Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nethergong Nurseries Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Nethergong Nurseries Camping
Nethergong Hill
Upstreet
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4DN
Tel: 07901368417
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gary anderson 1 review from this member

The best camping we have done.

The tent, bedding, awning and stove that we got were amazing. The owners were the friendliest most helpful people we have EVER dealt with on a camping site. Couldn't recommend more.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoggingHippo 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights during half term with Wife and Son. Christine and Jed are very welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. It was my first trip with a trailer and once parked in the reception area, I knew I was going to have difficulty manoeuvring out. Jed suggested unhitching and then re-hitching, by the time I had moved the car into the lane, Jed had virtually wheeled the trailer to the car.

No designated pitches as such and we managed to pitch close to friends who were by chance also camping there the same weekend. Lovely campsite, loads of space for the kids to roam around and ride their bikes. Lake was a particular draw to the kids and we all had a lot of fun catching small carp.

Fresh bread and croissants can be ordered on certain mornings and wood delivered to you tent for the evening camp fire.

Lots of the usual wildlife, plus saw an Owl and bats. On Saturday night the clouds finally cleared and we managed to see the ISS pass over twice whilst sitting round the camp fire, it was a late one ;-)

My only observation on improving it would be that there could be a few more toilets/showers. Only 2 of each for the gents plus 1 sink serving the majority of the site. There was the occasional queue and could get worse in busier times. There are a few more near reception (but quite a bit of a walk) Although this is where you will find the outdoor shower which I just had to use for the novelty factor :-)

One place definitely worth a visit (which I hadn't heard of before) is Wingham Wildlife Park. Only a 20/25 minute drive and lots to do and see!

Really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacfrosty 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here with our 9 year old grandson. Has done a lot to convert me to camping in England. It is just such a beautiful site. The 'loos' are certainly good enough for this rather particular Grandma. The owners so very nice and helpful. Seriously, I can't recommend it enough. Thank you for having us.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jwalkden 5 reviews from this member

We booked this site for 4 nights in August (me, hubby plus one dog). The site was chosen based on many of the positive reviews here and from info on their own website.

Positives

A friendly welcome from the young woman showing us around the site.

Plenty of open space in lovely countryside, a choice of where to pitch your tent. Can accommodate most tent sizes.

Great for families wanting a 'getting back to nature' camping experience.

Campfires allowed - firewood delivered if required.

Showers are not push button and are height adjustable. Plenty of hot water. Toilets had plenty of loo roll.

Shop on site - croissants avialable and delicious ice cream in tubs.

Freezer for recharging freezer blocks (as no electric hook up) plus a fridge & washer.

Great area for walks and not too far from pubs.

Small play area for young children.

Dog friendly site.

Campsite is not too far from Canterbury. Other places worth a visit are Whitstable (especially Whitstable Castle & gardens) Herne Bay & Hever Castle.

Negatives

Side road to get to camping areas on site very narrow - not enough room for 2 vehicles to get passed.

Toilet and shower blocks seemed to be really inadequate for number of families on the site when we were there. Only 2 toilets & 2 showers for men & ladies in closest block to our tent. The block closest to the reception didn't seem to offer much more. Would have benifited from having hooks behind toilet doors for a coat or dressing gown. Soap dispenser was soon empty but not replaced. Cabinet roller towel soon became all used up and saturated - not replaced whilst we were there. Showers flooded I guess due to being blocked, so tiles on floor were wet making it difficult to keep feet dry when dressing. Showers could have done with being cleaned! Only hooks over shower door for hanging clothing and towels (no little benches). Dead cockroach left on floor outside shower area. Very easy for insects such as hornets to find their way in - one hornet was on the shower curtain just as I was about to take a shower (so take a good look around before starting shower).

Elsan area needed some attention on the lid and the overgrowth of nettles around it (my husband got stung here whilst using the elsan)

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Trentdarby126 1 review from this member

My partner and I spent a single night staying in the Bell tent next to the fruit trees. The night cost us 70 but was worth every penny. The tent itself and all of the furnishings with it were of an excellent quality and set up wonderfully.

The actual site itself is stunning although it contains a number of open bodies of water that may not be suitable for younger children. The surrounding countryside is wonderful with a number of opportunities to walk for miles.

The new facilities are superb, with a fridge and freezer all available to use. They also have a small play are and an indoors are with board games in case the weather gets bad.

We are very looking forward to going again and aside from some small concerns about those taking very young children and its proximity to a small amount of road noise it is by a long way the best camp site we have stayed on so far. Wonderful and respectful owners with a stunning setting and very well kept facilities.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LWN2 2 reviews from this member

This is one of the best and largest campsites I have ever stayed on, with a good variety of places to pitch in. It is very quiet and rural with birdsong and occasional croaking frogs. Low light pollution meant wonderful starry night skies with the occasional bat flying around. The new facilities block was extremely good, with a fridge/freezer, a great hot water supply for washing up and fantastic showers!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sprucy 12 reviews from this member

I stayed with a friend at this campsite during the first week in September. This was on recommendation and I could see why. It's a lovely big site, tents only. The pitches aren't marked so you get plenty of space and the management does not object to groups. It's flat and there are a couple of small lakes for fishing. There are a large number of beautiful trees. The facilities are a bit basic and the main block is a long walk from one end of the site. However, the owners told us before we left that they were planning to have a new block installed in the New Year closer to that end. You can have a barbecue on your pitch and buy the wood on site. Young children looked happy, scampering about and looking for frogs. You can walk out to the Stodmarsh Nature Reserve from the site. We had a very good meal in the Gate Inn in Chislet. You can drive or walk there about half an hour across fields. Although the site is only about five miles from Canterbury it feels perfectly rural. All in all I would highly recommend this site to both families and child-free adults.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dumbblonde 1 review from this member

Just as per our last visit, Nethergong did not disappoint. Christine and Jed make everyone feel welcome and make you feel they enjoy talking to you. Our children love the wooded area and only return to the tent when they are hungry. It is great to know they are not far away and they enjoy their regular trips to the shop for ice creams and sweets to break up their woodland play. We looked at the new Bell tent and cabin next to the Gypsy caravan while we were there. We were impressed with both and have booked the Bell Tent for next year. Only one problem with Nethergong, we compare all other sites to it and none match up!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wurzel123 1 review from this member

This is my favourite campsite. It has the right balance between essential facilities and good, old fashioned camping for the fun of it. There are toilets and showers, which are regularly cleaned, but you never forget that you are actually shacking up in a field. I like that.

I like the one outdoor shower which has sides but no roof. Don't worry, the rest are indoors and have plentiful hot water. I like free showers, plug sockets for hair dryers, soap, hand washing towels and washing up liquid provided. It's friendly. I like not having electric hook up, which means no TVs or annoying gadget addicts next door. No caravans either :) I love being able to have a fire pit at night, going to feed the carp in the lake, catching frogs with a little net and bumbling up through the fields to the local riverside pub for a few too many pints of Thatchers. I like the children being able to do as they please as long as they don't wreck the trees or annoy other campers. They can explore, climb, fish, frog and collect fallen kindling as well as all the stuff to do at the nearby beaches. I love the fact that there is a large poly tunnel for when it's raining. If the kids get bored in the tent, they can play board games and Christine organises impromptu tea parties for soggy campers. With proper china cups! I love the views, the countryside and being close to beautiful towns and villages such as Whitstable, Canterbury, Sandwich and Deal.

I can understand why Jed, Christine and their family adore this place. They are wonderful hosts who are happy to sit back and let you relax without bombarding you with rules and regulations. There are no lines on the floor for you to put your car and tent between or neatly trimmed hedges in neat little rows. Hallelujah!

Luckily, this site seems to attract people who just want to chill rather than party all night. That said, there are usually hangovers wryly discussed at the washing up sinks most days. Must be the Thatchers.

Unless you are a glamper that needs to be entertained every minute of the day, you will love this site. A real little gem.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lily7570 1 review from this member

Love this campsite! It zoomed to the top of our favourites list immediately. The owners are so welcoming and walk you around the site discussing the pros and cons of all pitches. Lots of different areas to camp, in woods, near lake or main field to name but a few. We have 1son aged 5 and so welcomed an area where other children were to play football or sports. Wood is driven round to your tent for camp fires along with a fire pit. Toilets and showers were clean and ver adequate and some were new. Highlight for my son was the fishing lake. Every morning meet the owners by the lake to feed the fish and then my son sat for hours with a plain old kids fishing net regularly catching little fish. Site was full but there was a lot of lovely open space around.

Lovely walk easily following the directions given to a great pub on the river bank watching the boats.

Shop was stocked with all you might need or have forgotten. Veggies on offer to take home too was a nice touch.

We had a superb weekend. Can't wait to go back but it is often fully booked, so book early to avoid disappointment.

Oh and the rope/tyre swings were a hit!

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2002 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019