are no views, no dog walks really, only the fields.

Best to go to Linwood for supplies where there is a large Tesco and fuel.

You would have to shoot me first to make me stay here again, but as said, it makes a good stopover. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MHVirgins 1 review from this member

 We stayed here recently for a couple of nights whilst attending our daughter's wedding. Jessie and her family were very friendly and helpful on our arrival. The location was ideal for the wedding in the south side of Glasgow.

We will stay again when we go back up to visit our daughter. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 12 reviews from this member

 A review of contrasts. Not far from being both 'very good stopping off place, will be back' and 'never again'!

This is not a caravan site, so don't expect one. It's a farm setting which stores 30/40 caravans next to a large hard standing area where caravans can pitch with electric hook-up. The hard standing cover is pretty heavy duty rubble with weeds around the edges. The shower/toilet block is good and the shower/ toilet/ sink cubicles are very good (but no hooks for hanging clothes!)

Good track for walking dogs.

Stayed two nights because we couldn't get in the site near Largs and it was the nearest. The first night was fine but on returning the second evening the owner had pitched three tents of 'maw, paw, and the weans' within touching distance of us on the only strip of grass being used for camping. Because of the noise we decided to move our van at 9. 30 pm to the other end of the rubble covered area and it was ok, though the noise continued until 11. 30pm so I'm not sure about the rules of staying at Pannell Farm.

It's position is good for visiting Glasgow, Ayrshire, etc, but our experience wasn't very good. That is down to how the owner used the space that is available and maybe our bad luck regarding the rowdy group who were next to us.

This is a working farm with caravan storage, B&B and holiday cottages and I think that caravanners and campers are of secondary importance.

Also. 20 per night to stay in what really is a farm/caravan storage area?

We moved on to a farm site nearer Largs. 14 per night and a lovely location.

With some more thought it could be greatly improved. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ackrell 1 review from this member

 I recently stayed here for a week during April, after reading some of the reviews I was quiet sceptical, but when I got there it was nothing like the bad reviews, the owner was very welcoming and professional, the facilities they provide are much much better than some other camp sites I have stayed at, free hot shows, kettle, microwave and cleaning area available, there is also a washing machine and tumble dryer available if it's required, the area assigned for camping was perfect, well maintained, clean and clear.

Couldn't be happier, I would happily recommend this camp site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elaine Bedford 1 review from this member

 Had to write a review to balance out the opinions on this site! We stayed here this summer when visiting the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow as it had a great location, a short drive from Lochwinnoch station which is about 15 minute from Glasgow Central. The camping field is lovely - no live animals and views of surrounding trees etc. The facilities are clean and well looked after. There is a small playground (well maintained) enough to keep our two occupied (7 and 10). We were desperate for somewhere to stay as most other sites within a drive of Glasgow were full (due to the Commonwealth Games) but initially rejected it because of the reviews - however, if we wanted to stay in the area again, we would definitely go back. Perfect location for Glasgow, good facilities - what more could you want. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glen78 6 reviews from this member

 I stayed here in 2012 whilst cycling lands end to John O groats. I camped at many places but this was the worst. The owner was friendly but essentially you are charged 8 to camp in a farmers field.

- The field had livestock in it (whilst we were camped there) and so poo was everywhere.

- The ground was not just grass but a mixture of brambles and other plants (which felt like could pierce the ground sheet)

- There was not entrance to the field (we had to hop over the fence to get in and out)

- The slope was at a 25 degree angle and so impossible to sleep without moving

Showers and toilets etc. Were ok but that does not make up for the state of the pitch. Essentially as I said above this is just a farmers field with little effort spend to make it usable for campers. Whilst this may be ok if it was billed as such, charging 8 a person is more than most proper campsites. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mags0152 26 reviews from this member

 Most sites have something to commend them but this is really not a caravan site at all. It is a huge storage area with a gravel space in the middle where you can 'park anywhere' as the owner told us.

Old caravans, uncut grass and a selection of old farm machinery litter the place and we were kept awake until very late by teenagers driving loudly around on a quad bike. The area is lovely but you see none of it from this miserable depressing corner of a farm.

Two more positive things to mention. The lady who met us when we arrived was friendly and the shower was hot and generous but as there are only two showers in total for what is advertised as a large site we were fortunate to be one of very few outfits there. The others appeared to be occupied by working men and their caravans were pitched up within inches of surrounding stored outfits. A serious fire risk but they seemed unconcerned.

If the owners wish to advertise this as a caravan site then they really need to create a pleasant space for people to pitch. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pannell Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pannell Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pannell Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridge Of Weir      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5962 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements