Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fangfoss Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Fangfoss Park Reviews

Fangfoss Park
Fangfoss
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO41 5QB
Tel: 01759 380491
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Wayne2143397otc 1 review from this member

 Great location. Tidy clean site with ample showers and toilets.

Good size pitches with no restrictions plenty of fresh water stations dotted about.

Only 1 issue I found was struggled to find places to empty waste water 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Granxclan 1 review from this member

 We stayed only one night due to members of our family doing a three day coast to coast for charity but we would have happily stayed longer. Lovely lady on reception (owner I believe)when we checked in, no hassle.

Told to pitch our two tents were ever we liked. Park was good for our younger ones aged between 12 to 3. Toilets were fine and clean. Dog walk was ideal. Site was very quiet.

Would definitely come back as also an ideal base for other towns. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Joanne Allott 1 review from this member

 I'm not normally one for leaving reviews but I wanted to say what a great time we had here.

We have just returned from a 3 night break in our caravan, we also stayed with my brother and his two children.

The site and owners were great. It's located just a short walk away from Fangfoss. The owners recommended a local park that we could ride to with our young campers. The park is a hidden gem, I would recommend having a walk or a ride here, especially if you have children.

We also cycled to Pocklington, a lovely town on the outskirts of York.

The site itself had great facilities, including a playground that the kids spent most of their time in. We stayed here during the restrictions from Coronavirus. The showers and toilets were open and always kept immaculate.

I would recommend this site and I am sure we will be back,

Thanks for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Weston5 6 reviews from this member

 First time visiting this site, stayed for a long weekend over the bank holiday. It is in a lovely quiet location. It's quite a large site but spaced out nicely so it didn't feel like a big site once we were pitched.

It is mostly seasonal caravanners and there were plenty of vans/pick-ups and campfires despite the website stating that both were not allowed. It also said that the entrance barrier would be closed between 10pm and 8am, however people were still coming and going.

The park/play area was great for the kids, they loved it and made some friends there. The facilities were adequate, with heating and hot showers that were free and no annoying push button, however they were quite smelly and dirty (same dirt was there all weekend) and could do with being updated.

Overall we had a lovely weekend and would return but would like to see the facilities spruced up a bit, or at least thoroughly cleaned. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mart153 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this site several times and enjoy its quiet, country location and relaxed atmosphere.

The site is quite extensive but separated into different areas, including one for adults only. Facilities are central and whilst adequate are getting rather tired and would benefit from a facelift. There is easy access to the old railway track which provides a level, if sometimes muddy, walk for about 1 mile. Great for dog-walking.

There are some hard-standing pitches and quite a lot of season pitches and so there is a sense of community as many campers know each other. There is a wash-up area with free hot (warm!) water available and washing machine. Site has a security gate too.

We will certainly be staying there again in future and would love to see a refurbished toilet block. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Glamper73 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site recently with family who have a seasonal pitch. Based on what I am told they are paying in fees, the facilities do not match up to these costs. The shower was good and warm but the whole block did not feel clean, and the smell from the drains is unacceptable.

On the whole I did not feel there was a decent standard of cleanliness, there were cobwebs, stray hairs, things other people had left in the showers, mouldy duckboards, and even the hand wash dispenser button was filthy.

Great location for touring York, coast etc but need to up their game with the facilities. I don't mind cheap and cheerful, but I do mind unclean. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ukhondacrx 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights at Fangfoss with friends (4 adults, 4 kids aged between 13 and 9). The site pretty much lived up to the previous reviews on this site.

Facilities on site were ok, but the shower / toilet block are a bit tired looking and really in need of an update. Having said that the showers were free and were fine when I used them.

The bins could have been emptied a bit more often (or more bins provided) as they were quite full whilst we were there.

There were a lot of seasonal caravans at the site, most of which were empty when we got there (arrived May Bank Holiday Monday, left Wednesday). It did feel a bit claustrophobic on the first night (the two tents adjacent to ours left on Tuesday and it was just as well that the caravans were largely empty.

One thing that we didn't like was that our pitch was directly under one of the 3 / 4 site security lights that were on all through the night. It would have been nice to have them switched off at 11am.

We met Simon (who runs the site with his partner Jo) who was friendly and helpful and supplied us with a bit of useful local knowledge.

There is quite a lot of competition in the York area and we'd probably opt to try for a different site next time we are over that way. Overall, it was pleasant stay but there was nothing to make us want to give this sit first refusal. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arwen444 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a long weekend over the bank holiday. Family of 23 fairly good weather on a sheltered site. Mostly seasonal caravans who had massive plots all fenced off. Felt like a bit of a them and us thing. Like we were on their site. Very little room for tents only about ten, boy did they squash them on.

With little room to park cars. Only room for one car to drive past the front of the tent. Now to the play area. If you had the right pitch you can see it from your tent but we were deceived by the pictures of it as they must have been taken some time ago as it is run down and sad looking now, you know the type of thing swing frame without a swing, get the picture.

Showers were hot and free but grubby and needed updating. Only one drain at the end so if you got that shower and it was busy everyone elses minging water washed round your feet into the grid. Friendly owners, basic but expensive shop. Not enough electric hook ups for all the tentsand too far away from each tent. We had a 30 foot lead and still needed a longer one.

Dishwashing facilities were adequate but not to my standards of hygiene. Why do owners think because your camping you don't mind grubby, come on guys take a look at some of the better sites 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Katecumbria 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over the Easter weekend. Our pitch was right next to the road along the side if the site. That alarmed us at first because we don't like road noise. However, we got used to it and the noise stopped on the whole, during the night. The location of this site is lovely. We had lots of nice walks from the site and it is perfectly located for a trip into York. Really easy access to the park and ride. We also visited The Deep in Hull and Eden Camp at Malton - all within easy reach.

My main complaint with this site is the large number of seasonal pitches, the residents of which create little fortresses with windbreaks and gazebos outside of their caravans. We really struggled with some people on nearby seasonal pitches who sat outside their caravans drinking and making a lot of noise until late at night (actually the small hours). Eventually, after two nights we complained to the owner of the site, late one evening. To his credit, he spoke to the 'residents' concerned. The next night, they were much quieter.

Facilities at this site are basic but ok. That's fine, although the ladies block smelt pretty bad the whole time.

Our kids loved the shop and the play park, and generally had a very nice time.

All in all, this has the potential to be a really nice place. We won't go back, because of the huge number of seasonal pitches, but it has plenty to recommend it, if you don't mind that. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: LawmanSmith 12 reviews from this member

 Well, I am in turmoil about this review. Having read the other reviews in this forum I can Identify with many of their comments.

The main points I would like to mention are.

The location for York is very good.

It is mainly a season pitch site making the weekends very busy and a little noisy (but not unfriendly).

The showers/toilets/shop/park are dated and need some work doing on them.

We must have been on holiday at the same time as the cleaner as we would swear the toilets were not cleaned all week.

The most annoying thing about this site is that with a little effort and a few cans of paint and a cleaner/tlc the site could be first class!

Would we visit again? Possibly but only after reading a few reviews saying that things had improved. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fangfoss Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fangfoss Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fangfoss Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6207 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement