Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Outdoors@hay

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Hay On Wye > Outdoors@hay Reviews

Outdoors@hay
Tylau Cottage
Llanigon
Hay On Wye
Powys   (Browse area)
HR3 5PN
Tel: 01497 820426
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizex 27 reviews from this member

We've just come back from our third year at the Hay Festival, staying at Outdoors@hay. This is a brilliant site for the festival. The whole place is just a bit more civilised (grown up) than some of the campsites that pop up during the festival.

If you've been before, Mick & Sharon know your name the following year and are absolutely lovely hosts. They have a pop up restaurant in the barn, with some very well-kept local real ale.

The loos are clean, and cleaned really regularly even in the rainiest weather. The showers are piping hot (and also clean), there's a family bathroom too for those of you who've had enough of juggling small children in shower cubicles.

The site is divided into pitches for the festival, a basic pitch is 6x6 metres but you can add to that if you need to. It's exactly the right size for a small tent and a car though. And obviously, with so many people staying and everyone to-ing and fro-ing to events there are no camp fires during the festival.

It's a 15 minute walk to the festival site and perhaps another 15 into Hay (though there is a Festival shuttle bus)

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katymouse 4 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site for tents planning outdoor activities. The owners are friendly and helpful, whether you're there to take part in the activities they run or using it as a base.

The loo-block is immaculate, the water is hot and plenty of it, the courtesy fridge/freezers are so handy, one of those little things that make a massive difference.

Hay is within walking distance, but takes a good twenty minutes on foot. Plenty of pubs and useful shops as well as the famous bookshops when you get there.

We appreciated being able to set up our fire on legs, and the supply of wood for it (and small gas-canisters) on an honesty self-serve system meant we were able to get on and enjoy the evening without having to interrupt the owners in their home.

We were directed to a spot which caught the end of the day sunshine, and the ground was level and soft as butter for pegging out.

We will definitely book again when we next go canoeing on the Wye.

I have given only five out ten for child-friendliness as this site would not be great for really small children. There is no play equipment or secure play area, no family bathroom etc. But so long as they're over about 5 years old, they'd be fine.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robert1969 1 review from this member

Stayed for 2 nights. Mick and Sahron were brilliant - very friendly and helpful. Site was quiet and great for families. Lots of activities available. We went with Mick canoeing on the Wye which was excellent. Kids did archery and zip wire which they loved.

Toilets and showers were very clean and not busy even though site was full. There is a cafe on site. Hay is just a short walk away. Looking forward to returning.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Urabus 7 reviews from this member

We attended their 'Easter Festival' and tried out lots of the activities on offer. Our 7-year old had a great time, especially collecting marshmallows and toasting them on the campfire.

Campsite is in a lovely location with lots of good walks nearby. The site was less than half-full and there was a great family atmosphere. Sharon and Mick were helpful and welcoming.

The only downside we could see was that the toilet and shower facilities, while more than adequate when we were there, might be insufficient when the site is full. Some heating in the shower block and electrical hook-ups would have been nice.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tonyj1982 1 review from this member

Just come back from a great weekend and a lovely camp site. Mike was very friendly and gave us local maps to see what mountains we would like to climb.

The facilities were really clean tidy and the showers nice and hot. I can't fault this camp site to be honest.

It was just off a country road but nothing to worry about, we was only a 20 min drive to the main mountains pen y fen 886 meters high which has views to die for.

The site is only a 5 min drive to the local small lovely town hay-on-way.

Can't wait to come back next year as the camp site was exactly what we was looking for hopefully next time we will take on outdoors adventures.

The surround of the camp site is just hills and fields with sheep and cows. I would suggest this camp site for first time campers as it's not a massive site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LGT82 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here (late-twenties couple) on a Friday night in early August, paying £6 each for camping and £3 to hire one of their altar fires.

It's a nice flat field, next to a main(ish) road but still fairly quiet. The facilities were fine - one block near the owners' house, with several toilets, washbasins and showers in individual cubicles, and a washing-up sink. Everything was clean and there was soap and loo roll, as well as hand towels in each washbasin cubicle.

It's a bit of walk into Hay-on-Wye, but still possible, if you're feeling energetic. I'd probably stay here again and would recommend the place to couples and families. I don't really think it's one for groups - the atmosphere was friendly but pretty quiet.

All in all, nothing out of the ordinary but pretty good value, and friendly owners.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharong40 1 review from this member

I have just spent a weekend at this site with my family and found it a well-run and friendly place to stay with good facilities. It is a lovely site with plenty of space for children to run around. They also enjoyed catching the marshmallows before toasting them on the fire!

There are plenty of toilets and showers and a covered area if you want escape wet weather. There is also a store room with 2 fridges.

The Bell Tents that you can hire look amazing and after leaving the site we have decided to buy one ourselves.

We didn't take part in any of the activities but would like to when we return. The zip-wire looks like good fun!

A great site in a good location near to the town with lovely views. This was my first camping trip and I would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoClarke 1 review from this member

A great family run camp site for families & couples as well as anyone looking for adventurous activities (optional) during their stay.

If you like a friendly welcome, open fires and a peaceful night, then this is the place for you.

If you are looking for manicured pitches, shops, entertainment and lots of written rules, then best to look elsewhere.

We camped for three nights and it suited our family of five perfectly. We went on night hikes, canoed & walked down the Wye & zipped down a wire and had a great time. Alternatively, you could just camp and watch the world go by.

What we liked best was being able to have a fire to cook on & sit around. You have to hire an “alter fire”, basically some kind of a half barrel & blocks, but the results with the kiln dried wood (also sold on-site) were fantastic and I easily cooked a couple of breakfasts with it.

There is also a communal fire, which before arrival might seem a bit unsettling to our British sensibilities, but after the first night turns into the most natural place to be in the evening as the parents drink & chat and children toast marshmallows. The highlight for our children was the site owner catapulting marshmallows across a field for them to catch and then toast.

The facilities are everything you need and powerful showers. There is a café on-site in an open sided barn which we never got a chance to use as the weather was so good, but I can imagine it would be an ideal place to refuel if the weather was against you (and your fire won’t light).

Would happily recommend to any campers who like the great outdoors. Just please don’t all go when we want to next camp there!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3201 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019