Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Aux Ecureuils

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Camping Aux Ecureuils Reviews

Camping Aux Ecureuils
100, Avenue De La Pege
St Hilaire De Riez
Vendee
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85270
Tel: 0033 02 51 54 33 71
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Cazgallagher 1 review from this member

Lovely site!

10 minute walk to a beautiful deserted sandy beach (on a busy day there were 14 other families on the whole expanse of beach)

Great swimming pools, not huge but big enough for everyone who wanted to to use them. Lovely little lazy river and water slide that kept my teens happy for hours while I relaxed on a sunbed with a book or two. Bar and icecreams on sale beside the pool, a bit pricey but nothing too bad.

Caravan unit was lovely and clean and fully stocked with decent useable equipment. (No running off to borrow a can opener here!) plentiful supply of hot water and the shower worked well. A nice little radio/Bluetooth speaker was supplied keeping those teens happy again!

Gas or charcoal BBQs were supplied to each van with free charcoal or gas.

Onsite shop supplies the basics (at great expense) but also supplies fresh breads and croissants in the morning- yummy! There is also a very nice restaurant 'Amys House' on site which serves delicious food.

The site next door has a shop with plenty more stock and selection at a slightly better price, however less than 5 mins drive up the road into the resort centre is a Hyper-U supermarket that sells everything you would ever need with lovely friendly staff that speak a little English and didn't mind my awful schoolgirl French!

Evening entertainment when we went (May half term) wasn't exciting, and the disco that was on one night really wasn't worth getting dressed up for!

People seemed to be happier sitting on their deck with family and friends rather than go to the clubhouse in the evenings.

The facilities at this site are good, the shower blocks are brilliant with lashings of hot water and a few times we used those rather than the shower in the caravan.

My only gripe was paying 3. 50 for an hours very shakey wifi which cut off after 45 mins. But I think it did me good to not be permanently attached to my phone for a week!

My 13 year old daughter and her friend had a great time and want to go again.

If 2 teens approve, it's got to be good!

People who had tents supplied or brought their own seemed very comfortable with all that was there.

I would definitely recommend this site to anyone, whether camping, caravanning or using the static units on site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

Myself, my partner, my 9yo daughter and our 15yo niece spent 6 nights here in July.

On arrival it was very easy - owners speak English which helps! Wardens extremely helpful. I have an 8. 5M rig and they were really accommodating getting the van parked, even going to cutting off tree branches!

Pitch itself was a good size - probably 100+sqm - and we had ehu and water. Although the site was busy and we had a central pitch, we never felt overlooked or intruded and certainly had all the privacy we could want.

The toilet blocks were very good, clean and well laid out - toilet paper issue was a bit odd but apparently I was told not uncommon in France (although we never encountered it again on this trip!).

Swimming pool area kept the kids very entertained - either sunbathing in the case of the 15yo or playing in the pool for the 9yo. Had to be careful though as it was very hot (31+ on a few days) and sun cream was definitely the order of the day.

There are some shops and a supermarket about a km away, although I thought the supermarket seemed quite expensive.

The beach is also very nice and only a short walk across some dunes - we picnicked on the beach one day (managing to drag the girls from the pool) but would concede the pool is a little less aggravation.

We really enjoyed our stay here and it will always have fond memories for us as this was our first trip to France in our RV.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MandySS 2 reviews from this member

We spent a lovely week here in June, in a Eurocamp tent ~ I'm not here to review Eurocamp, but would say I would 100% go with them again.

The site was nicely placed, a short walk over the dunes to the beach ( quite hard going, and not easy if you had a pushchair ). We parked our car on the Saturday and did not touch it again until we left, we used our cycles to get around and do our shopping etc. The shop on site is small with just the basics, but we were there in early season. They do however have lovely fresh bread etc and there is a supermarket within walking distance up the road. The shop also does takeaway food, pizza etc, we didn't have any but it smelt lovely !

The toilet block was spotless, but be prepared with your own loo roll as none is provided and there are no toilet seats, but that makes for easier cleaning and it was always totally spotless. The showers were fine, plenty of hot water. Not all the cubicles were open as again it was low season and they were not all required.

We did not use the bar but saw that there was a play area for children and a pool table and air hockey table at the back for older people !

The pools were great, we especially liked the indoor pool as the outdoors was a bit chilly. There were 2 x slides and a small lazy river + a children's area with a frame and slide. My only thought on the pools would be that it would be nice to have an hour or so either end of the day for over 18 only. Just a wish !

The camp staff / Eurocamp staff were very friendly & helpful, lots of English and Irish on the site.

The area for static homes looked to us a bit crowded but we were not staying there and our pitch was great with just the right amount of sun and shade.

There is a tennis court @ 2 euros an hour, a children's play area and 3 x table tennis tables. We were disappointed with the boule court (behind the shop) as it was very rough gravel and we couldn't play very well.

Overall an excellent site for young children and toddlers, not sure it would be teenage friendly but again we were low season so it may provide more in high season.

Fantastic cycle tracks right on your door step and easy access to the many beaches made this a really lovely break.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrea2002 4 reviews from this member

We have now returned to this site for the 3rd time (very unusual for us) this time with our own trailer tent. My comments from my earlier review all still stand.

Although the weather was not great, the site was. The toilet blocks were immaculatly kept (it wasn't busy but there was always someone around cleaning them) as were the pitches.

The pitches are quite sandy, even early in the season, so I would imagine they would be very sandy later on - however despite 24 hours of very high winds, everything stayed put (the sub soil is very firm). It also means the pitches dried very quickly after rain.

The pitches are generally square, a good 100sqm with EHU, water and drainage. They are all close to the sanitation blocks, and separated by hedges.

We arrived just after 12, when reception was shut, but you just pop along to the house and they sorted us out.

We went and had a look at some other sites while we were there (we can't go back 4 year's can we?) but came to the conclusion that this is one of the best for our needs (with 2 young children, wanting a decent sized pitch fairly close to the beach but not too noisy). There were lots of couples on the site as well as families over for half term, so we might be going again next year to see what it is like in August (hopefully it will be a bit warmer!)

The pool has rules but isn't supervised, and so they don't seem to be enforced. There were a couple of occasions of high spirits from some English children (bombing down the slides mainly), and it was a pity nothing was said to them as they did scare the little ones, but they did calm down.

Feel free to get in touch is you have any specific questions.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Manda185 2 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay here in August. Most of details is covered by above comment however our experience was that it is very much an English campsite as almost everyone there was from good old blighty. Met some lovely people and staff were helpful too.

There is a noise issue with the next door site's outdoor late night disco but that is to be expected when the campsites are so close together. We found the area to be very busy and traffic always a problem getting in or out of St Hilaire.

The pitch for a tourer or tent is reasonable however have had much bigger pitches inland. Would bring a broom too as the leaves from the trees cluttered up the pitch towards end of August. There are lots of cycle routes just outside the campsite.

The main reason we would return would be the fantastic swimming area with the lazy river and numerous slides all of which we loved every day of our stay.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Veema 12 reviews from this member

Just got back from 2 weeks on this site. We had already booked and paid for static accommodation before we bought our folding camper.

The site is one of the best sites we have been to in this area, although the static pitches are fairly cramped together.

The pool complex is great, lots to entertain children of all ages, from tots to teens. It isn't a supervised pool, however, and on occassions it did get a bit rowdy with some of the older teens. There are sunbeds and chairs around the pool, but you've got to be keen to get there and get your towel on one if you stand any chance of getting one. It is immaculately clean. It also doesn't specify the use of conventional swimwear, so swimming shorts are okay for the blokes, unlike many of the pools in France where trunks must be worn.

There is a large play area for the children, again accomodating all ages really, it is also away from the entrance to the site (unusually)so feels quite safe for the children.

The bar is open most evenings, but apart from the kids disco on Wednesdays, there is little noise coming from it, so we enjoyed nice peaceful evenings and we were located directly opposite it.

Although we were in a static, we did check out the touring pitches, which were a good size and had some surrounding hedges for privacy. The shower / toilet block was sparkling clean, with plenty of showers, toilets and washing up / laundry sinks. There was even a couple of ceramic baby baths with directional shower heads, which is just great for young children and toddlers (we really need these on sites in this country). The main showers were the push button type, but had variable heat controls and had good pressure.

There is a small shop and take away on site (the pizzas we encountered were rank, so can't recommend them), but the frites good. There is also a wine shop which does free wine tasting sessions. There is a larger supermarket within walking distance.

The beach is just across the road and a short 300m walk over the dunes - it's a great beach, shallow sea even when the tide is fully in.

There's restaurants within walking distance and the towns of St Jean de Monts and St Giles are a short drive away.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on this site and would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Andrea2002 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for the second time in June 2011 (with Eurocamp), and are going to return with our new trailer tent this year.

The site is brilliant for the children (were 4 and 2. 5) as they loved the water slides, lazy river etc. The weather was not as good in 2011 as in 2012, so the indoor pool was a great blessing.

We took bikes this year (seats for children on the back) and so only used the car for a couple of big supermarket trips. There are cycle paths to both St Gilles (10km) and St Jean de Monts (about 6m) as well as through the forests.

The children did find the walk to the beach through the dunes a bit tough - but about 0. 5km from the site entrance is the main beach entrance which avoids walking through the dunes so is much easier. You could also get a pushchair on the beach from here if necessary.

The on site playground is also good, although we did find the equipment too hot to use the previous year when it was sunnier.

Despite the weather (mainly dry but colder than expected - around 18 degrees and sometimes windy), we found the site and local environs were sufficient to keep us all entertained.

At this time of year, the site is very quiet.

The toilet blocks and showers are all very nice, and immaculate (although not busy in early June).

You should be aware that early season there are restricted opening times of the on site facilities and the local supermarket.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Vendee      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3424 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019