Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fangfoss Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Fangfoss Park > Reviews

Fangfoss Park
Fangfoss
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO41 5QB
Tel: 01759 380491
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tawnyowl 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with family for the bank holiday weekend for my sons birthday who lives in York.

It's a lovely site. Very relaxed and friendly.

Toilets etc could probably do with updating but always very clean.

Staff very helpful. Would definitely go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jill smart 1 review from this member

 Site was lovely. the kids play park was great for the kids, well used by all

Toilet block could do with a bit updating but was always clean

The only thing I didn't like was the little fox kept in a pen on site, the poor thing just paced up and down all day

But over all was a nice site, we will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janetq 2 reviews from this member

 A good site for the price. At first site it looks like it needs a good tidy up which put us off on entering but the field we went on was fine. Nice play area.

Good size toilets. Generally good facilities but a good sort out is needed. Never saw staff after checking in apart from someone cutting the grass.

Close to York.

A nice 1 mile walk to the pub which does food.

We will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Wayne2 1 review from this member

 Great location. Tidy clean site with ample showers and toilets.

Good size pitches with no restrictions plenty of fresh water stations dotted about.

Only 1 issue I found was struggled to find places to empty waste water 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Granxclan 1 review from this member

 We stayed only one night due to members of our family doing a three day coast to coast for charity but we would have happily stayed longer. Lovely lady on reception (owner I believe)when we checked in, no hassle.

Told to pitch our two tents were ever we liked. Park was good for our younger ones aged between 12 to 3. Toilets were fine and clean. Dog walk was ideal. Site was very quiet.

Would definitely come back as also an ideal base for other towns. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Joanne Allott 1 review from this member

 I'm not normally one for leaving reviews but I wanted to say what a great time we had here.

We have just returned from a 3 night break in our caravan, we also stayed with my brother and his two children.

The site and owners were great. It's located just a short walk away from Fangfoss. The owners recommended a local park that we could ride to with our young campers. The park is a hidden gem, I would recommend having a walk or a ride here, especially if you have children.

We also cycled to Pocklington, a lovely town on the outskirts of York.

The site itself had great facilities, including a playground that the kids spent most of their time in. We stayed here during the restrictions from Coronavirus. The showers and toilets were open and always kept immaculate.

I would recommend this site and I am sure we will be back,

Thanks for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Weston5 6 reviews from this member

 First time visiting this site, stayed for a long weekend over the bank holiday. It is in a lovely quiet location. It's quite a large site but spaced out nicely so it didn't feel like a big site once we were pitched.

It is mostly seasonal caravanners and there were plenty of vans/pick-ups and campfires despite the website stating that both were not allowed. It also said that the entrance barrier would be closed between 10pm and 8am, however people were still coming and going.

The park/play area was great for the kids, they loved it and made some friends there. The facilities were adequate, with heating and hot showers that were free and no annoying push button, however they were quite smelly and dirty (same dirt was there all weekend) and could do with being updated.

Overall we had a lovely weekend and would return but would like to see the facilities spruced up a bit, or at least thoroughly cleaned. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mart153 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site several times and enjoy its quiet, country location and relaxed atmosphere.

The site is quite extensive but separated into different areas, including one for adults only. Facilities are central and whilst adequate are getting rather tired and would benefit from a facelift. There is easy access to the old railway track which provides a level, if sometimes muddy, walk for about 1 mile. Great for dog-walking.

There are some hard-standing pitches and quite a lot of season pitches and so there is a sense of community as many campers know each other. There is a wash-up area with free hot (warm!) water available and washing machine. Site has a security gate too.

We will certainly be staying there again in future and would love to see a refurbished toilet block. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Glamper73 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site recently with family who have a seasonal pitch. Based on what I am told they are paying in fees, the facilities do not match up to these costs. The shower was good and warm but the whole block did not feel clean, and the smell from the drains is unacceptable.

On the whole I did not feel there was a decent standard of cleanliness, there were cobwebs, stray hairs, things other people had left in the showers, mouldy duckboards, and even the hand wash dispenser button was filthy.

Great location for touring York, coast etc but need to up their game with the facilities. I don't mind cheap and cheerful, but I do mind unclean. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ukhondacrx 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights at Fangfoss with friends (4 adults, 4 kids aged between 13 and 9). The site pretty much lived up to the previous reviews on this site.

Facilities on site were ok, but the shower / toilet block are a bit tired looking and really in need of an update. Having said that the showers were free and were fine when I used them.

The bins could have been emptied a bit more often (or more bins provided) as they were quite full whilst we were there.

There were a lot of seasonal caravans at the site, most of which were empty when we got there (arrived May Bank Holiday Monday, left Wednesday). It did feel a bit claustrophobic on the first night (the two tents adjacent to ours left on Tuesday and it was just as well that the caravans were largely empty.

One thing that we didn't like was that our pitch was directly under one of the 3 / 4 site security lights that were on all through the night. It would have been nice to have them switched off at 11am.

We met Simon (who runs the site with his partner Jo) who was friendly and helpful and supplied us with a bit of useful local knowledge.

There is quite a lot of competition in the York area and we'd probably opt to try for a different site next time we are over that way. Overall, it was pleasant stay but there was nothing to make us want to give this sit first refusal. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fangfoss Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fangfoss Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fangfoss Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3569 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement