Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dacre Lakeside Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Dacre Lakeside Park
Brandesburton
Driffield
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO25 8RT
Tel: 01964 543704
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 240
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 10 Reviews
                6/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bjames839 15 reviews from this member

The missus' daughter had bought us a 'glamping experience' in a pod, so we decided to go to Dacre to use it up. Nice clean site, beautifully situated on a lake. The pods were clean, and as we'd never tried it before, I have to say they were quite pleasant. There's 2 sockets inside and a heater, but nothing else, so you'd have to bring your own bedding, mattress and cooking equipment as required. As we were only staying the one night we used 'Bert's', the Italian restaurant on site. I know Bert doesn't sound very Italian but don't let that put you off as the food we had was delicious, 10 out of 10. The staff were very friendly at reception and were able to give us a good map of a cycle route for us to do. Unfortunately, yours truly forgot to take it and we ended up going for miles, got soaked in a sub-tropical storm, and had to cycle back one of the busiest roads known to man! The ablutions for the pods were clean and we didn't have to queue, always a good thing! I didn't see the facilities for the caravanners, which we'd normally have used, but if they were anything like the pods, no worries either. Nice little village nearby with a chippy, chinese and a couple of pubs. What more could you want from a short break?!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HappyCampers11 2 reviews from this member

We would not recommend you stay at this site if camping with a tent. There was no washing up facilities, a very basic toilet block which was a long walk across the 'golf course'.

Only 1 toilet & 2 showers for men & 2 showers & 2 toilets for ladies, the sinks are tiny with a shelf above so unable to brush your teeth or have a wash.

When we arrived we was told to pitch on the field as you entered the site, this turned out to be the side of the golf course which was open to the general public walking their dogs, therefore our belongings weren't safe.

Brandesburton village was within walking distance, which was a very nice quiet village with a few country pubs, local shop & Chinese restaurant / takeaway.

£16 per night per tent was not value for money as we had to pay extra for showers, which we was informed as we arrived but wasn't informed that we couldn't purchase the tokens until reception was open at 10am every morning, and the facilities where very poor, no hairdrying facilities for ladies.

All tents had to be regimented, car tent car tent even though the field was nearly empty. This was a big let down as we was told group bookings where welcome.

This campsite is more suitable for caravans & the log cabins for hire.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ennaloc 4 reviews from this member

We had a lovely time here with 2 nights in our tent with our two boys 3yrs and 5yrs the wardens were very friendly and the clubhouse was great the showers for the tents weren't the cleanest or the best but they were usable I don't think they were cleaned the whole time we were there

The grassy area for the tents is small but is close to the lake and very usable (not so safe if you have little children as there is no fence or boundary your just straight into the lake). We have quite a large tent and never felt cramped.

The only downside for us was that the warden had his family /friends staying in some tents close by to us and they were extremely loud and kicking balls around and dogs running around untill the early hours.

The village of brandsburton is only a five minute walk away and has the best fish and chips we had tasted for a while! With only a few small gripes we would return overall it was a very pleasant stay and good value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeanm 27 reviews from this member

I have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years and this site is a fantastic hidden gem! The wardens are accommodating and very friendly. The bar superb. The lake lovely and quite safe. (Safety equipment is provided free of charge) It has nice walks nearby.
Toilets and showers are spotless. No kids playing area although whilst we were there we made good use of the large field opposite the club house and played good old fashioned rounders and ball games with the kids to which no one objected.
This site is very handy for Hull, Beverley and many east riding villages. Would definitely recommend!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorkirob 2 reviews from this member

We just had a couple of nights here with a couple of friends.
Lovely site, nice and clean & quiet, only a small area for 20 tents the rest was caravans & lodges surrounding the big lake.
Small shower block for campers was adequate, 20p token for a shower just lasted and 20p for hair dryer.
Over at the bigger block for the caravans, ironing facilities washers & cutlery wash tubs good.
Small log cabin bar with pool table.
5 minute walk into town where two pubs do meals Chinese & fish/chip restaurants couple good shops.
Only negative for me not a lot for the kids to do, no park play area aimed more for adults me thinks.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mick + Linda 1 review from this member

Nice site and location. Wonderful lakeside pitches, especially for fishermen. Friendly staff and well maintained site. Only bad bits please sought out the toilet block although clean you get approx 5 minutes to use at night before the lights go out on you. Also water temp only just tepid (I think this is turned down after the weekenders have left)

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dollyd 2 reviews from this member

I spent 3 nights here in May last year. Nice site set in lovely countryside and close to plenty of places to visit. We had a nice pitch overlooking the lake too. Not a bad word to say about this site really apart from the shower block was freezing when you got out of the shower! But thats not a hardship is it

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lh01482 2 reviews from this member

This site is absolutely amazing, recommend it to anyone who fancies an easy couple of weeks rest. The view is excellent and anyone who has been before will say the same thing. You should check it out if you live near by because you literally will be stunned. The fishing is excellent as well for anyone who is interested in that. There is a good fish shop and a nice pub in the village about a three minute walk down the road. There is also a clubhouse and you can do sailing and just take a long walk around the 6 acre site. I go nearly every summer and in the winter I miss it a lot.

Date of Visit: July 2004
Reviewer: michelle.B 1 review from this member

A good clean site , we were pitched behind the shop - a great area for small groups (we were in a convoy of 6 families). Children must wear a life jacket if going into the water. We didn't visit the club. No ball games allowed near the caravans and field was a long way off. Staff were friendly. Good chip shop, chinese and pub near by.

Reviewer: The 2 Alis 5 reviews from this member

September 2003
We visited the site on a rally. The weather was fantastic. We were pitched opposite the water, what a fantastic view. The toilets are excellent. We would deffinately return.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019